Simple Moisturizing Facial Wash

3.2

101 reviews

55% would repurchase

Package Quality: 3.7

Price: $$

Package Quality: 3.7

Price: $$

INGREDIENTS

Water (Aqua, Eau), Sodium Laureth Sulfate, Decyl Glucoside, Cocamidopropyl Betaine, PEG-55 Propylene Glycol Oleate, Propylene Glycol, Panthenol, Tocopheryl Acetate, Bisabolol, Anthemis Nobilis Flower Oil, Pelargonium Graveolens Oil, Glycol Distearate, Sodium Hydroxymethylglycinate, Polyquaternium-39, Laureth-10, Cocamide MEA, Sodium Chloride, PEG-7 Glyceryl Cocoate, Disodium EDTA, Dipropylene Glycol, Methylparaben


on 5/29/2015 12:24:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair, Warm

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Hazel

Although this cleanser feels gentle and moisturizing, it broke me out(along with other products from this line). There is propelyne glycol in it and a few other harmful chemicals. I believe this line is not fit for sensitive skin due to these chemicals.

On a good note it rinses good and doesn't dry out your face.



on 5/22/2015 5:45:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Hazel

First off, I almost NEVER write reviews on cleansers. I feel strongly enough about this one to write this review.

I have combination, acne prone skin. I used to not get horrible breakouts (just occasional breakouts on my chin). I am now 24 and got off birth control about 2 years ago and my skin FREAKED out after about a year off the pill.

I decided I wanted to try something "simple". Something with good ingredients for sensitive skin (I realized that while the acne around my cheeks and chin were hormonal, I was getting what looked like hives on my forehead and had been mistaking that irritation with acne, so I came to the realization that my skin was a lot more sensitive than I have chalked it up to be).

Well, this brand shows the power of marketing.

If you have acne-prone or sensitive skin, DO NOT, and I mean DO NOT use these products. Sodium Laureth Sulfate (Surfactant), which is the second ingredient on the ingredients list next to water, is HIGHLY comedogenic (meaning it clogs pores). This ingredient is essentially what makes the product sud and bubble and is extremely common in almost all acne cleansers. Sensitive skin cleansers should not contain this product. It is harsh on your skin and strips away the natural oils, which causes your skin to produce MORE of its natural oils to compensate and therefore promoting breakouts.

PLEASE do not be fooled by pretty packaging. This product is not suitable for sensitive skin.

I would like to add that I have not had any issues with the micellar water or the oil-balancing cleansing wipes, both of which I have continued to use since switching to the brand First Aid Beauty.

3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.


on 5/19/2015 11:08:00 AM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Very Oily, Fair-Medium, Warm

Hair: Black, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Brown

Although I try not to use this product around the eyes, it irritates my eyes very badly. It is super expensive and I do not see any moisturizing results. I like the foam version of this better.


on 5/17/2015 6:11:00 PM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Dry, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Wavy, Other

Eyes: Hazel

I bought this product thinking it would be nice and moisturizing, but unfortunately it really didn't help my dry skin at all. After using it I would find it worsened my dry patches on my cheeks and forehead and caused more flaking. I would recommend this to someone with normal or oily skin, because it did an adequate job cleaning, but I definitely wouldn't suggest this to someone with dry skin!


on 5/7/2015 5:27:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Neutral

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

This is not really a review, since I have never used this cleanser. I was in the market for a better cleanser, however, and it seems Simple has reformulated both cleansers they sell/produce in the United States. I have added a photo of the updated ingredients list I found at a local Walmart here in the U.S. Hopefully this helps anyone. Also, I know it may be hard to see for some but I hope the new ingredients list shows clearly. It seems the 'oils' have been taken out and maybe some other ingredients, not sure.


Btw, it's annoying how they keep reformulating their products here in the U.S. and do not let consumers know about it or update the ingredients on their website.


on 4/25/2015 12:42:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Neutral

Hair: Brunette, Curly, Coarse

Eyes: Brown

I agree with the reviews that say this cleanser is very drying. I would always follow it with moisturizer so I wasn't aware at how bad it was drying my skin until I noticed the skin around my nose was red and raw. The bottle cap also didn't close all the way on my bottle so it wasn't ideal for travel and I'm always travelling.


Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair, Warm

Hair: Brown, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Green

This stuff absolutely sucks. As soon as I put it on my face I didn't like it. Moisturizing? Ha! More like extremely drying! It has a weird smell, kind of like dish soap or something. It had a weird, thick consistency and almost immediately broke me out. I normally don't have sensitive or acne prone skin. I will be sticking to my original cleanser.


on 2/14/2015 11:41:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Oily, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

Looking at so many negative reviews I am starting to think that maybe there are two different formulas of this product...? Because this is pretty much my HG cleanser and I'm surprised that a lot of people have bad reactions to this. Before this I couldn't find a good cleanser, everything irritated my skin and dried me out. I've been using this for a little over a year, and this is my second tube, and I love it. It is very moisturizing just like the tube says and clears up my skin pretty nicely. I have dry yet acne prone skin with big pores and a face that is always red. Just like another person said, it is sorta difficult to wash it off, sometimes I have to double check to make sure there is no residue and occasional I have to do a second rinse but it is worth it. I will definitely repurchase until they discontinue or until my skin gets used to this product and I have to move on, but for right now I give it five thumbs up lol

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 1/20/2015 1:09:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Medium, Cool

Hair: Blond, Wavy, Coarse

Eyes: Hazel

I have normal to dry skin. I normally use Cetaphil face wash with Olay Active hydrating beauty fluid lotion, which is a gentile anti-aging product. I purchased the Simple Moisturizing facial wash for about $9 at Walmart.

This face wash smells a little bit like glue, but it's not terrible. The texture is thick, also gluey. I would not use this over the sink because it's very difficult to completely wash off. I used the face wash in the shower followed by Simple Replenishing Rich Moisturizer, which burned a little bit after application. I used the two products once a day, in the evening and did not use my normal wash/moisturizer while testing Simple products.

After three days of use, I started getting cysts on the skin beside my eyes. The bridge of my nose and brows started getting extremely flaky. I can rub my eyebrows and skin flakes off, which tells me that it is the wash because I don't apply lotion to my brows and my t-zone sucks in moisturizer.

I don't like this product. It's stinky, too thick, and I'm pretty sure it's causing cystic acne. I'm going to switch back to my Cetaphyl.


on 1/19/2015 3:59:00 PM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Very Dry, Fair, Warm

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Hazel

NOT MOISTURISING, NOT GENTLE!

I have reasonably dry skin, with big pores, and dehydration, and my skin is rather sensitive, though not as bad as some people's, but still more than average.

There's nothing I like about this product. It honestly feels like it sucks the moisture out of your skin, and leaves my skin feeling really tight and and a bit irritated, and it didn't really feel like it was doing any cleansing at all. I used it for around 3 weeks, hoping that it would just need time to work its magic, and having decided I couldn't just discard it after one use.

I can use other cleansers with water and not have this problem, so I don't understand why something that's made to be moisturising and gentle on sensitive skin would do this, unless it's an absolutely useless product, which I've concluded this one is.

Also, the packaging seems to like to leak, and it's difficult to get out the amount you want, but that's the least of my worries with this product.

Waste of time, money and any hopes of decent skin. <3

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


Back to Top