Revlon • Colorstay Longwear Nail Enamel - Base Coat • Top/Base Coats

rated 4.5(35 reviews)

Average Rating.4.5
Would buy this product again.91%
Ingredients

Read Reviews


rated 4 of 5 PolishedSalon on 4/13/2014 9:18:00 AM more reviews by PolishedSalon

Age: 36-43   Skin: Other   Hair: Other   Eyes: Other    

My favourite base coat I use at my salon every day! It smoothes the ridges, dries relatevely fast, great brush. Excellent!
I use mostly CND Vinylux on hands and Dior, YSL, Chanel on feet.
Revlon Base Coat, Vinylux polish and Vinylux Top Coat last about 7 days + on my nails without a single chip. Clients average 5-7 days without a chip.
Revlon Base Coat and Dior, YSL or Chanel plus Dior Top Coat on feet lasts 4 weeks plus. Mostly the clients need a pedicure before the polish chips.

The reason I use this base coat with Vinylux is that it makes the polish look smoother and it makes it remove easier :)

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 JordanGalore on 3/20/2014 9:43:00 PM more reviews by JordanGalore

Age: 25-29   Skin: Normal, Dark, Cool   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

Rave review for the Colorstay Gel-Smooth base coat! This is my all time favorite base coat especially in conjunction with it's matching top coat. As a nail polish collector/hoarder lol, I've tried numerous base coats from Nailtiques to OPI etc., but this base coat is THE staple in my nail care routine. It adds strength and a beautiful smooth finish to my nails that I love. It dries insanely fast and the brush is great. The combination of this base coat with it's matching top coat keep my nails from chipping for at least a week. This is coming from someone who's polish usually chips within 2 days no matter what! If you're fed up like I was, give this a chance!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* ckb on 3/19/2014 1:21:00 AM more reviews by ckb

Age: 36-43   Skin: Dry, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

This base coat is sticky to the touch once it dries. It dries fairly quickly but remains tacky. This is so the polish will adhere to it. My polish stays on better when I use this as a base coat.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 ylingsbling on 3/13/2014 9:22:00 AM more reviews by ylingsbling

Age: 36-43   Skin: Normal, Olive   Hair: Black, Straight   Eyes: Brown    

Rave! The Colorstay gel smooth base coat is everything everyone says. It fills in the ridges of your nails and makes your pollishes adhere better and longer. Very professional looking.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* kateST on 2/8/2014 11:37:00 PM more reviews by kateST

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Green    

THIS is working so wonderfuly for me, that I am irrationaly afraid that I will JINX it with this glowing review.

My nails are brittle, forever splitting, forever snagging, and nailpolish lasts on me for less than a day. No matter what. IT TAKES HOURS to chip and start looking horrible.

I AM ON DAY THREE. my polish looks great, and the only wear is visible at the very tips where it basically rubbs off from all the typing/touching/hair washing/whatever i do daily, which from arm's lenght I can't notice.
I initially tried this with a fast drying top coat (hard as nails brand), which as I finally realized is extremely DRYING in itself, and it makes the polish crack off, I tossed that, used a regular top coat, and I am truly amazed

another good thing about this product is that it's gel-like, and it fills in the surface of ur nails, as if you buffed/shined them.

I am in love. highly recommend. WHERE HAS THIS BEEN ALL MY LIFE

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 i8alltheBacon on 1/24/2014 2:07:00 AM more reviews by i8alltheBacon

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Hazel    

I have the newer version called "Gel Smooth". After seeing approx. 100 people here on MUA talking about how awesome this base coat is I had to try it. I got it on sale for $4.99 cdn and that was $4 off reg price (cosmetics in Canada are WAY more expensive here). Usually my manicures last about 2 days without chips or peeling...with the gel-smooth base coat I got FIVE DAYS....it might have lasted longer, but I got bored of the colour and took it off. I only used one coat and applied my polish almost immedietly..then aplied Revlon Quick Dry Top Coat.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 pinkpanther88 on 1/1/2014 12:38:00 AM more reviews by pinkpanther88

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

This is a review of Revlon ColorStay Longwear Nail Enamel 005 Base Coat. I painted my right hand's nails with this base coat, two coats of Sally Hansen's Insta-Dry color, and one coat of Revlon ColorStay Sealing Shine 2. I did my left hand the same except I did not use this base coat (or any base coat).

4 days later, there was a marked difference between hands: the base coat hand (right hand, and I am right-handed) had NO CHIPS whatsoever! The non-base-coat hand (left hand) had tons of chips.

So I am now in love with this base coat! (as well as the Revlon ColorStay Sealing Shine and the Sally Hansen Insta-Dry color). I've never had my nail polish last for more than 2 days (usually only 1) without chips. Yay!!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 christnal on 12/16/2013 4:51:00 PM more reviews by christnal

Age: 36-43   Skin: Normal, Fair, Cool   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Hazel    

This is a great base coat. Keeps my at home mani perfect for about 3 days before I start to see any type of wear on the tips and I type all day so I think that is pretty good. Also it makes taking dark colors off sooo much easier!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Jayyhoang on 12/16/2013 4:29:00 PM more reviews by Jayyhoang

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Other, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

love this base and the corresponding top coat! my nails looked perfect (essie's bahama mama) for an entire week. i was shocked. i usually use OPI's top and base coats, or essies's, or other salon recommended brands. but they all chip within 2-3 days. this just works! but i hate the brush

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 MICROPEEN on 12/16/2013 12:45:00 PM more reviews by MICROPEEN

Age: 30-35   Skin: Other   Hair: Other   Eyes: Other    

This is a very good basecoat. I used to love Orly Bonder, but this one is even better. I've noticed that it adds 2-3 chip free days beyond what Bonder used to do. It will look perfect for 2 days, I'll start to see tip wear on the third day and small chips by day 4-5. That's pretty good wear for me.

I don't use this alone, I use a strengthening basecoat first like Duri Rejuvacote or Essie's protein one. My topcoat of choice has been Seche Vite for years.

Also, I gave packaging 2 lippies, because the whole confusion of one version of this having the word 'gel' on it and the other one not is annoying and Revlon needs to be consistent with labeling. From what I understand both are the exact same thing. The bottle and everything else is actually fine.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Revlon products

More Top/Base Coats products