MAC #286 Duo Fibre Blending Brush


22 reviews

90% would repurchase

Package Quality: 4.3

Price: $$$

Package Quality: 4.3

Price: $$$


on 8/11/2015 8:54:00 AM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Very Oily, Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

The sales lady at Mac suggested I get this and I thought she was just looking to get more commission money from me but this brush is very good. The duo fibers and long bristles lightly and evenly blend out concealer. It's great for spot concealing on blemishes as well. Very handy brush!

on 2/20/2015 2:23:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Normal, Medium, Neutral

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Brown

Seriously not sure how I ever applied my eye shadow before this brush!!! I absolutely love the way my eye shadows apply and blend when I am using this brush.

I use this to apply the color to my crease and blend out, after I apply the deeper color to my outer V, I also use this with the same crease color to blend out and it looks amazing... I've even just used MAC's taupe color with this brush for a one color look and it does a great job!!! Definitely a must have in my arsenal of makeup tools and when this one eventually falls apart, I will definitely repurchase.

on 9/9/2014 8:46:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Normal, Fair, Cool

Hair: Black, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Brown

this is one of the most versatile brushes out there. i own over 150 brushes and this is the one i use the most often. good for blending eye shadow, nose shadow, cream/liquid concealer, eye primer etc. Very soft bristle and i own 3 of the same one. You wont regret buying it.

on 8/30/2014 1:25:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Dark, Warm

Hair: Black, Other, Coarse

Eyes: Brown

I think I initially bought this because I wanted a brush to specifically set my under eye concealer with... and umm this wasn't that great for it. However, for blending out colours in the socket/crease area, it's fantastic. I use this like almost every single day along with my go to transition colour Makeup Geek eyeshadow in Frappe. It's like they were made for each other. I would 100% buy this again if I lost it, thinking of even buying another one. The Duo-fibre makes a seamless eyeshadow application and gives a more sheer wash of colour rather than intense. Great investment.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

on 6/9/2014 8:47:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Other, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Red, Other, Other

Eyes: Other

I love this brush, its the perfect blending brush. It's my Hg

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

on 4/26/2014 1:21:00 PM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Combination, Medium, Warm

Hair: Blond, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Blue

In my opinion this brush is very comparable to the 226 brush (this is now a LE brush, real shame Mac done this as it's fab) but the 286 does go one better in that it's great for depositing product into the crease but also great for blending. I love the 224 but this brush is more dense and has more control.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

on 3/12/2014 1:20:00 AM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Very Dry, Fair, Cool

Hair: Brown, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Green

I use this brush for blending eyeshadow. It is good and bad.

The 217 is an excellent blending brush, but I do use this one daily too. It blends shadows very quickly. This is my go-to blending eyeshadow brush when I am in a hurry. 2-3 swipes across my eye lid, and I have a good blend. But it is VERY easy to over do blending with this brush, making your eyeshadow muddy and undefined.

It doesn't pick up a lot of product, so sometimes I use it with darker colors in my outer corner, for a more subtle look.

Size-wise, it is quite a bit larger than the 217. If you have small eyes, it will probably be too large for you.
It works especially well when blending stubborn shadows. I think it makes blending cream shadows easier too. I do think it is softer than the 217.

Do you need it? No, it's not a must have brush, especially if you have a 217. But I am glad I purchased, and would re-purchase.

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

on 12/27/2013 10:57:00 AM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Very Dry, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I always been a fan of 224 for concealer but I guess it just wasn't made for cream product so mine shed after one year of use, however I got the 286 and it didn't work as well as 224 for concealer! So I tried use it for eyeshadow application on crease area, it works amazing now it's the only brush I like to use for blending. Ps: I don't like 219 it pulls the skin too much will make you winkles!

on 8/12/2013 10:08:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Very Oily, Olive, Warm

Hair: Black, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Brown

I really love this brush and I always use it when I work with dark colors especially black. It doesn't pick up too much product but that's what I like about it. I use this for my dark crease colors I prefer smoked out looks and this helps me because it blends like a dream. I use it like I would the 226 except I only use the 226 for soft colors. This brush blends better than the 226. I love it and I would repurchase.

on 7/8/2013 10:44:00 AM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Green

I've always had problems applying loose powder eyeshadow to my lids. I have a big Set fyrianne Pigments at home and can't use them :( Until the MAC 286 moved into my bathroom: The perfect Brush for me to apply loose pigments and eyeshadows. Also works amazingly well in the crease. This is the perfect partner for my favourite loose crease color: Alima's Satin Matte Mineral Eyeshadow in Blonde. Highly recommended!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Back to Top