TonyMoly • Party Lover Gel Eyeliner • Eyeliner

rated 4.5(10 reviews)

Average Rating.4.5
Would buy this product again.80%
Ingredients


rated 5 of 5 Willowmere on 4/25/2014 5:33:00 AM more reviews by Willowmere

Age: 30-35   Skin: Other   Hair: Other   Eyes: Other    

I feel compelled to write a review in praise of this wonderful eyeliner so that others can discover its greatness. Plus, it is so affordable!! Half the price of MAC and Bobbi brown!

First off, I have oily lids. I would start the day off with lovely crisp gently winged black gel liner on my upper lids and by the end of the day the eyeliner has either partly disintegrated into a grey mess owing to the oily lid monster, and/or migrated down to my lower lid a la racoon eyes... and as for the wing part of the liner... what wing?

I have used so many gel liners in the past whilst searching for that elusive holy grail, both drugstore and high-end. MAC blacktrack, Bobbi Brown, Estee Lauder, Benefit, Maybelline, L'Oreal, Essence. For longevity, this beats them hands down.

The black is dark. It is not as jet black as MAC blacktrack and does not have that sheen to it, for which I am grateful as I think it makes it easier and slightly more natural to wear on a day to day basis. It is creamy, so much so that as another reviewer mentioned, you do need to give it a minute or so to dry. But once it dries it does NOT BUDGE. Wearing this for a 10hour working day I can say with confidence that this stays beautifully. Sure, the edge of the line is softened at the end of the day, but the flick from my wing is still there and it looks as black as when I applied it that morning.

HG material. Highly recommended.

Please note that Tonymoly make two gel eyeliners with the same formulation but with different packaging. Party Lover has the classic packaging whilst the Backstage gel liner has an attached brush that is suprisingly usable, however I still prefer my MAC 266 brush.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 lostinyourseoul on 4/5/2014 4:43:00 AM more reviews by lostinyourseoul

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Fair, Warm   Hair: Brown, Straight, Coarse   Eyes: Green    

I have a similar type of eyeliner and love it!!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 bratirella on 1/12/2014 11:03:00 AM more reviews by bratirella

Age: 44-55   Skin: Combination, Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

I've used Bobbi Brown's gel eyeliner and Kate gel eyeliner - both very good but pricey. I've now switched to TonyMoly. It's much cheaper. Doesn't smudge on my oily lids too. A real bargain and definite re-buy.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* amtn on 1/7/2014 8:35:00 AM more reviews by amtn

Age: 19-24   Skin: Normal, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Black, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Black    

Comparing this against these gel eyeliners:
- Essence
- Maybelline

TM gel eyeliner wins hands down. I have the black one with the retractable brush on top of lid. The brush is nice and works well with the eyeliner. The trouble I have with gel eyeliners is that they're not long lasting on me. I have Asian eyelids and I find that towards the end of the day, the inner and outta (my wings) eyes have faded and smudged, leaving my inner and outta eye blotchy. It's not a good look and can give the look of horrible eyebags.

The trick with gel liners is not to load your brush at first but layer the gel eyeliner. Go in a 2nd time to build intensity if you must. I always seal my line with black eyeshadow or grey if I am opting for something more subtle.

Price is $12-16AUD depending on where you buy. I buy mine from Morning Glory stores or Korean cosmetic shops in Sydney!

Will not repurchase. Will try KATE Gel Eyeliner next.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 yoshiii on 12/29/2013 5:52:00 PM more reviews by yoshiii

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Black, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

Used MAC's blacktrack liner for years....tried this one, which is half the price and works just as well. Doesn't smudge and lasts for hours (I have oily lids as well).

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 nienoona on 11/19/2013 9:00:00 AM more reviews by nienoona

Age: 30-35   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Black, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Black    

I have heard many good reviews from my friends about this product
Previously I use MAC blacktrack gel liner.
I must say the resistance of this gel liner is comparable with MAC's

I'm a monolid with oily eyelid and lives in humid hot area, and I'm too lazy to wear any eye primer. So gel eyeliner is the answer for me all this long because liquid or pencil eyeliner always smeared smudged or even flaked on my eyelid.
Unlike MAC, Tony Moly's gel eyeliner doesn't smudged as fast as, it holds much longer.
On my eyelid, MAC holds about 3 hours until it is smudged a bit on the end of my lid, TM holds about more than 5 hours, which later I could swipe gently and it's gone.
It also has the blackest color and so creamy, creamier than MAC.
The only downside, is that it is too creamy that takes longer to dry. Before it dries you must not open your eyes widely, otherwise it will smear everywhere.
Once it is dried, it stays more than you expected.
The max it could hold before starting smearing on my top lid is about 8 hours, which pretty good for me.

The packaging itself has inner lid, so you could close it between the application.
I tried the brown color, but I don't like it. The color doesn't really show in my opinion, perhaps it is perfect for double lid if you like something natural and soft.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 sakura14 on 8/13/2012 8:54:00 AM more reviews by sakura14

Age: 19-24   Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

Just don't use this product when you have oily lids even with a primer. Trust me. It'll smudge after 3 minutes (I really did time this).

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 cupcakeofmylife on 3/26/2012 7:13:00 AM more reviews by cupcakeofmylife

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Medium, Warm   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

This is the best eyeliner ever!
I've tried Etude House Code B and a few Maybelline ones but this one beats all of them. It's extremely pigmented, and creamy. When it dries it stays on your lids for the whole day!
best!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* bubblegumpoo on 2/6/2012 4:19:00 AM more reviews by bubblegumpoo

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

Tony Moly's rise to fame actually started with this product when rumors spread that Kim Yuna used this for her famous winged-out liner look. Turns out she actually uses Bobbi Brown gel liners but I think I might actually prefer these better. They come in some gorgeous colors, and for an extra buck or two you can get these with a liner brush on top(which is actually of decent quality) or an eyeshadow duo. The formula of the gel liner is extremely creamy and long-wearing too. It does smudge a bit on my lids, but with a primer and a pencil liner base, it stays put. Also, the formula doesn't dry out either! It's been 2 months, but still as creamy and good as the first day I used it *knock on wood*

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 cookiedough8 on 12/31/2011 2:10:00 AM more reviews by cookiedough8

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Black    

Tony Moly gel eyeliners are one of their best-selling products for a reason - they're real gems. I have this in 01 Black. It's creamy and glides on easily If you use a sharp enough brush, you can draw very fine lines as well. Non-smudging formulas and lasting power is of absolute importance when it comes to eyeliners and these have both! I usually draw a simple winged line and it doesn't transfer to my undereye area when I set it with a little eye shadow. The tips of the wings get a little smudged by the end of the day, but it is minimal and I have very oily skin.
Planning to get one in another shade soon.

FYI: Tony Moly has another line called Backstage Gel Eyeliners, which are practically the same thing, but these come with a brush in the cap and have a slightly greater selection of colours.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No




More TonyMoly products

More Eyeliner products