Physicians Formula • Youthful Wear Cosmeceutical Youth-Boosting Foundation • Liquid

rated 3.2(42 reviews)

Average Rating.3.2
Would buy this product again.47%
Ingredients

Read Reviews


rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* DKER on 11/6/2013 9:49:00 AM more reviews by DKER

Age: 36-43   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Red, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

I use this to cut the white sheen I get from my zo based sunscreens. I mix a drop of this into the sunscreen. i like the fact that it also gives a little ZO based sun protection. The grainyness is there, but it does not feel grainy going on or bother me on my skin.

I use the medium shade for my NC25ish skin. Again, just a tiny amout.

i imagine this would be quite pasty and chalky if used on its own. But for my purposes....adding a tiny bit of coverage and eliminating that white cast....it is OK.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 ElizaW on 10/27/2013 5:07:00 PM more reviews by ElizaW

Age: 56 & Over   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Grey   Eyes: Green    

Bought this on a whim and tried it out today. Glad I wasn't going out of the house otherwise I would of had to wash my face immediately and start over. While the coverage was good, (I bought the lightest shade available) it was far too dark for my skin tone and makes it look like a fake tan on my skin and too thick . If only it was available in lighter shades, it might work but sadly that isn't the case, in the trash it goes :(

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* lipglossjunkee on 10/24/2013 7:54:00 PM more reviews by lipglossjunkee

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

I bought this for 40% off at Rite Aid, thinking "What the heck, that's a decent price" and purchased it in the lightest shade (Fair, I believe--I'm NC20). I had read a ton of reviews on here before buying it, and still felt it was a safe bet.

Well, needless to say, I returned it and wouldn't purchase again. It was thick, cakey, didn't want to spread well, and looked patchy on me all day (over moisturizer and primer). I didn't much like the smell, either. The shade match was ok, I will give it that. I have combo skin and my dry spots did NOT like this at all, plus it left me shiny in the T zone. Definitely not worth the regular price of $14/tube. I didn't touch the brush it came with.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 lisamims1 on 8/15/2013 11:49:00 AM more reviews by lisamims1

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Red, Curly, Coarse   Eyes: Brown    

This is the only drugstore foundation out there that says it is gluten-free.

It's very matte, which is great if you have oily skin. It works well on very pale skin if you have the "Fair" shade and apply it with a light hand. It actually cleared up my face, somewhat.

This is very good stuff, and I'm very grateful that it exists.

Also, it's a rosacea cure, and it will make your pores smaller. (Visibly smaller.) The first ingredient is zinc oxide, which is an old-timey cure for rosacea--and it works!!!

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* eadinsmo on 7/20/2013 3:25:00 PM more reviews by eadinsmo

Age: 36-43   Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium   Hair: Red, Medium   Eyes: Green    

I bought the "Light" color and it was just way too dark and orange on me. It's a shame because I liked a lot about the product. The packaging was great; I am a big fan of tubes. The foundation comes out like a thick mousse, but spreads easily on skin. The finish is quite matte, almost powdery. I never used the brush it came with, just my fingers.

I think this was about $15, which is expensive for drugstore foundation. But at least you do get a decent amount of it (I routinely pay $14 for my Revlon Colorstay Whipped makeup, and you don't get as much product for the money).

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* happifayce on 6/13/2013 11:20:00 AM more reviews by happifayce

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Hazel    

I really like this foundation! It is very thick and imo is full coverage. It covers everything and its just great. Definitely will keep purchasing.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 sceylon on 6/1/2013 5:01:00 AM more reviews by sceylon

Age: 25-29   Skin: Oily, Tan, Warm   Hair: Black, Wavy, Coarse   Eyes: Brown    

My skin background : Oily, sensitive, currently MAC NC30-35 for reference, yellow undertone.

This foundation is a good medium (buildable) coverage foundation for me. The consistency is very thick - like that of a creme to powder thick paste. There is not a strong smell, more like a powdery light scent. It claims to provide smooth, flawless, even, youthful, airbrushed look and it does deliver quite nice for my skin!

I bought my foundation in the shade Medium Beige, which has a yellow undertone, and that is a great match for me. It covered and concealed my hyper-pigmentation on my cheeks, and evened my skin-tone around my eyes, while maintaining a natural cake-free looking finish. The finish is more on the matte side, and lasts about a good 5-6 hours before I need to touch up, which is typical for most foundations. I think it's a great light weight foundation for summer, but I'd imagine I wouldn't like this in the winter........

I have worn this foundation with AND without a primer, and I feel that it delivered just the same! I do have to put a finishing powder on to set my foundation, as my oily skin likes to seep through after a few hours. This product did not break me out, or make my face look crazily cakey. I also double this up as concealer, since I do not necessarily need a ton of concealing. Overall, I do like this foundation! Although this is not my holy grail for foundations, I would probably repurchase if I ever ran out of it!

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 zoestark on 5/15/2013 4:52:00 PM more reviews by zoestark

Age: 44-55   Skin: Combination   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

This foundation is awful, especially for older women. It comes out of the tube like a thick paste. Smells like clay. Doesn't really cover much of anythings and actually accentuates pores and wrinkles. Definitely gives you a drier look rather than a youthful dewy look.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 Cherity on 4/13/2013 8:16:00 PM more reviews by Cherity

Age: 30-35   Skin: Normal, Fair   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

I really wanted to like this foundation :( Too streaky and unnatural looking on my fair skin.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 beachsexybronze on 1/6/2013 9:40:00 AM more reviews by beachsexybronze

Age: 30-35   Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

I like this foundation, although the texture feels a bit different than other ones. The brush helps, but sometimes I only use this as a light coverage. One thing I do like about this is that I dont seem to need to use powder if I do choose to use this. I wouldn't say it lasts too long, but it did stay on and looked fine for about 6 hours (so that is good). :)

The consistancy is sort of like a liquid mixed with powder..sort of like a creamy thick feel, but it blends fine. I would say if you are looking to create a full faced look, this may not suit you. But if you are just wanting to use this as a light coverage average "hardly no makeup" day, than this can be good. They don't have much color selections tho.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Physicians Formula products

More Liquid products