Kiehl's Ultra Facial Oil-Free Lotion

2.9

17 reviews

35% would repurchase

Package Quality: 3.6

Price: $$$

Package Quality: 3.6

Price: $$$

INGREDIENTS



on 1/8/2015 4:39:00 AM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Hazel

I've only tried a sample. I've used it twice and it isn't what the brand speaks of it. It's not that good. When I asked the sales person about the alcohol in it, she said it was to prevent the product from going bad. Well.. It stings when applying and it's like a thick paste. It's leaves me skin dealing sticky and I have more excess oil when using this. No - you do not have to buy all the products in your skincare routine from 1 brand. You can mix and match.



on 11/9/2014 4:39:00 PM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Other, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Black

Just tried a sample - ouch. Burned upon application, left my skin sticky after drying. Better off with many drugstore products (Simple, Cetaphil, Cerave, Neutrogina all make excelent oil-free moisturizers at more affordable prices).


on 10/10/2014 5:52:00 AM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Oily, Tan, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

This was a good moisturizer, didn't break me out but I honestly think my skin was too oily for it- it made me oily within the first 2 hours I had it on (no makeup) and a shiny forehead isn't pretty :/ the first time I put it on, it had an almost burning sensation and I have no idea why considering my skin isn't dry at all... However, now I use this product during fall/winter at night and it does it's job nicely, but I would not repurchase.


on 8/20/2014 6:26:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

My skin is usually not sensitive and doesn't react negatively to most skin care products. However, I tried a sample of this and the moment I put it on my face, it felt like my face was burning! I had to wash it off right away. It might work well for some people but this stuff is definitely not for everyone.


on 6/20/2014 5:52:00 AM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Very Oily, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

Very lightweight, sinks right in. Fragrance free, very hydrating. Very expensive but highly recommended. I've bought this over and over again. Enough said. Buy it


Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Olive, Warm

Hair: Black, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Brown

For reference, I have combo skin (oily t-zone, chin, a bit around nose, very dry everywhere else)

I decided to use this as I got a generous tester. I've heard many good things about Kiehls -- all their products tend to have fairly good ratings and I've been in search of a good moisturize.

Let me start off by saying that I would not repurchase this. I did not break out but this stuff made my face BURN! I felt like my skin was coming off for a good 2-3 minutes before the burning sensation subsided. Afterwards, my face was left with really good texture and no dry patches under foundation. I suppose the burning was just the lotion "working" on my dry areas, but I've recently found equally moisturizing lotions without the burn and at a cheaper price.

When something burns your face that badly, it's a huge red flag.

PROS:
- Did not break out and I have fairly sensitive skin
- Oil free
- No weird fragrances
- No parabens
- Actually pretty moisturizing
- Great base for foundation for combo skin

CONS:
- Burned like a mofo after applying
- Made with menthol (known to irritate skin)
- Also made with alcohol I believe (which IMHO isn't good for skin)
- Pricey

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


on 12/21/2013 5:13:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Acne-prone, Olive, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

If you have acne this is the perfect moisturizer for you.

It gives you great moisturize without leaving your face oily and absorbs so quick!
My face never looks dry when I use this and works great under makeup.


on 3/7/2013 3:01:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral

Hair: Black, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Brown

I have combination acne-prone skin. I was looking for a basic moisturizer that wouldn't clog my pores. This moisturizer sounded perfect because it was oil-free and it is supposed to have oil control which is great because my t-zone tends to get oily. I tried this in two climates: cold and dry, and hot and humid. Unfortunately, this moisturizer did not work at either extreme. It did nothing for oil control. In fact, it made my skin even greasier! I would put it on in the morning and by noon I would be like an oil slick. It seems like this is one of the products that either really works or really does not work depending on the person. Thank goodness for a good return policy because I was able to exchange the lotion for something else.


Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Black

I love this facial moisturiser!!!!!!!!! I use it all year round - night cream in the summer and day cream for the winter! It is so moisturising even without containing any oil. The consistency of this facial lotion is light gel, when it blends it instantly feels very waterly. After blending it remains slight sticky for a couple of minutes but it will be completely absorbed and leaves your skin feeling hydrated and very refreshing. I also think this facial lotion contains some sort of methanol that gives you a little bit of a cooling effect that I love in the summer evening and winter morning! The only thing I would like it to be improved is the packaging. Even though it is very light and is not the most difficult thing to get out of the bottle, it will still be nice if they change to a pump bottle or something easier to take out. But will I buy it again? Hell yes!


on 2/1/2013 3:39:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Acne-prone, Olive, Warm

Hair: Black, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Brown

EDIT 02.22.2015:
I tried this again and initially I seemed to like it again. However, after a few weeks of wear I noticed I am more prone to breakouts when I wear this. Sadly, this is a complete miss for me. 1 lippie.

EDIT 07.16.2013:

Bumped down to 3 lippies. This moisturizer is "just ok". I find that it makes me oily very quickly these days, and it's not always due to the weather being hot or humid. Doesn't break me out, but doesn't help with my oily skin.
--------------------------------------------------------

Overall: 5

Price: 2 ($32 CAD/125 mL)

Packaging: 3

Buy again: yes!

---------------------------------------------------------------------------------

I don't understand the low ratings for this moisturizer! I absolutely love it. I am in my mid-late 20s, and am still struggling with sensitive, oily skin that is extremely prone to breakouts. I can get dry patches here and there depending on the weather, and most moisturizers do not work for me, just as a heads up. I never tried Kiehl's before but I was walking around the mall looking for a new moisturizer and I decided to stop by for a free sample. Originally I thought I needed the Blue Herbal lotion, but the sales associate assured me it would be far too drying for my face and recommended the ultra facial oil-free lotion. Let's talk about some of the things that make me love it so much:


Price: $32 CAD/125 mL.

I don't know about you guys, but when I see prices for facial lotions these days, it makes me sad. $50/50 mL is pretty standard for a decent lotion and while I can afford it, I don't see why I should have to pay that much. The Kiehl's Ultra Facial Oil-Free lotion isn't really fancy or anything; it's basic gel-lotion that has some botanical extracts and vitamin E to help skin look a little better. But it works. And I like that I am getting a good value of product for the money.


Performance:

I work in a hospital Emerg department doing 12 hour shifts, and I'm running around all the time so I get pretty hot, sweaty even. With other moisturizers, I need to blot pretty much every hour to avoid scaring the patients. With this lotion, it hydrates without making me shiny; I can actually go without blotting for about half my shift and not worry that my face will be ridiculously shiny. Yes, I'll have a little shine, but nothing compared to before.


I have very sensitive skin that will break out the second it touches something it doesn't like. This lotion does not break me out, which in itself is a miracle. It seems to have helped my current breakouts go away too, which is always nice.


I'm wearing this lotion in the winter, which surprises me, because it's enough to hydrate but I think it'll work equally well in the spring/summer if I mix it with some Witch Hazel or toner before applying. It absorbs quickly and wears great under any sort of makeup I'm wearing and provides a nice base for foundations.


Packaging:

Ok, I'll admit, packaging isn't the fanciest or nicest looking. It's a blue plastic bottle with a white flip cap. But, I still prefer it to an open jar. The flip cap and small opening mean I can easily dispense the amount that I want without spilling or wasting any product.


I dunno, I'm rather smitten with this basic lotion, and I wear it both day and night. It gives my skin what it needs, and if I want more hydration or oomph at night, I can always put a serum underneath. I like that Kiehl's delivers on its promises, and puts more of the funding into the product, rather than the packaging. If you're frustrated with finding a lotion for combination/oily, acne-prone skin, try this one! I really recommend it :)

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.


Popular Moisturizers


Sweet Almond Oil
195 Reviews
Moisturizing Cream
1251 Reviews
Strobe Cream
415 Reviews
Skin Food
508 Reviews
Back to Top