Unlisted Brand • Soapwalla- Deodorant Cream • Deodorants

rated 3.8(38 reviews)

Average Rating.3.8
Would buy this product again.63%
Ingredients


rated 5 of 5 freckles1292 on 2/12/2015 9:11:00 AM more reviews by freckles1292

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Green    

This deodorant is AMAZING.

Remember it is a deodorant so this won't stop you from sweating but works by preventing the odour causing bacteria under your arms from developing.

PREPARING TO USE IT
If you use anti-perspirants then I recommend you go cold turkey and allow your body to start sweating properly again before you try and use this. When I stopped using anti-perspirant I was fine for a few days as the residual anti-perspirant was still in effect but as it wore off I started to sweat like crazy and at times it was almost slimy. It also smelt really bad, sorry if TMI! I also gradually lost the horrible residue that anti-perspirants left on my underarms. Now if I touch them they feel like the skin anywhere else on my body.

When I was sweating freely and the sweat was relatively watery and thin I then started to use deodorants. However I found that they didn't last too long on my skin and I would have to carry them around with me to ensure I didn't end up stinking through the day.

USING IT
Then I tried Soapwalla after hearing really good things about it. It's 14 and available from Beingcontent in the UK. As a beauty addict I have no qualms on spending this much however I realise that it's quite steep for a deodorant. You get a 2oz pot (56 and a half g) and this lasts me around 3-4 months. I get through more of it in the summer and less during the winter and colder seasons. When you first get it mix it up with a spoon or something as it can separate in transit and have a hard layer on top and a softer mushy layer underneath. Mix them up well and place in the fridge to set.

It smells fresh and very unisex. EOs of lavender, tea tree, sweet orange, peppermint and bergamot. The smell unfortunately wears off on me after a few hours which is a shame cos it's lush!

I scoop (using the back of my nail to avoid getting it under my fingernails) out a pea sized amount and massage into my underarm. I shower in the morning everyday so I do this straight after I have washed, onto clean dry underarms. This is really important as the deodorant works by preventing the development of odour causing bacteria so if you applied to already dirty and smelly underarms it can't work as effectively to kill the bacteria. It can sting a little if applied to freshly shaved armpits if you shave daily. I stopped shaving daily and I actually get a way better and closer shave by shaving once - twice a week (dependant on my plans etc and how long I can get away with not shaving haha!)

The cream texture melts into the skin and you can dress immediately after however I potter around and leave it to dry down a bit before I dress to avoid getting any onto my clothes. If you do however, it is easy to remove with a damp cloth or wait until it dries and brush off with a clothes brush. It doesn't stain at all. It will not leave your clothes crispy or with a nasty smell as once you wash your clothes any smells are gone along with and transfer of product that got onto your clothes, unlike anti-perspirants which can stain clothes yellow and make them stinky, especially when you iron them!

Sometimes Soapwalla can melt if you leave it somewhere warm, like a hot steamy bathroom or on a sunny windowsill or something. If this happens the texture can go a little grainy. Just give it a good stir when it is warm and malleable and then place in the fridge until it is back to it's regular consistency.

EFFECTIVENESS
One application lasts all day and until the next morning for me with absolutely no odours. If I do any exercise or something that makes me sweat more than ususal then I shower and reapply anyway. However this lasts all day on a normal day of being out and about, walking the dog, running errands, cleaning the house etc and I do not smell one bit. I still sometimes really struggle to believe how little I smell as I can touch my underarms and leave absolutely no smell on my hands even at the end of a day. I used to use Sure Maximum Strength cream and would smell after a few hours.

I went on holiday to Kefalonia where the weather ranged from 30-40 degrees C and not once did I smell at all. I still sweated but it is always completely odourless. I think I only reapplied it once or twice on the holiday on the hottest days and that was just being cautious as I am quite conscious about odour!

I do notice that I tend to smell more if I am not eating well, eg. processed foods, dairy, red meats, high salt and high sugar tend to make me smell more (I smell when I wake up in the morning). If I am eating a diet of lean white meat or fish, lots of water, veggies and fruit then I don't smell in the morning at all.

