Maybelline • Color Tattoo - Tough as Taupe • Eye Shadow

rated 4.0(258 reviews)

Average Rating.4.0
Would buy this product again.75%
Ingredients


rated 5 of 5 MikaVick94 on 10/12/2014 1:22:00 PM more reviews by MikaVick94

Age: 19-24   Skin: Dry, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

let me start off by saying I did NOT like this as a eyeshadow, to patchy and just didn't work for me...so I put it back in my stash..recently I've had troubles finding a good brow powder and everything was always to red toned on me (I have naturally dark hair) well I had read a couple of reviews on here that this could be a alternative for Anastasia dip brow..which is expensive! !..so I gave it a shot with my e.l.f small angled brush...and WOW!!!!! goes great with my skin tone not to ashy or red but perfect, and keeps my brows in place all day since its a gel type and yes its a color tattoo the eyeshadow known to man to stay on all day! lol. I've rubed my brows and still nothing came off. I love all the color tattoos and am glad I get to use this one and love it as much as the rest of my collection. give it a shot for brows!!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* MrMontyBurns on 9/26/2014 4:17:00 PM more reviews by MrMontyBurns

Age: 36-43   Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Blue    

Another huge thumbs up for use on eyebrows! The easiest and best product to fill in brows that I've come across. Fine as an actual eyeshadow, if not terribly exciting (neutral that it is), but as for brows, yes...I'm quite excited!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Geekwmakeup on 9/19/2014 10:20:00 PM more reviews by Geekwmakeup

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Hazel    

I recently found another use for this amazing product. Instead of dropping $$$$ for anastasia brow gel, I just use this. 2 steps in 1 for brows bc it shapes and fills, since it's kind of like a pencil but also is a shadow(I use the free brush that comes w their gel liner). Speeds up my brow process. Just this and brow mascara, and my super thin brows are filled, shaped, and frozen. Saves $$$ AND ZERO orange/red tones that so many brow pencils, even taupe ones which are really hazel, have in sunlight. Perfect color for cool toned brunette ladies, warmer toned ones need to get creamy beige, another GORGEOUS brow-friendly color. Yay amazing drugstore products!

7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 goblinwand on 8/19/2014 3:02:00 PM more reviews by goblinwand

Age: 56 & Over   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

Eyebrow filler! If this particular shade works for your hair coloring, which would be cool-toned brown, Tough as Taupe is great! The reason I like it over powder is that it gives that little bit of wax effect for shaping and staying power. I used this after I brushed my brows into place as a filler with an eyeliner brush. Then I brushed (with my brow/lash brush using the brush part) my eyebrows into place, which further softens the effect.

I have been using a powder, but I like this better because it doesn't "mush" out of line, getting color out of the area I want it in.

Because it's the Color Tattoo, it has all-day lasting power. I haven't road tested this yet while sleeping in it, but will update.

It's matte, so is perfect for brows. I read somewhere a long time ago that using taupe eyebrow pencil is better than the browns because there's no chance of pulling red tones. I've been using taupes ever since, and it looks much more natural.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 MsBeagle on 8/12/2014 1:34:00 AM more reviews by MsBeagle

Age: 30-35   Skin: Oily, Olive   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Hazel    

This was the first of the color tattoos I bought, and while the color on my lid looked different than in the pot, I like the color I found it to be more than I looked the color I thought it would be! It's the perfect shade that's dark enough to add dimension, but alone with mascara and tightlined eyes, can still be daytime without being too bold or shocking. Building it up can get a beautiful deep nighttime look that doesn't shift, fall, crease on me or fade weird. I have a tendency to look like I'd been in a fight with dark shadows after a few hours, but not with this! With Mac liquidlast eyeliner and waterproof mascara, 6 hours of tough work later, looked freshly applied and didn't budge! I have a job where my hands are constantly in the sink and wet for hours, and my first swatch in my hand looked untouched after 5 hours of work. UN. Real. I had to play a couple minutes the first time because I was new to cream shadows and had to get a feel, but I love it applied with finger or a brush. Feels a little drier and not as creamy and soft s my others (inked and pink and the gray one...) But i'm not sure if mine was clearancing out because it was old, our if it was the color or because it's so matte. But I don't mind. Love it!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* missmelodya on 8/11/2014 9:01:00 AM more reviews by missmelodya

