Estee Lauder • Re-Nutriv Intensive Hydrating Creme Cleanser [DISCONTINUED] • Cleansers

rated 4.0(16 reviews)

Average Rating.4.0
Would buy this product again.75%
Ingredients

Read Reviews


rated 5 of 5 snoozykat on 10/13/2013 8:03:00 PM more reviews by snoozykat

Age: 44-55   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

I had a sample of this and fell in love with it immediately. It cleaned my face without stripping it and my skin texture was so smooth instantly. I used it in the shower for the added benefit of more moisture and my skin was glowing afterwards. I ran out and bought more and used up the entire tube. Then I went to buy even more but bought the foaming, not the cream, cleanser. The foaming didn't seem to pamper my skin as well or clean it as well. I also tried a similar cleanser made by Sheseido. It was 'ok' but still didn't feel as luxurious or beneficial as the Estee Lauder cream cleanser. I'm going to get more (this time the correct cream cleanser in the pink tube) and can't wait to see the benefits. I also recommend this for anyone who has skin that is sensitive or irritates with cleansers. Cleansers for sensitive skin usually don't make my skin feel clean but this one does so I can't praise it enough.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 TinaNZ on 10/7/2012 6:14:00 AM more reviews by TinaNZ

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Blue    

At NZ$100, this is a very pricey product for me to buy, but I do love it. It's not as creamy as others I've tried, but it does leave my skin feeling wonderfully clean and it has a heavenly scent. I will buy it again, but not for everyday use (just because of the price). I feel that this is as good as other cleansers Estee Lauder offers - just because it costs more, it's not necessarily better (well, in my experience, anyway).

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 madaba on 5/26/2012 9:13:00 PM more reviews by madaba

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Hazel    

This isn't a good cleanser. Doesn't go on easily and doesn't make my skin feel clean. I got this as a sample, so I'm not sure how much it costs, but presumably a lot. I like Biotherm cleansers much more, or No7.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* 135792468 on 3/8/2012 5:51:00 AM more reviews by 135792468

Age: 36-43   Skin: Other   Hair: Other   Eyes: Other    

I got a 1oz sample of this and I won't finish it. It just doesn't make my face feel clean and if I use a toner on a cotton wool pad afterwards, you can still see all the makeup on it. I usually use Cetaphil and I'm sticking with that. On the positive side, it didn't give me spots.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Kaffeesansmilch on 8/20/2011 1:17:00 PM more reviews by Kaffeesansmilch

Age: 25-29   Skin: Dry, Fair, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Green    

I have very very dry skin and almost all cleansers dry me out. However, I still need something that removes my makeup and cleans my face well in the evening. I tend to get blackheads on my nose if my skin is not cleansed well enough, so my criteria in evaluating a cleanser is: does it keep my nose blackhead free? And does it keep my skin from drying out? With this cleanser, the answers to both of these questions is a yes! This cleanser feels hydrating and soothing and a little goes a long way. The only downside is the cost. I found it expensive in North America, but here in Europe, it's outrageous. It's unfortunate, as it's a really great product. If you have very dry skin, I would highly recommend it.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* oonaghst on 6/30/2011 5:29:00 PM more reviews by oonaghst

Age: 44-55   Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Blue    

I'm getting to the end of this and have another one on standby. This is one of the better cleansers I have used. What I expect is a complete removal of makeup and soft skin to boot, and this is what I get from this, with no irritation or reaction. It's a lovely cleansing lotion that I remove with a damp washcloth, twice. Too expensive though.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Varuca on 5/2/2011 9:30:00 PM more reviews by Varuca

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Fair, Warm   Hair: Red, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

FIRST: I strongly recommend this product, but here's my advice before trying it: (1) Find a sample for sale in eBay, OR (2) ask a SA at Nordstrom to make you a sample of it (they'll do this for any of their products, just like Sephora), OR (3) just go in the store and buy it for $39 and return it for a refund if you don't like it. The nice thing about EL products is that you can almost always find a free (or cheap) sample, or you can take advantage of their VERY liberal return policy. No one ever needs to "waste" their money on this if they don't like it.

MY STORY: I have the worst fortune with my skin. I am terribly allergic to many natural ingredients in skincare products, and I am prone to severe eczema breakouts, particularly on my face. I had used Estee Lauder's "Perfectly Clean" face wash for about 7 years when my husband was laid off in 2009 and I had to adjust my spending. $18 seemed too much for a face wash, so I switched to DS brands. BIG MISTAKE! I sparked a year-long battle of eczema all over my face that lasted about a year and left scars. 6 months of eczema + prescriptions steroid creams on my cheeks and eyes (both below the eyes and on the lids) left my skin dark, thin, and crepey. As if that wasn't bad enough, the rashes kept coming back every time I wore any eye makeup! ARGH!!! I finally cracked and got a tube of Perfectly Clean off of eBay for $14 total and the eczema started to subside. What a nightmare.

