Clinique Moisture Surge Intense

4.1

132 reviews

69% would repurchase

Package Quality: 3.3

Price: $$$

Package Quality: 3.3

Price: $$$

INGREDIENTS

Ingredients: WATER\AQUA\EAU, CYCLOPENTASILOXANE, GLYCERIN, BUTYLENE GLYCOL, DIMETHICONE, CETYL ETHYLHEXANOATE, SQUALANE, DISTEARDIMONIUM HECTORITE, PEG/PPG-18/18 DIMETHICONE, LAURYL PEG-9 POLYDIMETHYLSILOXYETHYL DIMETHICONE, TRITICUM VULGARE (WHEAT BRAN) EXTRACT, AHNFELTIA CONCINNA EXTRACT, OLEA EUROPAEA (OLIVE) FRUIT EXTRACT, CAFFEINE, WHEY PROTEIN\LACTIS PROTEIN\PROTEINE DU PETIT-LAIT, ALOE BARBADENSIS LEAF POWDER, CHAMOMILLA RECUTITA (MATRICARIA), CHOLESTEROL, PALMITOYL OLIGOPEPTIDE, SODIUM HYALURONATE, PETROLATUM, PEG-150, SUCROSE, PYRIDOXINE DIPALMITATE, LINOLEIC ACID, TOCOPHERYL ACETATE, CITRIC ACID, POLYSILICONE-11, PROPYLENE CARBONATE, GLYCERYL POLYMETHACRYLATE, PEG-8, PENTAERYTHRITYL TETRA-DI-T-BUTYL HYDROXYHYDROCINNAMATE, SODIUM CITRATE, SODIUM HEXAMETAPHOSPHATE, CHLORPHENESIN, PHENOXYETHANOL


on 6/28/2015 12:58:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Dry, Fair, Cool

Hair: Blond, Straight, Other

Eyes: Green

If you have severely dehydrated skin(maybe while using accutane like me) I would say give this a go.

I tried so many pharmacy moisturizers but they were so hard to apply and blend till one of my friends gave me this since she said it was too heavy for her. This is SOOO great! It is so rich in moisture your face will feel so plump and hydrated throughout the day and no dry patches will show up. I have like 5 jars of this now it's unbelievable how much my skin loves this thing. It really helped while on accutane.

If you don't have severely dry skin I wouldn't recommend the cream version (there are 2 versions) for summer but for crispy winters I think this is absolutely needed and it blends so well.



Age: 44-55

Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Neutral

Hair: Blond, Straight, Coarse

Eyes: Hazel

Moisture Surge Extended Thirst Relief has been a HG product of mine for nearly 22 years.

When I received Moisture Surge Intense in a GWP, couldn't wait to try it out, since I enjoy the original so much. Well, MS Intense turned out to be a disaster. It hydrated well, but there's a heaviness to this cream/gel which I can "feel" on my face, and that makes it an automatic no-go. Furthermore, there's an ingredient (or ingredients) in this which made my face itch and caused a minor breakout. Moisture Surge Intense and my skin aren't meant to be.

I'm sticking with Moisture Surge Extended Thirst Relief ~ very good product for an extra boost of hydration.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 6/9/2015 3:02:00 PM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Combination, Olive, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I love using this as a night cream. It is so thick and rich, and it moisturizes beautifully. In the morning it leaves my skin dewy, plumped, and hydrated.
My skin is combo-oily so I never use this in daytime. But it agrees with my skin and this is something I'd definitely buy again.


on 5/28/2015 6:30:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Very Dry, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Hazel

Love, love and again love this product!

Over the years my skin type drastically changed
from oily skin to sensitive and very dry skin.
I had to throw away my collection of
skin care products and make up because I'd either get
an acne explosion on my face or several huge dry flaky patches on my T-zone.

A new journey began for me and I remember something I once read in an article;
"Every woman needs at least 1 moisturizing cream, this is a survival basic." So I started looking for a cream that got rid of those awful dry patches and was soothing for my very sensitive skin.

The saleslady recommended Clinique Moisture Surge Intense
because according to her it would moisturize my face instantly, wouldn't cause a breakout, rash or irritation because it's hypoallergenic and it was a good match for my age (20). She said to use it twice a day.(FYI: The saleslady told me I could use it as a
mask by applying a thick layer before I'd go to bed and wipe it off in the morning. Also it could be used as a primer.)
So I thought to myself why the hell not! I made that decision instantly not even bothering
to search up any reviews about this product.

My first impression was that is was indeed very soothing and a little goes a long way!
By next morning my face was dewy and soft but the patches did not disappear.
A week went by and my face was looking glorious! It was dewy, soft, no acne and no more dry patches!! After being completely convinced with this product I decided to buy the Clinique soap bar and used it in combination with the moisturizing cream.

The only negative thing I experienced was the first time I stopped using it, my face would make a 180. It would quickly start to revert to it's pre-Clinique state accompanied by 7+
small pimples (I never had a big pimple in my life they were always very small and came in large quantities D: ). However now when I don't use it for a week to air out my pores
this doesn't happen anymore. It's still as good as when I used it daily!

5 months of daily uses and I ran out of it. I needed to buy it again and so I did!
I am satisfied with this product and this is now a must have item in my skin care regimen!

Please note that I am not a native-English speaker. Thank you!


