Alpha Hydrox • silk wrap body lotion • Lotions/ Creams

rated 4.2(19 reviews)

Average Rating.4.2
Would buy this product again.73%
Ingredients


rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* rallu on 4/21/2013 3:40:00 PM more reviews by rallu

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

It's an ok body lotion...leaves my body smooth and the smell is ok. I bought it to use it on my feet because the ingredients are the same as in the foot cream but didn't really do anything great to make me buy it again.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 magicBUS on 4/22/2012 11:38:00 PM more reviews by magicBUS

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

This is saving me. I have struggled with body acne (my whole back, especially my shoulders, between my breasts, my butt, and sometimes the sides of lower sides of my back) since I hit puberty... so it's been almost 8 years now. It has gotten progressively worse as I got older, though it has leveled off by now. I would not say it is severe my any measure... somewhere between mild and moderate, with fluctuations. The thing is...it is consistent and stubborn. I was originally using the 10% lotion for the face all over my back and chest which cleared me up. AHA is the first thing to ever work on my body acne. When I saw this product on their website, I jumped and immediately ordered it. I am SO pleased it has no smell to it, and it is extremely moisturizing and effective. For full effects, it does take about two months, with definite improved in the first 2-3 weeks. The only thing that irks me is that it never truly dries on your skin... it kind of remains moist and a little bit tacky all the while you have it on. I don't care. I'll take that over embarrassing and self-esteem crushing scabbed over blemished and red marks all over my body. The price is right, too. NOTE: Please don't listen to the negative reviews below, this has been reformulated since those reviews were written and is much improved, I'm sure of it! Don't let it discourage you from how great this product is.

9 out of 9 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 smarteepants712 on 2/24/2012 12:13:00 PM more reviews by smarteepants712

Age: 25-29   Skin: Oily, Olive   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Hazel    

I wanted to add a new review for the improved version of this lotion. I've been looking for a good AHA body lotion due to icky texture on my arms, and dry elbows no matter what kind of torturous process I put them through to soften them up (I've been in pain many-a-time from taking a pumice stone to them with only one-day of softness to show). I was hesitant b/c the reviews below talked about the awful sour smell which I am familiar with from other AHAs. However, the new scent is great. It's VERY light, something I would almost classify as unscented. It smells almost identical to CeraVe Moisturizing Lotion IMO. In addition, the product itself works great. My skin texture has been steadily improving, and my elbows are actually soft now, and not dry and scaly anymore. I wish this came with a pump b/c I don't particularly like the squeezy bottle for a lotion generally, and this one is a bit stiff to squeeze...you either use a lot of force and get a ton of product or nothing; but I can always transfer it to a different bottle I suppose. Product is definitely worth it, and its much cheaper than other high quality and high % AHA lotions out there.

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 minxjoy on 12/13/2011 6:41:00 PM more reviews by minxjoy

Age: 36-43   Skin: Dry, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Hazel    

This review is for the newest Silk Wrap Body Lotion, 12% Glycolic acid. It smells GREAT! Unlike earlier reviews that referred to previous versions of this product, the company has really worked on the scent and it is wonderful: light, soft, just a bit floral.


I'll update after I've used this for awhile (just got it today in the mail). But, I'm hopeful because other AHA products in their line are awesome!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 N0ELxBOMBSHELL on 7/21/2011 11:53:00 AM more reviews by N0ELxBOMBSHELL

Age: 19-24   Skin: Very Dry, Olive   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

The brand has changes packaging and lables from time to time, so just know this review is for the 10% AHA body lotion.

Pros: My skin is as smooth and even textured as it ever could be. Its a good one step moisturize and exfoliate, instead of scrubbing for hours in the shower with a grainy scrub and then getting out and slathering with body butter. I used to have bumpy skin on my hips and the upper parts of my arms and now they are perfectly smooth.

Cons: Smells like vinegar. So I only wear it at night, and that's fine because one application per day is more than enough.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 boezoe on 7/21/2010 4:48:00 PM more reviews by boezoe

Age: 30-35   Skin: Dry, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

This has made my skin so incredibly soft on my body & because it cleared up some bumps on my upper legs & upper arms; I decided to try using it on my face. I apply this on my face twice per day, then apply my regular moisturizer & eye cream. I've been using it on my face for a few weeks & I am loving the results. As I was hoping, my blemishes (I always have at least one or two on my face) are so much better! I have a few that are going away & no new ones have surfaced. It makes my skin so smooth & has been helping clear my acne. I have dry skin and it has not made me dry at all. In fact, I think it may be clearing away my dry flakes that I usually have in my tzone area because I haven't had much of since using. I do use the Retinol ResQ once or twice a week at night instead of this, just to help combat the future wrinkles & since I bought that along with this gem. I ordered online from the official website, was on sale buy one at regular price, get one for $1.00. You can catch this on sale periodically. Stock up when you can. The smell is a bit floral/perfume but it doesn't bother me. I tried the Souffle but it stung a bit & I didn't see results like I do with the silk wrap. I stopped using this all over my body, but I do use it daily on my upper back of arms & chest & upper back. I have not broken out or had bumps in those areas either, like I normal do have a few here and there. This may be HG for me...must give a couple more months to know for sure. I've gone through one whole bottle & am at the top of my second.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* themarshmalo on 3/2/2008 12:26:00 PM more reviews by themarshmalo

Age: 25-29   Skin: Acne-prone   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Blue    

I reviewed this a few years ago and was looking for a glycolic cream recently, so I read the reviews again. It looked like the fragrance had improved, and Alpha Hydrox was having a buy one get one sale, so I bought a couple of bottles. I'm really glad I tried it again! I try to use it every night and my skin is really smooth. There is barely any scent at all, it goes on smooth, absorbs quickly, and isn't sticky. A great bargain if they're running BOGO sales!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 Dollface11 on 10/17/2007 5:30:00 PM more reviews by Dollface11

Age: 30-35   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Hazel    

This product is probably very effective, but I'll never know: The AquaNet smell is completely overpowering. I've even tried mixing it with better-smelling lotions, but what a hassle (and it doesn't work entirely well-- I just hate to think of wasting money on this abysmally stinky product!)

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* flairgirl8 on 12/13/2006 9:33:00 AM more reviews by flairgirl8

Age: 36-43   Skin: Other   Hair: Other   Eyes: Other    

I discovered this little gem thanks to MUA. I could not find it locally so ended up ordering it from alphahydrox.com. This is a 7% lactic acid product. I alternate between this and Alpha Hydrox 10% body lotion every couple of months. In the winter, I apply this and then another body lotion on top. It is an effective exfoliant at an affordable price. Update: I have been using this daily as body lotion for the last four months. For the first time in 17 years, my husband said that my skin looks nice! My skin is smoother and more even toned. This softens my skin like no other product. *love* it.

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 schmogo on 9/1/2006 12:39:00 AM more reviews by schmogo

Age: 44-55   Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Hazel    

LOVE this! It softens my skin like no other. I use this along with their moisurizing body wash and the combo is not to be believed! At middle age I feel like I have baby skin again. I don't care much for the slight smell. But it is easy to overlook compared to what this does for my skin, and it isn't overwhelming. I have switched over from Neutrogena, so that ought to give you an idea of how I feel about this lotion. Plus, unlike Neutrogena, this is not heavy. The AHA it contains also slightly exfoliates.

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Alpha Hydrox products

More Lotions/ Creams products