Almay • Smart Shade Perfect & Correct Primer • Primer/ Corrector

rated 2.4(90 reviews)

Average Rating.2.4
Would buy this product again.30%
Ingredients

Read Reviews


rated 1 of 5 Ta2dqt21 on 4/20/2014 11:11:00 AM more reviews by Ta2dqt21

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool   Hair: Black, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

Not impressed. For the brand, I expected more, but the texture and scent of this product are deal-breakers for me. I found no added benefit for my foundation or face and even experienced a bit of irritation after removing the product from my sensitive skin. The rancid smell does not dissipate after the product dries, the texture is more slimy than smooth, and my foundation did not last any longer with this primer underneath. To their credit, Almay was kind enough to provide this product in a clear pump style bottle, but that is the only positive I can muster up for this primer. Waste of time and money; There are better options out there.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 Megzimo on 3/18/2014 7:18:00 PM more reviews by Megzimo

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Dry, Fair   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Green    

When I bought this primer I thought it would help brighten and reduce the redness on my skin. It did absolutely nothing! When I smoothed it over my skin it seemed to just go clear, it didn't really help with the longevity of my makeup either. Not to mention the burning sensation when applied to my face. I figured if I didn't like it then I should let someone else give it a try because my skin is pretty sensitive and I didn't want to waste it, so I let my friend try it at my house. Her face was hot and red and she said it burned too, we had to wash it off almost immediately. Definitely regret buying this and would not recommend.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 lola444 on 2/26/2014 10:38:00 PM more reviews by lola444

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brown, Straight   Eyes: Brown    

This primer does not work for me. It does not correct or perfect at all. As I have a combination/ oily skin, the product does not do anything to help it. And its so watery that seems like I haven't put anything on, but just make my skin more oily and not correcting my skin color. plus it has a terrible smell!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Jenyfyr on 2/25/2014 7:47:00 PM more reviews by Jenyfyr

Age: 36-43   Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

I've been using this for about a year now and love it. This is the first and only primer I've ever used so I'm sure that are better ones out there, but I definitely feel it does what it says it'll do (even tone & reduce redness). I don't find it has a smell to it at all and it seems to dry quickly and absolutely helps my foundation last through the day. I feel the price is reasonable, especially since a bottle seems to last a long time (I use one "pump" pretty much every day of the week when I get ready in the morning) and I like that it's an readily available in a wide variety of stores so it's easy to replace when I run out. Oh, and most importantly, it doesn't clog my pores or irritate my sensitive skin. I will absolutely repurchase!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Carlysmilesx on 2/17/2014 8:02:00 PM more reviews by Carlysmilesx

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Dry, Fair   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Green    

AWESOME for getting rid of any red spots or blemishes you have!!! I use it on its own when I don't use foundation - just so I can go out without my red spots showing. Hydrates skin. Let dry fully before putting foundation on - or else no good

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 mehevans on 2/15/2014 12:30:00 PM more reviews by mehevans

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Normal, Fair   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Brown    

Absolutely hated it. Not only does it smell TERRIBLE (like cat pee), it doesn't do any of the things it was supposed to. Didn't notice any color perfecting at all and it didn't help my foundation stay on any longer than it normally would. Save your money and splurge on a primer that actually works.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 TGarrigues on 1/28/2014 11:10:00 AM more reviews by TGarrigues

Age: 19-24   Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium   Hair: Red, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

I got this product about a year ago because I realized then what primer was for! Pros for this product: Your makeup stays on the whole day. It reduces any redness on your face. It has a cool swirl in the bottle which is just cool looking lol. The cons: Definitely the price was a little much for me, however this product works for me.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 kawaiidesu on 1/6/2014 12:52:00 AM more reviews by kawaiidesu

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium, Cool   Hair: Brown, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

How it swirls is really pretty. This primer doesn't reduce redness but it does act as a decent base for makeup. The smell may seem a bit strong at first but you can ignore it. I honestly tried better primers but this isn't bad. It does an okay job. Check out my other reviews!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 Nades01 on 1/5/2014 2:21:00 PM more reviews by Nades01

Age: 44-55   Skin: Sensitive, Fair   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Grey    

I have no clue what kinda nose people have here....the smell is horrible??? Really? cat piss? wow! let me meet your cat please, so I can adopt him! The smell is totally no-existent, like all Almay's products. Does it really do what it says it does. Not exactly but I do notice a slight decrease in my redness.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 MsLucyRyan on 11/11/2013 12:46:00 PM more reviews by MsLucyRyan

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Other   Eyes: Green    

I have to agree with other reviews on the smell, it is awful and doesn't seem to go away. Also it makes me have an ashy look to my skin when I use it. Would definitely not buy again, can't even make it through the 1st bottle :-(

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Almay products

More Primer/ Corrector products