Clairol • Nice 'n Easy Non Permanent Colour • Hair Color

rated 3.6(12 reviews)

Average Rating.3.6
Would buy this product again.66%
Ingredients

Read Reviews


rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* prettypollyperkins on 1/5/2014 8:30:00 AM more reviews by prettypollyperkins

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Olive   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

I'm sorry to say this isn't going to last 28 washes on me - more like 7! I'm having real trouble finding my usual non-ammonia hair colour and I need to dye my greying roots every ten days or so as I hate to see even a little grey - it's a real pain. I thought I'd try the dark brown nice n' easy to tide me over this month. So yesterday, after following the instructions and leaving it on for 15 minutes it was a gorgeous, glossy rich darkest brown. The conditioner is top notch and smells lovely. I was really impressed. However, I need to wash my hair most days and after washing this morning the colour was not quite as rich and a few greys I couldn't see yesterday are already showing. So, all in all comparable with Casting in terms of colour, shine, condition and how long it'll last and a lot cheaper (I found it for 2.99 in Savers - UK). But because I'm so pleased with the condition and the fact it only takes 15 minutes, is applied to dry hair (so no need to wet hair first) and is the least messy dye I have ever used, I have already decided to switch over to this. UPDATE: as predicted, it lasted about 7 or 8 washes before all my greys were showing. Still using it as happy overall.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 mzcitizen on 4/10/2013 7:41:00 AM more reviews by mzcitizen

Age: 44-55   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Hazel    

I love this hair dye. I have been dying my hair for the last year to cover grey that is coming through. As I have to do so frequently (3 weeks before growth shows) I want a colour that is gentle. My biggest dilemma has been hunting for dark brown dye that is multi tonal natural looking and does not just end up looking black! It seems nearly all dark browns do with other brands. I have tried them all. always put off by the rather boring box clairol package their colours in i have learned a lesson don't judge a box by its cover. Well this is the one I was looking for. Perfect coverage beautiful natural shiny multi tonal colour and not black! The shade I chose was 78 medium golden brown. It took the stated time 15 mins to achieve perfect coverage and I'm so delighted with this colour. I will definitely be sticking to this brand.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 KitKatKat on 3/4/2013 3:25:00 PM more reviews by KitKatKat

Age: 19-24   Skin: Dry, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Curly, Coarse   Eyes: Green    

I really like this. I have very porous hair so even permanent dyes fade within a short period of time, so I prefer sticking to non-permanent ones as I find they last just as long as permanents on me! I use this in the shade 'Dark Brown' which leaves my hair a lovely rich, deep brown colour. Most dark browns leave my hair jet black but this doesn't...just a very dark brown. This shade is meant to be a neutral one so I don't really get much redness or brassiness under light. I also like how the colour applies evenly and doesn't leave any patchiness. The conditioner smells really good and leaves my hair very shiny and soft after using. The dye doesn't smell overpowering at all and the developing time is only 15 minutes. Very easy to wash off the dye too, it rinses out quickly. Another plus point is that it's relatively cheap too! However, I need 2 packs to do my hair as my hair is long.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 LauraJM on 2/3/2013 9:05:00 AM more reviews by LauraJM

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Kinky, Medium   Eyes: Hazel    

Hi, THIS IS A REVIEW FOR THE TEMPORARY 8 WASHES (formally called 'Loving Care' by Clairol)
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
I love nice n easy. In the past i have used the semi-permanent and the permanent by this brand. Nowadays i value my hair condition as top priority after the traumatic accident where i damaged my hair quite some time ago now and had to have what was left of it cut off. It left me devastated i wouldnt go out. It made me train to become a hairdresser and i am now almost fully qualified so something good came out of it.

Ok ..
I love the shine that this brand gives and product consistency and multi-tones more than ANY other brand. This i believe from memory is the first time that i have used the "8 washes" temporary colour but the colours are the same. Firstly -I have medium auburn brown hair from applying a very mild bleach for a few minutes on my naturally dark Chestnut brown hair that i was born with. This gives my hair that slightly sunkissed look. I brought the Clairol temporary colour in NATURAL MEDIUM BROWN -no:765. What i wanted to do was just simply give my hair a little colour gloss but not really change my color that much. Unfortunatly it went to almost black so i would recommend just like all the other types of Clairol hair colour permanent and non permenant - JUST GET A SHADE LIGHTER THAN WHAT YOU WANT AND LEAVE IT ON LONGER THAN IT STATES (an hour perhaps) AND THE RESULT WILL BE CORRECT AND RICH/LONGLASTING. I have a nice glossy shine to my hair after using this temporary colour but it is too dark for my present taste and that changes like the wind ..lol I am just glad that it is only for up to 8 washes :) Not too much of a disaster there so im happy, feels lovely and silky tho :) X much love & always be carefull with your hair go for temporary before taking the plunge to permanent and if still unsure GO TO A PRO better to be safe than sorry X

