Bare Escentuals • bareMinerals Big & Bright • Eyeliner

rated 2.3(8 reviews)

Average Rating.2.3
Would buy this product again.12%
Ingredients


rated 2 of 5 butterfly on 2/9/2014 8:31:00 AM more reviews by butterfly

Age: 30-35   Skin: Normal, Fair, Cool   Hair: Blond, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

I want to love this eyeliner but it doesn't love me. I got this in a set and it is in the color Black Sea. It is a beautiful shade of dark blue. Creamy and easy to apply but after 2 minutes I have to clean up under my eye because now it's there. I find it doesn't stay put. Not happy about that at all. My Avon eyeliners have better staying power

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* VegetaFanGirl on 11/8/2013 9:18:00 PM more reviews by VegetaFanGirl

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Fair, Warm   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

This is a review for the bare Minerals Big & Bright eyeliner in Oz.
I received this eyeliner, along with Granite, another bE eyeliner, in a value set that I bought a while ago. As you may have guessed by the name- yup, it is, indeed, a green eyeliner. The first thing I thought was, where in the world am I going to wear bright green eyeliner?? This is one of the reasons that I knocked it down a few lipsticks; sure, it seems like a cool thing to have in your makeup drawer, but it's very impractical. It took me a while to figure out a potential way of incorporating it nicely into my makeup looks, and, literally, I've only used it about 4 times in the 6 or 7 months that I've had this eyeliner.
The performance of Oz disappointed me deeply. At first swatch and application, it seemed very rich and promising; the color is a reflective emerald green. It went on very smoothly; it hardly tugged at all, and didn't irritate my eyes. However, it started to fail a lot sooner than I expected; the color completely faded within an hour! I'm not talking about it magically becoming transparent, but the color went from a dark emerald green to an ugly, diluted olive green. It even mixed a little with my black eyeliner to make it look even worse! I had to reapply at least four times, and each four tries all met the same fate. I use primer religiously, by the way. By the end of the day, it was practically gone, leaving hardly a trace of what it was before I left the house.
Amazingly, this eyeliner didn't crease very much, and it didn't tug at all when I applied it. The downsides here are that it easily faded, as mentioned, and that it's easy to rub off. Oz has almost an oily consistency; very buttery, if you will. I liked the twist-up packaging, though.
I don't see this eyeliner as a must have, and you can find much nicer cheaper eyeliners. It's a bit on the pricier side, $18 or $19 if I'm correct. Big & Bright collection is a mix of hit and miss products. I would not repurchase Oz.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 woodenshoe on 4/27/2012 12:05:00 PM more reviews by woodenshoe

Age: 44-55   Skin: Oily, Medium Brown, Neutral   Hair: Black, Curly, Coarse   Eyes: Black    

I am not exactly a fan of the Bare Escentuals mineral foundations but this eyeliner is actually quite good. It is easy to apply because it's soft, pigmented and contrary to others who have written a review I think it lasts long enough. Another pro is the fact that I don't have to use a sharpener. I absolutely like this liner!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* stephani99 on 3/21/2012 7:04:00 PM more reviews by stephani99

Age: 36-43   Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Other, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

This is reviewing the Big & Bright Eyeliner Kit from Sephora that comes with 2 liners (Slate and Black Iris), a tiny tube of Brightening Opal eye base, a travel size pointed pencil-type smudge brush and a deluxe mini size black mascara.


The liners are nicely pigmented, creamy, easy to apply, easy to blend and didn't fade as much as I expected based on reviews here, even after a full day. I really like the blue-gray Slate which has no shimmer. Black Iris is a purple-tinged black, also without shimmer, but is otherwise nothing special. I can't say they look bigger but I do think the whites of my eyes do look brighter with Slate especially, and they do seem clearer and perhaps a bit more vibrant. However, I am not sure having to buy the set just for that one liner is worth it because they do not sell either of these singly according to SA at Sephora who opened the set AND checked the regular stock for me to find out.


