Fake Bake flawless self tan liquid

4.3

104 reviews

82% would repurchase

Package Quality: 4.0

Price: $$$

Package Quality: 4.0

Price: $$$

INGREDIENTS

Water (Aqua), SD Alcohol 40-B, Dihydroxyacetone, Dimethyl Isosorbide, Propylene Glycol, Glycerin, Polysorbate 80, Erythrulose, Tetrasodiuim EDTA, Fragrance (Parfum), Blue 1 (CI 42090), Yellow 5 (CI 19140), Red 40 (Ci 16035), Coumarin.


on 6/25/2015 12:07:00 AM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium, Cool

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

Being a little lazy and reviewing 3 self-tanners at once (I only do my legs and always prepare by exfoliating and moisturizing many hours in advance and apply tanner at night a couple of hours before bed). I've used the 3 below at least 4 times each:

Fake Bake Flawless Self Tan Liquid - No
Best applied with Mitt
Pros: Dries quickly, best smell of all
Cons: Streaky, patchy, messy.Color guide is too dark.Color doesn't matter if it's not even! Only lasts 2 days or so. Even though it dries quickly still can get weird areas (bend behind knees or ankles) before next morning rinse.

St. Tropez Bronzing Mousse - Yes
Best applied with Mitt
Pros: Even, nice color, Dries ok. Lasts a good 4 days before fading evenly.
Cons: Doesn't smell that great but goes away after rinsing with water in morning.

St. Tropez Everyday Gradual Tan Body Lotion - Yes
Pros: Even, nice color, can apply with just disposable gloves and not mitt. Lasts a couple of days and reapplication doesn't make it too dark or streaky. Smells alright.
Cons: With use about every 3 days, can get a little yellow-y but not bad. Slower drying but no color guide so staining not as much of an issue.



on 6/23/2015 10:20:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Other, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Other

Love the product and tan . Super fast drying smells decent . I would recommend using the glove mit when applying the liquid . Spraying the product right on your skin is kinda messy an goes on uneven . Love the product all in all ,wouldn't use any other and always recommend this product to females and males


on 6/21/2015 5:41:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Dry, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

Loved this stuff!! This is my first self tanner so I don't have anything to compare it to but I will say I am extremely fair(type 1 on Fitzpatrick scale) and this made me look like I just got off the beach. No orange tint. Looked completely natural. I don't like the mitt it comes with, I feel like it's not as good as evenly spreading out the tan after a few uses.


on 6/17/2015 1:37:00 AM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Neutral

Hair: Black, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Hazel

Favorite tanning spray ever!


on 6/10/2015 12:39:00 AM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Straight, Coarse

Eyes: Hazel

I can't rave about this product enough. It goes on easily. Doesn't smell icky like most self tanners. Lasts a decent amount of time. And it's only $15 on Amazon. What more could you ask for?!


Age: 19-24

Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

So I have used the St Tropez regular bronzing mousse and I really liked how this Fake n Bake Tanner dried up so so quickly and smelled LOVELY. Like coconuts!! I wish my lotion smelled like this !! Also, I applied this on my face and NO BREAKOUTS which I always had when I used the St Tropez mousse on my body. I know youre probably not supposed to use this stuff on your face anyway but hey its a bonus if it doesnt break you out either. Its also more affordable so thats nice. I dont really have any complaints regarding the packaging.

The only cons are:
-not dark enough with just one time application, so probably would have to routine apply 3 nights in a row
-with applying it only once, it doesnt last too long but could be because it wasnt dark enough for my skin and I just couldnt really see much of a difference

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Brown

This was an OK self tanner. Especially for a liquid. I am N-25, N-30 naturally in summer, and this gave me a natural color. Straight up brown. I just wished it lasted longer. I get maybe 2-3 days max for this color before it goes patchy, so that's pretty disappointing. I expect to get at least 4 days between reapplications. It does have a color guide which I prefer and love. However, the guide is on the green side. On my skin, self tanners with a greenish color guide always turns my skin a beautiful brown, but I know a lot of people don't like that in a self tanner. Also, you have to be careful with the application, as it is a liquid, and can get messy if you aren't careful. The best selling point is the price. The price is amazing! I bought an entire bottle for $8 on Amazon, and the bottle lasted me most of the summer, plus, it came with the mitt which was nice. Also, the smell of this self tanner was nice too. It reminded me of Sun Laboratories self tanner, as they both smell like cordial cherries on my skin. Which, by the way, Sun Labs is way better than this and affordable at $20 a bottle. I suggest giving it a try!


on 5/14/2015 12:17:00 AM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

I am a self tan novice but I've reached the age where sun damage is instantly evident (say it ain't so!). Have you ever looked melted after being in the sun all day? Kinda like "that poor candle needs to be replaced"? I have, it's not pretty. That "sun kissed glow" is Gone,Gone, Gone and I'm paying for all of the damaged I caused in my carefree youth. But I'm as pale as all get out and I need some help cause without it, I look kinda sickly. Several years ago I went to a salon and did the spray but that crap caked and pilled (yeah, like your cheap shirt pills) smack in the middle of my 4x4 excursion somewhere in the Caribbean. Everyone thought I was really dirty. Needless to say, I was a bit turned off by the whole self tanner craze, but it's years later I need some help since the Sun is no longer my friend. Enter the MUA reviews which lead me to Fake Bake Original spray. It's pretty easy to use. Just remember to exfoliate, moisturizer and take your time. I mix 50/50 with moisturizer on my face for a lighter, more natural look and I moisturize on my elbows, knee's, feet and ankles before applying Fake Bake. I look healthy and with my 70 spf sunscreen the gross melted look is gone. Thank God! I bike 30 miles a day and I have not had any issues with wear.

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.


on 4/16/2015 11:54:00 AM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Neutral

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Brown

I used this a few years and thought it was ok. I decided to give it another try a few weeks ago and it seemed like the same old, same old. My issue with this tanner is how messy it is! Spraying it on and then trying to rub it in and blend it before it dries is just too much work. I ended up streaky and blotchy.


on 3/30/2015 6:39:00 AM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Other, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Other, Other, Other

Eyes: Other

This stuff gives the most realistic light tan color. I work in a high school and my girls all ask how i got so tan. I come from hearty, white, Slavic origin, so I do tan quickly, but rarely in new york in march! I will use it forever; despite crinkly mitt and a bit of overspray (stand on a towel and spray close to mitt) because of the color and complete lack of tanner odor. Use two applications for a streakless, stinkless, realistic tan. I already ordered the next batch.

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.




Top Rated Fake Bake Products

Back to Top