Sally Hansen • Moisture Twist 2-in-1 Primer + Color • Lip Gloss

rated 4.2(11 reviews)

Average Rating.4.2
Would buy this product again.81%
Ingredients

Read Reviews


rated 3 of 5 bkurant on 12/18/2013 10:48:00 PM more reviews by bkurant

Age: 36-43   Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Warm   Hair: Red, Curly, Coarse   Eyes: Hazel    

found this gloss on sale at cvs decided to give it a try because it has argan oil.
not sure what is the primer part is. it look like like gloss and as such has very little staying power. i do believe it might make lips look fuller, as this gloss does burn your lips a bit.
but as with with the other sally hansen lip products, the smell is atrocious. this gloss has the most horrific gasoline smell, which unfortunately stays on and on and on.
1 lippy off for smell and because of smell, i could never re-purchase and would never give it to my friends. simply awful.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Lepin on 11/13/2013 9:16:00 PM more reviews by Lepin

Age: 44-55   Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Cool   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

Wow! What a lovely, lovely, lovely product. I had a total of $4.00 CVS coupons ($2 Extra care rewards and $2 for Sally Hansen lip product) and was able to purchase this for just over $1. I never knew SH manufactured lip gloss but now these will be my go to DS gloss. Mind you, I just dropped $$$$ for Edward Bess gloss and IMO although different, this is much nicer. That said I purchased Cherry Twist, a very rich true cherry red but not one that is too blue. Most red lip colors are either too blue or too orange, this is cool but not challenging. In the gloss tube this looks like a swirling melange of red, pink and shimmery white. I fully expected this to look juvenile, but, to my pleasant surprise this is rich red. On the lip there is faint shimmer which translates as a satin finish. The sponge tip doe applicator has the profile of a mini lipstick and this applies more like a liquid lipstick than a sheer greasy gloss. What I love about this applicator is that the perfect quantity of product is dispensed on the tip w/o waste. I line my lips but even after several hours of wear there was no bleeding or oxidizing. If Cherry Twist is any indication of the rest of this line I anticipate purchasing many more colors. Don't hesitate to try this.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* glowing500 on 4/5/2013 12:56:00 PM more reviews by glowing500

Age: 36-43   Skin: Oily, Fair, Cool   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Green    

I have this in Berry Blend which is a very pretty plumy pink color with a nice shine. It really flatters my NW 15-20 complexion. To me, this is more of a lipstick in a tube instead of a lip gloss. The staying power is ok but I reapply lipsticks and lip glosses all day long.


I didn't see much plumbing and it also felt a tad dry on my lips, but not a all sticky.


I bought this on sale at Ulta plus I had a 20% off coupon so the price was right.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Menolikepolos on 2/10/2013 11:32:00 PM more reviews by Menolikepolos

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

About me: NW13 (neutral-cool toned, very fair), blue eyes, Color season is True Summer, Baumann Skin Type is OSPW.

This is a great lip gloss. It moisturizes, sinks in, doesn't have too much slip, and has a very decent staying time and price. I have Berries-N-Cream, and plan to get some more : )

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Annabells117 on 7/4/2012 11:16:00 PM more reviews by Annabells117

Age: 30-35   Skin: Normal, Fair   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

Fabulous lippies! These Moisture Twists should be called 4-in-1: primer + moisturizer + plumper + flattering color. These are seriously the best lip products I've bought in ages, and I discovered them by accident. I needed another $5 in SH products to qualify for a RiteAid promo. Only 1 of these glosses was left, so I purchased it- Mixed-Up Mauve. I was amazed when I tried it.

This Sally Hansen Moisture Twist is very moisturizing and conditions my lips well. It also gives natural, flattering color. I'm fair-skinned and blonde, and these colors look excellent on me for a daytime look. I don't know why people would complain about the sheerness. It's supposed to be a moisturizing primer. If it had too much pigment, it would be drier and not a good moisturizer. Plus, a primer is meant to even out your natural lip tone and be worn under another product.

Moisture Twist is the best lip primer EVER and a fabulous plumper that I'd rank among the best along with products containing MaxiLip (eg some of Lorac's glosses). I need these! I have dry lips that constantly peel and have an uneven texture. Since my lips are full, it's really noticeable. I love lipstick but there are many lipsticks I can't wear, bc they end up looking cakey or accentuating my lip imperfections. The Moisture Twists have allowed me to wear lipsticks I couldn't wear before! It's really great bc I've been rediscovering my lipstick collection.

