Frederic Malle • Lipstick Rose • Fragrances

rated 3.7(139 reviews)

Average Rating.3.7
Would buy this product again.56%
Ingredients


rated 5 of 5 theresasampson on 4/9/2014 3:19:00 PM more reviews by theresasampson

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Brown, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

Lipstick rose is an absolute love for me. To be honest I am a big Malle fan & it was my "first" introduction to the beauty & fun of the powdery rose/violet cosmetc accord everyone talks about. Truely "feminine" & yes it has a sense of humor. So many here have reviewed & given notes. It is a bit pricey. $110/30ml &250/100ml. Typical malle pricing:) Still five stars & difficult to push off its fluffy pedistal.lol. not that I want to.

The rose violet accord is complemented by a raspberry note which really tickles my fancy. & the musks & vetiver keep it from being too too sweet & I didnt find either of those notes too too much in theirselves. Schweiger has everything perfectly balanced.

If you are a rose lover you owe it to yourself to sniff. If not I would still recommend, you may be surprised. There are so many comparisons. & Lipstick rose compelled me to explore other powder & rose/violets. Fans of L'ombre Rose, Ysl Paris may find a very lighthearted friend. Also in this genre: rosine's rose de Rosine/rose .. legere, Glam Rose, Drole de rose, vecchi rossetti, tauer's une rose vermeille, sss cameo..also a 'neon' version bond's broadway Nite. All unique. I still find that Lipstick rose has the ..perfect powder & sweetness with the vanilla. In the base. Will always have on hand & always come back to it after mybwondererings. Lol Longevity very good & for me I actually wish it had more sillage & throw.because I love it that much. A fun masterpiece!!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 jolantuk on 1/24/2014 7:29:00 AM more reviews by jolantuk

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Tan   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

Oh my GOD, what a feminine perfume! What a masterpiece! I expected it to be some scent of what a cosmetics have, but this is sooo much better! I can inhale this all of the time, I want to smell like that all of the time. I am so exited, because I had a chance today to try this and I understood that this is so me, it suits me so well!
In my review about My insolence by Guerlain I wrote that finally i found a makeup-y, powdery, creamy smell, but My insolence is just incomparable to Lipstick Rose (although they both have these qualities). Besides all of the qualities i have mentioned above for the first time i smelled a fragrance which has such a beautifully expressed ROSE note...mmmm...so elegant, sophisticated and creamy ROSE.
Yes its a bit Retro. When i close my eyes I imagine A Retro beauty in most beautiful dress sitting in a fancy restaurant with her elegant men and theatre! In theatres smells like this perfume:)...Oh, yes, this fragrance must be mine....my own....my PRECIOUS !

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* zeynepd on 11/3/2013 9:13:00 AM more reviews by zeynepd

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Red   Eyes: Hazel    

Always an interesting journey that starts with a realistic representation of vintage lipsticks, salutes Guerlain’s candied violets and kisses Roucel’s boisterous Tocade on its way before settling into a powdery, creamy scent not unlike Teint de Neige.

The lipstick accord makes me think of my mother’s lipsticks years ago, a bit waxy, a bit plasticky. Contrary to Lipstick Rose’s generally amicable and vivacious character on my skin, this phase is slightly formal, slightly dressy and demure. Yet, the fragrance intensifies considerably during its heart when it becomes a big, fluffy vanilla and rose combination that makes me think of French cancan costumes and other high-spirited things. The drydown on my skin is very similar to Teint de Neige but lacks the latter's radiance.

I have had the same generous decant for ages and seldom wear it, perhaps because it works like three very different perfumes with very different moods on my skin.

Good sillage and lasting power of 6+ hours on my skin. 3.5

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 poppycherry on 10/24/2013 10:45:00 AM more reviews by poppycherry

Age: 44-55   Skin: Dry, Fair   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Hazel    

i wear this at work , or around attorneys and professional men in showbusiness the effect it has is sweet sexy but "stay away" its like a dress that has just enough decolellette. i really like it its not my go to, my go to is Fracas, Carnal Flower and Beyond Love but its my business lady perfume illread your other reviews for whats in it but this is my social reason for it and its one of the better rose ones, quelque fluers is full of too many bad memories for me and stella tea rose just doesnt do it for me too weak, but this is a strong good american beauty.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* CobraRose on 4/4/2013 11:15:00 PM more reviews by CobraRose

Age: 56 & Over   Skin: Very Oily, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Brown, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Hazel    

The aldehydes are a bit brisk at first, but the heart of the fragrance does indeed smell like my mother's old lipsticks. But my favorite part of LR is the base notes--a delicious vanilla musk which doesn't turn metallic on me as that accord so often does. I wouldn't wear this--I have no desire to dab lipstick on my pulse points--but it achieves that effect very well.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 ShellyMum on 10/2/2012 4:59:00 AM more reviews by ShellyMum

Age: 36-43   Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Warm   Hair: Blond, Kinky, Fine   Eyes: Green    

