NYX • NYX Matte Lipstick (All Shades) • Lipstick

rated 4.2(96 reviews)

Average Rating.4.2
Would buy this product again.86%
Ingredients


rated 4 of 5 jumersmith on 8/19/2014 4:45:00 AM more reviews by jumersmith

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Red   Eyes: Grey    

I love these lipsticks but I find that they can dry out my lips, if I pair it with a balm underneath it helps so much! The colour payoff is so good, especially for the price!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 pualonnie on 8/18/2014 3:04:00 PM more reviews by pualonnie

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Medium   Hair: Black, Curly, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

I bought this in butter beurre. Love, love, love. I really like the color. Stays on good, not too dry, but too moist. This is a winner among matte lipsticks for me. Will repurchase.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 audiovideodisko on 8/17/2014 11:57:00 AM more reviews by audiovideodisko

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium   Hair: Other   Eyes: Black    

Love the product. Whipped Caviar is a must have for fair to medium fair girls. It's the kind of lipcolor that will make people stare at your lips while you talk! The packaging needs to change! It's tacky and looks cheap. The matte plastic is great but the font and writings need to change. Lol! I like pretty lipstick packaging!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 bribi on 8/12/2014 3:50:00 AM more reviews by bribi

Age: 19-24   Skin: Normal, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Hazel    

I like lipstick. I do. But only in red. I feel like if you're going for pink, or god forbid, nude lips, then a gloss is the way to go. Or a balm. Otherwise, I'm sorry, but you look like a corpse. That being said, I have tried EVERY red lipstick. (Ok, a lot of them.) Being partial to red, I am painfully aware of the challenges red lipstick creates: with red, you have to have it perfectly in place or you are a scary clown lady. It needs to have a thick, rich formula that won't make it look like pieces of your lips are bleeding, an hour after application. It needs to be dry enough not to slide around your face when you start talking or sweating. This lipstick hits all the marks. The lipstick itself is firm so it's easy to apply without getting out of the lines (yeah, liner, concealer, I know but I don't want to do all that.) it goes on feeling a little like a balm but quickly dries without drying OUT. And it covers evenly; and totally. The red shade is very RED, and while I usually prefer blue based reds, this is still a nice color, and not too orangey or bright. To be honest, I've never bought an $18 lipstick, so I can't say how this would measure up to a nicer product, but it doesn't look cheap on, and it doesn't wear off, so you really can't ask for more.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Makebeautyhappen246 on 8/10/2014 3:13:00 AM more reviews by Makebeautyhappen246

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Blue    

I love this lipstick!! It has great texture, and color payoff. I repurchased it and both of them the same shade (Eden, MLS27). The only thing i don't like is the packaging, when i apply more pressure to it, it sinks. This has happened on both of the tubes i bought. I have read things about different shades being patchy, but this shade is absolutley perfect!!! (I reccomend pairing it with the red lipliner to make the color last longer because its waterproof.)

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* countrybearjamboree on 8/8/2014 12:41:00 PM more reviews by countrybearjamboree

Age: Unknown   Skin: Very Oily, Olive   Hair: Brunette, Coarse   Eyes: Brown    

I do enjoy a matte lip once in a while so on a whim, I picked up one of NYX's matte lipsticks at Ulta. They normally retail for $5.99 but they were on sale for $2.99. Being a nude lip lover, I went for the shade called "Nude". Nude is a very warm toned pale peach nude. It does have a very matte finish but it looks cheap. The texture is super dry which is expected in a matte stick but this is very dry. This lipstick goes on extremely pachy! Awful, it skips over any moist spots on the lips so you have to go over and over to make the finish look even. When your lips get wet, the color transfers like a bastard and it looks so grainy and blotchy. You can't top this with a gloss to change up the look either. I tried topping this off with NYX gloss in Smokey Look and the finish was horrid. My lips looked like railroad tracks. I really don't know how people like this lipstick. Maybe lack of experience with better quality matte lipsticks. Don't get me wrong, I adore NYX and have a lot of their lip glosses but their matte lipsticks are a bust! I guess I got what I paid for here. I have better results with the MAC matte lipsticks and Chanel RA Velvet matte lipsticks.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 Hrsilver on 8/4/2014 9:34:00 AM more reviews by Hrsilver

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Hazel    

At first, I completely despised this product. I put on EOS balm before I put on the matte lipstick and it made a world of difference. The packaging is made poorly, when applying the lipstick it slides down the tube. If you do end up buying it, try going for the darker shades instead of the lighter. The lighter shades tend to set in the lines of your lips. The way I go about putting it on now, isn't horrible it's workable. Overall I wouldn't buy a light shade of this product again. The darker shades I would buy again!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 akPhilly on 8/3/2014 5:20:00 PM more reviews by akPhilly

Age: 30-35   Skin: Dry, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

I really like these lipsticks alot, & have brought several of them. I wouldn't consider them a true matte though, I'd say they're more of a satin finish. But they go on nice & smooth, don't feel dry at all, & have great pigmentation! Also, I love that they have zero fragrance to them-I'm very sensitive to smells, especially in lip products, so that's important to me. I do wish however that they had more neutral and nude shades in this line-even the one called 'Nude' isn't what I would consider nude-it's a pretty color & I love it, but it's more of a pastel coral than a nude color. Shocking Pink is a great color-I like to sometimes just pat on a little bit for a stain effect, or wear a full coat of it for a bolder statement & it's great sort of like an alternative to red.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 leeyinmei on 7/28/2014 9:34:00 AM more reviews by leeyinmei

Age: 44-55   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

I bought this on impulse since it was only 10 at sephora singapore. I was looking for a flattering pink and found it. It's called summer breeze. The lipstick applied easily with good color pay off and felt velvety not dry as other similarly priced lipstick. It lasted for two hours and obey needed to be re applied as I had a meal. Overall very pleased. Good quality reasonably priced

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 stef62391 on 7/22/2014 12:08:00 PM more reviews by stef62391

Age: 19-24   Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

I've always loved the quality and price of NYX cosmetics. Their brand always give you your bang for your buck! I bought their Matte Lipstick in shade "Pure Red" simply on a whim at ULTA and boy oh boy did I fall in love with this lipstick. It is my go to lipstick! One swipe goes on smoothly, pigmented, and is very light weight on the lips! I also own MAC's Ruby Woo shade but I have to say compared NYX's, NYX wins this match! I've always had a problem with Matte lipsticks being too heavy and flaking on my lips, but NYX's formula is rich and so light weight it feels like I'm not even wearing it! I don't have to touch it up too often because it is long lasting! I'm going to have to collect all their shades when I have a chance!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More NYX products

More Lipstick products