Moisture Twist's packaging is very useful for me. It has a doe foot applicator made of a sponge material. It has a curve in it so it covers the lip shape perfectly. Its a great tool that I use to smooth out my lips. I apply a tiny bit of the product, use the applicator to rub off any dry flaky skin, and then wipe off the applicator and apply the product. I wear it alone or wait a few minutes and apply lipstick. This product fills in any lip imperfections and seals almost waxy. It makes my lips tingle a little and plumps them. You do need to use these products consistently to get the best plumping effect but you'll get some plumping immediately as well, particularly bc it's so moisturizing. When you apply lipstick over it, the lipstick goes on smoothly. Your lips look younger, fuller, & just BETTER. I think everyone can benefit from this product.

I tried to buy more colors but in NYC and NJ these must be really popular bc they're sold out at several stores, or pickins are slim. I got Peach Smoothie, too, and I love it. It has a pretty gold shimmer that looks natural. IMO none of the shades are "sparkly" or "glittery."

Since Sally Hansen hadn't marketed these as plumpers, but I could tell they were plumping my lips, I searched for the ingredients online to see what was creating the plumping effect. They've got antioxidants, vitamins, botanicals, & some compounds known for plumping, as the previous reviewer already mentioned. I am someone who gets little to no effect from irritant plumpers like menthol, cinnamon, peppers, etc. The plumpers that work for me usually contain expensive ingredients that are usually found in high-end products like Make Up For Ever, etc. So I'll definitely be repurchasing these Sally Hansen Moisture Twists, since they cost about 25% of the price of the high end plumpers, and they serve other functions, too! All my friends who've tried these glosses love them.

-- A great product- highly recommend!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* SirenRose on 5/2/2012 4:04:00 PM more reviews by SirenRose

Age: 30-35   Skin: Dry, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

Personally, I think these are the best plumping lipglosses I've used since Aveda Rehydrating Glaze glosses, but I may be biased. I love anything with palmitoyl oligopeptide and nourishing botanicals. MoistureTwist has Argan oil, Sunflower oil, and herbal extracts, which is fantastic. Palmitoyl oligopeptide isn't going to plump lips overnight, and in fact can take months to start plumping, but the benefit is that my lips definitely start feeling more hydrated within just a week.

My favorite color by far is Cherry Twist. It is an incredibly beautiful deep cherry red, or cranberry red, or pomegranate red, and I'd go so far as to say vampire red. Just pure neutral to warm red with maybe a hint of brown and pink. Sheer enough that I don't necessarily need a mirror, but strong enough to layer on for a gorgeous bitten or kissed look. I am always on the lookout for a good dark red gloss, and Cherry Twist reminds me of my current favorite, Ginger Lily from Aveda Rehydrating Glaze. Cherry Twist has a lovely bit of glitter and gold sparkle. I also like Berry Blend, a shimmery raspberry with gold sparkle. The formula is soft, smooth, and just creamy enough to moisturize without feeling sticky. It actually feels just like a tinted lip balm! I'm so happy with this gloss that I find myself stocking up on Cherry Twist and Berry Blend whenever I can.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* NancyGooGoo on 4/11/2012 9:15:00 AM more reviews by NancyGooGoo

Age: 44-55   Skin: Dry, Dark, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Relaxed, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

Either I got a bad batch or I'm just the debbie downer of this product. I bought two and used one yesterday (peach smoothie). Great shade - ZERO lasting power!! I was applying this ALL DAMN DAY! I'm surprised I still have some left in the tube! It smells nice and sweet, and is quite moisturizing like a balm, but if you want to see any color whatsoever, you WILL have to constantly keep applying - over and over, and over again!! I won't be repurchasing anymore of these. After using the first one, I'm not really looking forward to wearing the second one I bought. Sally Hansen, in my opinion, failed on this one but she has other glosses that I enjoy a lot!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 tryingitout on 3/10/2012 3:01:00 AM more reviews by tryingitout

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Blue    

I bought this because I got a great deal at CVS, and recently went on a gloss kick.

