OPI • I Have a Herring Problem • Polishes

rated 4.4(25 reviews)

Average Rating.4.4
Would buy this product again.68%
Ingredients

Read Reviews


rated 4 of 5 Audralee27 on 3/16/2014 1:55:00 AM more reviews by Audralee27

Age: 36-43   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Cool   Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Hazel    

I'm a fan of blue & grey shades so I was naturally drawn to Opi's I Have A Herring Problem. This lacquer comes from Opi's Holland Collection from their Spring/Summer 2012 Collection. This lacquer's a Dusty medium blue shade with both silver & gold fine shimmer throughout the formula. I Have A Herring Problem's the darker version of: I Don't Give A Rotterdam which is also in this collection. I initially wasn't sure which lacquer I wanted to purchase of the two. I didn't want to purchase both because they're not duplicates, but they're close enough that I personally don't want to own both of them. If you love them both, then by all means purchase them both as you can never go wrong with Opi lacquers, but I found them too close for me to shell out money for both lacquers. I Have A Herring Problem was my final decision & I was happy I went w/ it as I do like that it's a shade darker & the warmer version of the two lacquers. I Have A Herring Problem's warmer toned & is more green & teal based in color where I Don't Give A Rotterdam's cooler toned & is slate blue & dusty periwinkle in color. The green & teal undertones bring out the fine silver & gold shimmer particles & really makes this lacquer a true stand out. I took a lippy off because application took 3 coats for full opacity. It's a great modern, neutral & fashionable shade you can get away w/ wearing to work or the office which I like. It's a unique shade that has a class, quality, richness & depth to it.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* sterlingK on 3/2/2014 2:48:00 PM more reviews by sterlingK

Age: 30-35   Skin: Very Oily, Fair   Hair: Brown, Curly, Coarse   Eyes: Other    

Pretty colour, blue grey tone with some glitter/shimmer to it but it just didn't look as nice on as it did in the bottle. Easy to apply, normal amount of chipping didn't last any longer than usual but didn't chip any faster either. Slightly more difficult to remove than other polishes because of the glitter but not as difficult as a full glitter polish. Probably won't get much use. Would not repurchase.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 catherineg68 on 12/10/2013 11:06:00 PM more reviews by catherineg68

Age: 19-24   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Blue    

I like this colour a lot. It's fun, & an interesting colour that I think is also very work appropriate, unlike many other blue polishes. The application is excellent, I'm not sure if some people got bad bottles, because mine is essentially opaque in 1 coat. I use Seche Vite Fast Dry Top Coat, which gives the best shine. I really like this polish.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 CHC on 9/10/2013 5:01:00 PM more reviews by CHC

Age: 44-55   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Hazel    

I got sucked in by a photo on pinterest that made it look green and pearly, but it ended up looking flat and blue/grey on me. Perhaps I need one more coat, (I only used 2) but I doubt that could change the color on me. Not a terrible color, just not what I expected! Will definitely not be re-purchasing this color, however I do love OPI.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 8erica8 on 12/31/2012 10:18:00 AM more reviews by 8erica8

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

It looked so great in the pictures but not on my nails. Very disappointed for it's lack of shine.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 katieanimallover on 11/23/2012 1:39:00 PM more reviews by katieanimallover

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Sensitive, Fair   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Grey    

Wonderful color and very flattering against my skin tone. It goes great with blues and greys. It can be worn casually and for special occasions.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Ancatje on 11/22/2012 9:49:00 AM more reviews by Ancatje

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Relaxed, Fine   Eyes: Hazel    

In the bottle, this looks like a very pretty blue/teal/grey with chunky gold and silver glitter and I was so excited to try this on.
However, it is very sheer and streaky, so that you need 3 coats to get the colour in the bottle. I find that just ridiculous! Add to that the fact that the glitter particles feel rather coarse, not fine, and you'll end up with a nightmare when it comes to removing it.
Disappointed.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Julia941 on 10/3/2012 11:17:00 AM more reviews by Julia941

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Fair, Warm   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Green    

This was my first blue nail polish and still one of my very favorite polishes ever. It is a kind of medium denim blue with a little grey and some silver sparkle that is opaque with two coats. I don't love the OPI pro-wide brush because my nail beds are very small, but it gets easier with practice. The color is fairly subtle and very flattering. I always use base coat and top coat and I change my nail color pretty often so I haven't had any trouble with chipping or staining. Zoya makes a dupe called Skyler but I Have a Herring Problem is vastly superior and a real stand-out from the OPI Holland collection. Very highly recommended.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* loriann52 on 7/29/2012 10:57:00 PM more reviews by loriann52

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Cool   Hair: Blond, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

This is a gorgeous colour from the Holland collection. It is like a turquoisey-ocean-blue. Very light, has a pretty sparkle to it. Here is my breakdown:
Colour: 5/5
Application: 3/5
The application wasn't great. It took three coats, and there were a couple of nails that looked like they could use a forth. It was far from the worst application I've ever experienced, but it doesn't apply as nicely as other OPIs. That being said, the colour payoff was well worth the application- I'd definitely reccommend!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 ticklishgypsy on 7/18/2012 12:56:00 PM more reviews by ticklishgypsy

Age: 44-55   Skin: Combination   Hair: Red   Eyes: Green    

Love this colour, very unique. In dim light just looks like a blue grey creme, but in sunlight or regular light has very pretty subtle flecks of glitter.

I layered Butter London No More Waity Katie (chunky lavender with silver and pink glitter) over it, which looked great. Also tried Nicole Such a Go-Glitter over top (a very fine cobalt and silver glitter in a clear base) and that rocked too.

But my favourite combo is 2 coats of IHaHP with a coat of Essie matte about you topcoat overtop. Makes the colour look very industrial and 2 shades lighter, but glitter flecks still show through.

Very versatile!

4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More OPI products

More Polishes products