Nailene Sensationail Color Gel Polish

4.5

99 reviews

89% would repurchase

Package Quality: 4.1

Price: $$$

Package Quality: 4.1

Price: $$$

INGREDIENTS



on 8/13/2015 5:27:00 PM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Green

My first try with Sensationail...I have extremely brittle nails so none of the regular polishes worked very well. The Sally Hansen Miracle Gel did last a day or 3, but that was like Christmas for me...I go to the salon every once in a while to get a UV polish, but my busy career and raising two kids by myself prevented me from going back to touch up or soak off. And the conversations.... Can someone please tell the salon-ladies I would visit a womens-group if I wanted to talk about my divorce, childhood and sexlife?? I wanted a manicure, not therapy!! so I ended up soaking it off by myself, using acetone an axe to get it done. Time for a bloody change I say! I decided to order the Sensational starterkit in Scarlet Red after reading merely positive reviews (I love to kid myself) and studied the instructions carefully. I paid 80 including the scrape-off tool, so that equals 2 salon-visits, which seems a pretty amazing deal to me if it works. I had to remove my salon UV manicure first, which was a pain, hope to get some useful tips on that. After buffing up my nails I used the primer. It was a little sticky but dried soon enough. The basecoat immediately taught me to apply a thinner layer, the lamp shows you exactly where you applied and it seemed to be a bit much and runny... But hey, a girl's gotta learn. Two color layers and a topcoat later my nails look absolutely fabulous! The color is bright and opaque, shiny as hell and they seem dry and solid. Let's see how this matches the salon quality I'm used to. It did take me forever to do this, but I guess practice makes perfect! So far very happy with results



on 6/5/2015 6:37:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Very Dry, Fair, Cool

Hair: Blond, Wavy, Coarse

Eyes: Blue

I was so skeptical buying Sensationail, mainly because of the price in the UK - the starter kit is £70 ($105). Also I find that these expensive 'do at home' products never work (I have lots of home wax kits to prove it!). I managed to get quite a good deal though and found a 'deluxe' kit on Boots.com for £55, which included both the 'Raspberry Wine' colour and 'Pink Chiffon'. It also came with full size bottles of the different things so it was a really good deal!! I've never had gels done at a salon before but my sister and auntie had and I was really impressed. This kit is great, a little bit fiddly (you have to avoid your cuticles and cap the ends of your nails, and my nails are tiny and ugly so this is so hard!) but the ones I haven't picked off (bad habit!) have lasted a week without chipping. Can't wait to get more colours!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


on 6/1/2015 5:31:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Normal, Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

This is just the most amazing thing ! I used to get gel nails all the time and pay anything up to £20 per time ! But I can do them again and again and again whatever colour i wish with this pack it's amazing and to say that I was paying that much every few weeks and now I can pay that for 1/2 bottles which last AGES it's amazing ! Love it !


on 4/28/2015 3:27:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Cool

Hair: Brown, Kinky, Medium

Eyes: Black

I bought the kit on sale at Pricelines when it was 25% off, I think it was around $65 AUD. One of the best beauty purchases I have ever made. I am in love with gel polish, because it makes my nails nice and strong, without having to remove and repaint every 2~3 days seeing I can not stand even the slightest chipping. Although, I don't know about the primer, once I put it on with the gel polish, and it peeled off in whole sheets in the bath water! I am always very careful to seal the end of the top coats too, so I have no idea what happened, but I have been going sans the primer ever since, and found the polish actually lasts better without it! It can last up to 2 weeks before it grows out so much and I have to redo it.

Of course, using gel polish doesn't mean you have to give up your normal nail polish collection, I have been combining my gel base/top coat with normal nail polish. Although it does take a little longer to apply than gel polish, it has the same lasting effect without the limited range of gel colours. Just have to make sure the polish is dry all the way through before applying the top coat though, or else things will get ugly.

