Rimmel • Wake Me Up • Foundations

rated 3.7(311 reviews)

Average Rating.3.7
Would buy this product again.66%
Ingredients


rated 4 of 5 Amalielv on 1/23/2015 4:13:00 PM more reviews by Amalielv

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Dry, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Blue    

This is a great foundation if you have dryer skin. It feels light(a little bit sticky but nothing crazy) and gives a nice light coverage. It lasts about 8 hours on me without powder and I think it's a great spring/summer foundation. Bad things about it: it looks weird with powder, and it looks really shimmery with powder. Also there isn't a lot of colours, witch is really annoying, but it's pretty light so it doesn't matter.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 Lumpytacos on 1/22/2015 5:56:00 AM more reviews by Lumpytacos

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Medium   Hair: Black, Straight   Eyes: Brown    

A good foundation, but ruined with those tiny shimmers! When I put this on in the morning, it's hardly noticeable but during the day, I resemble Edward Cullen! Has medium to full coverage which makes my dry patches quite noticeable.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 Heliana on 1/19/2015 12:44:00 PM more reviews by Heliana

Age: 25-29   Skin: Very Dry, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Red, Curly, Medium   Eyes: Green    

Horrible foundation. I wanted to try it because it's supposedly a good foundation for dry skin and I saw a lot of positive reviews.
First of all it's not hydrating, it's greasy. Second of all I don't even have that much problem with facial hair (that blond peach fuzz) but this foundation makes me look like I'm hairy on the face, it sticks on every single little soft hair from my fuzz and it looks disgusting.
It blends really hard and the finish is unbelievably greasy.
It does come in a very pretty bottle with a pump and that's the only positive thing I'd have to say.
This foundation is a NO-NO for me.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 BelleWoods on 1/19/2015 6:46:00 AM more reviews by BelleWoods

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Very Dry, Fair, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Hazel    

I HATE HATE HATE this foundation!

Pros: the packaging is quite nice, it has a pump which I'm always fond of, and the product smells really nice- it smells very clean and fresh... that's where the positives end.

I simply don't understand what people were ever raving about, I'd seen how well-loved the product was, so decided to purchase it in the lightest shade, which was a fairly neutral undertone but matched my level of paleness quite well, but was slightly on the dark side.

This foundation though, is horrible to use, I found. It does not blend at all, no matter what I tried! It's very thick, and I want to say it has good coverage, but it had to be scraped across my skin to get any form of coverage, which isn't what I want in a foundation! Considering I couldn't get it onto my skin successfully, I can't say anything positive.

Once on my skin, I found it just clung to any dry areas I had, didn't look even, made me look like I was some form of neon alien, and didn't help to make my skin tone look even, which is all possibly because it WOULD NOT BLEND, which I'm far from impressed about.

As I didn't want it to be a complete waste of money and simply bin it, I did find another use for it, however; it works nicely as a highlighter! Considering it doesn't blend well or move, it can create a nice, subtle glow on my cheekbones if I just stipple a bit on.

SUMMARY- if you want to buy an £8.99 foundation that won't blend, sits on dry areas and is generally useless, but makes for an okay highlight, this is your product. I don't recommend it, personally.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 hannahbeautyxoxo on 1/18/2015 3:09:00 AM more reviews by hannahbeautyxoxo

Age: 19-24   Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Hazel    

It honestly makes me so sad that I really didnt like this product. I bought it a few days ago at a half off sale after hearing so much hype and great reviews behind it. Overall Im not entirely impressed with the prices here in australia. Its $19.95 RRP and with rimmel being quite a low end brand I would expect it to be a little cheaper. However I do really love the packaging, it comes in a thick glass bottle and has am orange lid. Alot better qaulity then say the flimsy powder packaging they have.

I am however very impressed with the shade range. I got mine in the shade 100 ivory and its the perfect shade for me. It has some yellow undertones which i like in a foundation as it covers up my discolouration from being so pale, from viewing the shade ranges they definetley have a wide range compared to other brands.

