No Brand (DIY or homemade) • Brown Sugar Scrub • Body Scrubs

rated 4.4(65 reviews)

Average Rating.4.4
Would buy this product again.90%
Ingredients


rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* CordulaM on 10/20/2014 12:32:00 PM more reviews by CordulaM

Age: 30-35   Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Coarse   Eyes: Brown    

My brown sugar scrub is as simple as can be. Just brown sugar, nothing else. I have too many skin issues to start with a big shebang, so I found a gentle cleanser, a gentle toner and a gentle moisturizer and finally have been seeing improvement in my skin. I used this in the past (with lemon, which was too strong for me) but lately I found I occasionally need a little buffing and the store bought ones I had tried had all these other chemicals that just don't agree with me. Not only that, I had gotten a facial and the esthetician said you should never use a scrub that doesn't dissolve. (Meaning, no shell poweder, or jojoba beads or whatever it is) So I remembered this and used it a few times. It helps not only remove the dead skin gently, but the sugar has natural glycolic acid, an AHA and what I've found is THE BEST for my skin so far.

I will add that because it can dry out over time, be super careful you don't have hard chunks in there. They can seriously hurt your skin. Even in the resealable bags I notice drying, so I tend to keep mine in an air tight tupperwear. You should store it this way for cooking as well, and keep one for each purpose, separately. You can crush it up a little if it gets chunky.

A helpful tip: If my skin is very sore, or for those with acne problems, you can still use it. What I do is wet mine just a bit, depending on what level I want. I find it still works to use it wet it so it's not really 'scrubby' or irritating at all but it still has the anti-bac and acid properties. It's loose and watery that way so it's kind of challenging to work with, but I don't leave it on like a mask as I've found it dries out my skin and cracks it. My skin ius so sensitive that I found that method just doesn't work for me. I can't use yogurt or honey masks like that either. When I use it wet, I just kind of give it a quick once over and rinse, like you would a cleanser or regular scrub. So I hope that helps some people since I know there are a lot of you out there that can't "scrub" and other scrubs don't dissolve like sugar does, so give that a try. :)

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 akmcarpenoctem on 10/5/2014 11:53:00 PM more reviews by akmcarpenoctem

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Coarse   Eyes: Brown    

Have been using this for a few years now as a face scrub. For the longest time I combined brown sugar and EVOO and used that. BEST manual exfoliation ever...it's natural and much gentler on skin than store-bought products (or even white sugar, or salt for that matter!)

This weekend I mixed the sugar with some coconut oil on the suggestion of a friend...LOVED IT. Will definitely be using coconut instead of EVOO from now on! But either is fine (as well as any other oil like almond, jojoba, etc). Just make sure you use a GENTLE touch, and let the sugar do the work, not your hands! Exfoliating too much and with too hard of a touch has brought about many a breakout for me.

Have used as a body scrub before too and it worked pretty well.... it's just something I rarely do as it can get messy.

OH! And if you would like to add honey, go for it...but I liked the scrub a LOT less when I added honey...made it so hard to spread and was too sticky and just didn't seem to work as well. Also didn't really care for it mixed in with my cleanser...mixing it with coconut oil/EVOO is the way to go for me.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 angelinapink on 7/6/2014 5:26:00 PM more reviews by angelinapink

Age: 19-24   Skin: Normal, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Green    

USE A BROWN SUGAR SCRUB TWICE A WEEK , THEN USE ZICO COCONUT WATER FOR A FACE TONER AND AS A MOISTURIZER, WORKS BETTER THAN OILS OR CREAMS.USE HONEY AS A FACE MASK.60% OF WHAT YOU PUT ON YOUR FACE GOES INTO THE BLOODSTREAM.DONT USE ANYTHING ON YOUR FACE YOU CANT EAT.USE NON TOXIC MAKEUP.SULFATE FREE SHAMPOOS.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 heykiddo on 1/28/2014 11:28:00 PM more reviews by heykiddo

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Hazel    

Amazing way to remove dead skin cells. Definitely a better option compared to harsh face scrubbing brushes or harsh chemical exfoliants.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 deanolegg on 7/2/2013 11:51:00 AM more reviews by deanolegg

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Hazel    

This is a great way to get super smooth skin. Natural products rule. Just mix with some EVOO.

Skin is so smooth after using. I prefer on body as m face can be sensitive.

Worth a try as so cheap.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Rebecca753 on 6/28/2013 11:53:00 AM more reviews by Rebecca753

Age: 30-35   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

I mixed brown sugar, pink Himalayan salt, coconut oil, honey, and vanilla extract. It is a wonderful full body scrub. I was sick of paying so much for the sugar scrub I was using so I just tried to whip something up with what I had, and it works great. You don't have to use Himalayan salt, I just had some that I hadn't used and it seemed a little exotic and luxurious. I do think some salt is a good idea, though, as it will inhibit bacterial growth.

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 andytello3 on 6/23/2013 9:53:00 PM more reviews by andytello3

Age: 25-29   Skin: Other   Hair: Other   Eyes: Other    

I try to use all organic and natural products on my face and body, with the exception of a few beauty products that i can't live without. One of my favorite home remedies is using brown sugar and creating a whole body scrub that is gentle enough for my face and body. I add about 1/2 cup of brown sugar and combine it with 1 cup yogurt and 1/4 cup honey. It gets all of the dry skin cells off my body and my skin is smooth and even toned after.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* spaflam on 5/8/2013 2:28:00 PM more reviews by spaflam

Age: 36-43   Skin: Dry, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Green    

Cheap and easy - as many have said - need to make a scrub? Add a teaspoonful or 2 to your bath gel or in-shower moisturizer and scrub away.



Easy to use and rinses down the drain. Love it.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Neume on 1/11/2013 11:00:00 PM more reviews by Neume

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Medium, Warm   Hair: Other   Eyes: Brown    

Please everyone, never spend a fortune on fancy-shmancy scrubs and gimmicky, sweet smelling store bought concoctions ever again. Adding brown sugar to any existing body wash or facial cleanser in your current routine is really all you need for the exact same thing. I keep a tub of this in my shower sealed in a take-out soup container along with a plastic spoon. I simply add a scoop to my Dove body wash and scrub away. This gives me the smoothest, longest lasting shave ever. I add a scoop to my Purpose Gentle Cleanser, dampen my face, and gently scrub to prepare my face for any of my DIY face masks. It's not complicated or fussy, but has given me amazing skin. I hope you try it!

8 out of 8 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 mejicochica on 11/5/2012 2:29:00 PM more reviews by mejicochica

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Brunette, Curly, Medium   Eyes: Hazel    

First of all let me say I LOVE brown sugar for exfoliating my body. My skin feels so soft and moisturized after I exfoliate, I urge you to try this! I also get a lot of black heads on my nose, so i mix a little honey and brown sugar together once a week and only scrub my nose (its a bit rough for your entire face). I feel like it makes a difference rather than using the damaging pore strips I used to use.

Heres the recipe I use for my Body scrub:

cup of brown sugar
cup of ground oatmeal
cup of honey some sort of base oil (you can use jojoba, coconut, almond, apricot or even olive oil).
a dash of essential oils (lavender, bergamot, lemon, tea tree, grapefruit, rosemary, vanilla, ylang ylang, etc. whatever works for you). Optional.
Mix the brown sugar, ground oatmeal and honey in a container. Cover the mix with base oil until the sugar is saturated, add a dash of essential oil and it's ready for use.

Enjoy!



3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More No Brand (DIY or homemade) products

More Body Scrubs products