Bare Escentuals • The Truth • Palettes

rated 4.4(10 reviews)

Average Rating.4.4
Would buy this product again.80%
Ingredients

Read Reviews


rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* PinkIcing1 on 9/29/2013 11:33:00 AM more reviews by PinkIcing1

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Fair, Warm   Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

The white cream color is terrible. It hardly shows up and has no staying power at all. The other three colors are great, especially the medium pewter color. There is a bit too much fallout with the darkest brown though.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 chupachups79 on 2/18/2013 1:04:00 AM more reviews by chupachups79

Age: 30-35   Skin: Acne-prone, Medium, Warm   Hair: Black, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

Love it. This is one palette where I use all of the colors. The texture of the shadows are rich and buttery and makes it a dream to apply and blend each morning. I'm loving this much more, compared to my MAC shadows at the moment.
I chose this over the Naked palette as I need something low-key to wear to office everyday. On me, the colors from Naked palette were too shimmery and metallic, so I purchased this instead.
Tip:
the color Fate can multitask as nose contour powder
the color Serendipitous can multitask as under eye setting powder after applying concealer.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* isavella on 12/5/2012 10:07:00 AM more reviews by isavella

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Olive   Hair: Black, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

This has been the answer to a huge makeup problem for me. (I know, super serious makeup dramz.) I have spent a lot of dough on nude palettes and eyeshadow duos/trios/etc. without fully realizing my goal of looking like Morena Baccarin on Homeland. Part of that is genetics, let's be real, but I also just haven't found the right product for the job.


The end game is to look like a dewy fawn on the daily, with the option of upgrading to that sorta smoked-out yet not too heavy Penelope Cruz thing. I have a specific vision, don't judge me.


The high end palettes I have tried have mostly provided a wide range of going-out looks. They just didn't have the *right* colors. Some, like Naked 1, are too warm-toned and provide too much variety. I know this sounds silly, but I want just the one specific look. And the more cool-toned ones didn't have that cozy baby deer quality. Ironically, I have found the exact colors I need in a few drugstore palettes, but the quality and pigmentation just wasn't there. A couple of Nars duos were almost right, BUT WHY GET THOSE when this bad boy is PERFECT for $4 less and 2 more shades to boot.


I avoid Bare Escentuals. I just do. I don't like their foundation or their branding. I also don't like loose shadows. So I was super surprised at the amazing quality of their pressed shadows. The Truth is a quad (they have duos too, $20): warmish, not-too-frosty highlighter shade; medium satiny taupe; slightly darker, more bronze-y taupe/brown; slightly darker than that brown. I realize the shades sound very similar to each other, but this is a plus for me: the darkest shade doesn't translate into smoky when applied, which was my problem with many similar products. The highlighter shade is amazing - it absolutely does not translate as overly "done" or frosty and it's not too icy-toned for my medium olive skin (another gripe for many similar shades for me). The real standout though is the satin taupe. It's buttery, gleams without glitter or frost, and is just extremely flattering. Together, they create exactly what I've been searching for. Not to mention, they wear like iron.


I have another quad (The Possibilities) from a QVC Christmas collection, and that one is fabulous too. Well done, Bare Escentuals.

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Kfunk on 11/15/2012 8:55:00 AM more reviews by Kfunk

Age: 25-29   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Cool   Hair: Red, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Green    

My absolute favorite eyeshadow now! The colors work perfect together and I love the texture. They are buttery, pigmented and so easy to blend. This quad really makes my green eyes pop!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* KatieLynn on 10/27/2012 5:10:00 PM more reviews by KatieLynn

Age: 30-35   Skin: Dry, Fair, Cool   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

Even though I have roughly a million neutral eye shadows, this palette is still a winner in my collection. The quality of the product is top notch--buttery, and super pigmented. They're shimmery, but not ultra frosty. I'm one of those people who, when traveling, has a heckofa time paring it down to a bare minimum. I have a trip coming up, and this is all I'll need. I can get a casual day look, or smoke it up for night. Is it a mindblowingly unique collection of shades? No. But if you want a no-fair quad of high quality shades, this is it.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 Kurbiskonigin on 9/12/2012 9:43:00 AM more reviews by Kurbiskonigin

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Cool   Hair: Black, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

I absolutely love this palette! I'm on a major neutrals kick and these shadows are so buttery and blend so beautifully. If you're not careful and overblend they can kind of melt into eachother into its own colour, but otherwise these shadows are just so easy to use. They last all day too with a primer. I got this palette for $25 at a military store and it was so worth it. Highly portable. I totally recommend this for people who don't have many neutrals or just want a small palette for travel. Not to mention, even with only 4 colours there are tons of possibilities for different looks. Trust me! It's a great palette.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 chandraa on 7/26/2012 1:49:00 AM more reviews by chandraa

Age: 36-43   Skin: Very Oily, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

These shadows are great,they are super blendable and creamy. The only thing with this palette is that the three browns are too much the same . The taupe one called magnatism makes up for it. Too bad It's not a single.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 Tifmcd on 3/29/2012 12:03:00 PM more reviews by Tifmcd

Age: 19-24   Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

I have another DUO (top shelf) from ME ready line. I used this set once and I haven't pulled for it since. I think my biggest gripe are the darker colors. They're too similar. The swatches displayed as the promo look very different from mine. I have one light flesh tone and 3 browns.