The finish I found was very poor. The reviews I read said it was a very dewy, lightweight foundation which was exactly the kind of foundation I wanted- something that had the option of looking dewy or powdered into matte. I used one pump and used an oval foundation brush to apply it. In the first few minutes, you literally look flawless- no pores, imperfections, discolouration, nothing. But then after anout 5 minutes, it stsrts to wear off.

Even after putting a pore refining mosturiser and primer, it sunk into my pores and was extremely noticeable, enough that my cousin had sent me to the bathroom to look at my foundation. The coverage had mostly disappeared, making my face look like a marbled white chocolate and raspberry cheesecake. After applying the foundation- I immediantly set it with maybelline dream matte- the strongest matte powder I own. Already the foundation had drained all the powder and I was an oil slick again, and, like every other rimmel face product ive tried, it caked around my blemishes and oxided to a bright orange.

PROS
-nice shade range
- decent coverage
- steady packaging

CONS
- oily instead of dewy
- coverage wears off quickly
- cakes around blemishes
- sinks into pores easily

Overall I am not overally impressed with this product, I feel like its kinda a waste of $10, maybe I havent played around with it enough but so far....eh, not a fan. Maybe for dry skin people it works better, but defintley a thumbs down for a girl with oily skin. At this stage I wont be repurchasing.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 clfulford on 1/11/2015 11:06:00 AM more reviews by clfulford

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Hazel    

I have light, sensitive, dry/combination skin, and this product did not work for me sadly. I bought the second lightest shade "true ivory" as I'm light skinned but not exactly fair, and it looked fine at the store but when I got it home I realized how dark it looked in the bottle, more like a medium tan shade. And it is quite dark on my skin...I've had this problem before with rimmels bb cream, where the lightest shade is more like a medium shade.

I also looked at the bottle in the light, and I could see sparkles all over the inside of the bottle. I had heard some reviewers say that this stuff was loaded with sparkles and some said they saw none, so I just wanted to see for myself, and voila! It IS loaded with sparkles! Not fine shimmer, sparkles/glitter! Now I love some sparkle on my lids, but its not a good look to have them all over your face....... And its VERY noticeable in any light. I don't know why Rimmel would do this.....it just ruins it...for that fact alone I would never buy this again, but I gave it 2 stars because they did get ONE thing right with this product, and that's the packaging. I am not a fan of the colour orange, but it works for this product because its fresh and summery, and I love the glass bottle with the pump, and the foundation smells really nice!

As for the foundation itself, minus the added glitter particles, I find it to be kinda greasy but also very drying, its a weird consistency...its greasy when you first apply it, then it dries out quickly and brings out flakes on my skin that weren't visible before, it looks just awful..and I always moisturize before applying makeup...none of my other foundations look like this when applied.

Overall I won't buy this again and dont suggest anyone with very fair/light, dry OR oily skin to use this (may be fine for normal skin types?). Or anyone who doesnt want glitter all over your face. Although for those who already have it like me, one reviewer suggested to only use it on rainy/cloudy days so the sparkles don't show up, so I will give that a try. Or i thought about maybe using it to contour seeing as its a bit too dark for me (although the sparkles aren't ideal for contouring....sparkles highlight, the opposite of contouring) or maybe mix it with something? I dont like to waste $$ so ill try my best to find a use for it...as long as i can solve the drying effect it has on me, i can deal with the sparkles.

what i originally wanted was rimmels match perfection foundation but I can't find it anywhere! Just the matching concealer is available (I'm near Toronto/Ontario Canada so I've looked at rexall, shoppers, target, and Walmart and none carry the match perfection )

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 kittyinglasses on 1/8/2015 12:41:00 PM more reviews by kittyinglasses

Age: 19-24   Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

Words cannot describe my I love the formulation of this foundation.

