Balenciaga • L'essence • Fragrances

rated 4.0(9 reviews)

Average Rating.4.0
Would buy this product again.77%
Ingredients


rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* AlohaPandaXOXO on 3/23/2014 4:47:00 PM more reviews by AlohaPandaXOXO

Age: 25-29   Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Red, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Hazel    

L'Essence, I wanted to love you, but sadly it wasn't meant to be. I found a bottle of this at TJ Maxx and immediately had to scoop it up as my local ones rarely get recently released, higher end fragrances. Unfortunately, it doesn't work so well on my skin but I've passed it onto my mother who it works much better for.

My issue with L'Essence is that it turns into straight patchouli onto my skin and never develops into anything else. It's a strong patchouli with great longevity, but what I can smell on a spritz on paper doesn't translate to my skin.There's a sophisticated androgyny with this and I wish I could get the green notes to come out for me, but no dice.

I must say though that I think this bottle design is absolutely stunning. The tahitian pearl cap combined with the sea-glass ombre green bottle is gorgeous - well done in that regard. I'd keep it just for the bottle since I got it for $30, but I'm happy that it works better on my mom since it's a lovely fragrance if it works for you.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 hesperia on 2/15/2013 5:59:00 PM more reviews by hesperia

Age: 56 & Over   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

I tried a sample of this and I loved it. Hubby gave it to me for my BDay and I am ecstatic. It's a very soft scent, but not at all blah, or baby cologne. Someone described it as 'masculine.' Well, maybe compared to all the horrid fruit punch-like, overly floral and overly sweet scents around there. I don't think it's masculine at all (I'd go 'uh-oh' if hubby started wearing this). However, since there is no account for taste and perception, I say whatever.


If you are like me, and are sick to death of the typical 'summer scents' that smell all the same (acquatic, citrusy, herbal, etc., etc.), but don't like to wear strong scents in hot weather, you'll love this. I also love the dark bottle and the little pouch it comes in. Great scent. For the assertive, elegant woman, who makes her own rules.

4 out of 6 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* rosbergs3 on 11/19/2012 5:47:00 AM more reviews by rosbergs3

Age: 44-55   Skin: Normal   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Hazel    

Here we go again. Another masculine scent for women on the market. I've reviewed several of them the past few day and now It is my pleasure to intoduce to the world another one Balenciagas L'essence. First off, the little bottle with the dark forebodking evil looking cap makes me think i'm in for something witchey even before i smell the fragrance. Upon spraying i go and get my broon and begin to take off wih it. The violet leaves are the predominant note in L'essense...not cute little violet blossoms but violet leaves. They aer what makes the fragrnce nice and powderery. Soon vetiver and woods emerge and it propels your broom up into the stratospher. I got several comments on it the first day i wore it so that is nice.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 sexygirl999 on 9/2/2012 12:07:00 AM more reviews by sexygirl999

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

I want to love this, but I can't quite move past just really liking it. This is unusual and unquestionably beautiful - woodsy, slightly powdery, elegant yet not obnoxiously chic - but some component that would make it magical is missing (at least for me). Still rated as a buy-again as it is a pleasure to wear.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* mizzcindy on 5/17/2012 5:36:00 AM more reviews by mizzcindy

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Coarse   Eyes: Green    

This perfume is the follow-up fragrance to Balenciaga Paris and features vetiver, patchouli, violet, violet leaf, green notes, sandalwood and cedar.
I've smelled the original and I prefer this one far over the other. Overall I like green perfumes, and I like mossy and woody scents. This istarts off more green than the original but dries to a more sweet, comfortable and woody scent.
It starts rather fresh, with a green violet scent (I love violet perfumes like TF Violet Blonde or Violetta di Parma) but when it dries down it gets more sweet and woody, some have described this as vanilla musk or maybe this is the sandalwood. On me it's a very comfortable skin scent, great during the day and appropriat for summer of winter.
I also like that it has a slight masculine feeling to it, I think my boyfriend could wear this as well, but I'm keeping this for me :)
I love this!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 princesssage on 5/15/2012 7:18:00 AM more reviews by princesssage

