Beyond The Zone • Smooth Criminal Thermo Protect Spray • Styling Products

rated 4.5(10 reviews)

Average Rating.4.5
Would buy this product again.90%
Ingredients


rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* ProductJunkey on 1/28/2014 2:19:00 AM more reviews by ProductJunkey

Age: 44-55   Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Green    

I believe this is supposed to be the dupe for Paul Mitchell's Hot Off The Press spray-I have not tried that one, so I can't compare.
I do like this for when I am flat ironing, it seems to smooth the hair with one pass, so you don't have to keep making repeat passes over the same section of hair.
When I saw this has alcohol and the first ingredient, I know that overall, using this daily it is going to dry my hair out, so I only use this once in awhile when my hair isn't behaving the way I want it.
The scent is overpowering and fruity, it does go away. Overall, I do like this and would buy it again.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 mizpah70 on 1/19/2014 11:11:00 PM more reviews by mizpah70

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Green    

I admit it-the product name caught my attention. :) I just so happened to be looking for an aerosol option for heat protection. I figured for $8 what did I have to lose? Couldn't wait to get home to give it a whirl. I agree with the other reviewers about the smell but it is temporary. So worth it! My Chi glides through my hair when I use this product leaving it smooth and shiny. Absolutely my HG. I hope it's never discontinued.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Jaynne on 9/26/2013 10:14:00 PM more reviews by Jaynne

Age: 44-55   Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Hazel    

I've bought this over and over and love having it in my hair tool kit. It's versatile and easy to use. You can use it on damp or dry hair, it has a fruity smell at first but not totally unpleasant and it dissipates, and the can lasts a long time and is under $10. When I spray it I try and avoid breathing in the mist because it's kind of cloying and feels like it's easy to inhale. Sometimes I hold my breath, put a towel over my nose, or leave the room after spraying! I notice a difference when I don't use this product - it just does what it is supposed to, no fuss.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* RachelisGreen on 3/15/2013 7:51:00 PM more reviews by RachelisGreen

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Tan, Warm   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Hazel    

I love this stuff! It really is a lifesaver. I used to use the Chi Iron Guard, Dove Heat Spray, etc and I really do like this stuff the best! I once straightened my hair without it and it truly does make a difference. It makes my hair very smooth and completely takes away any frizz. My only complaint is the DISGUSTING smell, omgsh it's putrid haha. I have to hold my breath whenever I spray it because it makes me sick but it's worth it because the end result is amazing. I also love that it doesn't weigh down my hair or make it greasy at all.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* MIJA_97 on 2/21/2013 11:12:00 PM more reviews by MIJA_97

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Tan, Neutral   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Coarse   Eyes: Brown    

WOW!!! This product is amazing, it leaves the hair super shiny and super straight. It does not leave the hair greasy or even with any residue..excellent product for only $8!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 headcat on 12/4/2012 12:03:00 AM more reviews by headcat

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination   Hair: Other, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Green    

Huge HG! I don't really use it for its thermal protecting abilities but it does do that job well. I stumbled upon this product and noticed that it did virtually the same job as Oribe Impermeable Anti-Humidity Spray. That costs a whopping $45!

I first use Paul Mitchell Super Skinny Serum before blow drying. Then I spray Smooth Criminal all over my head BEFORE and AFTER flat ironing. I follow that up with running a brush through my hair to get out the stiffness. I also use hairspray after styling. Smooth Criminal stinks to high Heaven and makes me feel as though I may get a nosebleed (Oribe is strong too), but it's totally worth it! Normally my hair will frizz and curl even in low humidity. Along with a good serum, this stuff tames it for most of the night.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 SarahJean51089 on 8/24/2012 9:23:00 PM more reviews by SarahJean51089

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Olive, Neutral   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

i just used this for the first time right now and i like it except the ingredients are mostly all alcohol and feels really dry on wet hair but after i dried it it didnt make my hair feel to dry so i dont know im going to keep using it and see.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 jcka on 6/22/2012 1:44:00 AM more reviews by jcka

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Oily, Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

i really liked this product and i would use it everyday it lasted me for 3 months.which was great for a spray bottle.i like the smell to and didnt way down my hair.at first it worked so good and maintained my frizz but then .it stopped working and it didnt protect again heat so my hair got split ends and stuff.it was good but just not great.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* ihatespumoni on 3/17/2012 8:39:00 PM more reviews by ihatespumoni

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

This thermal protectant spray is in an aerosol can so it sprays well and gives a light even mist. It does not make your hair oily like the thermal spray by Ion or the Beyond the Zone's Turn Up the Heat protection spray. To me it smells a little like Debbie Gibson's Electric Youth perfume from the 1990's. The scent is not very strong though and dissipates in a short while. I feel that this spray protect my hair from heat damage. Overall I would say it's one of the best heat protectant sprays I've used.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 nataleighh on 1/5/2012 9:09:00 PM more reviews by nataleighh

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair, Warm   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Coarse   Eyes: Green    

I want to love Smooth Criminal so much, but I just can't commit to a product that is supposed to protect your hair from heat yet simultaneously lists alcohol as the first ingredient!

That said, it does seem to work well on my hair! I've got long, bleached, course hair, and lots of it, so fighting damage is an ongoing battle. Whether I flat iron or curl, I don't notice as much damage as when I forgo the protectant. The things I like the most (besides the protection) are the really fresh smell and the fact that it's an aerosol! I am not particularly dextrous with spray bottles, so an aerosol allows me to get a fine, EVEN mist over my hair.

The price is on the mark, only 6.99 and frequently on sale with other Beyond the Zone products 2 for $10!

Overall, not bad. Had to take a lippie away for the alcohol, but will rebuy (unless I find something better!)

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No




More Beyond The Zone products

More Styling Products products