Essence • Smokey Eyes Brush • Makeup Brushes

rated 2.8(17 reviews)

Average Rating.2.8
Would buy this product again.47%
Ingredients


rated 3 of 5 annacaccia on 8/29/2014 12:47:00 PM more reviews by annacaccia

Age: 25-29   Skin: Dry, Olive   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

If you are really on a budget it's a good brush. i mean..you get for what you pay!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 sakura4869 on 8/11/2014 3:36:00 PM more reviews by sakura4869

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Dry, Tan, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

This brush is crap, it's rough on my eyelids, it sheds, I can't think of anything good to say about it

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 cindygl on 7/25/2014 3:03:00 AM more reviews by cindygl

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Medium   Hair: Black, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Black    

This brush has received many mixed comments. I want to start off by saying this brush is cheap, all of essence products are extremely cheap and from my experience all their products have been impressive, especially regarding their prices. With this brush, don't expect real techniques or sigma type quality. I don't think this brush deserves all the complaints it gets because you'll get what you pay for! It does it's job well, but yeah the purple bleeds when you wash it and the bristles aren't of the highest quality. However I'm happy with this product because in its range, it does an excellent job.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 mbori on 7/3/2014 9:56:00 AM more reviews by mbori

Age: 25-29   Skin: Oily, Fair, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

This is really a terrible brush. It bleeds when I wash it, sheds when I try to use it.
Don't buy this just because it's cheap, doesn't worth it.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* addied on 4/18/2014 7:16:00 PM more reviews by addied

Age: 19-24   Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Warm   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

Terrible brush. I brought it as a replacement to my elf blending brush that my dogs ate and I ended up discarding the Essence brush. The bristles are so harsh to the lids and there's constant fallout. I decided to use the brush for face charts since I just couldn't make it work with anything else.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* brelig on 3/17/2014 9:45:00 AM more reviews by brelig

Age: 30-35   Skin: Very Oily, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

I was really disappointed in this brush. The bristles are very rough and not great for sensitive eyes. The brush not only shed, but the purple color bled off the bristles each time I washed it. Even a colored bristle shouldn't bleed, that's a huge no-no in my book. It did apply shadow well and worked well as a small defining crease brush, but I wouldn't dare use this to really blend out shadow. It was just too rough. A brush I would recommend at a similar price point is the Catrice version of this brush. No shedding, not rough.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 nesslawn on 8/24/2013 9:51:00 PM more reviews by nesslawn

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Black, Wavy, Coarse   Eyes: Hazel    

I bought this brush online from Ulta about two years ago and paid $1.49. I would pay ten bucks for it even if that were the case because that brush is perfect. It is incredibly soft, no scratchiness at all. I don't understand why people think they are painful bristles. Also, it has never shed, not one single bristle in the whole two years ive used it. Nor has it bled. This brush is the perfect size for crease color and outer v, and offers perfect control of where the color is placed. It also blends really well. It is in as perfect condition as when I bought it and a complete steal for two bucks.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 Iamzettesui on 3/12/2013 10:07:00 AM more reviews by Iamzettesui

Age: 30-35   Skin: Normal, Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

Even though the bristles are not that soft and it's scratchy I'm still using it due to it's perfect on my small Asian eyelids.


    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* almond_leaves on 2/7/2013 1:05:00 AM more reviews by almond_leaves

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Brown, Fine   Eyes: Black    

Exzellent brush.

This is soft small dome brush, not scratchy at all but with enough stamina to accomplish several tasks. Perfect for my small eyes.

Does plenty of tasks for me:
Applies my outer corner e/s, blends stubborn e/s really well making the gradient flawless, and smokes out e/s on the lash line which my MAC Pencil Brush failed miserably at.

I only washed it a couple times, so far zero shedding. Love it.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 Enkida on 12/30/2012 12:05:00 AM more reviews by Enkida

Age: 30-35   Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Black, Straight, Coarse   Eyes: Brown    

EDIT: After half a year of 1x a week washing and daily spot cleaning, this brush has started to shed uncontrollably. Not worth the money spent; get CVS' Essence of Beauty crease set instead. >> I'm disappointed in this brush's quality after having been so throughly impressed by essence's blush and angled gel liner brushes. While still unbelievably cheap, this brush is definitely more of a "you get what you paid for" deal. It shed unbelievably after the first washing, and still occassionally loses a hair here and there even after 6 months of use - while applying shadows, not just while washing, mind you! The brush also bled purple dye from its bristles repeatedly after several washings. At the 6 month mark with more than weekly washings, that has slowed down at least. The texture of the bristles are also, I find, a bit scratchy compared to other similar brushes at this price. On the good side of things, despite multiple washings the brush head has kept its shape faithfully. It is a dirt cheap brush. But the quality reflects that. CVS' "essence of beauty" crease brush duo is a much better investment for the same type of brush at practically the same price, so I'd save my money here if you have other options.

3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Essence products

More Makeup Brushes products