OPI • Gold Shatter • Polishes

rated 3.3(12 reviews)

Average Rating.3.3
Would buy this product again.58%
Ingredients

Read Reviews


rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* MissRaffix3 on 12/8/2013 5:44:00 PM more reviews by MissRaffix3

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Red, Curly, Medium   Eyes: Green    

Got this for only about $3 on eBay and I love it. I had a silver shatter by LA Colors, but it got clumpy and gross so it had to be thrown away. I find the OPI shatter to be much better quality. It jazzes up any solid color manicure and it would be great to use over a red or green for a holiday mani!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 arsenicandoldlace on 9/30/2013 5:30:00 AM more reviews by arsenicandoldlace

Age: 44-55   Skin: Other   Hair: Other   Eyes: Other    

Oh dear I'm realise I'm very very late to the shatter party, but I really don't like 'Nail art' on my nails (I love looking at other people s nails & can appreciate good nail art). Long story short I found in my local pharmacy a very cheap shatter nail set of gold polish & black shatter, so thought I would give it a try for my upcoming holidays. I loved the combination it looked fantastic on both finger and toe nails. Whilst on holiday I received several compliments on my nails by other ladies wanting to know how the shatter polish worked. So spurred on I decided to buy OPI Gold Shatter to put over my taupe polishes. This is a thicker formulation (a bit corrector fluid formula) than my first 'cheapie' set, but it is actually a very good effect over the taupe polish, I applied two coats of shatter but next time will only apply one coat as really that's all that's needed for the effect, then topped over with Seche Vite top coat, which really makes the gold 'pop'. I also bought the silver shatter too, but haven't tried this one yet. Will I buy again..mmm... maybe but this bottle will last me a very long time as it is, and by then I think shatter polish may not be fashionable anymore.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* hhsrunner2005 on 9/9/2012 9:57:00 PM more reviews by hhsrunner2005

Age: 25-29   Skin: Dry, Fair   Hair: Brunette, Curly, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I wasn't impressed with the other colors of the shatter(I've tried the black & white also). They both seemed a bit too thick when I put them on and dried up very quickly(even when I checked the lid to make sure it was on tight enough). This one seemed totally different. The shatter seemed to go on in all the right places and show just the right amounf of both colors. All in all a good product.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 SwampThing on 8/24/2012 1:47:00 PM more reviews by SwampThing

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Fine   Eyes: Green    

Not a fan of shatters/crackles in general...but this one is just :(. The color is too sheer, and did not crackle very well over any polishes i put it on. Looked very sloppy. Will not purchase again.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Themonsunxxx on 5/8/2012 10:28:00 PM more reviews by Themonsunxxx

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Green    

I think Shatter polishes are pretty cool! Since gold is one of my favorite colors, when I saw this I had to pick it up! The shade is a beautiful shimmery yellow-gold color. I found that it definitely works differently compared to the black shatter. Black shatter is thicker and covers the whole nail. Gold shatter appears more sheer when applied, but it cracks just as well. Its a unique color, love this!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 Emilyisagiant on 5/1/2012 12:46:00 PM more reviews by Emilyisagiant

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Normal, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Hazel    

I just wasn't overall impressed with this product. It's sheer, looks cheap, and doesn't shatter.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 HannahTheScribe on 4/15/2012 3:15:00 PM more reviews by HannahTheScribe

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Green    

This formula is too sheer and very difficult to apply. It doesn't even shatter! It just looks like a dull sheer cheap polish when applied. Will not buy again.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 loveking on 4/15/2012 5:02:00 AM more reviews by loveking

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Dry, Tan, Warm   Hair: Black, Relaxed, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

Looks great in the bottle but be careful what you put it on top of. Only apply one coat, not too thin, not too 'opaque'. If you apply it too thick it won't shatter. I used it with the now discontinued 'Do You Think I'm Tex-y?' and it created a very 80's pop neon look.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* AllThatGlittters on 4/5/2012 8:19:00 AM more reviews by AllThatGlittters

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Dry, Fair, Cool   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Coarse   Eyes: Blue    

Not my favourite shatter, I much prefer the black however it's still beautiful. The shatter effect isn't as prominent, it's quite subtle. Whatever you do, don't apply another coat or it will go opaque and won't appear shattered. Looks great over dark colours and pastels.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 dawneaoi on 3/11/2012 11:31:00 AM more reviews by dawneaoi

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Red   Eyes: Blue    

I have the silver shatter and love it so much I own more than one bottle of it (in case they stop production).

I expected the gold shatter to be another winner, but was sorely disappointed.

Gold shatter has a very thin formula, doesn't show up well over lighter colours and doesn't shatter the way the silver one does.

I used it a few times, trying different techniques, but it turned out the same every time. Do NOT waste your money on this one! Buy the silver shatter or black shatter instead. Much thicker formulas than the new shatters that OPI brought out last year.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More OPI products

More Polishes products