Although removing it and prepping can be damaging to the nails (what with all the filing, scraping and soaking in acetone), I think the lasting power is unparalleled to any other polish and it is quite worth it. I do give my nails a chance to breath when I cut it though, so I go without polish when I clip them if it gets too long.

Oh, and did I mention, gel polish only drys out when it comes into contact with heat, so there is no issue with it getting too thick and difficult to apply if your store it properly - cool and dark cupboard is recommended.


on 4/13/2015 3:13:00 PM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

Gel in general is a very efficient way to polish nails. Sensationail is a great system that is less expensive than most.

Pros:
No dry time: no instant smudges, chips, etc.
lasts a significantly longer time than regular nail polish
shiny finish lasts for duration of manicure
colour selection is decent
gives structure to nail, can be used to help it grow out
Regular polish can be applied on top of gel if change is necessary
Can be used with any led lamp, other soak off gel polish can be used with Sensationail lamp

Cons:
Some formulations are sheer, multiple coats are required
careful application is required - thick layers or flooding may result in temporarily painful curing
removal is tedious- requires an acetone soak and scraping natural nail plate
preping may be damaging - requires filing on natural nail plate and cleansing with alcohol


on 2/14/2015 6:55:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Very Dry, Other, Neutral

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Hazel

I am in love!! I have painted my nails my whole life and they get thin, dry, brittle, and they peel and get sensitive. Normally I paint my nails every 1-2 days with normal Polish. Since switching to gel manicures, my nails are strong, long, and never ever break or peel. Gel acts like a strengthening coat of material that makes nails incredibly strong.

Gel manicures at the salon here are $30+ tip so I sang do it very often. I found this kit at Walgreens on sale for $39.99!!

I got the raspberry wine color and it's gorgeous!! Application is putzy and time consuming...around 1 hour, but lasts me 10 days before they are grown out enough that they must be redone.

Removal I think is easy. Soak cotton rounds in acetone, apply to nail and wrap with foil. Leave sit 15 minutes and use an orange stick to peel it off. Just do it while you're watching tv. But I do think the longer the nails are on, the easier to get off. If you remove a few days after painting, it will be difficult.

Overall, excellent purchase!!!!


Age: 19-24

Skin: Very Dry, Fair, Neutral

Hair: Red, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Blue

I absolutely love this kit! As a makeup and beauty junkie on a pretty strict budget, it's hard to justify certain purchases, especially an actual salon manicure. And for some reason, where I live gel manicures are outrageously priced compared to traditional ones. Hence, I would only get real manicures for special occasions or for a vacation.
Well fast forward to several years of rarely, if ever, getting a manicure and being pretty bummed about it, and a friend who has this kit offers to do my nails AND all of my bridesmaids' nails for my wedding! Since half my bridal party was family and I didn't want to make them spend more money I jumped on the chance immediately. She did my nails in the pink chiffon color, and we did a French mani on all the girls. They girls had some chipping, but that seems to be pretty common with the stick-on white tips in any brand. It wasn't too bad, honestly. My nails lasted great all the way through the wedding and into my honeymoon. I did have some chipping towards the end of the trip, but I think that was unusual simply because of all the crazy activities we did. (I usually don't judge a nail polish by how well it holds up through snorkeling and climbing waterfalls!) On a regular basis, I definitely get 2 weeks of wear out of it, and I have been wearing these manis at work at a coffee shop and as a piano teacher, so my hands take quite a beating.
I give it 5/5 for price in a heart beat. The whole kit costs about $60 where I live, but I often see it on sale or with a coupon for about $40. My husband bought me the kit as a birthday present after I so kindly told him to ask the friend who originally had the kit. ;)
Even at $60, this will pay for itself in 2 manicures ($30+ or so plus tip).
A tip for the budget savvy though, replace as you go on your products, and don't buy the "brand name" stuff. The gel cleanser is just rubbing alcohol. Seriously. Buy yourself a $.95 huge bottle of it and it will last you forever instead of that half an ounce of "cleanser" that they sell you. Even the salons just use rubbing alcohol.
Also, the "base and top coat" formula is the EXACT same as their clear coat color. So buy a big bottle of clear polish, or wait until another brand has theirs on sale. Just make sure it's compatible with the LED light. A few of them out there are specifically for UV gel lights.
I have yet to run out of primer, so I'm not sure how I would go about replacing it. I've tried manis with and without it, and to be honest I may just not worry about it once I officially run out.

