Revlon Photoready 3D Volume

3.6

189 reviews

61% would repurchase

Package Quality: 3.8

Price: $$

Package Quality: 3.8

Price: $$

INGREDIENTS



on 5/6/2015 9:02:00 AM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I was very excited to get this mascara, because it looked very similar to a Avon mascara that I have and love. My lashes are short and thin, thats why I only use mascaras that have a silicon brush, because i feel it applies more evenly.
I applied it in the morning and after a few hours when I looked at myself in the mirror I looked like a panda! I did sweat a like but, since its very hot, but its not like I exercised.
I did not love this mascara.



on 3/27/2015 7:27:00 PM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Green

What is this even. I tried buying it as a 'They're Real' dupe. Now, in the meanwhile I've bought Benefits mascara and fallen in love with it, whereas, this one, not so much. I hate it. I doesn't do the slightest thing, no curl, nor volume nor length. A few coats even look like nothing. Greatly disappointed.


on 3/22/2015 7:30:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Other, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Other, Other, Other

Eyes: Other

This is amazing! A real steal. It has a super lengthening effect, as well as the volume it promotes. With most mascaras I expect length OR volume but never both. It has a tactile quality too - it feels nice to use. Some mascara wands don't feel nice in your hand as you're applying the product KWIM? (tube too shiny, tube too thin, too short etc.) This has a nice matt packaging that is easy to wipe clean and the brush doesn't seem to clog up.

This is the only mascara I have ever used up. All the other mascaras I have purchased have had to be replaced because they've become cloggy in the tube. I will continue to purchase this.


on 3/15/2015 4:35:00 AM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Dry, Medium, Warm

Hair: Black, Wavy, Coarse

Eyes: Brown

NOTHING SPECIAL. You can definitely get a better mascara for the same price. Its not a terrible product....but definitely not something I recommend to my friends.


on 12/17/2014 4:31:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I waited a long time to rate this product because for every major "pro" I found with this product, I found a "con" as well. In a nutshell, this is a very hot n' cold review. It's hard to determine how many lippies to award, so I'll give it a 2.5 to average out the pluses and minuses. (And will not round up since the con's were too severe for me!)

FYI I have thick, very straight lashes.

Pros:
-Though I usually prefer more traditional fuller brushes, I actually like this rubber bristle brush. The short bristles get product onto my lashes without applying so much as to cause clumping. The length of the brush itself seems longer than average (I'll try to do a side by side picture comparison when I get a chance; until then, this is all unofficial and unscientific. ;) )
- The initial result looks nice. After some experimentation, the way I like to use this is to curl my lashes and apply as I usually would; then I use a tiny spoolie to help build up the volume on the outer half of my eye.

Cons: in a nutshell, the darn formula.
-The nice, initial result doesn't seem to last. By the end of the day, my once-full lashes look completely naked and plain. The curl comes undone, and it looks as though I was going for a bare, "natural" look. (Which is fine in general, but that's not why I wear mascara.)
- My eyes felt itchy and tired at the end of the day. I suppose I should have expected this since I knew going into this that I do not get along with the Revlon Lash Potion mascara, but I was a sucker for a good deal. To make a "buffer zone" after using this, I do a final coat of a CG mascara, which I do not have any allergic reactions to.
- I lied. There are a few extra cons with matched pros. One about the wet formula, which took too long to dry.
-A minor flaw, but this packaging is too big for... what this product is able (rather, not able) to do. The giant square tube is not at all conducive to being travel friendly. Since I bring along an extra spoolie + another mascara to help out this needy formula, this is not a very user or travel friend.

I got this ~$10 mascara on super sale with coupons at Target for about $2, and even still I kind of regret buying it. I'll consider this purchase a "now you know" kind of purchase.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.


on 11/21/2014 10:49:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Dry, Fair, Neutral

Hair: Brown, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Brown

Got this in a Revlon gift pack and I really like it. I really like the brush, it's easy to get the small lashes. My lashes are quite fine and not long, and this mascara gives great length and decent volume as well as a nice curl. It doesn't clump like other mascaras do and I haven't noticed any flaking during the day. Not the most amazing mascara I've ever tried, but for a (relatively) cheapish one I think it's great.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


Age: 19-24

Skin: Dry, Fair, Neutral

Hair: Black, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Black

Nothing special. It kept my lashes long and black but offered no curl or buildability. I don't really get how this mascara gets your lashes ready for photos either.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 11/20/2014 4:52:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Very Oily, Tan, Warm

Hair: Black, Curly, Coarse

Eyes: Brown

This mascara is very average. it's like an acceptable level of mediocre for a drugstore mascara. Does it make my eyelashes look darker/more voluminous/longer? Sure. But only to a certain extent. Still, I got it as a gift so I'm not complaining and considering the fact that we gotta throw out our mascara within 4 months, it's fine. But do yourself a favor and buy the Maybelline Falsies or something else from their range. It's just better. Also, talk about uninspired packaging. Revlon really does not have it going on in that department.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 10/3/2014 12:35:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Medium Brown, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I have been looking so long for a great inexpensive mascara that I was almost on the verge of giving up and returning to spending way too much on Clinique or Benefit but hurray for Revlon! New HG drugstore mascara! Really impressed by how volumizing the brush and formula are. I find that it lasts all day, no flaking, and comes off well with makeup remover (my biggest issue with the likes of Cover Girl Lash Blasts).


on 9/22/2014 3:16:00 PM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Red, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

Before meeting Revlon PhotoReady 3D Volume Mascara, I never met a drugstore mascara I liked. I had a few mid-range favorites, and Benefit They're Real was occasionally in my rotation; They're Real has that neat brush and a decent formula going on, but it's so hard to take off at the end of the day.

I was browsing around Target waiting for something at the pharmacy, and a stray tube of Revlon PhotoReady 3D Volume Mascara caught my attention. I don't think I would have ever noticed this unless someone had left their package on the counter, particularly because it's usually stocked on a hanging rack near the floor in the Revlon display. What drew my eye was the brush that was reminiscent of They're Real - whimsy and the frustration of spending more than $20 every 3 months for mascara made me put the tube in my basket.

I didn't have high hopes for this, so I was pleasantly surprised when my lashes turned out long, dark and nicely separated. I didn't experience any flaking, and removal was a cinch with warm water and a soft cloth. I find I can do two coats before it starts to dry and clump, so I can get a nice, dark fluttery lash without a lot of work. I like to put on the first coat like a traditional mascara, then turn the brush so the pointy tip is toward my eye and comb through that way the second time. It's that second time through that really creates length for me, as well as some volume, as it's picking up the little lashes, too.

This doesn't perform as well as some higher-priced mascaras, BUT it's a significant improvement over most drugstore mascaras I've tried and considerably cheaper than most brands one could pick up at Sephora. I'm giving up my expensive mascara habit in favor of this little gem, at least for a while.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


Popular Mascaras


Miss Manga
421 Reviews
Roller Lash
103 Reviews
They're Real
2005 Reviews
Back to Top