Kiehl's • Clearly Corrective Dark Spot Solution • Treatments (Face)

rated 3.2(64 reviews)

Average Rating.3.2
Would buy this product again.48%
Ingredients


rated 5 of 5 missfkhan on 1/18/2015 1:26:00 PM more reviews by missfkhan

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Olive   Hair: Black, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

Amazing product. I have been suffering from post inflammatory hyperpigmentation since a horrible acne breakout I had since October 2013 which had lingered for around up and till February 2014. I managed to clear the hormonal acne by February with the use of a contraceptive pill called Yasmin prescribed by my GP. I started using this pill since the start of December in 2013 (this pill takes 3 months to work) so of course although my spots cleared up my pigmentation were left behind. After 6 months of using the Yasmin pill (May 2014) my acne had come back, I then realised that my acne was not just hormonal but caused by a bacterial infection under my cheek (mind, I only got acne on my cheek area, no where else!) so I was put on the lymacycline antibiotic tablet and so this took about 4 months to work, but I decided to take it for a course of 6 months so that I'm sure the problem left my skin. I completed my course of 6 months by late November 2014. At the same time, throughout my skin journey I have been using the Sk:n branded glycolic exfoliator every other night, and now use it every night since June 2014. This is a mild chemical exfoliation so I don't need to worry that I use it every night now, because my skin can handle it. All my products are oil free, and very strict with oil free usage. I had a horrible case of hyperpigmentation, I went to Kiehl's to collect a couple samples of the clearly corrective dark spot serum, I noticed a change in my complexion- I was now glowing! My pigmentation was still there however...but people were complimenting my skin a LOT (in conjunction with wearing concealer/foundation on my cheeks, because my cheeks are my only problem area) I decided to purchase the bottle from
Kiehl's now... I use the product twice a day, In the day time I just clean my face by steaming my with a hot face cloth, I use the serum next by using 2 drops and rubbing it in with my palms (it dissolved in really quickly) I then use elizabeth arden's sun cream spf50 to prevent my pigmentation from getting any darker (a high spf is a must) In the evening I wash everything off with my exfoliator, use the serum, then apply a tea tree blemish fade lotion by body shop. ALL these products helped my pigmentation, I can now say my skin (January 2015) is looking good! Pigmentation has lightened significantly!! & people cannot tell that I was someone who had suffered from acne. My products summarised:

Day:
1. Hot fibre face cloth
2. Kiehl's clearly corrective dark spot serum
3. Elizabeth Arden SPF 50
4. Bare Minerals oil free toner (on cheeks)
5. Dior's Forever foundation 31 (little amount, on cheeks) btw my skin does not look blotchy with just foundation on my cheeks, as the foundation blends in with my skin perfectly.

Evening:
1. Hot fibre Face Cloth & Sk:n Glycolic Exfoliator
2. Kiehl's clearly corrective dark spot serum
3. Body Shop Tea Tree Blemish Fade Lotion

If I do have any breakouts I tend to use tea tree oil from bodyshop (day and night) on affected areas. & in the night time whilst I'm sleeping I rub in a 1% hydrocortisone cream on the pimple, then put a dollop on to sit on the pimple to let it absorb in overnight, and usually it's gone by the next morning. You can purchase the cream from a boots store.

I also use aztec indian healing clay with Bragg's apple cider vinegar once every 3 weeks or so (in the evening, before I sleep) thishas helped dark spots too.

A product alone CANNOT solve your post inflammatory pigmentation problem, you need to use products in conjunction, to maintain and treat. The Kiehl's serum does help prevent pigmentation too, but will never work without the use of a high quality sun cream.

Also, my skin is SUPER sensitive (& has always been), so I have got to maintain my skin everyday. It is so sensitive I get a breakout if someone was to touch my face without washing their hands lol, seriously, not because their hands are DIRTY as such, or they're dirty, but because there is always bacteria lingering on your hands.

So there it is...That's my story ;)

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* TerracottaSun on 1/7/2015 9:26:00 PM more reviews by TerracottaSun

Age: 56 & Over   Skin: Normal   Hair: Other   Eyes: Other    

Bought it, used to the very last drop & the results were.....none. Did nothing but feel soothing to my skin, never lightened or budged the 1 dark sun spot I have. I also used from the same line their Clearly Corrective cleanser & moisturizer, so all 3 products gave me zero results.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 jessicam717 on 11/12/2014 8:34:00 PM more reviews by jessicam717

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Olive   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

I had so many dark spots from previous acne that it more or less took over my face. Regardless of how I treated my pimples they would always result in a dark spot. Some of the more severe pimples were reoccurring, however with my current skin routine were almost gone. I decided to add this products, along side a Kiehl's hydro-plumping re-texturizing serum concentrate, regardless of some of the negative reviews. I've only been using the products mixed together morning and night for four days, but the results already have been amazing. I had some healed but still 'red' spots over my cheeks which were immediately lessened in appearance although still very visible.
My skin has generally been brightened and the dark spots are somewhat reduced. I know it's really not soon enough to see proper results, but I am very happy with these results. I feel that my pores look better, blackheads are less prominent and my skin has a general nice glow. I have combination skin but I have noticed that it's always more responsive to moisturising products. I use Channel hydrating cleanser and toner, then the Kiehl's treatments I've before mentioned with a moisturiser, either Keil's herbal blue or a vitamin e cream. After trying several cheaper products for both a hydrating serum and spot lightening, I am very pleased with these products and I don't think I would use the dark spot solution without the serum due to what I know about my skin.
In conclusion, I think it is worth a go, particularly as Kiehl's is quite good with returning products that didn't work or cause bad reactions (from my experience, should check your local stores policy). Obviously there are a few people who this has not worked for, but that could be due to other factors. This product seems to be more affective for acne caused dark spots. I don't find it drying, but again I am really big on keeping my skin hydrated and believe that is paramount for any skin type.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 nessav06 on 8/1/2014 9:02:00 PM more reviews by nessav06

