Cetaphil Cetaphil Derma Control Oil Control Moisturizer SPF 30

3.0

141 reviews

39% would repurchase

Package Quality: 4.0

Price: $$$

Package Quality: 4.0

Price: $$$

INGREDIENTS

Active Ingredients: Avobenzone 3%, Octisalate (5%), Octocrylene (7%) Inactive Ingredients: Water, Isopropyl Lauroyl Sarcosinate, Glycerin, Dimethicone, Diisopropyl Sebacate, Silica, Polymethyl Methacrylate, Aluminum Starch Octenylsuccinate, Sucrose Tristearate, Dimethiconol, Pentylene Glycol, Polysorbate 61, Sodium Stearoyl Glutamate, Phenoxyethanol, Caprylyl Glycol, Tocopheryl Acetate, Glycyrrhetinic Acid, Panthenol, Triethanolamine, Allantoin, Carbomer, Potassium Sorbate, Zinc Gluconate, Xanthan Gum, Disodium EDTA, Hydroxypalmitoyl Sphinganine


on 7/31/2015 10:35:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

I bought this after reading about it in some magazine or blog, and its a good thing i didn't check these reviews first because I wouldn't have bought it. However, i've been using this for a week and love it!

I have not been able to find a daily 30 SPF moisturizer that is non-greasy, and this one works great! I like the dewey look, and this product isn't super mattifying, but definitely limits the grease for me. Probably will buy a different product next time, just to experiment, but would buy again if i can't find anything better.



on 6/27/2015 5:19:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Oily, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Wavy, Coarse

Eyes: Other

I have very oily skin and decided to give this a try. This isn't mattifying and doesn't control oil throughout the day, but it is not super greasy. It does burn around the eyes. This moisturizer is nearly $16 and you don't get a very large amount. I like the matching face wash, but this is just meh. Didn't break me out. I prefer the Eucerin Daily Protection SPF 30 over this, because it doesn't burn around the eyes and is $6.


on 6/27/2015 4:52:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Acne-prone, Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Green

I agree with other reviewers. An overall a good moisturizer that i trusted because my dermatologist recommended it to me (she uses it also) but i do have a few closed comedones that i didnt have before and that i didnt know had something to do with this lotion. Now that other reviewers have said that they noticed it too, it must be the lotion


on 6/6/2015 3:23:00 PM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral

Hair: Blond, Wavy, Coarse

Eyes: Blue

I wanted to review this product to add some balance to the negative reviews.

I chose this sunscreen because I has the lowest risk rating (2) from the Environmental Working Group of any of the drugstore sunscreens with an spf 30 or higher. When you use sunscreen everyday this is something to consider. Paula Begoun gave it 3 stars out of 4.

It is a lightweight, fragrance free formula. While it is not particularly oil controlling, it is not greasy and absorbs well. I do not use foundation so I can't comment on how it is under liquid makeup. I do powder after it and that works just fine. I have had no issues with clogged pores or an allergic reaction. It is my current favorite daily sunscreen.

I do have to be very careful about keeping it away from my eyes and eyelashes. This sunscreen does burn the eyes badly if you are forgetful and allow it to happen.


on 5/10/2015 2:52:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Medium, Warm

Hair: Brown, Curly, Medium

Eyes: Brown

This product is horrid! It got my skin extremely itchy and it was not mattifying whatsoever it made me look sooo greasy. Maybe its an allergic reaction but no other moisturizer has reacted the way this one has on my skin. It made my skin feel damaged more than anything. Stay away!


on 4/16/2015 2:26:00 PM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Acne-prone, Medium Brown, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

Poorly formulated SPF. Its not matte at all. And it caused small spots to appear and itchy skin. For something thats rather pricy, its a waste.

I recommend QV day cream for anyone who is incredibly breakout-prone!


Age: 25-29

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Hazel

I just love Cetaphil OS cleaner and moisturizing lotion. Now almost being 28 I thought I should start using SPF for safer measures and to prevent ageing etc... Anyways, since Cetaphil has always been great to me, thought I would grab this. I always have to make sure that I buy non-comedogenic and oil free products for my face... I checked but this wasn't labelled. Thought Pfffttt good brand should be good. I need my inner voice to be a lot damn louder. Tried it the next morning, smells and has the consistency/colour of sunscreen. At first it didn't make my skin oily at all, by noon my forehead could have been used for bobsledding. Sooooo greasy. And by evening I had these nodular lumps on my chin and cheeks starting that I don't get often anymore from being conscious about what I paste to my face. 14 dollars and a break out later and I will not use this ever again. Derm nothing this stuff is greazy in a bottle. You can wipe a slice of pizza on your face for that feeling for way less

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 3/15/2015 7:51:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Oily, Olive, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I used this moisturizer daily for about a week but had to stop. It was too drying for my oily/acne prone skin and I ended up with dry patches here and there on my face. I reverted back to using my regular daily Olay moisturizer with SPF, which isn't a perfect product for oily skin but at least my skin doesn't end up with dry patches. Having said that though, I gave it to my younger sister who's skin is not as oily as mine and it worked fine for her. The smell of the product also wasn't overpowering or offensive, and the texture of the moisturizer was nice - not too thick and felt quite light on my face. Unfortunately in this instance, this just wasn't the right product for me.


on 3/12/2015 1:34:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium, Neutral

Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Brown

Currently, this is the only SPF daytime lotion I've been using, so I can't really compare it to others, but that doesn't necessarily mean I'm totally sold on it! I give it an "ok". It's a bit pricy but at least comes in a generous amount. The STINGING when it gets into your eyes (it will find a way...always does) is torturous. There has got to be a non torturous SPF daytime lotion, there's has to be LAWD. Moisturizing level is average and mild breakouts seem to be a threat when applied too thick. I dooo notice less oil production by the end of the day (I'm extremely oily lately these winter days) but that doesn't mean it's a "matte lotion". Ladies: a mattifying primer and loose powder if perfect matte skin is what you seek. I'll update my review when I find a better daytime SPF lotion, but for now this is OK.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 3/10/2015 9:35:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Other, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Green

On the plus side, this moisturiser doesn't break me out and it leaves my skin feeling smooth and soft, but I've stopped using this on my face (now just using it for my neck and chest), as it
really stings if it gets into your eyes and mostly just 'sits' on my skin without sinking in (for example, it rained in the late evening after I'd applied this in the morning, and it still managed to run down into my eyes and irritate them!).

Overall, I've given this 3/5, as it's distinctly average.


Popular Moisturizers


Moisturizing Cream
Moisturizing Cream
1276 Reviews
Strobe Cream
Strobe Cream
440 Reviews
Sweet Almond Oil
Sweet Almond Oil
199 Reviews
Back to Top