Estee Lauder • DayWear BB Anti-Oxidant Beauty Benefit Creme SPF 35 • BB Cream

rated 3.6(123 reviews)

Average Rating.3.6
Would buy this product again.52%
Ingredients


rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Emma13 on 10/12/2014 6:20:00 AM more reviews by Emma13

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Green    

I have tried a sample, and this is a comparison to my usual tinted moisturiser (Paula's Choice sheer matte tint SPF30). Generally I think western BB creams are actually just tinted moisturisers, at least I can't tell the difference (though not having tried any Korean BB products).
In texture EL is thicker than BB, but the coverage is about the same. The finish of EL is more matte. The feel is also drier; I would not be able to use this product as a stand-alone on my combination skin, it definitely needs a moisturiser underneath. The shades are similar: shade 1 in EL and light/medium ("sheer ivory") in PC. PC goes on a bit paler, and EL has a pinker undertone in the tube, but once on the difference is slight. EL is scented, PC is not.
Now, the SPF - the main reason for me to use these products! EL has SPF 35 broad-spectrum though only 1.1% titanium oxide (UVA protection). It's all right, but I prefer the PC SPF 30 which is all-physical (5% TiO and 5% ZO). Also the thick texture of EL means I rubbed it in a bit, which could weaken the sun protection.
Price: here in Belgium the EL product costs around 35 euros, maybe more. PC costs 20 plus p&p.
Verdict - EL is not a bad product, but not good enough to make me change from my trusty PC. If you have oily skin you might like the EL with its fairly dry texture and finish.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 sbender on 10/3/2014 7:33:00 PM more reviews by sbender

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Straight   Eyes: Blue    

This is not a BB cream, but a tinted moisturizer. Nevertheless, this is a decent product with a decent coverage, and a decent staying power. The coverage is light to medium, but what can one expect from a tinted moisturizer? It is easy to apply, it has a pleasant fragrance (I generally dislike scented makeup and skincare products), and it is pretty weightless on the face. I have the shade "light", which is the lightest shade. It is a little bit too dark for my liking, but it still works, and I like this "BB cream".

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 kileighadams on 9/30/2014 4:55:00 PM more reviews by kileighadams

Age: 19-24   Skin: Very Dry, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Hazel    

There's hardly any coverage. I would call it a tinted moisturizer but there's no moisturizing involved. If you do decide to buy it, don't use it with a beauty blender you'll waste half your product in one use. It broke my skin out and I hardly get blemishes. Upsides: It smells fresh and the bottle is appealing. Sticking to regular foundations from now on.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 Alexandra0330 on 9/6/2014 6:07:00 AM more reviews by Alexandra0330

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Hazel    

I was looking for a BB cream with high SPF to replace my Dior Nude BB cream, which I love (but has SPF 10). If found it to be too thick and hard to apply for my skin + it looked a bit orange on me (despite having the lighter shade). Will use up, but will not repurchase. I will stick with my trusty Dior BB cream.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* g_82 on 7/30/2014 1:59:00 AM more reviews by g_82

Age: 30-35   Skin: Dry, Medium, Cool   Hair: Other   Eyes: Other    

I don't like it as much as the Cyber White BB cream SPF35 in old formular. It is very creamy and difficult to blend with fingers (don't have time to use brush or beauty blender etc). The coverage is quite good tho. I got the lighter shade, which looks nice right after application, but turned to a yellowish color after a while.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 luigi007 on 7/23/2014 4:42:00 PM more reviews by luigi007

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Olive, Warm   Hair: Black, Curly, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

This bb cream was so expensive it cost $70 here in New Zealand. that is the only negative for me so I wouldn't buy it because of the price.

