L'Oreal Total Repair Replenishing Mask


9 reviews

55% would repurchase

Package Quality: 2.6

Price: $$

Package Quality: 2.6

Price: $$


on 4/16/2015 12:56:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Oily, Medium, Warm

Hair: Black, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Black

Great for fine hair. I have heat damage at the ends of my hair from a perm I got in 2013. This deep conditioner has really given life back to my dead ends! I used it once and now I'm addicted to using it every time I shower... It doesn't feel heavy at all and no build up. However, I try to avoid my roots because my hair gets oily pretty quickly. Price is fantastic, packaging is typical for any deep conditioning mask however, I do prefer a pump for hygienic reasons. For the price of this, I would not expect more from the packaging anyway.

on 3/16/2015 10:15:00 PM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Combination, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I am on my second tub of this and it works a treat on my frizz prone, coloured hair. It really makes a difference and my hair always feels soft and smooth afterwards. The only downside is the packaging. It used to come in a much easier to use tube, but now it is in a tub which is not ideal for use in the shower with a screw top lid and water gets inside.

on 7/25/2014 12:01:00 PM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Acne-prone, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Curly, Coarse

Eyes: Brown

Well, it smells nice and it is sort of thick-ish, but that's all I got. My hair is thick, coarse and curly. I didn't find that it left my hair any softer than any other drugstore conditioner. Won't repurchase.

Age: 44-55

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral

Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Blue

What junk this stuff is! How can a product make my hair both dry and greasy at the same time?

I have fine color-treated hair which is somewhat damaged. This stuff did nothing to moisturize my ends, yet the roots of my hair are super oily!

I usually shampoo and condition every other day, and decided to give this mask a try. The first day my hair was super dry, and by day two, I was a grease-ball with dry ends. I've even got the beginnings of pimples forming on my shoulders, as the oil was so prominent and nasty.

There are much better products out there for conditioning your hair, I don't think I'll ever buy this stuff again.

on 3/15/2013 5:39:00 AM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral

Hair: Brown, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Hazel

I found this product to be a complete waste of money. It isn't thick or nourishing, which is what I expect from a product that calls itself a mask. It does nothing to help detangle my hair, add gloss, or repair any damage. It does, however, leave a slight residue that weighs my hair down and smells terrible until my next shower. Seriously -- that is some powerful fragrance they put in there, and to my nose, it smells cheap and overwhelming.
0 stars, will not buy again.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

on 7/25/2012 11:36:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Other, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Other, Other, Other

Eyes: Other

My hair has become very dry and easily tangled after Clairol's Nice & Easy Foam hair dye completely fried my hair last year. As a result, I've been using all sorts of hair masks / treatments has conditioner every day for the past 12 months, and this Total Repair mask is one of the products I tried.

Effectiveness -- Not much. The consistency was very thin and even my Wella conditioner felt way more nourishing than this. I honestly can't tell the difference between this 'mask' and any other light conditioner. Perhaps it's because my hair was really too dry / damaged for this to be effective, but all the other products I tried (Pantene treatment, Moroccan Oil, Trichovedic, Opal One Minute Treatment) all worked, so this would be ineffective compared to those products.

Price -- Quite cheap (which was the reason I bought it). I think I paid about $8 in Priceline so at least that's a small price for trying out this product.

Packaging -- As with most hair treatments / masks, it comes in a pot with a screw on lid which I find so stupid. Water keeps getting in, hence contaminating the product, and it's so troublesome trying to screw the lid back on when you have product in your hands.

Conclusion: This product is relatively cheap, but I wouldn't call it a 'mask' when it feels even less conditioning than a normal hair conditioner. I think if you don't have dry / damaged hair, this would work, but then if you have healthy hair, why would you need a 'total repair' mask?

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

on 2/3/2012 5:29:00 PM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Acne-prone, Medium, Warm

Hair: Black, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Black

well I'm here to review the Total Repair 5 conditioner because I can't find the review...I guess I'll just write one here!
This is by-far one of the best conditioners I have ever used. It is light and creamy and doesn't weigh my hair down but truly moisturizes my super dry damaged ends.
It smooths out my hair, detangles, adds shine, and provides moisture for my damaged ends! It does perform in the way it is marketed.
I totally love this and I was not expecting this to be amazing, I knew the total repair 5 line would be right for me because I tried the detangling spray and it made my hair look awesome.
The smell is fragrant and fresh! I LOVE THIS LINE.
If you suffer from dry damaged coarse hair, this is for you!

on 12/30/2011 12:08:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Tan, Warm

Hair: Blond, Wavy, Coarse

Eyes: Other

This is an excellent conditioning treatment. It wouldn't be suitable for hair that gets weighed down easily, or isn't damaged, chemically/color treated, or otherwise broken. Although it's meant as a treatment, I used it every other time I washed as a conditioner, because my hair has gone through some serious damage.

The formula is thick, and coats your hair nicely. The scent is wonderful also.

One thing that I didn't like so much was the container. I see that they want to differentiate this as a 'treatment' and different from their regular conditioner - but opening the jar in the shower was sometimes difficult, as well as closing it. I was also worried that water would get into the product from the shower. Another issue was also getting the product out of the jar - it seemed like i wasted a lot of product by scooping it up in my hands because it would get in between my fingers and go under my nails (mind you, I had quite long nails at the time). However, the packaging issues are not enough to undermine the actual product. With constant use, I believe I am still on my first package of this, but I have stopped using it as frequently since I'm trying out diff products ATM.

on 12/25/2011 5:53:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Cool

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Green

This is marketed as a deep conditioner, but I use it on my fine hair as a conditioner everytime I wash my hair because its rich but doesn't weigh hair down. It detangles nicely and smells good. Of course it cannot compare to Kerastase or Bumble and bumble, but for its price range its the best one.

Back to Top