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 strugglingauthor on 1/21/2013 2:50:00 PM more reviews by strugglingauthor

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Olive   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Coarse   Eyes: Green    

I used this product to cover up the grey in my very dark brown hair. I used the shade 'Dark Brown'. It's very easy to use - not messy, not too stinky. Slight tingling on my scalp which made me paranoid that I was going to be one of those people who have a terrible allergic reaction because, of course, I didn't do the skin test. (Well done to those who do.) Anyway, nothing worse than that happened.

As I'd hoped, the dye didn't actually change the colour of my non-grey hair, and the grey coverage was... OK. You can still see that I have grey hair, but it's not as bright white - some has disappeared, and the rest is definitely blended down to an unobtrusive silvery brown. Hair feels a little courser than before, nothing too dramatic, and the colour is nice and shiny. I needed scissors to open the sachet of conditioner, so keep some near the shower. (I have a duff hand, so others might have found it easier.)

Overall it's fine but not amazing. I think I will go back to the salon to have it done next time I need to, but it's OK for when I'm feeling broke or don't have time to go to the hairdresser.

EDIT: It faded pretty fast. I used Casting Creme Gloss next time, and got better results. I would not now buy this product again.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* kyl77 on 12/30/2012 1:35:00 AM more reviews by kyl77

Age: 30-35   Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Green    

I had my naturally dark blond hair professionally colored to a near black. Within a couple of weeks my color had faded significantly, I picked up a box of the Nice "n Easy Non Permanent Colour in Black and was really pleased with the results. The color covered well and is very natural looking. My hair felt healthy and glossy afterwards. However, this doesn't shampoo out in 28 shampoos. Other than my roots, my hair is as dark as the day I colored it. That's okay by me, but if you're looking for a true non-permanent hair color look elsewhere.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 jachang on 11/30/2012 3:05:00 PM more reviews by jachang

Age: 56 & Over   Skin: Normal   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

I have used Nice 'n Easy Permanent coloring in light neutral brown with excellent results. I have an important function to attend tomorrow evening, and I was in between colorings. I wanted to just brighten up my hair, so I thought I'd try this NON-permanent version in light brown. OMG! Never again! I don't know what I'm going to do for tomorrow's function. My hair looks HORRIBLE! The regular permanent Nice 'n Easy comes out light brown, as it's supposed to. This awful stuff made my hair brassy light red. I thought without peroxide it couldn't lighten your hair, but this one did! It looks like the hair you used to see on dolls when you were a kid. Strawlike, very fake looking red. Since it's supposed to last through 28 shampoos, I'm tempted to wash my hair 28 times before tomorrow! How can one company's products be so different from each other? I have never used a worse hair coloring. I sure hope it doesn't last for 28 shampoos.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 heh8787 on 9/23/2012 5:12:00 PM more reviews by heh8787

Age: 25-29   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

I am disappointed with this. My hair is dark brown from a previous coloring. My roots are growing in and are medium golden brown. I bought the Medium Ash Brown to darken my roots. I applied and left it on for the recommended amount of time. Washed and blow dried my hair and there was barely a change at all. The roots were SLIGHTLY darker but still very warm toned. Then a week later, all of the color is gone from the roots and I am back to where I started. Total waste of time and money!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 slaston on 6/17/2012 8:55:00 PM more reviews by slaston

Age: 30-35   Skin: Sensitive, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

Maybe I have weird hair, but I found this product left my hair feeling like straw for days afterward, even with using the full amount of the deep conditioner. This also causes my scalp to tingle a bit, but my skin is super sensitive. The color did last about a month. The product applies well, is a bit messy, and smells bad.

I used light ash brown, which was my most successful attempt at getting a brown with no red. My hair had no red before I colored it, but since I've been coloring every color I've tried seems to make my hair at least a little reddish.

I've only been coloring my hair for about a year, and I've only used demi-permanents (28 shampoos). My hair is of medium thickness with a somewhat fine texture, and is a bit wavy.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Nunya1 on 5/2/2012 11:21:00 PM more reviews by Nunya1

Age: 56 & Over   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Coarse   Eyes: Blue    

Excellent gray coverage. Left on for 15 minutes, and it developed into a rich golden brown shade. Exactly what I wanted. Grays-be-gone!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Clairol products

More Hair Color products