But this is a really heavy coverage bb cream even when I use like 4 drops of it. It spreads really nicely and the great thing is that it matches my skin tone perfectly. You don't need as much of the product like you would for Maybelline or garnier to make it cover like a foundation. if you have acne scars or uneven skin then this would be perfect for you.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Kiwiblue on 7/9/2014 6:29:00 PM more reviews by Kiwiblue

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Cool   Hair: Brown, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

Love this. My favourite BB cream hands down. Very good sun protection, no need for a separate sunscreen. Light shade is perfect for me in winter (NW20) and I mix a little of the darker shade in for summer. This has very good coverage and great oil control, probably a bit too good as I need to moisturise under this (I have combo skin, oily t-zone, normal elsewhere).
I don't need powder over this in winter but do find it nicer with an illuminating primer underneath. I prefer this to the new BB Glow cream as I find that too oily on my skin. I do need a separate moisturiser with this so it can't really be classed as an all in one BB cream. Very expensive in NZ.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 vtomboy on 5/28/2014 8:25:00 AM more reviews by vtomboy

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Tan, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

I was on a quest to find a BB that wouldn't turn me yellow, grey, sparkling, without feeling itchy, for over a year now. Tried MAC, TBS, Clarins, Garnier, La Roche-Posay and Vichy, none of them worked.

I decided to put my money on EL after seeing swatches and reviews and boy was I glad I did!
It's what I wanted and the only one that brings on compliments for my skin! This BB is suitable for everyday make up, the time you want to look polished but not overdone. It evens out my skin tone and covers a few sun marks. I apply it with the Ecotools custom coverage buffing brush starting with a few dots around the face. If I need more coverage I re-apply. I use the Light shade and even if I am considered on the dark side of skins, it looks great. I don't find it irritating at all and I even use it on the eye area without problems. I don't usually set it with a powder but when I do it lasts for hours. It works great with EL double wear concealer I use (dark circles problem here). I never use it without moisturizer first, I feel my skin needs the benefit of it before applying the BB.

In general:
~ It has moderate coverage and can also be used as concealer on good conditioned skins
~ Smells refreshing
~ Feels light on the skin
~ Does not irritate or cause break outs
~ Good sun protection level
~ Small tube but goes a long way. Also it doesn't get messy as the consistency is quite creamy

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 sciencegeek on 5/20/2014 5:49:00 PM more reviews by sciencegeek

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Olive, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I was given a sample of this (in a pot) that lasted approximately a week.
Positive points:
- It's full of antioxidants
- Good SPF
- Convenient- evens out skin tone nicely without the need for foundation
- Shade medium suits me nicely (after blending well)
- I like the cucumber like fragrance (though I would prefer it to be fragrance free)
- It's packaged in a nice tube.

Negative points:
- Difficult to spread at times, especially if the skin is not freshly and well moisturised
- Need for a separate moisturiser, and so defeats the purpose of a 'all in 1' product
- Seems to dry my skin out a bit- or it could be the Advanced Night Repair serum that I am also trialling. Either way it is not moisturising at all
- No immediate or short term benefits other than light coverage
- It's expensive (but a little goes a long way)

Even though I enjoyed using it I don't think I would buy it. Today my skin feels specially dehydrated and after using the daywear cream for normal/combination skin and then this my skin was still relatively dehydrated. So much so that after a few hours I was peeling and the bb cream had gone patchy due to dryness. My skin is combination so something in my skincare routine is drying my skin out terribly. Not sure if this is the culprit. Will update if I get more insight.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 mkohoutek on 2/15/2014 2:54:00 PM more reviews by mkohoutek

Age: 56 & Over   Skin: Normal, Medium   Hair: Other   Eyes: Hazel    

I've been on a BB mission the past few weeks. I've sampled Loreal (Age Perfect and Magic), Garnier, and now Estée Lauder's. I am 53 years old with normal skin, but certainly getting dryer with age. I haven't liked the way my skin has looked. I wondered if these BB creams would help.

Well! Estée Lauders did! I got the lighter color and I mix it with Loreals Magic Luminator. I apply over my moisturized face. Then I dab additional EL BB on my dark spots and under my eyes and it does a pretty good job of acting like a concealer! Then I fix with powder, add some cheek, eyes and lip color and I love how I look!

This BB is different from the others. It's creamer. It doesn't turn my face that fake-tan color like the others. I don't look dry. I don't look sparkly. I just look like I have not overdone my makeup in order to cover up my skin! And I don't have to add foundation on top of it! I have a lot of age spots from years in the sun, so I'm looking for coverage.

If you are looking for a BB with a hint more coverage without the orange-y, glow-y look, you might like this. My quest is over!

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Estee Lauder products

More BB Cream products