CeraVe • SA Renewing Lotion • Moisturizers

rated 4.1(24 reviews)

Average Rating.4.1
Would buy this product again.75%
Ingredients


rated 3 of 5 lizo4ka on 8/29/2014 4:23:00 PM more reviews by lizo4ka

Age: 25-29   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Hazel    

I used this for about two months and sadly it did nothing for my redness or my acne problems, though it did help with my dry skin problem. Great packaging, with a pump that is really convenient. I hate to give it too low of a review because I know this works well for some people, it just didn't work for me.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* VicklePickle on 8/22/2014 9:59:00 AM more reviews by VicklePickle

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

I haven't written a review in a long time, but I had to write one for this-it's my holy grail, do-everything product! I have sensitive, combination skin that gets clogged pores easily. I tried Paula's Choice and Neutrogena salicylic acid products, but they irritated my skin and didn't seem to work very well. I already use prescription Differin gel (great stuff!) so I needed something gentle, but the differin wasn't totally fixing the problem. I tried this on half of my face with my usual moisturizer on the other for a month or so. The half with this had a lot less redness and much fewer breakouts and clogged pores. Paula says that the ph is too high on this, but that has not been true for me. I mix this with my differin in my hand and apply both before bed. My skin is also a lot less flaky and dry-probably because this has ceramides.

I also use this as a body lotion because the salicylic acid lets me skip a body scrub, but is still extremely gentle. It knocks out the KP I get on my arms in the winter. Lastly, it's a miracle for my heels. By the third night my feet were soft like a baby's. Because it's a chemical exfoliant it exfoliates much more evenly than the pedegg and foot files I've used in the past. And, I only have to do this one step and night which is a big deal because I don't have time to do anything lately! Also great for dry cuticles and to prevent ingrown hairs. Highly recommend this gentle, multipurpose lotion!

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 lovelyxuglypie on 8/17/2014 1:47:00 PM more reviews by lovelyxuglypie

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

This is a great product for us scaly folks out there. I've always had issues with bumps and ingrown hairs on my legs, and some bumpiness on my arms that doesn't quite qualify as KP, but is grody nonetheless. After applying this all over after showering for a week, I can see a huge difference in my skin. It is smoother than it has ever been, and the number of dry bumps has decreased significantly. A little goes a long way, but because this is a pretty expensive lotion in a very small bottle, I only use it every few days and use a cheaper lotion the rest of the time and still maintain the results.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* rav2b on 7/3/2014 1:35:00 PM more reviews by rav2b

Age: 56 & Over   Skin: Combination, Medium, Neutral   Hair: Other   Eyes: Hazel    

WOW!!! I cannot believe how amazing this stuff is ON MY FACE! I've been using it about a week now, morning and night. At night I use the Clarisonic Deep Pore, followed by Clinique's Acne Clarifying Lotion with two extra aspirins per ounce (decanted into their 1oz travel size bottle) then AcneFree Sensitive, then this. Sounds involved, but it's less than ten minutes. In the morning, it's rinse with a clean wet washcloth, Clinique's Acne Clarifying (extra aspirin like evening), and this. I'm 64 and work in a hospital where the air is cold and dry year-round, and don't drink as much water as I should, so my skin looked stressed and dehydrated. Now it's plump and fresh and clear. I could see a difference after two days, but wanted to be sure I wasn't going to break out before raving about it. It's a little more expensive than some drugstore moisturizers, but it's working better than anything I've tried at any price. And I don't think my skin has looked or felt this good since before adolescence!!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* 4eyes on 2/17/2014 10:17:00 PM more reviews by 4eyes

Age: 44-55   Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Hazel    

I saw this in the DS when I went to buy some AmLactin or Eucerin Professional for Extremely Dry Skin. I figured I'd try it to see if it was any better. It's not. I have dry, KP body skin that is itchy in winter and does not shed. This stuff was very thick and just sat in white smears on top of my skin. It took a lot of rubbing to get it to disappear. It also did not dissolve the KP as well as the AmLactin or Eucerin, and my skin did not feel as moisturized or soft. It wasn't terrible, and I can't say it left my skin dry, but it was not great and not worth the price esp. when compared to the AmLactin and the Eucerin. At least it had no fragrance and did not cause any irritation.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* prettypollyperkins on 1/29/2014 6:59:00 AM more reviews by prettypollyperkins

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Olive   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

