Maybelline • Super Stay 10 Stain Gloss • Lips

rated 3.4(81 reviews)

Average Rating.3.4
Would buy this product again.60%
Ingredients


rated 5 of 5 keirstennatalie on 1/25/2015 3:20:00 PM more reviews by keirstennatalie

Age: 25-29   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Hazel    

I used this for the first time while I was trying on wedding dresses. I have Cool Coral. It was the absolute perfect shade for me and the colour was very rich. It stayed on until I wanted to take it off. It stayed on through champagne drinking, pasta eating, and all night.

You do need to apply it to dry lips. Completely dry lips and apply very liberally for the colour to stay.

Absolutely love it!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 Cinderelletta on 1/17/2015 3:55:00 PM more reviews by Cinderelletta

Age: 19-24   Skin: Normal, Fair   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Coarse   Eyes: Green    

I got a few of these on clearance at Target a year or two ago. They sat in a drawer for awhile, but I never got rid of them because I was optimistic about them being usable, but they just aren't. Not for me, at least. I did some testing with Ravishing Red today. It's beautiful when first applied, & the stain lasts & looks nice for an hour or two, but only if you don't eat or drink at all while wearing it. After drinking some water (through a straw) and having a piece of banana bread, most of the color was gone & the little that was left behind was patchy & gross looking.

Overall, not worth the effort. Sticky & uncomfortable, and the color doesn't last. I guess I'll be throwing these out after all!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 BrunetteBelle on 1/15/2015 8:46:00 AM more reviews by BrunetteBelle

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Blue    

I absolutely love this stuff. It lasts without being cakey or drying. Just the right amount of gloss and beautiful color. I hope they don't ever discontinue this. One coat is all you need. I bought this before the Derby in 2013, and I've loved it ever since.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 kh027 on 9/5/2014 8:23:00 PM more reviews by kh027

Age: 25-29   Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Green    

Maybe I got a dud? I bought this at a CVS clearance in the shade 120 Berry Heavenly (I think, the writing is so small!!).

It doesn't last at all on me -- it kisses off. When I take a sip of water, it's off. It just never "sets" I guess.

The color is beautiful while it lasts. The consistency and smell are fine, but the packaging is very messy.

I'll stick with the Revlon balm stains if I want something that actually stains!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 hinaamuneer on 8/4/2014 7:21:00 PM more reviews by hinaamuneer

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

Amazing amazing amazing bought this in a fuschia colour and true to its word it lasted 10hrs! Smells amazing too and easy to apply, gonna be wearing and rebuying for a while

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 Sallamanda on 5/10/2014 12:06:00 PM more reviews by Sallamanda

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Hazel    

I bought this product in Forever Ruby, and it's probably one of my favourite lip colours right now!
The packaging is pretty typical for a lip gloss; the tube is a bit chunky, but I don't mind that personally. One annoying thing is that if you remove the price sticker (which, of course, you're going to do), you have no record of the colour name. I do, however, really like the applicator, which is angled, and slightly wider than usual. I find that it's really easy to get a nice, smooth curve with it, which is great for me as I like to extend my lip colour a bit below my lower lip line for a fuller look.
Formula-wise, it's somewhere between a lip gloss and a stain, with a sweet, fruity scent that I actually quite like. The first time I applied it I found it a bit odd, as I was expecting it to either stay glossy or to dry or go tacky, but you actually get a nice shine as though you'd applied lip balm over a stain. You may have some issues if you have dry or flaky lips, as it isn't the most moisturising, but this could probably be overcome by using lip balm before and after application.
The colour is absolutely gorgeous, a lovely dark ruby red, and surprisingly buildable - if you want just a light flush of colour, you can apply just a little to your lips, and use a finger to spread the colour lightly, but if you want a real dark red you can apply straight from the tube. However, the colour definitely does not last ten hours. You have to reapply about as often as you would with a lip gloss. But that doesn't bother me at all - who expects a gloss to last ten hours?
Overall - the packaging is unremarkable, and I wouldn't say that it's staying power was ''super'', but the colour is gorgeous with a nice shine and a very nice applicator. I would recommend it to anyone who wants a vivid lip colour and doesn't need something as long lasting - or as matte - as a typical lip stain.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 amoenaonline on 3/28/2014 10:59:00 AM more reviews by amoenaonline

Age: 25-29   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

I have three of these stain glosses: forever berry, forever coral and something pink (not the exact name of the shade lol, I just can't remember it) and I love them all. I use them more often than my any other lip products. I usually apply them first and go over it with another lipstick or a lip gloss, they are like my base colors.

They don't obviously stay on for 10 hours, but they stay on pretty nicely anyway. I like the packaging, the wand really works for me. They smell really weird... but for some reason I like the scent.

I bought mine on sale, and I think they were worth the discounted price. Would have paid the full price though, not even know when I know how much I use them.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 funkysmama on 3/13/2014 5:16:00 PM more reviews by funkysmama

Age: 44-55   Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

I really wanted these to work for me, because I love the concept of a sheer wash of color, with a little moisture, that lasts for hours, and this product almost delivers (it could be moister). Unfortunately, my lips have a couple of areas that grab stains unevenly, no matter how much I exfoliator/moisturize first. (This happens with other stains too -- you'd think I'd learn.)

Too bad, because the colors I got, Mauve & Plum, are both so pretty. I couldn't quite bring myself to toss them, so I've repurposed them as cheek stains, and they work pretty well for that.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 mirandlynn3309 on 3/5/2014 7:58:00 PM more reviews by mirandlynn3309

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Grey    

One of my very favorite things in my makeup bag. This is a new addition, I've only had for a short amount of time but it has made its place and I plan to keep using it as long as it is manufactured. It has beautiful, rich color. Doesnt taste terrible, and the applicator is really unique. I Love this stuff, the color lasts a while but not a miserable long time, realistically like 2-4 hours. Wears great through eatting and drinking, tip* take a wash cloth and scrub your lips a little bit, and then moisturize your lips with a GOOD quality lip balm,(I use C.O. Bigelow's rose salve) pat it in and then apply the color. It goes on smoother and you dont have random concentrated areas of color and it wears longer in my opinion.

Overall great product love it highly recommend.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 ladykay09 on 2/14/2014 7:14:00 PM more reviews by ladykay09

Age: 25-29   Skin: Normal, Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

Bought it for $1.50 @ Big Lots. I like it but I used to the Super Stay lipstick that really stays on FOREVER. This one came off pretty fast. The applicator is really nice though.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Maybelline products

More Lips products