Revlon • Colorburst Lip Butter - Candy Apple • Lipstick

rated 4.3(106 reviews)

Average Rating.4.3
Would buy this product again.82%
Ingredients


rated 5 of 5 daria33 on 9/27/2014 9:55:00 PM more reviews by daria33

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Hazel    

I own three different colors of the lip butters. This one is my most recent purchase, and my favorite of the three. The others are Berry Smoothie and Sugar Plum. Sometimes I apply it straight, no lipbalm, sometimes I might dab on a tiny bit before.

The red is definitely warm, but not orange-y. It brings out some green that I have in my eyes. I have very pale olive-y undertones, so I like to have some cheek color when I wear this. Works well when I wear a bright colored top that might otherwise be a bit too strong for my coloring, and with white/ivory tops as well.

I love the texture, the smell is pleasant and not too noticeable. It does have shimmery things just like Berry Smoothie. Normally I don't like too much of the glittery stuff, but in this particular shade it seems to work well. It just looks like a glazed red from a distance, and I'm not able to see the gold flecks just sitting on my lips (looking at you, Berry Smoothie).

Overall a fun, modern take on a classic red lip.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* trickmaus on 7/20/2014 1:09:00 PM more reviews by trickmaus

Age: 25-29   Skin: Dry, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

I'm such a huge fan of the Revlon Lip Butters in general...they actually got me into lipstick.

BUT...I cannot wear this shade. I saw multiple people comment that no matter their undertone, it still looked good on them...so I took a chance. It's a gorgeous, orangey-red that I really love. But it's just straight up too orange for my very neutral tone. It looks awful on me.

The formula is still amazing in this lip butter, it's got a nice, jelly like finish and takes a while to fade (and fades in a non patchy way when it eventually does!). Considering the price is not usually so high (at least in the states), it might still be worth a try to see if it works for your skintone. I think it would look AMAZING on warm tones.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 LucyBlack on 5/24/2014 7:07:00 PM more reviews by LucyBlack

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair   Hair: Brunette, Coarse   Eyes: Hazel    

I LOVE this lip butter, my favourite one I have tried. You can wear it as a very casual red lip as its not too 'in your face'. Its super moisturising and stays on for a long time. Would definitely recommend it!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 foppery on 4/20/2014 3:03:00 PM more reviews by foppery

Age: 25-29   Skin: Dry, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Green    

Of the five Lip Butters I've tried, Candy Apple has my favorite formula by far. No shimmer or glitter, just a soft shine. It's the only Lip Butter I would actually call moisturizing, and it has an unusual jelly-like glow that's very flattering to my dry lips. Being cool-toned, I tend to avoid orange-reds, but Candy Apple is an exception to my "no orange" rule. Because of its sheerness, it looks surprisingly natural when worn; I can build it up to near-opacity with two or three coats, but it never looks harsh or garish. I find that it wears for two or three hours if I don't eat anything, and it stains very lightly when it wears off, but it doesn't have the longevity or staying power of a regular lipstick. That's fine with me; it doesn't claim to be a long-lasting lip product, and I don't mind reapplying now and again. Overall, Candy Apple is a really superior lip product, especially for the price.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 familiarplaces on 3/19/2014 12:16:00 AM more reviews by familiarplaces

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

I've tried all the red variations of the Revlon Lip Butters (except for Red Velvet) and this one is my favorite. I've already run out of mine and immediately repurchased. Here's a comparison:

Cherry Tart - This shade is a cooler red with a noticeable hint of shimmer. Candy Apple is straight-up cream.

Wild Watermelon - This shade is more coral and more pink compared to Candy Apple's warm orangey red.

Raspberry Pie - The formulation and pigmentation is very similar, but of course, Raspberry Pie is a totally different hue as it leans more purple/orchid.

I probably won't be complaining about the price if I lived in the US, but the mark-up for this is pretty high where I live. It can for around USD$12.00

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 justanne on 1/21/2014 9:28:00 PM more reviews by justanne

Age: 19-24   Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Black    

I HATE wearing lipsticks because they seem to do all sorts of humiliating things like leave you w/ dry lips, transfer on just about everything, stain your teeth and so on & so forth. That's why on most days, just to take away the paleness of my lips, I go for something like a lip tint..... Until I met this. It's the same color payoff like that of a tint minus the drying part. It looks pretty scary on the tube (uber red) but when applied, it leaves you with just the right amont of red with a hint of orange. Yeah, like I said, think korean lip tint. And put a gloss over it & bam! Candy Apple for you. I am in love with this and I reach for it a lot these days because it's perfect for that pop of color w/o looking too intimidating. My only gripe about it is that the packaging feels a bit flimsy. It's made of plastic so I don't think it's going to survive if you drop it multiple times. Overall, I would recommed!!! xx

3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 payphonesandcollarbones on 12/30/2013 7:26:00 AM more reviews by payphonesandcollarbones

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Olive   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

I am in love with this! Stays forever on my lips (or at least until I eat a meal, but sometimes it won't budge even then!).

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* ichigocutie on 12/28/2013 9:57:00 AM more reviews by ichigocutie

Age: 25-29   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I have 3 different lip butters and candy apple is my favorite shade out of the three. I'm not a red lipstick kinda girl, I always feel like it makes me look older lol but lately I've been rocking the gradient lips and I like using candy apple in the inner lips. It isn't long lasting at all and I feel like even tho I only use it a few times it seems that I used a good chunk of it. I guess it's because of the formulation. It's a good lipstick for beginners and a newbie to red lipstick. Will I repurchase? NO. I only repurchase HG and this lipstick is not HG for me.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 phanamore on 12/27/2013 4:16:00 PM more reviews by phanamore

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Normal, Fair   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

This works really well on my skintone, which was a surprise because bright colours normally dont work on me. I dont really like wearing red lipsticks either but i really enjoyed this one!

It had great pigmentation and it lasted most of the day. It didnt dry out my lips and other lipsticks often do and when it started to fade it wasnt patchy and only needed a small amount to make it look fresh (if that makes sense?) again.

My only problem is packaging. I like the colour co-ordination on the packaging but the lid is so long theres not much to hold on to when your taking the lid off.

I would recommend this to everyone who doent wear bright lip colours or are looking for a good first red lipstick :)

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 hcpp on 11/23/2013 1:49:00 AM more reviews by hcpp

Age: 19-24   Skin: Dry, Olive   Hair: Black   Eyes: Black    

Up till about a year ago, I stayed away from lipstick - let alone brightly coloured ones. Only put them on on occasions and because of my tanned skin tone, I felt that red/ brightly coloured lip products didn't match my skin tone - and to top it off, I felt they often made my teeth look extremely yellow!

Decided to give this a go since it was at a really good price at the airport. And I love it!
1. I have really sensitive skin. Sometimes putting products on my face will cause it to itch and dry out. And if I'm really unlucky, an eczema breakout strikes! But this was okay. Moisturizing too.
2. The product is kind of like a cross between a lipstick, lip balm, and gloss. BUT - You know how when the wind blows, hair gets all over the place.. and with some lip products you end up with hair stuck to your lips cause the lip product's pretty much like glue? Doesn't happen with this!
3. I think this shade is a good starting point for those who were like me - afraid to try out the reds and the bright coloured products.
4. Price - super affordable. I live in Singapore, but usually stock up on lip butters when I travel. I can't remember how much I got this for at the airport but in Batam it's only about SGD8.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Revlon products

More Lipstick products