I had been experiencing very dry skin on my body, in particular the tops of my arms, above my ankles and the top of my back. Although the regular Cerave moisturising lotion had improved things a lot, there were areas that flared up or just didn't respond that well to that lotion. My elbows in particular needed moisturising two or three times a day! This very thick lotion contains salicylic acid, ceramides and Vitamin D, so I expected excellent results. After regular daily use, my elbows now remain soft throughout the day after just one application, which is a definite improvement. My heels also love this lotion, especially after a thorough exfoliation. Although I had initially been sceptical about using it on my face, I tried a small amount on an area of very rough, flaky facial skin which seemed resistant to my usual non-AHA/BHA exfoliators and overnight it had massively improved (same results as Clinique Turnaround cream and Avene Cleanance K for a fraction of the price by volume). The bottle size is 237ml and for the price this is good value considering the ingredients. Unless you have extremely dry or bumpy skin I do not recommend you buy this lotion as the regular Cerave lotion should do the trick and is cheaper.

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* zernelle on 12/9/2013 11:32:00 AM more reviews by zernelle

Age: 36-43   Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brown, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

This is a fairly nice exfoliating lotion with salicylic acid. I use it on my body, and I appreciate that it is fragrance free, which is great for my sensitive skin. However, I find AmLactin lotion to be more effective at exfoliating and at keeping ingrown hairs at bay (the primary reason I use an exfoliating lotion). Since AmLactin is also fragrance-free, available in a large bottle at Costco, and more effective, I prefer it to Cerave Renewing Lotion.

Ingredients: Water, Glycerin, Mineral Oil, Ammonium Lactate, Salicylic Acid, Trolamine, Glyceryl Stearate SE, Behentrimonium Methosulfate, Cetearyl Alcohol, PEG 100 Stearate, Cetyl Alcohol, Cholecalciferol (Vitamin D3), Ceramide 3, Ceramide 6 II, Ceramide 1, Cholesterol, Phytosphingosine, Dimethicone 360, Methylparaben, Disodium EDTA, Propylparaben, Hyaluronic Acid, Sodium Lauroyl Lactylate, Carbomer, Xanthan Gum.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 tiantianz on 8/17/2013 11:17:00 AM more reviews by tiantianz

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Olive, Cool   Hair: Black, Straight, Coarse   Eyes: Brown    

It's a very, very good standard body lotion. I bought this because I get lots of ingrown hair after shaving or waxing, and though my stubborn ingrowns are still around, I will definitely repurchase this product!

It's great because it's so simple. It sinks in fast: my skin feels soft and moisturized, even though the lotion feels like it's disappeared. It's hard to put into words: with many other lotions (think Body Shop Body Butter) my skin feels soft in the I-just-put-on-lotion kind of way. With this one, it feels like my skin has simply become healthier and stronger.

It's wonderful too as a hand cream. One night I rubbed it over my cuticles, and the next morning I woke up with perfect cuticles! I've never had perfect cuticles before. This sounds really minor but it made my day when I noticed.

The lotion lasts at least a full 24-hours which is another aspect that I love--with other pharmacy lotions (like Aveeno) I feel the urge to reapply every 12 hours.

I've been using it from April till now (August) so I may look for something else richer for the winter. Normally for any product category I like to start at a pharmacy product and move my way up to higher-end items; for now, with this body lotion I don't feel compelled to look any further!

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* joshquinto on 7/20/2013 11:23:00 PM more reviews by joshquinto

Age: 30-35   Skin: Acne-prone, Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

I have a really sensitive skin and i've tried all lotions! This is the answer to my helplessness.. After this i have a better looking skin again.. I even use it on my face sometimes and it's just perfect! No more itching during dry season and my skin looks like in my 20's again lol

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 asr15 on 6/2/2013 11:07:00 AM more reviews by asr15

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

I just bought this yesterday from CVS, because the packaging read that it "exfoliates, softens, & smoothes extremely dry, rough, bumpy skin"... I'm a teenager with oily/combination skin, so I was skeptical in that it would make me greasy. However, I started breaking out on my chin recently-- not too bad, there were a couple under-the-skin pimples I felt coming but managed to stop from rising. I also had these bumps on one side of my chin that weren't full blown pimples, but they were irritating and I was afraid they'd all surface at once!! When I bought this, I put it on over my benzoyl-peroxide treatment i had on my chin, and the overall texture felt heavier than I'm used to. It didn't feel like it sink into my skin completely, but I let it be and just went to bed. Today when I woke up, the bumps were 95% gone!! I was shocked, and maybe it's too soon to tell, but so far I'm impressed! It was pricy, but for the most part it's fragrance-free, and it didn't make me oily. Definitely worth trying!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More CeraVe products

More Moisturizers products