By Terry • Cover Expert Perfecting Fluid Foundation • Liquid

rated 4.2(36 reviews)

Average Rating.4.2
Would buy this product again.72%
Ingredients


rated 5 of 5 Smileyjane on 9/20/2014 5:14:00 PM more reviews by Smileyjane

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Green    

This foundation is beautiful. Yes it's pricey ($89au) but the way your face looks after is flawless. At the time when I purchased this my skin was going a little crazy, however this tube of gold gave back my confidence. I have tried a lot of foundations in my time and this one is like none other, so lux. You can build it up easily also. If your on the fence about this foundation just buy it!! You won't look back, I'm on my second tube.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* verte on 9/5/2014 5:03:00 AM more reviews by verte

Age: 30-35   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

After wearing Cover Expert for nearly a year I prefer this over the Sheer Expert. I got shade no 8 Intense Beige which is an excellent match for my NW25 neutral with pinky/peachy undertones skin. It seems to adapt well to my slightly darker summer skin or my pasty white winter skin too. I still have about a quarter of a tube left as you don't need a lot of this foundation at a time. Love the sleek, travel-friendly packaging and the smooth, light texture. For something so light it covers imperfections such as redness and small pimples very well. I use a stippling brush or a buffing brush to apply and it makes my skin look really nice without looking over-made-up. It lasts all day without needing to be touched up. Doesn't oxidise throughout the day either. I have normal to dry skin in winter and slightly less dry skin in summer and this doesn't go flaky, cakey or blotchy (Hourglass Veil, I'm looking at you). Yes it's expensive but for me it's worth it. Have just repurchased a second tube in anticipation.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 elizan on 8/28/2014 6:45:00 PM more reviews by elizan

Age: 30-35   Skin: Dry, Fair   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Hazel    

Just using this for the first week and really liking it. I used the information at the Beauty Professor site to find the right shade for me: NW20-25, Cover Expert 4 Rosy Beige. ETA: I went to Space NK last time I was in New York and they confirmed the color match of 4.

I prefer foundation in a tube. It is easier to travel with and I feel like I have control over how much I get out of the tube. This is a rather elegant tube, solid feeling with a nice heavy cap.

The formula feels light going on but provides about medium coverage. It seems to last well over a day. Maybe not quite as well as one of the hard core long lasting foundations but well enough on a hot, humid day on the East Coast.

Has a sort of floral smell that surprised me but, as someone who is very picky about scents in my make up, not bad at all.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* wonderbuy on 8/3/2014 9:08:00 PM more reviews by wonderbuy

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Hazel    

This is not for yellow toned girls. The main issue with this line is lack of shade selection, of which most is beige or pink based, I had incredible issues with choice. After buying the closest it felt it lacked yellow pigment thereby making me look dull whilst the shade intensity may be correct. Also the pigment is low, there is very low coverage, but the best thing is the formula, its great for drier skins and really plumps it up. This foundation can be improved so easily but right now as it stands its low coverage better for pink/beige toned girls with drier skin types. My combo skin ate this right up in 4 hours. I think at the drugstore level there are more suitable choices.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 lauramvig on 7/23/2014 2:57:00 AM more reviews by lauramvig

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

This has an absolutely lovely finish. Not too shiny but not matte, and doesn't really need to be set with powder.

My only gripe (other than the exuberant price) has nothing to do with the product, but I think the colour I was matched to was a bit off. Other than that I love everything about this.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Moogeek on 6/7/2014 1:10:00 AM more reviews by Moogeek

Age: 36-43   Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I love this foundation! It shares HG status with my beloved KGD. The coverage is medium, buildable to full and it gives a flawless finish. It holds up well throughout the day. The packaging and fragarance don't bother me. The tube makes it easy to travel with and the fragrance wears off very quicly for me. I'm Nc20/25 and #7 is a great color match.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 AcidCandy on 4/11/2014 7:22:00 PM more reviews by AcidCandy

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Black, Straight, Coarse   Eyes: Brown    

I had been lemming over this foundation for a very long time, as I was curious to try something from the highly acclaimed By Terry range. I bought the shade no. 7 which is a near enough match for my NC25 skin. My skin is combination and littered with hyper pigmentation from old acne so there is a lot of work to be done to conceal. Despite its name, I find the foundation not to conceal enough - infact I would call it quite sheer! Please bear in mind that I use my Real Techniques sponge to apply this. I have tried it with fingers and I just can't get over the streaks this method leaves behind. I have yet to try it with a foundation brush... One thing I really appreciate from this foundation is its texture. When applied with a sponge it is smooth and not at all cakey - especially compared to the Nars Sheer Glow that I normally use day to day. A final note - the packaging is sleek and glossy but prone to leaking. Before I had even used the product it was already leaking into the screw cap. So make sure to store it upside down to avoid any waste.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 ktemly on 3/6/2014 4:01:00 AM more reviews by ktemly

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

I really wanted to love this foundation after reading mostly rave reviews and the fact that it cost me $90 AUD which to me is super expensive for a foundation.
In a nutshell, there is pretty much nothing I liked about it. I absolutely HATED the smell! To the point that I had to clean my foundation and powder brushes twice to get it out. I'm usually not too fussed by the smell of a foundation, so it goes to show how strong it was.
I also found the shades to be blah. I was matched to a 9 in store and thought it made me look a little weird....not natural.
Also, the packaging looks SO cheap for a foundation that costs so damn much!!
The coverage wasn't bad, I'd say a medium, but it definitely didn't last too long
On my combo skin...my Nars sheer glow performs 100 times better.
This is the first cosmetic item I've ever returned.

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 lemonz4us on 3/2/2014 4:55:00 PM more reviews by lemonz4us

Age: 19-24   Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

I had really high hopes for this foundation. But i was let down
I came home at the end of the day with 4 new spots that I didn't have before. Boo for breaking me out, but I'm kind of relieved because an expensive lemming has been squashed
It didn't apply very well, and didn't look as natural as some of my other foundations tbh, and the color match was off. Shade 7 , the color I chose was way too golden for me . My face and neck looked jaundiced compared to my body .
I do prefer yellow foundation but of a cooler (icy yellow) nature.
This smelled like roses, not fake roses either, the earth where you dig up the rose from. Very grassy.
A no-go for me
Sorry

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* samuellewis on 2/16/2014 10:43:00 PM more reviews by samuellewis

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Olive   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

I also blame Ruth Crilly aka amodelrecommends for this!! It is A MAZING! I was really sceptical based on the odd non rave review in contrast with the raves but i'm another raver! If you like GLOWY, slightly dewey but non shiny, greasy looking skin, light thin texture but fantastic coverage without cakeyness (who doesn't) then this is the HG of foundations with Luminous Silk coming close second but for only 9 more this wins because it's definitely 9 better too. I absolutely love this foundation it's flawless skin in a bottle. If you wanted to matte it up then just set it with a matifying powder, personally i adore the finish. As a boy its crucial have the 'no makeup' makeup look and this gives it! Seamless, i apply it with a stippling brush and buff it in. I got shade 11 as i'm pretty tanned and it doesnt oxidize or go orange and it photographs incredibly :-) can't recommend this enough x

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More By Terry products

More Liquid products