With all the damage left behind from my lame attempt to save a few bucks, I was depressed about the sad state of my face. I stumbled across the EL Re-Nutriv line and thought, "What have I got to lose? 40 bucks toward an experiment?" I got a 1.7 oz sample off of eBay (they rule!) and I seriously fell in love with this stuff. I know this cleanser is not for everyone, but the healing properties it holds for my persnickety skin are undeniable. My eczema has finally healed and died, and the damage it caused slowly began to reverse after beginning use of this wash. My face feels so soft and healthy after using it that I literally look forward to washing my face twice a day.

I was once instructed by a dermatologist to NOT use any soaps on my skin. Seriously. He told me to avoid showering more than 2-3 times a week, and to only use soap in the necessary places (feet/armpits/crotch) when I did shower. I could never follow these instructions as the very concept of NOT washing my skin makes me feel pretty disgusting! Over the last 15 years since I was advised to avoid all soaps, I have gone through so many products just to find the few things I CAN use. EL's Perfectly Clean was my face wash for several years, and Bath & Body Works' cream shower washes (so long as I am not allergic to the perfumes) have been the only things I can use to shower and wash with for years. When EL's PC couldn't fix the damage, Re-Nutriv face cleanser did. I am a complete convert.

It is non-foaming, much like Cetaphil. Cetaphil isn't particularly cheap, either, but it's less costly than EL. I cannot use Cetaphil because it too causes eczema breakouts. I know--who reacts to Cetaphil, right? I DO. I prefer the texture and density of Re-Nutriv over Cetaphil and other creamy non-foaming "gentle" washes. I believe I use much less product with EL's RN compared to Cetaphil since the latter just pours through my fingers, but EL's RN sits where I place it, like a dollop of hand lotion. Also, EL's Re-Nutriv is highly perfumed in the traditional EL scent, but I enjoy that smell, and it is not overwhelming. I also do not have an allergic reaction to this particular perfume, and perfumes in products are one of my biggest triggers. Did you know the human body can only be allergic to things found in nature? Personally, I must avoid allowing tea tree oil, vitamin A, and natural vanilla (to name but a few) from contacting my skin or else I break out in rashes that send me to the hospital. My father and both my kids have the same allergies, so it is a family thing.

I have branched out to other Re-Nutriv products including the Ultimate Lift face & eye cremes, the softening lotion (toner), the pressed AND loose powders, and the Ultimate Lift foundation. I am allergic to a few RN products (I can't use the eye creams/serums/moisturizer in the Intensive line due to the high vitamin A content). Honestly, of all these things, the face wash is my favorite of them all.

If you want your face to feel amazingly soft and smooth and you have similar sensitivities to me, then this may be the right face wash for you. For anyone with particularly oily skin, maybe try their PC wash since it's much cheaper by comparison. This stuff saved my life, but like I said: it's not for everyone. Make sure you get to sample it before committing. Their website has an awesome return policy too, and if you sign up for their newsletter you can get a code for free shipping on an order over $35 (obviously, I have learned how to work the EL system).

7 out of 10 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 evienoir on 1/29/2011 9:46:00 AM more reviews by evienoir

Age: 56 & Over   Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Blue    

I love this cleanser. The texture is creamy and luscious and It effortlessly removes makeup, dirt and oil without drying out my skin.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 jellis1982 on 9/12/2010 11:11:00 PM more reviews by jellis1982

Age: 25-29   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

Love this product - it is a tissue or rinse off cleanser and is not sticky and washes off easily. Melts onto the skin like butter, will not stray from this one!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* janet1028 on 3/16/2010 4:05:00 PM more reviews by janet1028

Age: 44-55   Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Cool   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

I live in area with hard water and cleansers have always been a problem for me. Until recently, I've been using Boots Expert Sensitive Cleansing and Toning cloths which were fine because I could avoid water but I was using quite a few of them to remove my make-up. I have been VERY happy with my other Re-Nutriv products so I was hoping that the cleanser would be good - and it is. It's thick without being greasy and is removed very easily by water splashing . My skin is very smooth with no additional redness. I follow it up with the RN Softening lotion and I am left with smooth, non-irritated skin. That may not sound like much but believe me, having rosacea makes face-washing a challenging project! Yes, it is expensive. But if you are struggling with products, if you've tried a lot of creme and lotion cleansers and have been unhappy with the results, give this a try. And again, while we've been told that it's about skin type, not age, I still believe that the best results from Re-Nutriv products will be seen by menopausal-aged women who have unique concerns like redness, loss of clarity, etc.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Estee Lauder products

More Cleansers products