RASH?
This did give me one for a while. It was a deep red unpleasant looking one but it caused no pain or irritation it was just not very attractive. It eventually disappeared - don't know why but it did. Whilst using other deodorants I have also got a sore and painful bright red rash - this is a friction rash from moisture and went away in time. It was worse when I wore close fitting clothes as these hold moisture close to the body. The Bubble and Bee website has a great page on identifying the type of underarm rash you have.

RECOMMENDING?
My brother struggled with smelly pits and used max strength anti-perspirants but still smelt. I got him to try Soapwalla and he was surprised to find absolutely no odour when using it. However he also got the non-irritating dark red rash and so stopped using it. He said it was expensive for a deodorant in his opinion, however he would buy it if it worked but the rash put him off it repurchasing. I also tried to get my Mum into it but she said it didn't work at all for her so she is now using a crystal which does work. I also got a friend of mine to try it and she loves it just as much as I do!

If it works for you but you get a rash then please persevere with it as it went away with me!

What else can I say?! LOVE LOVE LOVE!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 lillimariel on 7/15/2014 2:47:00 PM more reviews by lillimariel

Age: 36-43   Skin: Sensitive, Medium, Cool   Hair: Black, Curly, Medium   Eyes: Black    

Trying it on a very humid New England day, and so far so good. Mind you, even my Degree antiperspirant is not working so well, so I am quite happy with Soapwalla performance.

I do have sensitive skin so I will update when I have used it for more than 2 weeks.
In the meantime I plan to shower, exfoliate & moisturize in the evening and then apply this in the morning. We'll see if that get's me by without the rash so many are reporting.

Update: It has been 2 days of use and this is definitely working better than my Degree antiperspirant. Also, no stink after vigurous exercise. Quite surprising. No rash yet, fingers crossed.

Update2: It's been 2 weeks now, so I am adding a lippie. HG deodorant. I followed the instructions and no rash whatsoever, and I have super sensitive skin (shave at night, exfoliate and moisturize). I do reapply once a day, on these hot summers (I go for walks on 80 degree weather, even while at work) and no stink! I even asked my sister, who is not afraid to tell me the honest truth, and she thought I didn't stink at all - now she is trying Soapwalla out.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* proximitythe53rd on 5/25/2014 7:40:00 AM more reviews by proximitythe53rd

Age: 30-35   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Green    

This stuff is great. There's not really much to say that hasn't already been said, but I'll share my experience of using this for about a year now --

The smell is nice, fresh, clean. The texture is like a thick paste or a soft clay, you massage it into your armpits with your fingers. It sinks in quickly, unless you are already sweating under your arms, in which case it's harder to work with (duh). This deodorant doesn't stop you from sweating, but it does stop you from smelling. It's not bulletproof like intense chemical-packed antiperspirants. You can't apply this to an already-smelly body and expect it to kill the stink. It is possible to start smelling a bit under the worst conditions, BUT - if you start off with a clean body and dry pits, work this in well, and wear clean clothes it's more than adequate to take you through normal daily sweating, which includes exercise.

The packaging in the jar does mean that if you're not careful you'll end up with deodorant cream under your fingernails; it's not a big deal, but it annoys me, so I keep a miniature plastic spoon with mine to scoop out the product. I use something like a large-ish pea size per armpit, and make sure I cover the whole armpit area while rubbing it in. You'll probably want to rinse off your fingers after applying.

This isn't really something you want to keep layering on without washing. (Maybe this should be obvious, but in case someone's wondering, I'm going to cover it ... ) If you're, for example, going camping, and you're not going to be able to wash for a week, if you just keep re-applying this you'll end up with a bit of a sticky mess. You might be better off with one of those crystal stones - I don't know, I haven't used them. I wouldn't apply Soapwalla Deodorant Cream more than about twice, maybe three times without having a shower -- which works fine for me and my life.

I haven't gotten a rash. However, I'm not an every-day armpit shaver (shudder! THAT would give me a rash!) and I prefer to shower in the evening, so that means I'm not putting deodorant straight onto just shaved armpits. Also, I do moisturize my pits when I moisturize the rest of my body (dry skin all over) since I figure just because I sweat there doesn't mean my skin isn't still dry and in need of care. So I've never found my armpits to be massively sensitive, because I don't abuse the skin too much.