Next we come to the Brightening Opal base. This seemed much more unique as a tester in the store than it is in the set. It's a shimmery light pink that seemed to have the potential to really brighten but in reality, barely shows up, even after applying two layers after which the tube is nearly gone. It's like it blends away to nothing and the more you try to get it to show up, the less it actually does. It's thin and weak in texture and by the end of the day it creased a bit so was a disappointment. Sad because it was the one item I was probably the most excited to try. I really was hoping to find a nice light pink brightening eye base but this isn't it.


Next up, the mascara. It just plain sucks. The brush is a hard plastic type with super short, narrowly-spaced brustles that taper to a triangular point and deposited nothing but clumps. I found it no better than your basic drugstore mascara and not even a good one at that. But, it didn't flake or smudge for not claiming to be waterproof (that I can tell anyway, as it doesn't say), and didn't pull out my curl. It does nothing for length or volume though, and takes at least two to three coats to do much of anything so I'm not sure what the point of it is. I guess it kind of separates...once you get past the clumps the horrid brush leaves behind. It did dry fast and is a true black shade, at least.


Finally, the smudge brush, which is probably the best thing about this entire set - IF I needed another eye brush, which I don't. It's soft and dense; according to the directions you are supposed to smudge the liner into the creases of your eyes using the brush to achieve a dramatic darker smoky 'nighttime' look but for the life of me, I can't get it to do that or look anything like the examples on the box. All I manage to do is smudge the liner entirely off my lids which forces me to start the whole process over again.


I think I paid $26 or $28 for this set ("a $65 value!" or something, of course) because I hadn't tried a BE set before and this looked and sounded so promising but sadly, doesn't deliver. It's not worth keeping just for Slate so I'll be returning it to Sephora as soon as possible for a refund and won't be bothering with any more BE kits. I'll stick to their Buxom glosses and leave the rest well enough alone, having finally learned that the majority of their products make a lot of promises but have little actual substance.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Reservechic on 2/23/2012 3:08:00 PM more reviews by Reservechic

Age: 36-43   Skin: Sensitive, Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Black    

Same quality as cheap drugstore eyeliners. I will never purchase them again!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 pinksmoothielover98 on 2/15/2012 5:02:00 PM more reviews by pinksmoothielover98

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Other, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Red   Eyes: Blue    

On the fence of purchasing again (even though I put no).
Recieved as a gift in green, it's very metalic but the color is ok. Not a color I was usually wear but I like it.
The staying power sucks but doesn't smudge and when I put this on my upper lash line, it barely goes onto my lashline (maybe a little but doesn't bother me much). Okay product.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 dpet0153 on 1/21/2012 8:27:00 PM more reviews by dpet0153

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool   Hair: Blond, Wavy   Eyes: Green    

It's a little hard to describe how bad this actually is. Basically, it fades away really fast...and I mean really fast. It'd be pretty uncool if this was a drugstore eyeliner, but the fact that this is a high-end product, it's just unacceptable.
Welp. Back to the drawing board. The eyeliner drawing board. Where you do the drawing with the eyeliner.
No but really, don't waste your money.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 foryoursmile on 1/20/2012 9:14:00 PM more reviews by foryoursmile

Age: 19-24   Skin: Sensitive, Fair   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Green    

I have this eyeliner in charcoal and it's a nice substitute for black for me. Sometimes I feel black liners may be too heavy/dark for a casual workday look on my skintone and this seems so much better. The formula is really nice and creamy. This is relatively easy to apply and I never get that tug on the lids some other liners might do. The smudger on the bottom is also nice for smoking out and such. I wish this would last longer than it does however, seems to wearoff during the course of a day unless I do touchups, and does not stay on waterline or lower lashline well. I do love how this applies, just a little disappointed in its lasting power so unsure if I'd buy this liner again.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No




More Bare Escentuals products

More Eyeliner products