Rimmel ScandalEyes

2.8

237 reviews

39% would repurchase

Package Quality: 3.2

Price: $$

Package Quality: 3.2

Price: $$

INGREDIENTS



on 6/5/2015 12:30:00 PM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Hazel

This mascara does nothing for lashes. It doesn't make them look thinner, or longer.



on 6/1/2015 10:23:00 AM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

Could this wand be any larger? Imagine applying mascara with a paddle brush.


on 5/17/2015 4:07:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

Cons:
Large brush does not provide ability to control as much as a smaller one would
Kind of clumps easily

Pros:
Formula does not dry out quickly; lasts a long time
Lengthens and adds great volume!
I have sensitive eyes and this does not bother me at all

I have used this product for over a year now and I believe it is one of the best lengthening mascaras around. I do like to use this with another brush to separate the lashes more and add volume (specifically with CoverGirl LashBlast). I am satisfied for the price and quality of the product.


Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Dark, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I'm surprised to see that this mascara has such a low rating because I absolutely adore it.

I've never been one to spend a lot of money on mascara because you're not supposed to keep them for a long period of time anyway, and also it would be important to mention that I have long, thick eyelashes as it is. This product gives me length and volume, I've not used another mascara since I found this. It does clump after having it for a while but not in a horrible way, it adds to the volume. I would say that this is one of those products that improve once you use it more and more. I find with some products, they start out trash and get better. I wouldn't say this product starts out trash, but it does get better during the period of time you have it.


on 3/6/2015 6:17:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Neutral

Hair: Black, Straight, Coarse

Eyes: Brown



PROS:
- it's cheap
- decent volume

CONS:
- does not give much length
- clumping
- large, awkward brush that is useless


on 2/27/2015 7:36:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Red, Other, Other

Eyes: Hazel

I absolutely LOVE this mascara!!!! 💖😘👍 It's my Holy Grail mascara Hands down. I first tried it a few years ago. And would highly recommend it. It gives great length,volume, & thickness.I would definitely repurchase. It's a wonderful mascara. Love It 💖✨⭐✨💖


on 2/15/2015 8:29:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Neutral

Hair: Other, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Hazel

Scandalously bad. This is a definite miss from rimmel. The formula dries so quickly after the first week it clumps after only a light swipe. Forget multiple layers. Also the brush is unwieldy. I don't usually have a problem with large wands, in fact they work wonders with formulas such as maybelline plush but it was smudge city with this. I had to tilt my head back and apply it very slow. It doesn't get to the inner lashes and should you try, you'll likely end up with a beauty spot on the side of your nose. There are a tonne of amazing mascaras out there and frankly a lot of drug store formulas rival high end mascaras in my experience, but this isn't worth the money, even though it was a good price. Mascara should lengthen, curl, volumize or something beneficial. It shouldn't be a battle just to get it on a few lashes swiftly enough without wrecking your makeup.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


Age: 19-24

Skin: Oily, Medium Brown, Warm

Hair: Black, Curly, Medium

Eyes: Brown

I bought & was excited to try ScandalEyes Mascara in 003 Extreme Black because Rimmel has been one of my favorite brands for as long as I've been wearing makeup. This mascara isn't a bad one, but I did expect more out of it & that's probably due to all its hype. I admittedly was also attracted to the bright orange sparkly packaging & the bold orange text on it. However, I was kind of disappointed with the results. Long story short: my lashes didn't cause a massive scandal!

MaxDensity brush: The brush is 50% larger versus Rimmel Volume Flash the MAX Mascara, & it is easy to see the size of the brush is the focal aspect of the product. The focus on the oversize brush almost takes away from the actual product. I expected better effects since it's so thick & it tapers. I don't find the brush too big—it has to be huge to give volume! I thought a really big would mean it's messy. It didn't get on my eyelids & it isn't too big to use on my bottom lashes without making a mess.

Texture/Consistency: It's creamy & thin or liquid-y instead of clumpy. All my lashes were coated evenly except the inner corners which took a lot of work since the thick tip of brush always has a ton of product on it. I'd really expect the consistency to be a lot thicker so it can plump up my lashes! It came off cleanly, quickly, & easily with a makeup removing wipe.

Application: The brush & formula work well together & it's easy to apply. I prefer mascaras that don't require more than 2 coats because I wear prescription contact lenses; I'm starting to think that's why I'm 'eh' about the results. I don't like that I'll probably have to pack it on to get that big look I want. I know it isn't fair to say it's an average product for that one reason… it's just that getting an ordinary amount of volume from a volumizing mascara is a letdown.

Results: 50/50. I'd be lying if I said I wasn't a little dissatisfied. The separation, definition, & its little bit of curl were great, but that's about it. Those things aren't the point of the mascara & it isn't why I bought it. I wanted big & voluminous lashes! I want to warn that I am personally a picky woman about what I consider thick lashes. What I think is average may be great to some other people. I do have naturally long & straight lashes so I most likely need a lot more product than someone with shorter & denser lashes. I will say I was amazed by how it stayed on for 8+ hours with minimal flaking & smudging, & I've even cried while wearing it. Basically, the effect is in between everyday & dramatic.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

I remember having and purchaseing this mascara over and over like a year ago or something like that. I really liked it, however I'm that type of person who always tries to buy different ones and has like 10 or more masacaras in total and unfortunately I didn't see this mascara in my local superdrug or boots for some reason... otherwise would repurchase it :)


on 1/10/2015 11:28:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium, Warm

Hair: Black, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Brown

This is officially the first tube of mascara that I have EVER thrown into the trash that was still fairly new! Rimmel is in my top three favorite mascara brands, so I tossed the receipt thinking I wouldn't have any problems. I tried working with it for two weeks! The brush was the problem. Normally large brushes are a good thing when you want full and thick lashes - Not this one! Lol! It was too big and too hard to maneuver.

It made my lashes a mess. It can be best described as somewhere between A Clockwork Orange and not wearing waterproof mascara in the pool kinda lashes! Using a lash/brow groomer made them bearable for the day. The formula was fine as always. In an act of desperation before I decided to just toss it out... I actually tried to use it with the brush from a tube of Maybelline that was around the same size and nearly empty... Putting on mascara should never cause that much of a hassle.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


Back to Top