MAC • #286 Duo Fibre Blending Brush • Makeup Brushes

rated 4.3(16 reviews)

Average Rating.4.3
Would buy this product again.87%
Ingredients

Read Reviews


rated 4 of 5 sarah_417 on 3/12/2014 1:20:00 AM more reviews by sarah_417

Age: 30-35   Skin: Very Dry, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brown, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Green    

I use this brush for blending eyeshadow. It is good and bad.

The 217 is an excellent blending brush, but I do use this one daily too. It blends shadows very quickly. This is my go-to blending eyeshadow brush when I am in a hurry. 2-3 swipes across my eye lid, and I have a good blend. But it is VERY easy to over do blending with this brush, making your eyeshadow muddy and undefined.

It doesn't pick up a lot of product, so sometimes I use it with darker colors in my outer corner, for a more subtle look.

Size-wise, it is quite a bit larger than the 217. If you have small eyes, it will probably be too large for you.
It works especially well when blending stubborn shadows. I think it makes blending cream shadows easier too. I do think it is softer than the 217.

Do you need it? No, it's not a must have brush, especially if you have a 217. But I am glad I purchased, and would re-purchase.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 creamdeviolet on 12/27/2013 10:57:00 AM more reviews by creamdeviolet

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Very Dry, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

I always been a fan of 224 for concealer but I guess it just wasn't made for cream product so mine shed after one year of use, however I got the 286 and it didn't work as well as 224 for concealer! So I tried use it for eyeshadow application on crease area, it works amazing now it's the only brush I like to use for blending. Ps: I don't like 219 it pulls the skin too much will make you winkles!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* DMlover on 8/12/2013 10:08:00 PM more reviews by DMlover

Age: 25-29   Skin: Very Oily, Olive, Warm   Hair: Black, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

I really love this brush and I always use it when I work with dark colors especially black. It doesn't pick up too much product but that's what I like about it. I use this for my dark crease colors I prefer smoked out looks and this helps me because it blends like a dream. I use it like I would the 226 except I only use the 226 for soft colors. This brush blends better than the 226. I love it and I would repurchase.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 annia316 on 7/8/2013 10:44:00 AM more reviews by annia316

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Green    

I've always had problems applying loose powder eyeshadow to my lids. I have a big Set fyrianne Pigments at home and can't use them :( Until the MAC 286 moved into my bathroom: The perfect Brush for me to apply loose pigments and eyeshadows. Also works amazingly well in the crease. This is the perfect partner for my favourite loose crease color: Alima's Satin Matte Mineral Eyeshadow in Blonde. Highly recommended!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Fieeeh on 2/26/2013 3:55:00 PM more reviews by Fieeeh

Age: 19-24   Skin: Very Oily, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Grey    

I don't like this for anything else than concealer - it's great with both the mineralize and pro longwear concealers :)

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 Ainslie99 on 2/3/2013 5:23:00 AM more reviews by Ainslie99

Age: 44-55   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Hazel    

Another great brush for my duo fibre brush wardrobe. I am unabashedly a fan of the duo fibre range as they deliver just the right amount of product for the job. I use this brush to set my concealer with powder & it is perfect for this use.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Menolikepolos on 1/29/2013 9:59:00 PM more reviews by Menolikepolos

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

About me: NW10-15 (neutral-cool toned, very fair), blue eyes, Color season is True Summer, Baumann Skin Type is OSPW.

I bought this brush hoping it would be the perfect combination of the 217 and the 224, as I like how the 217 blends and the tapered point of the 224. However, this brush is like the worst combination of the 2: it barely pick up any pigment, and it blends it very widely. Not a repeat purchase.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 MelissaJuice on 11/16/2012 11:21:00 AM more reviews by MelissaJuice

Age: 30-35   Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium, Cool   Hair: Blond, Straight   Eyes: Green    

I was an avid Sigma fan until I bought my first MAC brush (217) and then this one. I don't think they can really compare!
It's very soft but firm at the same time, so it doesn't bend or splay too much while applying the product, which always makes blending so much harder... I think it's absolutely amazing for blending into the crease and the outer corner.
It's quite expensive (I got it for 22 ) but I'm glad I invested in it, it's definitely the best brush for this purpose I can imagine.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 kristinor on 10/21/2012 12:30:00 PM more reviews by kristinor

Age: 44-55   Skin: Dry, Fair   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Brown    

This is my favorite blending brush. I am definitely buying a few more.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* starrysim on 9/4/2012 9:32:00 PM more reviews by starrysim

Age: 25-29   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Cool   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I'm really glad I splurged on this brush. I don't have a duo fiber crease brush, so this really fills a void in my collection. I really love the shape - it's as long as the 222, but pointy like the 226 (even more pointy actually), and much softer. Actually, the shape and size is most similar to the Lancome #17, which is one of my favourite crease brushes. I like that it's pointy, so I can place colour precisely in the crease, but it's also soft enough to blend. It doesn't pick up a ton of colour, so it's best for smoking out dark colours, like Typographic. Great brush overall, don't hesitate to add it to your collection.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More MAC products

More Makeup Brushes products