Just lacking some dimension.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* HunterGray on 1/28/2012 3:43:00 PM more reviews by HunterGray

Age: 19-24   Skin: Dry, Fair, Warm   Hair: Red, Wavy, Coarse   Eyes: Blue    

This is a beautiful quad that is excellent for every day wear, but also has enough depth to create a more dramatic eye look. The shadows are almost creamy to the touch, and have a beautiful satin finish. The four colors included are Serendipitious, Magnetism, Fate, and Apropos.

Serendipitous- a light pinky-cream color. It works wonderfully as a highlight color on the brow bone and inner corner of the eye, or as an all over wash of color for a more subdued look.

Magnetism- a medium toned taupey brown. This looks amazing against blue eyes. It's light enough to be worn over the entire lid, or can be blended into the crease with Serendipitous on the lid for a nice daytime look.

Fate- slightly deeper than Magnetism, it pulls a little bronzey on the skin, but is not over the top warm. It is a great crease color.

Apropos- a very deep brown, different from the other three because it is not a satin finish, but matte with very fine sparkles. Don't worry though, it's still very wearable. I usually use this as a liner, but it also works for smoking out the eye.

These shadows are very easy to work with. They are incredibly soft and pigmented, so a little really goes a long way. They blend very easily, and last all day without creasing or fading. I also have duos from this line in The Top Shelf and The Scenic Route, and these shadows are consistently excellent.

The packaging is very sturdy and well constructed, the few times I have traveled with this quad, I haven't had to worry about the well being of my shadows. The case itself feels a lot like NARS, kind of rubbery, and prone to getting dirty.

I think that overall, the quality of these shadows far exceed the price, and I will continue to repurchase.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* jarona on 11/16/2011 9:23:00 AM more reviews by jarona

Age: 56 & Over   Skin: Very Dry, Fair, Cool   Hair: Black, Curly, Coarse   Eyes: Hazel    

Well...I had been sort of thinking that Leslie Blodget was a sell-out because I read somewhere that she would not do pressed eyeshadows. Given the buy-out from Shisiedo (sp), I was a tad dissappointed. I wanted to buy some of the mineral shadow so I headed off to the B.E. store at KOP Mall. Just my luck, the S/A saw me and asked me if I needed help. I explained that I needed a couple of nice neutrals before all the shadows went "Pressed". Anyway, that seemed to be a segueway into her spiel about the new pressed quads. She whipped out a quad. "The Truth"...and offered to do my eyes. I liked what I saw. So much, in fact, that I made the purchase--while feeling like such a hypocrate--anyway. I have to say..she was spot-on in her description of these shadows. They are very pigmented, so a touch goes a long way. They are also very creamy. They may look like pressed powder but really glide on so smoothly and are not ashy in the least bit. I'm really happy with this. The neutrals are really beautiful as well. No orangey-oxidation *clap-clap*.
Here are the colors: Serendipitous which is a nice peachy/pink + Magnetism Mattish taupe+ Fate a mocha + Apropos which is a dark brown--but isn't orangey.

This actually has the potential to be an H.G. for some. It fell short of 5 lipsticks for me because of the shimmer. It really doesn't go on too shimmery if you have a light touch--but if this was a satin finish/matte finish palette I would have had to give it 6 Lipsticks! I guess its my age--but I'm kind of becoming fed up with all the shimmer/glitter stuff.
I have given 3 lipsticks for the price because the $30.00 spent wasn't bad. It wasn't dirt cheap nor was it priced out of the ball park. It is a fair price. The packaging quality is fantastic! I love the rubbery case--it is a welcome change from all that cardboard that has been filling my makeup drawers:) Also..the packaging is excellent for travel. Even though I'm not crazy about the higher-than-average glimmer factor, I would repurchase this neutral palatte because I love the colors and the pigmentation and the staying power--the colors stay all day. I'm not kidding!

Anyway, I am suggesting to at least try a tester of these shadows because I was very happy with these shadows and I really think you will be happy too! Thank you for reading!

9 out of 9 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No




More Bare Escentuals products

More Palettes products