Maybelline • Color Tattoo - Tough as Taupe • Eye Shadow

rated 4.0(266 reviews)

Average Rating.4.0
Would buy this product again.74%
Ingredients


rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* jmara on 1/23/2015 5:10:00 PM more reviews by jmara

Age: 56 & Over   Skin: Very Dry, Fair, Cool   Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

How I wish I had discovered this excellent creme shadow earlier!! I bought it today in the Tough as Taupe color at Walgreen's and when I tried it on at home I thought to myself "why did I pay 3 to 4 times as much for other brands that I didn't like as much".

This shade of taupe, which has a hint of grey in it, is an ideal color for me and brings out my hazel/brown eyes. Much better than some of those high-end and expensive shimmery ones (that were mostly compromises) that I now have in my eye shadow collection. I'm also very happy with the easy way it goes on very smoothly.

This is a real winner! Try this out before you sink any money into department store ones!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 Laerkejensenc on 12/30/2014 5:34:00 AM more reviews by Laerkejensenc

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Normal, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Green    

I think the product it self is fine, it's a great base for eyeshadows, it makes your eyeshadow lasts longer on your lid and provide it from creasing and stuff. I wouldn't use it on it's own though, i don't like it's finish or how i lays on your lid. The colour i'm not a big fan of either but that's just my opinion.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 iamjoelle on 12/29/2014 8:01:00 PM more reviews by iamjoelle

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

I bought this product thinking that it could be a drugstore dupe for the MAC Paint Pot in Tailor Grey. It didn't work for me, the formula is much drier than the MAC version and makes for a really patchy application if you want to put it on the lid as a base/something for powder shadow to adhere to.

BUT...I consulted a few blogs etc. and found that this works excellently as a dupe for the Anastasia Dip Brow in Medium Brown. I have very very dark brown hair, almost black and the cool tones in this product work very well with a MAC #266 angle brush for filling in and shaping my brows. This plus a little clear mascara and boom, we're in business.

Really glad I was able to find an alternative use for this, plus the price tag is soooo much easier on the wallet than what Anastasia is peddling.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 makeup04 on 12/29/2014 7:51:00 PM more reviews by makeup04

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

This is a ok product. I don't really like the color or the way it feel's. I have 2 other 24 hour color tattoo's I like those. I don't know why but each one to me has a different felling when you applie it. It feel's thick. But ihave had no problems with it. But it does stay on for 24 hours.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 Kthrnrsll on 12/29/2014 7:32:00 PM more reviews by Kthrnrsll

Age: 19-24   Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I bought this just recently and from the very first moment, i loved it right away. I find it very long lasting and i somehow like the shade too even if it's a little bit light. I'm honestly into the "natural look" and i use this as my eyeshadow or even an eyebrow filler. I find the packaging really good as well. Especially when you're the type of person who is always on the go and would need a little bit of touch up. It's small and it can be easily applied. I love it

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* bernsie on 12/16/2014 6:53:00 AM more reviews by bernsie

Age: 56 & Over   Skin: Other, Medium   Hair: Silver   Eyes: Hazel    

Awful color! The color of MUD, just look at the photo with the fingertip and pot here. It's the color of undereye darkness, grey with a blue undertone. When one has that kind of undereye darkness (most people), cool based eye-shadow color anywhere near the eye just emphasizes the darkness. It's better to use warmer (colors derived from sunlight) undertones. Also, I have many other colors of this particular product and this color doesn't blend properly and is drier than any other I have bought and used, making this,“Tough as Taupe" color even less desirable, if that's possible. Stay away!

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 deadmap on 12/8/2014 8:15:00 PM more reviews by deadmap

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Olive, Neutral   Hair: Black, Wavy, Coarse   Eyes: Brown    

Let me be honest: my sister and I both have this Color Tattoo shade and neither of us can really work with it. The color shows up as a mid-tone grey on my skin tone, which is Olive/Medium/Tan. It's definitely not flattering and shows up really muddly and dull.

I've tried using it under eye shadows and it was... okay, but not really the best effect. If I wanted a matte eye shadow primer, I'd definitely go with a different shade. I can see how it'd be great if it showed up as taupe/grey-brown on my skin because I love those kinds of colours but it just doesn't work for me.

As reviewers have suggested, I also tried it on my eyebrows and the colour is better there, but mine has dried out since I purchased it and now it switches between a creamy and an elastic consistency that just isn't really dependable. I like applying my make up quickly, and knowing how my products will respond and this one is just a little too unpredictable. I actually use my Constructivist Paint Pot on my eyebrows and I love how it turns out. Constructivist is a red-toned, deep brown so it's pretty obvious that colour would be much better for me anyhow.

I can't say whether I'd recommend this to people or not, since it seems to show up different on different skin tones. Let's just say that I've been trying to work with the product and I'd rather spend my money on something that doesn't require so much work. Will not repurchase but I do wish it worked out because this shade DOES NOT budge at all after it's applied. Amazing staying power.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 alisonreeve on 12/2/2014 3:38:00 PM more reviews by alisonreeve

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

Love it, stays in place all day, great shade, easy to apply and blend. Love it

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 MaisieF on 11/17/2014 1:49:00 AM more reviews by MaisieF

Age: 30-35   Skin: Very Dry, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Green    

I agree with a lot of other reviewers that this colour as a shadow isn't that flattering. I'm yet to use it as a liner though, and might try it also as a brow filler. Won't repurchase.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* MikaVick94 on 10/12/2014 1:22:00 PM more reviews by MikaVick94

Age: 19-24   Skin: Dry, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

let me start off by saying I did NOT like this as a eyeshadow, to patchy and just didn't work for me...so I put it back in my stash..recently I've had troubles finding a good brow powder and everything was always to red toned on me (I have naturally dark hair) well I had read a couple of reviews on here that this could be a alternative for Anastasia dip brow..which is expensive! !..so I gave it a shot with my e.l.f small angled brush...and WOW!!!!! goes great with my skin tone not to ashy or red but perfect, and keeps my brows in place all day since its a gel type and yes its a color tattoo the eyeshadow known to man to stay on all day! lol. I've rubed my brows and still nothing came off. I love all the color tattoos and am glad I get to use this one and love it as much as the rest of my collection. give it a shot for brows!!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Maybelline products

More Eye Shadow products