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Oily, Olive   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

A lot of people find that this doesn't work for them, but for me it really, really does. it doesn't matter if I don't pick my pimples but I will always get dark spots from them and it's really annoying and not a look I want to go for. I was told that it would take around 28 days for results to show by the sales associate because that's how long your skin cycle takes for the dead layer to fall off and the new skin to surface up. It took me around 2 weeks and I started seeing results that my past acne scars are lightening up. It's not an overnight process and there probably will never be an product that gives that result overnight. I use this day and night, 2 drops and rub it in right after my toner. Since I have oily skin, for me it feels sticky after I apply this, but the problem is solved after I add my Shiseido Pureness Mattifying Moisturizer on top.

It probably will not lighten up sun spots but for acne scars, it's great. I want to purchase this again, but probably not immediately after I'm done since there are a lot of whitening products on the market now and I want to try those first. I'm not exactly crazy about the price since this stands at $55 CAD but it does give results with continuous usage so it is understandable.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Coconoire84 on 6/12/2014 3:36:00 AM more reviews by Coconoire84

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Olive   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

I have good skin because I am very rigorous with my skin are routine and always research my products however I've always had light pigmentation around my mouth and forehead on my olive/Indian skin. I used this product about 3 days ago on top of my Paula's choice treatment at. Night and while I've not yet given it a chance to work on my pigmentation I have noticed my skin is already looking really really glossy and perfect. I woke up this morning and looked in the mirror and my skin is looking extremely polished and my annoying large pores around my nose and cheeks seems to look much tighter and smaller already and it's only been 3 days! This has been the most fast acting product I've ever used as other products tend to take effect 4/5 weeks later. The packaging and bottle is a glass bottle with a dropper so very hygienic and it looks very elegant. The serum itself is a very silky slippery texture which glides on the face easily and absorbs super fast so you have to be quick in application. I'm already loving it and will edit this review to update any changes in my pigmentation in a few weeks time

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 babycat1973 on 6/6/2014 5:16:00 PM more reviews by babycat1973

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool   Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Green    

Once again Kiehls comes up trumps. I've tried various dark spot correctors, none of which have really worked, but this one has fast, noticeable results.

I was given a sample with another purchase and while the 1.5ml lasted me for 10 days, I then HAD to buy the full size product. Okay, so nothing is ever going to get rid of my dark spots completely, but this has had a definite impact on them so far and they are both less noticeable and easier to conceal now that I've been using the product for about a month.

It's a little pricey, but like most Keihls products, you only need a tiny amount so it will last for ages. I would highly recommend this to anyone.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* spaflam on 5/18/2014 8:40:00 AM more reviews by spaflam

Age: 44-55   Skin: Dry, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Green    

It is very difficult to adequately review a product of this type when all I have is a free sample that I got at a Kiehls store. Thhe thin, clear, watery "solution" smells a bit like lavender and claims to fade dark spots/hyper pigmentation. I was able to use it twice out of the sample. Not enough to notice any difference (You need to use products like these for weeks - DAILY - or more - before anything will fade).

Meanwhile it did not irritate my face. Smelled ok and seemed like an OK product.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 pandaslow on 2/25/2014 5:44:00 PM more reviews by pandaslow

Age: 19-24   Skin: Sensitive, Fair   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

Got a sample of this from Kiehl's when I bought the clearly corrective clarifying cream, I have sensitive skin. The cream was pretty good for my skin but DO NOT BUY THIS, broke me out quite badly skin was immediately red after application and spots/bumps appeared few days later. the Clearly Corrective range may come in a set but don't assume all products from the same range are equally compatible with your sensitive skin.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* inmyopinion on 1/17/2014 7:39:00 PM more reviews by inmyopinion

Age: 56 & Over   Skin: Combination, Olive, Warm   Hair: Silver, Curly, Coarse   Eyes: Brown    

Bought this because of claims to fade dark spots, acne scars etc. Have been using it for 3 months and noticed one huge benefit! It flattens and makes seborrheic dermatitis disappear, you know, those exuberant wart-like growths that "bless" us as we grow older. Just as effective as Paula's choice 9% BHA but more convenient due to sanitary dropper. I apply a generous drop with a Qtip and press it in (my seborrheic lesion was the size of an eraser head), or if your lesion is smaller, you could use the flat end of a toothpick right on it. I avoid using it on the rest of the skin in the winter (it would be too drying at that concentration). It also is good as a spot lotion for incipient whiteheads. So five ***** for that. But it is too drying for the rest of my skin, even with moisturizer. Maybe the dryness and cold of Canadian winters has something to do with it, so will try again as an overall lotion in the muggy summer heat..

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 originalconfidence on 1/3/2014 10:26:00 PM more reviews by originalconfidence

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

Ewwwww never buy this. This is not good for oily skin nor does it make ur skin brighter. Really wasted my money. Kind of disappointed with kiehls

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Kiehl's products

More Treatments (Face) products