2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


on 5/12/2015 11:14:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Dry, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Other, Other, Fine

Eyes: Hazel

So I got the product for very dry to dry combination skin and I think it's great! My face feels very moisturized and it stays moisturized all day. It's especially nice after exfoliating and it makes my skin look and feel very healthy. The only negative thing I can possibly say is that it's ridiculously expensive!


on 3/17/2015 4:50:00 AM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Normal, Medium, Cool

Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Green

I have normal skin which tends to become dryer in winter, and so I got myself Moisture Surge Intense a couple of months ago after hearing some good feedback about it. My conclusions:

It does moisturize very well and my skin really loves it. However, it is heavy, it does not get absorbed fast and therefore I never use it as a day moisturizer, but ONLY at night. First I felt disappointed that I won't be able to use it in my morning skincare routine, but actually I still love it because after applying it at night, my skin still feels soft and very well moisturized in the morning (I just use tiny bit of another super light moisturizer before my make-up).

I'd say give it a try and use it as a night recovery product rather than moisturizing day cream if it's a bit too greasy on your skin. It is a good product overall and it did help my skin a lot this winter.


on 3/12/2015 1:04:00 PM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Combination, Medium, Cool

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Green

Fancy Vaseline
I you like the feel of petroleum jelly on your face -- this is for you.
I received this product as a sample, and I am so glad I did not purchase it. It contains a significatnt amount of petrolatum that makes it feel incredibly greasy. I will not wear it on my face, but I will use it on my feet.

5 out of 7 people found this review helpful.


on 3/9/2015 12:46:00 PM

Age: 56 & Over

Skin: Oily, Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

Like the previous reviewer I was given a sample of this moisturizer but unlike her I have serious reservations after a few uses. I found the cream very rich and too creamy for my combination skin. In fact I blame this moisturizer for a nasty pimple, the likes of which I haven't had in years. Am I jumping to conclusions? Possibly. But this product is the only new thing I've added to my repertoire in the last few months so if the shoe fits... I think it's headed to the circular file; it's just too much moisturizer for me.


on 3/1/2015 3:57:00 PM

Age: 56 & Over

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Cool

Hair: Red, Wavy, Coarse

Eyes: Blue

All hail the generous-sized sample! I haven't used Clinique products in quite some time, but my mother-in-law gave me a sample that lasted six weeks -- long enough to convince me that it was a product I had to keep using. I have sensitive, acne-prone (still!) skin and this lightweight cream soothes, smooths and moisturizes without any irritation. This has been a particularly wretched, achingly dry winter, and I have also staved off the rough, scaly patches that I usually fight against this time of year, particularly around my eyes. (Supplement with Cera Ve eye cream -- also highly recommended.) I am the world's cheapest person, but popped for a full size, full price jar. This might just be my hg.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 2/27/2015 7:06:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Dry, Fair, Warm

Hair: Blond, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Brown

I really wanted a good moisturizer that I could use on my face, that wasn't greasy, so if I wanted I could wear it under foundation. I like Clinique products, so I found myself here. I was going to order it off the site and as I was ordering other things I released that the free sample I would receive would be this, so I took the full tub out of my cart and figured it would be good to test it out first, which I am so so so so glad I did.

Packing- I love love love the packaging of this, its simple, easy to use and sturdy. The glass is tinted with a pink hue which I think is really pretty!! 10/10

Formula- The formula for this is thin, velvety, and non greasy and white in colour. A lot goes a long way which is what I liked. One lippie for that!

Did it work?- So I am having a huge problem with my dry areas at the minute, the foundation that I am using clings to my dry areas like a monkey to a banana, not good. So I wanted something to either let soak in over night or put on under my foundation. I tried both of my ideas with this. After I went in the shower and got ready for bed, I put this on my dry areas which are my nose, around my nose near my nostrils, my smile lines, my chin and the middle of my forehead, I rubbed it in, but not fully. I went to sleep and let it do its work, I woke up in the morning and it felt like it hadn't soaked in what so ever. My face looked very greasy. I removed what was left over with a face wipe and patted my face dry then processed to put my usual stuff on, primer, foundation etc. Both before and after I put primer on I didn't notice any dryness what so ever! Huraay! So I thought... I then applied my foundation and well... my dryness came back. My foundation stuck to it like it hadn't been moisturized at all. oh... so then I thought 'I know, I'll try rubbing it in loads at night with a small amount then put a little under my foundation, same story with before and after primer, no dryness then as soon as I put the foundation on.. boom dryness again!! It did look better... my dryness had seemed to calm down on my nose a little bit, but it was still flaky. Off I went to work, carried on my day as normal and slowly but surely my foundation melted off my face, it felt greasy and wet and looked stupidly shiny, yet my face was STILL dry. I have since tried it a couple of more times because I really wanted it to work but it just didn't.

Price- 34.00!! Are you serious? Like pinch me for a second! 34 for a 'moisturizer' that doesn't even do the job it is meant to do? Granted you get a lot 50ml which is great and it will last you ages but honestly.. it is not worth the 34. I am one of those girls who will buy a beauty product if it works for me, regardless of the price tag. So if it did work I would of course pay it, but in my general opinion about price whether it works or not this is expensive, especially when there are drug store/pharmacy products that work better for about 3... coughhhh E45 couuuugh

Overall- I am not impressed with the moisturizer at all. Everyone is different so it may work for you, but honestly I tried so many things with this and it didn't work at all. I will not be buying the full sized and if someone gave me a sample I would turn it down. I suppose I will use up the sample I have for erm... what can I even use it for now as it doesn't do anything to my dry skin? oh heck, I'll just give it to my mum!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


Back to Top