I. LOVE. IT.

I just can't wear it. The shades run far to dark for me, as with all Rimmel foundations, sadly. But my god the formula is fantastic. Even though it looked like I was trying to do a really bad fake-bake tan, my skin was never better when I was using this. I don't know what they put into this foundation, but if it ever became available in a lighter shade, I would buy up every bottle possible, just in case it ever was discontinued. The consistency is pretty great, coverage exactly what I was looking for, has a GORGEOUS finish, and it smells pretty nice.

The only bad thing I can think to say is that the pump is not super sturdy, but that's a problem with lots of plastic pumps on foundation bottles, regardless of brand or price.

Please. Please Rimmel, add in some significantly lighter lighter shades, in both pink and yellow undertones.

(For reference, my best foundation match is NARS Sheer Glow in Siberia, or NYX Stay Matte But Not Flat in Ivory).

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 Lo1234 on 1/5/2015 7:27:00 PM more reviews by Lo1234

Age: 19-24   Skin: Other   Hair: Other   Eyes: Other    

Awful, it gives okay coverage wouldn't say full maybe medium. but the foundation gets very greasy and seems to sit on top of the skin, even with powder on it got greasy, it's transfers onto clothes and when blotting a lot of the foundation is on the blot tissue, more than average. If she foundation soaked into the skin (sounds spot prone, but you know what I mean) and looked more flawless rather than sat onto of the skin (meaning bronzer doesn't go well on top of it either) it would be much better. It has little sparkles in it I assume this is the wake me up part of it, I don't mind them and they aren't atall noticeable unless under direct artificial light.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 holly5652 on 1/4/2015 9:34:00 PM more reviews by holly5652

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Blue    

I really liked this foundation. The problem which made me stop using this foundation all together was the extremely limited colour range - Rimmel's foundations always run too pink! I have had the same problem with the Rimmel Stay 25 hour Foundation and even the Wake Me Up Concealer - which I thought wouldn't be a problem since it was a concealer, but sadly this was as well.

I really loved this foundation, it had great coverage, it really did seem to give my skin a brightened 'glow', it lasted all day (from around 7am till 5pm), provided a medium not too cakey finish, the packaging was really nice (big fan of the pump), and it even had a really nice fresh scent. It was also very versitle with what method I applied it onto my face - Real Techniques Expert Face and Buffing Brush, BeautyBlender and Sigma F80 and F82 brushes.

I also found that this product covered any pimples, redness or freckles really well; and trust me I would know with my really bad skin!!! D:

Not only this, but the price was also very reasonable, especially for Australia's ridiculously expensive makeup prices; I would not have any problems at all repurchasing, if it wasn't for the limited colour range! However, I have always run across this problem with drugstore foundations (yes Maybelline and Covergirl, I'm also talking to you), the only few that I have found that work for my pale, yellow/ warm toned Combination skin is the Bourjois, Revlon and some Loreal foundations.

All in all, if you have more pink toned/ cool skin, I feel like this would work really well for you, if you are searching for a foundation that gives nice coverage, doesn't make you look to washed out/ too matte/ or too flat; as it really does bring a nice subtle 'glow from within to your face' not like you just stuck a whole lot of glitter on your face. For the price, you also can't go wrong, it is very comparable with other more expensive brands; and I would happily keep on using and repurchasing, if it wasn't for the colour range, which is the big NO NO for me.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 keelyjaee on 1/3/2015 7:11:00 AM more reviews by keelyjaee

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Hazel    

I canít say I recommend this foundation. It has a few positive such as the subtle shimmer in the foundation and the easy application however; I find after only 1-2 hours my face becomes extremely oily. During winter the foundation with a powder over the top can last 3-4 hours but when it's raining or hot outside it becomes oily very fast. I also find that this foundation does not have a broad colour spectrum. I have tried 3 of the lightest colours and I have found that each one has been very orange no matter how much I blend, but for such a cheap price you canít expect much more.

Pros:
- Cheap
- Easy to apply
- Slight shimmer

Cons:
- Small colour spectrum
- Orange Base
- Become oily fast

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Rimmel products

More Foundations products