Essence • Gel Eyeliner Brush • Makeup Brushes

rated 4.4(54 reviews)

Average Rating.4.4
Would buy this product again.85%
Ingredients


rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* valmont32677 on 7/28/2014 6:04:00 PM more reviews by valmont32677

Age: 36-43   Skin: Very Oily, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Brown, Curly, Fine   Eyes: Grey    

My fave gel eyeliner brush! This is a very high quality brush for such a low price it's obscene! Essence has always impressed me w the quality & prices of their products which don't reflect each other. I've only ever seen Essence makeup in the USA at Ulta (unfortunately since I hate Ulta, but Essence isn't considered prestige makeup so u can take advantage of the Ulta coupons in the Sunday circular which are usually $3.50 off $10 or something similar, 15%, etc). This brush works so well w Essence gel eyeliner (I use 01 Midnight In Paris, I think they may have DC other gel liner colors & to me excluding the other colors OR this brush is an unwise unsound business decision). I also have 1 of these brushes for using on my Benefit Brow Zings. I tried to buy more of these brushes at Ulta, but I've not seen them the past last couple of times & an Ulta SA mentioned that she thought she heard that Ulta has eliminated them from their stock. Wah!!! I did find that my 1st brush got a bit sloppy after having it for about 1 pot of gel liner, so I broke out a backup. I think the poor dear was just worn out coz I had used it almost every day for over 6 months (guesstimate?). If I ever see these brushes again I will snap them all up. They make the best 1960s wings esp using clear tape on the corners as guides. I feel like I have a lot of control w this brush, it doesn't make super fine lines like a liquid but the lines come out neat & reasonably thin or thick which ever u want for that day's look.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 spygirl13 on 3/18/2014 12:02:00 AM more reviews by spygirl13

Age: 25-29   Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Cool   Hair: Black, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

Overall -5
Price -5
Packaging - 5

I picked up a few of these at my local Shoppers Drug Mart after watching a couple of youtubers recommend it. I needed something relatively cheap but effective for my gel eyeliner as I'm too lazy to clean the brushes every day. I'm not about to drop another $18-25 for a doubles of my higher end brushes ( I have the Sephora flat eyeliner and MAC 210 - and yes I know they are different shape/style brushes)
I usually tightline but it's great for days I want to do a nice cat eye as well. I've found that this one doesn't feel as if it pokes me as hard when I'm tightlining with my Sephora brush.

I have both the older purple bristle one and the newer pink bristle one. The pink bristles are shorter than the purple one but other than that, they work the same to me. I did notice that the pink one hasn't shed any bristles on me yet while the purple one has during cleaning. I bought them within 2 weeks of each other - the purple was on clearance for $1. I loved it so much I went back and picked up the pink one for $2/each.

Love, love it.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 arleneleow on 3/16/2014 6:51:00 AM more reviews by arleneleow

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

I had this for a while. For the first few months, it worked fine. I used it for filling in my brows and lining my eyes. One day, I was cleaning it and as I was squeezing the excess water from the bristles, a bunch came out. So I would recommend being gentle and use a tissue to cover the wet bristles and gently squeeze. Over time, the bristles came out one by one but I still continued to use it because it was still useable. The one fine day, as I was filling in my brows, all the bristles just when inside the hole, if you get what I mean. I used my hand to pull it out a bit and it was very clear that it came loose. I filled in my brows again and with pressure against the bristles, it just went back inside again. I am gonna need a new one. I hope this problem wouldn't happen again when I buy another one. What does that mean? Yes, it means I would still repurchase.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Dwaryy on 1/24/2014 1:13:00 PM more reviews by Dwaryy

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Dry, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Green    

I love this brush I use it for applying eyeshadow as an eyeliner wrks great!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 sidro on 11/13/2013 2:31:00 PM more reviews by sidro

Age: 25-29   Skin: Normal, Fair   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Green    

Loove this brush..I got two, one for brows, one for eyes..I like the new edition more..

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 DrGMart on 10/9/2013 5:11:00 PM more reviews by DrGMart

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Olive   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

Although it is cheap, I find that the brush gives a bit too much so it's a little hard to use. Maybe because of the synthetic bristles? Also, it;'s a bit wider than I find some other angled eyeliner brushes to be (Compare to eco tools).

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 arlin7 on 8/26/2013 2:23:00 AM more reviews by arlin7

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Green    

One of the best brushes for me to draw my liner. I absolutely love it. I have about 5 of them and use them almost everyday. Although I have Sigma, Mac, Real Techniques, etc. , this is my favorite. It is very cheap, affordable, gives a very precise line ( but not too thin ).
Definitely a must product for me and I 100% recommend it.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 Jessmlo on 8/5/2013 3:06:00 AM more reviews by Jessmlo

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

This is a great brush. I use this for my brows and it works really nice but sometimes when I want a precise line it can be difficult to achieve with this brush because the brush is not thin enough. But overall it still does work really great and very cheap so I recommend this brush, especially for beginners.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* ichigocutie on 5/8/2013 3:25:00 PM more reviews by ichigocutie

Age: 25-29   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I only own 2 eyeliner brushes this one and another one from Clinique that came with the gel eyeliner. With that being said,I can't compare it with other eyeliner brushes such as sigma,Mac,etc. but I think for the price this is a pretty good brush. I just wish the brush isn't so skinny coz everytime I dip the brush the gel eyeliner got to side of the brush no matter how light my hand was but its not a big deal and I recommend this brush as a cheaper alternative if you're looking for budget friendly eyeliner brush.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* AriSatomi on 5/5/2013 8:08:00 AM more reviews by AriSatomi

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Grey    

Just perfect! A synthetic brush that is super thin, long lasting, cheap and awesome! It's not too heavy so drawing a good line in a single stroke is no problem! I have 4 of these, one which I gave to my mother as brow powder brush (I didn't want to give her a brow brush in fear of her overdoing it, plus she likes soft brushes) and the rest I use with my HG gel liner also from Essence! Love them! Btw this is getting discontinued so grab as much as you can!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Essence products

More Makeup Brushes products