To me Lipstick Rose smells like a cross between Paris by YSL and Bvlgari Pour Femme. It is a sweet, powdery, violet, iris and rose fragrance with great sillage and longevity. It is very expensive but quite a lovely feminine scent, in my opinion.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 eatona on 7/10/2012 12:45:00 AM more reviews by eatona

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Green    

A friend gave me a sample of this, and I wanted it because it smelled exactly like Johnson's baby powder, a favorite of my husband's (let's not ask why). Now that I've seen some of the other reviews, it could be Coty face powder, too. Or Borotalco powder, the Italian green bottle stuff. Which is to say, all nice and powdery, but not terribly sophisticated. Would have guessed it was CB I Hate Perfumes Baby Powder (if he makes one), if I smelled it with no knowledge of the name. And really strong--I will use the sample occasionally when I'm too lazy to deal with the mess of the powder, but other than that, seriously? I think of perfume as an amazing, decadent way to smell better than the single notes nature provides through essential oils. I wouldn't spend lots on a bottle that smells like a $2 bottle of powder, nor would I use up my opportunity to put on something to change my mood, establish my style, etc., with something this common.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 mel0603 on 5/13/2012 6:45:00 PM more reviews by mel0603

Age: 36-43   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

This is a terrible fragrance. I find it hard to believe that it has received such high acclaim. It absolutely smells like an old lady's makeup bag. Who wants to smell like that?!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 yum_yum on 4/5/2012 11:48:00 AM more reviews by yum_yum

Age: 36-43   Skin: Other   Hair: Other   Eyes: Other    

It's jammy, it's juicy, it's delicious! Where do I start? A rose, violet blast with excellent sillage and incredible lasting power. A glorious raspberry note with a puff of confectioner's sugar. To compare: it's neither as 1980s-swanky-plush as YSL Paris EdP nor as decorous as L'Artisan Drole de Rose. It's somewhere in between. But it's a great, zippy in between: candied, slightly aldehydic, plenty of vanilla-froufrou magic. Rich, gay and original. In personality, it's as fearless as Nahema, and way more sure of itself than the lady-like Ombre Rose by Jean Charles Brosseau. The Brosseau has more powder, less jam and is far more collected and introspective. If I were to compare it to a predecessor, it'd probably be Ombre Rose, but the Malle has heft and is significantly more voluptuous and vibrant, with much less self-reflection. This is not a self-conscious rose!

It might be the jammy quality. A slightly ripe, tart fruit note alongside the rose, helps keep primness at bay. There's something really messy, playful and seductive about throwing a fruit note in there but retaining that grown-up-sexy feel. It'll never quite be the scent of a noir heroine...unless she keeps her ebony cigarette holder and gun in a satin handbag lined with fuchsia silk, and sports kinky bows on her the backs of her black patent heels.

I don't get the smell of vintage cosmetics -- Love, Chloe captures this more accurately. But I do get a sweet, powdery trail that smells of the dressing rooms of Degas' Pink Dancers and the warm, sexy smell of In Bed: The Kiss by Toulouse Lautrec.

For me, scents inevitably have a soundtrack, and Lipstick Rose is no exception. There's a great, quirky jazz number called The Frim-Fram Sauce which received a great, quirky treatment by Ella and Louis. Sexual innuendo, nonsense words -- it has it all. I can't think of a better musical score for a peppy, flirtatious and womanly rose -- or maybe I can. I don't know if Billie Holiday ever covered this or whether she was too dark of spirit to go there. I wonder if someone off-the-wall could sing it. Lipstick Rose is Josephine Baker with her spit-curls, false lashes and jazz-baby funk, dancing the Charleston at the Folie Bergere. And it's Debbie Harry, skipping in the ocean, singing Call Me or slinking around under disco lights to Heart of Glass, all bare shoulders, pouty red-glossed lips and bed-head blonde bob.

Vivacious! Probably my favourite rose-violet scent along with Paris. It's the scent of a retro bombshell.

And maybe even...Do you remember the poster Red got for Andy, the one of Rita Hayworth? And Rita hid Andy's secret. The Lipstick Rose sexiness in her smile -- now, that's what I'm talking about!

14 out of 18 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 queenofthenile on 3/18/2012 8:10:00 AM more reviews by queenofthenile

Age: 25-29   Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brown, Curly, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

A few other reviewers have mentioned that Lipstick Rose is very similar to L'Artisan's Drole de Rose. I already own (and love) Drole de Rose, and LR sounded like another fragrance I would enjoy. But seeing as it's significantly more expensive than L'Artisan's, I wanted to make sure it was unique. Sadly, it's the same powdery rose I thought it would be. Very lovely, and lasts longer than the L'Artisan perfume, but it's price tag of 85 for 50ml is just too steep. I'll stick to my Drole de Rose...I can get a 100ml bottle for 78! Besides, there are plenty of other Frederic Malle fragrances (Le Parfum De Therese is a favourite) that are just begging to be added to my collection!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Frederic Malle products

More Fragrances products