Some girls have mentioned disappointment over color selection. The Sensationail brand doesn't have a ton of variety, but what they do have is very pretty. I have the pink chiffon that I got for my wedding, a tangerine-y color and a pretty turquoise, but they're all pretty summery colors. Walgreens will have them on sale sometimes, so I just wait until then and stock up (BOGO sales are pretty common. The sales staff at my Walgreens probably thinks I'm crazy because I stop there on my way home from work, walk straight to the nail care aisle, check the sales and walk out about 2 times a week, waiting for sales!)
I have mixed brands with awesome results. My first attempt was with a Sally Hansen gel color in Ruby Do, and it's gorgeous! A really deep wine color that is beautiful for fall and winter. I noticed absolutely no difference in the wear between the two formulas. You also get much more polish in the separate bottles. I'm not sure why they give you such a tiny bottle of color in the starter kit.
I just picked up an ASP (All Season Professional) polish from Sally's yesterday. The sales staff there said this brand works with both UV and LED lamps, since this one didn't specify. I picked up the color Black Beauty. I'd been wanting for the Sally Hansen brand to go on sale to get their Pat On The Black, which is a beautiful burgundy-glossy-black-ish color, but I couldn't justify their $11-13 price tag. The ASP was $7.99 I believe with my Sally card, $8.99 regular. I did my mani yesterday afternoon, and it's been doing well so far (one day is hard to tell). This color is a traditional glossy black with no other undertones in it. At first I was afraid it was going to seem too "jr. high, Avril Lavigne, chipped black nails and heavy eyeliner-ish" but done with a real manicure on well-kept nails it looks great! It's surprising that the Sharpie manicure never caught on after those years. ;)

Long story short, be frugal on your refills, but splurge on the good stuff to get yourself started. You don't get the salon experience, but pour yourself some wine and do a manicure with a friend and it's just as much fun. Well worth the price for regular manicures.
Mix and match brands and the possibilities of colors are endless!

I will not repurchase unless my light breaks. I have no need to buy the whole kit again, just refilling certain parts one at a time.
Great product!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


on 1/25/2015 2:00:00 PM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Coarse

Eyes: Green

I'm a newbie to gel manicures. My mother-in-law was asking me what I wanted for Christmas and I happened to see a commercial on TV for Sensationail. It was then that I remembered that I've always wanted to try it, but never wanted to spend the money for the kit (around $40 I think). So I told her that was one of the things I wanted for Christmas. The kit that I received had the LED light, the color (a raspberry color...can't remember the name), the Primer, a cleaner, and the Gel base/top coat. Also came with a few implements...a file, cuticle pusher. It's quite easy, but there is a bit of a learning curve, so am happy that there's a little quick reference guide included in the kit. It was simple to apply -- important!...use THIN coats, just like the directions tell you to. You first clean your nails with the cleaner on a lint free pad (included) -- I will never buy this...did some online research and all it is is rubbing alcohol. Then put on the primer and let it air dry. Then a coat of the base/top coat, cure under the lamp for 30 seconds, then apply 2 coats of color and cure for 60 seconds between coats. Another top coat and 30 second cure and you're done. There's a slight stickiness to your nails after that step. Just run a pad with the cleaner on it (alcohol) over your nails to remove the stickiness. And.....you're done! No drying time!....no smudges! AND, most importantly....this lasts like you wouldn't believe! I am into week 2 of my manicure and it's as shiny/glossy as the day I put it on. I did a very minor fix to a very small chip on my pointer finger (same process as above) and you can't even tell it was chipped. The fact that it lasts means I don't have chips of polish coming off during the week, taking a layer of my nail with it! Now the not so fun part....taking it off. It's really not as bad as I thought it would be. I watched a few YouTube videos and I use the cotton ball soaked in acetone and aluminum foil method, one hand at a time. I leave it on for 15 min. and then begin scraping it off. I purchased the Sensationail tool (around $5.00) for this and it works quite well. Anything left on my nail is easily filed off with a fine grit emory board. Acetone can be very drying, so I use cuticle oil a lot and most especially after I've removed the polish. I absolutely LOVE this and will always do gel manicures from now on. I've heard you can do a "layering" technique with regular polish sandwiched between the base and top coats, but have not tried this yet. Oh, and the Sensationail nail polish bottles are quite small for the money (around $11.00), but since you're not using as much and it lasts so long, I don't consider it an issue. Absolutely recommend!