Age: 30-35   Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

I feel very torn about this scent. The top notes are too much for me. I like the floral violet notes mixed with some powdery accents and a bit of green freshness, but the intensity of it all is too much and borders on headache territory for me (of course "headache territory" is very subjective, so you may not have that reaction, but I wanted to make sure to include this for those of us who love our perfumes, but are sensitive to stronger scents). I love the dry down, though. It retains a powdery-floral feel and keeps the violet note with some green. But it all gets sort of deeper and darker with a slightly antique lace feel, like a bouquet of violets and roses in your grandmother's kitchen. I could live in that scent. So for me it's exactly 50/50. I don't like the first half of this scent, but I adore the second half.

Edit: I'm trying this again because of how much I love the dry down. The top and heart seem very different to me now, I think it may be because I was getting over a cold when I was trialing it before. Now the top notes are pure green with a tinge of violet right at the beginning, but then the violet goes soapy, so there's a green and soapy quality to it on me that makes it underwhelming. The dry down is still beautiful, but overall I think it's a pass for me.

4 out of 6 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* haidehh on 3/3/2012 4:43:00 PM more reviews by haidehh

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Medium, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Relaxed, Fine   Eyes: Hazel    

I bought this in UK. Love it. Its heavy but still not. Very feminine and lasts a long time

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* abfabjeanius on 12/27/2011 3:24:00 PM more reviews by abfabjeanius

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

I purchased this fragrance on a whim after spraying it on my wrist. According to Basenotes.net, the notes in L'Essence are Violet leaves, Vetiver, Forest notes. This is the flanker to Paris, I believe. I don't remember exactly how Paris smells, but I believe this is supposed to be its greener cousin.

The initial spraydown is definitely violet to me. Then, after drydown, the vetiver and green notes come out, and the fragrance becomes a fresh green floral. There is also something that reminds me of Hermes Kelly Caleche, except without the leather notes.

As the previous reviewer said, this would be a beautiful fragrance for a wedding day. It's classy, fresh, and not over-the-top. For myself, I find that it is great for the work day. It's a little too green for me for the evening (I prefer warmer, or gourmand scents for the evening), but it is perfect for the day.

The lasting power of this is great. I only use a couple of spritzes, and I can still smell it on me by the end of the day. The bottle is a heavy and geometric green glass, similar to the original Balenciaga's Paris, except green.

Overall, I would repurchase if I ran out, and if you like violet scents (ie. Creed's Love in Black, etc.), definitely smell L'Essence.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* luckylouie on 12/7/2011 5:41:00 AM more reviews by luckylouie

Age: 44-55   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

L'essence is a new perfume for Balenciaga released in September 2011. It is a reworking of their earlier perfume called Paris, so you will find some reviews for it under the name of Paris, but I decided to start a new one as there is enough of a difference in the two fragrances to warrant it.
L'essence is advertised as a green floral based on the fragrance of violet leaf, not violet flowers. When I first sniffed it from the bottle I thought it smelt fairly generic, but after 5 minutes on my skin I was entranced. This is starts off as a delicate greenish floral with subtle hints of musk, and after about 16 minutes morphs into something spicier and slightly less green. It's nowhere near as powdery as the original Paris and has a more modern feel, but as with all Balenciaga fragrances, it smells RICH. Which is a good thing, because it's not cheap to buy. This is a quality fragrance which has an intriguing drydown and should appeal to a modern audience. Lasting power is less than brilliant, but I have only tried the eau de toilette, not the edp or parfum.
Although it is not the right perfume for me, I would suggest that this would be a lovely perfume for a sophisticated woman with impeccable style, and I think it would make a lovely bridal fragrance for the bride who wants something slightly less traditional than the usual orange blossom or lily of the valley based fragrance. Definitely worth testing a couple of times, and waiting for the drydown.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No




More Balenciaga products

More Fragrances products