I got 6 shades.

Twisted Nude - Nice nude lip
Mixed up Mauve - also looks liek a nude on me
Fuschia Fusion - pretty fuschia
Cherry tart - nice, but a little too warm for my coool skin
Plum poirette - Great my-lips-but better for me
Berry blend - another sutle shade on me

They have nice pigmentation for a gloss and are buildable.
Seem very hydrating for me (dry lips are a feature of mine.

Nice feel for me - not too thin, and not sticky. Maybe a tiny bit greasy, but not bad at all.


1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 grace9797 on 2/5/2012 10:35:00 PM more reviews by grace9797

Age: 56 & Over   Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

I have the Cherry Twist color. In the container, it is a bright, warm red, but on my lips it turns a cooler shade (which many lip products do on my lips). It is sheer, but definitely red, not pinkish and not bright, a good MLBB shade.

My lips are extremely dry and peel constantly, so I'm always looking for products that will soften them up and give a bit of extra color. So far, my favorite has been Bobby Brown tinted lip balm -- tragically discontinued! -- so I'm looking for a replacement.

Sally Hansen lip products so far have struck me as not at all moisturizing, but this one seems to be the exception: I'd rate it moderately moisturizing, better than any other tinted balm I know of.

It has a cake batter fragrance that goes away quickly, no flavor, and is a bit tacky/sticky (I'm not a lip gloss user so may not be as used to stickiness as some other reviewers).

Unlike my old favorite Bobby Brown tinted balm, I can feel it on my lips because it is sticky, and that's a bit annoying but might get used to it.

The staying power seems reasonable; it lasts a few hours if I don't eat. My lips don't seem drier after it wears off (as was the case with other Sally H products).

Like almost all lip products that claim to be moisturizing, it is apparently just grease, without ingredients that would actually add moisture. But nonetheless, it does soften.

I'll keep looking for a more moisturizing product, but I think I'll probably use the Moisture Twist quite a bit. Will probably try it over other moisture products. (Toying with the idea of squirting a few drops of honey into the tube to try to give it some real moisture.)

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* stephani99 on 2/2/2012 8:15:00 PM more reviews by stephani99

Age: 36-43   Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Other, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

As the below reviewer already stated, over half of these are sheer with a capital S. Despite that I like them quite a bit because they are not drying at all, and my lips are constantly chapped so these feel like a thick balm with some color. They don't have a lot of shimmer; despite that what looks like glitter in the tube doesn't look glittery on the lips; they're not super shiny and they last quite a while due to what I'm assuming is the thicker texture. I don't notice a cake batter scent whatsoever in any of mine, I wish. To me they smell like Revlon glosses although not strong and dissipates fast, thankfully, because to me it is a synthetic scent. No taste though, which is good. The name kinda makes me laugh because they don't have a lot of color, and I have no idea what they mean by 'primer'....maybe for wearing under lipstick? The Moisture part is right on though.


I have three now: Mixed Up Mauve (which in reality is a light nude pink) and Plum Pirouette which in reality looks like a light mauve, haha, and now Cherry Twist, the most vibrant of the bunch and a nice surprise. They are 4.99 at CVS, which IMHO is a steal for a tube this size. I know the lighter shades in this line won't show up at all on my pigmented lips but the ones I settled on work as thus: Mixed Up Mauve is a light MLBB shade that guess what? works really well under pretty much anything I want to apply after, so that one works as a primer for me :) The Plum one is a darker MLBB and one I wear a lot. Cherry Twist is a great evening shade or anytime you want a nice pop of red, without all the hassle of applying a red, if that makes sense. The applicator took some getting used to with the curve, but it's not a dealbreaker and works really well once you realize it's there. Overall these are quite nice, a little thick, but not tacky or sticky thick and the moisturizing properties make up for the rest they lack (e.g. color in the lighter shades).
EDIT 12/28/12: I had no idea these had any plumping properties whatsoever until the most recent review mentioned it. They already smooth my poor chapped lips nicely so there is a lot to like here -if that's the case with the added beneficial plumping and smoothing properties, this warrants a closer look. Now I may start wearing the lighter ones daily as primers to reap the additional benefits, like a treatment instead of a finishing gloss the way I have been mostly wearing them.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Sally Hansen products

More Lip Gloss products