on 1/17/2015 10:55:00 AM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Other, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Green

I love this product. My nails usually chip within the fist day. Ive started sensationail and color lasts 5 days; after that my nails start chipping (i dont know why this keeps happenning to me). I guess I use thick layers.

Since colours are a bit expensive Im currently using the base/top coat only and I apply regular nail polish and a top coat. It lasts longer that sensationail polishes and I can change colours easyly without the whole removal process. Hope you like my tip :P

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 10/20/2014 12:59:00 PM

Age: 56 & Over

Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

I started out with shellac nails from the salon. Beautiful but too expensive and I find it hard to have the time for an hour and a half every two weeks for a manicure....forget the 30+ dollars and tip.
I bought that system first and was happy, but, was concerned about all the buzz about cancer. I read that LED was much better, so, went on a search and found Nailene. It is so easy to do and my nails look great. Its better to start off shorter. The polish does hold up better when your nails are short. I have been able to keep the light color for almost 3 weeks. There was some wear on the tips but not too bad.....and no breaks!!
The darker color starts to wear on me (Miss Behave) at about 8-10 days, but I make it last for 2 weeks. You can put other polish on top if you want. Try to use cutical oil whenever you think of it.

The hardest part is the removal. I have tried many ways and this is what works best for me...and the least amount of damage.

1. Take a file and rough up the top so the acetone can get thru easier. I use a cotton ball or round (no fuzz) and cut to fit nail and wrap with tin foil. It "bakes" for about 20 minutes and when I use their metal removal tool, it comes off really easy. If it doesn't come off easy, you haven't kept it on enough or didn't use enough acetone. It can burn a little bit but I just live with it. There hasn't been any damage and my nails are very strong.
The damage comes if you peel it off yourself without using the acetone.

2.Use cuticle oil whenever possible and keep your hands moisturized.

3. If you want to remove it easier, just put the primer around the edges and the tips.

4.I usually remove the polish at night when I am watching tv and then apply int the morning. It takes me about 45 minutes to take off and then 45 minutes to put on. The color selection is just ok. I haven't tried to mix brands.

I decided to stop using for a few weeks. My nails slowly chipped and broke....put it back on last weekend.....so happy. I use a computer a lot and they stay so nice. I am on my 10th day and don't plan to redo until this weekend. I hope they come out with some new colors. So far I like Miss Behave and the champagne for a summer color. I used an extra coat on the champagne.

I do my thumbs first and then my left and then right hand. I usually keep the last coat in there for an extra minute to make sure and then wipe with alcohol.....beautiful!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.


Popular Polishes


Dorothy Who?
Dorothy Who?
33 Reviews
Oh Cabana Boy
Oh Cabana Boy
22 Reviews
Opi Red
Opi Red
71 Reviews
Miracle Gel
Miracle Gel
150 Reviews


Top Rated Nailene Products

Back to Top