Revlon • Colorstay gel eyeliner - brown • Eyeliner

rated 2.6(10 reviews)

Average Rating.2.6
Would buy this product again.40%
Ingredients


rated 1 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* cathykl on 11/11/2013 12:09:00 AM more reviews by cathykl

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Olive, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I've been trying different eyeliners lately and let's just say this one doesn't cut it. I was really shocked at how poorly this performed since the ColorStay Liquid liner (the slimline with a very thin felt tip) worked so well. It was dark, matte and inky, stayed for hours. This was like it's delinquent underachieving sister.

I applied this close to my lash line, and that's when I noticed it wasn't even a matte brown. This has *sparkles*. Surprise. I really dislike glitter for work. In the lighting at the store it didn't appear that shimmery. It also applies incredibly patchy, you need to keep going over and over the lines. And re-dipping the provided brush/or your own brush into the liner. I decided I would try this out for a week to see how it would stand up to wear and time. By Day 2 my eyes were just way too bloodshot. I think the liner was migrating into my eyes, glitter and all, and just causing irritation. When I would use the computer at work my eyes would burn. I wanted to try it out on the lower lash line and nowhere else, but that stung my eyes too. I figure all this blinking and squinting from the liner will cause my eye area to start wrinkling so I don't want to use it again.

No thanks, Revlon.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 darcy0408 on 2/19/2013 11:20:00 AM more reviews by darcy0408

Age: 30-35   Skin: Normal, Fair   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

This was the first gel eyeliner I ever tried. I hated it. I thought gel liners must just be clumpy and hard to apply. It had no lasting power. It smudged. Then in my Ipsy box I got a Mica beauty eyeliner and it is a night and day difference. Revlon Colorstay gel eyeliner was possibly the worst makeup purchase I have made in years.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 Maryso on 12/31/2012 7:03:00 PM more reviews by Maryso

Age: 19-24   Skin: Sensitive, Fair   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Hazel    

Let me start off by saying I use this as a brow filler instead of a liner...I use the Revlon ColorStay LIQUID liner and thought I'd try out the gel to see if it lasts longer. I can't get my lines as precise and I can with the liquid. As a liner, it's a little too smudgy looking for me. Maybe I'm just not very good at applying it.
BUT AS A BROW filler, I love it! Lasts all day and the applicator brush is perfect. So yes as a brow filler, no as an eye liner!
I could probably find a better/comparable actual brow filler at a better price, but it's lasting forever so it will be a little while till I need to find a new one!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 pelini on 10/1/2012 7:43:00 PM more reviews by pelini

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Olive, Warm   Hair: Brown, Curly, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I really like this liner. Compared to what type of brushes other liners come with, I am actually impressed by the quality of the brush, but you will need another one if you want a thin line. It has staying power, and has a very smooth texture. I like it much better than some of my high-end cream liners (although my favorite is E.L.F.).

Edit: This eventually gave me contact eczema. Be aware if you have allergies.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* VicklePickle on 9/15/2012 8:47:00 AM more reviews by VicklePickle

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

I actually love this and am surprised at all of the bad reviews! The brush does make a slightly thicker line, but I like a thicker, smokier line so this works great for me. I find the brush to be very soft as well - comparable to Laura Mercier's in this regard. I am blond and pale and found MAC's Dipdown fluidline to be too intense and hard to control, but this is a little lighter (I got the brown) with a small amount of shimmer, so it looks much better with my coloring. It is also insanely easy to apply. I didn't have any clumping issues and haven't found it to be dry or tug at all - just very creamy. If you are looking for a thin, precise line and a super-intense color (more like liquid eyeliner), I'd look elsewhere, but if you're looking for a soft, creamy line that lasts all day, this is perfect! I also love that the brush is attached as I travel alot so this is one less product to keep track of.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 crmalesa on 5/5/2012 11:22:00 PM more reviews by crmalesa

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Blue    

I LOVE this. I wear the darkest black shade. I have also recently used the maybelline gel eyeliner in the little pot and here is why I prefer this: the packaging. The brush that is attached to the lid is so handy and convenient; and you won't lose the little pot. This formula is very richly pigmented and has a very creamy texture that is very easy to use. I'm trying to go for the Adele heavy eyeliner look, and this can be used to create a really dramatic look. I have no intention of switching. It is a really great buy for its cheap price.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 KatheK on 2/15/2012 12:42:00 PM more reviews by KatheK

Age: 44-55   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette, Curly, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

My initial impressions. Love the color of the eyeliner; hate the packaging. The idea of the brush being incorporated into the lid *sounded* like a nifty idea but the execution of it sucks. Don't like the the brush itself for application either. I'll use my own. I'm on the fence about whether or not I'd buy it again. Depends on how well it lasts.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 TheeOriginalBooBooKatie on 1/27/2012 8:43:00 AM more reviews by TheeOriginalBooBooKatie

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Tan   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

Agreed on all points! I was seduced by the sleek packaging and marketing (and a positive review in a magazine) but I'm sticking with L'oreal Telescopic for now. This product never claimed to be waterproof but it DID claim 24 hour wear so I figured it could keep up. It began to crease and run after only 5 hours. Poorly designed applicator brush aside, this formula just doesnt deliver on it's promise to stay put.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 Tango116 on 1/10/2012 9:47:00 AM more reviews by Tango116

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Blond, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

I agree, this is awful. I haven't had much luck with gel eyeliners. I bought the L'Oreal HIP brown one when those came out which looked beautiful but didn't wear well. Stila wasn't that great. I have a Sonia Kashuk brown one that wears OK but the brown is more black.
This one in the brown shade looked nice in the pot and there was a Revlon sale, so thought I'd give this a try.
The packaging is kind of goofy. There's a brush that you screw into the top of the lid so that it sticks straight up. Mine didn't want to stay screwed in. The brush didn't work that well. The color went on a bit transparent as you brushed it on, so I had to keep brushing on more of it. The pretty brown I saw in the pot looked greyish-black on my eyelids. I don't know if it's something with my skin or what but I have this problem with half the brown eyeliners I try on - they either look black or greyish-black when I put them on.
This wore off quickly. I'm back to the Sonia Kashuk gel pot in brown that wore decently (but is more black than brown).
Still in search of a HG brown eyeliner! I've tried dozens.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* boadicea23 on 1/8/2012 8:51:00 PM more reviews by boadicea23

Age: 36-43   Skin: Oily, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Hazel    

Wow. This is awful. I've been a gel eyeliner fan for about a decade. I've tried many and this by far is the worst. Generally, I like Revlon eye products so I figured this would be no different. The appeal was the packaging since the brush was part of it. I had wanted something I could grab from my drawer quickly for say, going on errands on the weekends. I don't want to dig around for a brush and then find the eyeliner, etc. Wow. This was bad. For starters, the brush is terrible: only the top 1/2 half is flexible. The bottom will not budge, no matter how hard I tried to make it move. Since the brush is so stiff, you gouge the eyeliner in the tiny pot. I was worried that it would make the line too thick. Alas, there is absolutely no color pay off. I've had better luck with pencils. When I did get a decent line, it faded a few hours later. It looked as if I hadn't worn eyeliner at all. Rarely do I hate something this much. For the price, I'd be better off buying an ELF brush at Target and going for the $3 ELF cream liner and taping the two together. Seriously. This is by far one of the worst products I have ever used in nearly 3 decades of wearing cosmetics.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No




More Revlon products

More Eyeliner products