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Hazel    

this is my go-to product for lined eyes without harshness. it lasts and lasts. on my porcelain skin and hazel eyes this shade looks grey. it is very easy to apply with a liner brush and once it dries it stays put until you remove it. does not stain, dry out, or pull the skin. i've got several of these (including pink gold and pomegranate punk) and out of all of them this one is my favourite. i love the matte finish and the longevity of wear. between the ease of use, quality of product, affordability, and durability of packaging, i highly recommend this to anyone. a universally flattering shade for all ages.

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Elfinoz on 8/11/2014 8:35:00 AM more reviews by Elfinoz

Age: 36-43   Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Green    

I was really impressed by this product. I have avoided cream eyeshadows for years due to my oily skin that made makeup fade, crease or completely disappear. I tried it after hearing numerous reviews about how well it performs and I wasn't disappointed. This wears really well, can be blended with either fingers or brushes and stays put like nobody's business! I have tried it on it's own and with powder shadows layered over the top and it performs well in both applications. My only lament is that it's the only neutral colour that doesn't have shimmer...at my age shimmer is a no go and I would love to see more neutral shades without the shimmer. This is going to be making a regular appearance in my makeup bag.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* upinspace on 8/1/2014 7:30:00 PM more reviews by upinspace

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Dry, Fair   Hair: Other, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

This product is a staple for when I want to do a slightly deep eye look. On my eyes it just looks like a pretty medium toned grey, it sticks all day and creates a lovely based.

Compared to the other color tattoos, this one actually performs above average for me. Love it!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 ATay7 on 7/30/2014 11:26:00 PM more reviews by ATay7

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

I love the Maybelline Color Tattoos, but NOT the color of this one. It doesn't look anything like the color in the container, I was extremely surprised when I put this on my eyes. it just looked like a super dark gray eyeshadow. Don't like and want to give this away.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 allthingsmakeupnbeauty on 6/30/2014 10:54:00 PM more reviews by allthingsmakeupnbeauty

Age: 25-29   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Brown, Relaxed, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

:::EDIT 7/8/14:::
I youtubed how to restore dried out cream potted products and found some great ideas on how to get my jar back to a creamy non dried consistency so I'm bumping the rating up since this product is really great.



I got this shade when the line initially debuted. This isn't a true taupe but more like a medium warm grey with a hint of taupe. Gorgeous color nonetheless. The matte finish is great for a simple everyday office look. When I first bought this, I was using it almost everyday for a couple of months. The initial application was smooth and easy to blend out into the crease with a denser blending brush. Concerning the "24hour wear", personally, everything I apply to my lids will crease including these without a primer and my HG is UDPP. I did stop using it after a couple of months because I got into using Bad to the Bronze and have finally hit pan on that baby. But that is for another review... Recently I was going through my collection of color tattoos( I do have a slight obession with these because of how well Bad to the Bronze performs) I noticed that all still were creamy and easy to blend before they dry on the lid except for TAT. It actually seems to be drying up around the edges and toughening up in texture. Really sucks though because I was wanting to bring it back into my makeup rotation. I can still sort of use it but it now applies patchy and some what uneven. Deciding on just gettin a new one and chucking my old one out. I had first purchased this one with BTTB yet this one dried out way before BTTB. BTTB has actually yet to dry out on me and still makes my everyday makeup look easypeasy. None of my other CTs show any signs of drying out so I'm not sure of the typical life span of these cream products. Other than the drying out part, I do like this this color and will probably repurchase during this weeks 40% OFF Maybelline at Rite Aid sale.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Maybelline products

More Eye Shadow products