Maybelline • Master Shape • Brows

rated 2.5(138 reviews)

Average Rating.2.5
Would buy this product again.33%
Ingredients


rated 5 of 5 haight on 1/10/2015 7:29:00 PM more reviews by haight

Age: 30-35   Skin: Oily, Fair   Hair: Brunette, Curly, Medium   Eyes: Green    

I just bought this recently, and it came in a wooden base, not plastic, so sharpening has been a breeze (I believe it was recently re-released with a wooden base, probably based on feedback about the plastic version). I found it in a display with the brow drama gel at a CVS.

Having said that, this is my new favorite brow pencil - I got it in soft brown, which is a great match for me - I've used other brow pencils in the past that were much too warm for my cool coloring and looked unnatural on me, but this one is perfect. My brows are naturally pretty light, even though I have medium brown hair on my head, and this pencil color matches my head hair well.

This pencil is really easy to use and lasts all day on me. I love the attached spoolie, although since i will definitely be buying this pencil again, I'd rather have more product than a spoolie, but the price isn't bad as it is. I like that it comes in auburn, which is apparently rare.

All in all a solid eyebrow pencil, if one of the four colors matches yours (they have blonde, auburn, soft brown and deep brown).

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* tinkerrbelle on 12/29/2014 6:57:00 AM more reviews by tinkerrbelle

Age: 36-43   Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Warm   Hair: Blond, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

Greasy and soft, but it skips over the place leaving loose crumbs sitting visibly in the hairs like dandruff? Both the plastic and wooden versions are so greasy and soft, I can't sharpen to a point, will not cover scars, and melts off my brows within an hour.


***
CAUTION: COELIAC & GLUTEN INTOLERANT. Contains gluten (tocopherol)! Made my eyebrows swell up and feel sore and itchy for a week, and caused my brow hairs to fall out. Maybelline does not currently label would label what products are gluten-free.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 BaronessaGinevra on 12/12/2014 11:51:00 PM more reviews by BaronessaGinevra

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool   Hair: Red, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

Wow, this was a fantastic product until I had to sharpen it. I had to turn to Google because I couldn't believe a plastic stick would be sharpened with a normal sharpener - surely there was a way to twist it to sharpen? But no. Now it's torture to use. It's a shame because it's so hard to find auburn brow pencils.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 emiliu on 12/5/2014 5:29:00 AM more reviews by emiliu

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Olive, Neutral   Hair: Black, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I purchased the AUS version which has a wooden base instead of plastic, which is why I have no problem with the packaging. The product itself works really well and goes on smoothly. It looks quite natural, and since it's a more waxy texture, I tend to set it with a powder. Throughout the day, the product on my brows didn't fade away (6+ hours) which is super awesome because I won't have to worry about my brows :D
Overall, I would definitely repurchase this product and recommend it to others! x(:

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* PiMehMeh on 9/8/2014 6:35:00 PM more reviews by PiMehMeh

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Black, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

The thing I'm confused about with Maybelline's Master Shape Brow Pencil is that I've seen two versions of it in US stores: one with a wood casing and the other hell-sent plastic casing that seems to be the cause of all the negative reviews I've read about this. I've never tried the one with the plastic casing, and God forbid I ever do, but the one with the wood casing is actually great!

The shade I worked with for about 2 months is Deep Brown, which was a great match for my natural brows and dark brown/black hair. The pencil itself seems standard. In fact, the product itself is soft and creamy, and so easy to blend I could probably double it as eyeliner, but for how much this is ($6-7) I'd save it for my brows and stick to a pencil that I use exclusively as an eyeliner, especially considering that this product seems to no longer be in stock at easy-to-shop retailers like Ulta and Target--no surprise why, considering the bad rap the plastic version of this pencil has.

However, because the product is soft, I feel like I go through it rather quickly; I have to sharpen often. I am a religious user of Maybelline's Expert Wear Twin Brow/Eye Pencils since they're cheap and a good middle ground between a soft and stiff pencil, and I feel like they last me forever (about a year) as a result. But I've only used the Master Shape Brow Pencil every other day for about 2 months and I'm at a little over half the pencil left at the time of writing this review. If I used the pencil everyday, I might be done with it in a little over a month! In addition, the product does smudge easily so it doesn't wear all day like the Expert Wear Twin Brow/Eye Pencils do.

My favorite feature of this pencil is the spoolie on the other end. It's a little stiff, but it grooms my brows quickly before and after applying the product, and it blends out the harsh lines drawn with the pencil. It negates the need for a separate brow brush that I would have otherwise needed with the Expert Wear Twin Brow Pencils, making this a great product to throw in my bag when I'm in a hurry and have to groom on the go... as always. I love that the spoolie also has a CAP! This wouldn't be a big deal if I left the pencil at home in a clean environment, but my bag gets thrown around a lot and I hate the idea of dust or dirt or other powder cosmetics getting trapped on an open-air brush or spoolie and that goes back onto my face. Yuck. The included cap keeps the spoolie clean in my bag.

I definitely feel that the pencil is on the pricey side compared to the $4 Expert Wear Twin Brow/Eye Pencils ($2 each since they're two to a pack!), but the wood-case pencil, creamy consistency, spoolie end, and cap over the spoolie for $7 tops can't seem to be matched at the same affordability. The only things that keep this from being my favorite brown pencil are a need for a little stiffer product, and maybe a twist-up product to negate the need for a separate sharpener. It's a shame I can't seem to find this at local retailers anymore.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 ArielJosie on 7/22/2014 7:29:00 PM more reviews by ArielJosie

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

I absolutely love this product. I have it in dark brown and I prefer the plastic. I noticed a lot of people talking about sharpening the plastic, that seems like a horrible idea. You don't need to sharpen this product at all. Just pull off the spoolie brush, mines black. Just pull the entire end off when you need more product. Then take the white plastic thing out of the pencil and push the crayon down through the open back. I use a q-tip to do mine. Then pop the top back on! It's easy. I can see how maybe a swivel top might be a better package design but the product is too good to pass up. Perfect color match too! Try taking the top spoolie part off. Hope I helped! :)

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 TheGingerSnap on 7/16/2014 8:48:00 PM more reviews by TheGingerSnap

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool   Hair: Red, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

This eyebrow pencil seems to be a hit or miss with people. Personally, I like it. I bought the Auburn shade. It is very hard to find products focused at redheads, so I had to give it a try.
My experience with it so far has been positive. It fills in my brows, giving adequate color and definition. I'm not heavy handed with it, so it doesn't come off as 'mask like.'
I have been using it for a few weeks, and have not found issue with the texture. Some people say this pencil is very waxy. I just apply it lightly, and it still stays put all day.
Honestly, you'll just have to try it to see if it is to your preference. But with the variety of shades, this brow pencil is worth a try.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 houssan on 6/24/2014 12:51:00 PM more reviews by houssan

Age: 19-24   Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Other, Straight   Eyes: Grey    

This is the only makeup product I have really truly hated. I bought this in a hurry for around 10 euros (not cheap) and it is just awfull. It has almost no color pigment and it was waxy like a cheap lipstick. Also the brush on the other end has this metallic end that hurts my skin. The worst brow pencil I have ever tried.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 nseeengx on 6/14/2014 11:39:00 PM more reviews by nseeengx

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Normal, Tan   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

DO NOT BUY THIS. This is a horrible eyebrow pencil! It is way to creamy, it rubs off on clothes from the slightest touch, & its just doesn't serve any purpose that a eyebrow pencil should have. The only thing thats good about this is the brush on the end, but you can buy a brush like that anytime. Literally its a waste of your money, dont buy it! If they made it that creamy it might as well be a eyeliner pencil, not eyebrow.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 GreenFruit on 6/10/2014 5:37:00 PM more reviews by GreenFruit

Age: 30-35   Skin: Very Oily, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Green    

When I first got this about a year ago I hated it. It was plastic but needed to be sharpened with a pencil sharpener. They no longer make them out of plastic. I like how waxy the pencil is, and the spoolie helps me blend it. The dark brown doesn't have any red undertones. I have replaced this a half dozen times and will keep using it.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Maybelline products

More Brows products