Soapwalla deodorant does contain a lot of essential oils which can be irritating to some people's skin: lavender, tea tree, orange, peppermint, bergamot -- so I think if you know you're sensitive to any of these ingredients (or others in the blend!) you should use caution.

I can't really compare this to other 'natural' or nasty chemical free deodorants, because although I know I've tried some in the past, I can't remember exactly which ones, because I was never happy with them and thus returned to conventional deodorants. When I decided to try an alternative again, I did my research and chose Soapwalla based on the consistently good reviews I read - and I haven't felt the need to seek further.

INGREDIENTS
(*: certified organic, +: food-grade)
Simmondsia chinensis (Jojoba) Oil*; Helianthus Annuus (Sunflower) Oil*; Rosehip Seed Oil*; Butyrospermun parkii (Shea) Butter; Corn Starch*+; Sodium Bicarbonate+; Kaolin Clay; Vegan Kosher Glycerin*+; a custom blend of essential oils, including: Lavandula Angustifolia (Lavender)*; Melaleuca Alternifolia (Tea Tree)*; Citrus Sinensis (Sweet Orange); Mentha Piperita (Peppermint)*; Citrus Aurantium Bergamia (Bergaptene-free Bergamot)*; Non-GMO Soy lecithin*+; Non-GMO Vitamin E*+.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 boobie on 5/5/2014 4:22:00 PM more reviews by boobie

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

I'm so glad I found this. I have tried many aluminum-free deodorants and none of them worked for me so far. This one does! It smells wonderful of lavender and peppermint and keeps me fresh all day. In the beginning I was sceptic and reapplied around noon, but there is no need for this as I discovered recently. I will not buy any other deodorant anymore. Thanks soapwalla!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Averyemvy on 3/31/2014 4:41:00 PM more reviews by Averyemvy

Age: 25-29   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Blue    

This is by far the best natural deodorant that I have ever tried (and I have tried A LOT). This stuff really does the trick in eliminating smell of BO. I honestly will never go back to a drug store brand. The only thing worth mentioning is that it DOES NOT stop you from sweating. This is by no means an anti-persperant. So, if you are looking for something to stop the sweat, this is not for you. However, this bad boy stood the test of hot yoga, and I smelled FABULOUS after a 75 min hot class. This stuff wins for sure.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 PollyWannaCocktail on 3/15/2014 10:42:00 PM more reviews by PollyWannaCocktail

Age: 56 & Over   Skin: Other   Hair: Other   Eyes: Other    

This works well to prevent odor, I was really excited about it...unfortunately, it gave me a terrible rash under my arms.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 mamma30 on 2/14/2014 7:31:00 AM more reviews by mamma30

Age: 36-43   Skin: Normal, Fair   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Green    

I tried many so many natural deodorants when I decided to ditch the antiperspirant . Like many others on this journey I tried different brands and scoured the Internet for recommendations , I was getting a bit dis heartened in my search for something that left me odour free for more than a couple of hours . Thank goodness I found this one by soapwalla ! I have been using it for a couple of weeks and have been very pleased when I take my clothes off at the end of the day I sniff to check and there is no BO smell ! Including working on a busy 8hr flight . All the other natural deo's i tried made me stink at the end of the day even if i applied more than once . It is winter so I will be interested to see how it holds up in the heat . I shall update my review when flying to hot countries . The only problem I have found is its hard to get hold of , in uk I got it on being content after waiting for it to come back instock .

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Evee23 on 10/24/2013 7:48:00 PM more reviews by Evee23

Age: 19-24   Skin: Normal, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

I bought this over a year ago, tried it a few times and didn't think it was working very well. Three months ago I rediscovered it and, wow, it's amazing!! Smells great, doesn't irritate my skin and keeps me smelling fresh. It's really important that if you're switching from a regular antiperspirant to give your body a chance to detox before deciding if a natural deodorant is working or not. Love this stuff, it's all I use now!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 luineumaiel on 8/23/2013 12:38:00 AM more reviews by luineumaiel

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Tan, Warm   Hair: Brown, Curly, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

I switch this up with coconut oil every once or twice a week. It doesn't leave a white cast, doesn't flake off, and I couldn't believe it when after 12 hours of being out and about, there was NO SMELL. I also try to skip applying anything on my underarm whenever I know I can afford to (e.g. wearing full sleeves, staying home all day).

For those of you who find that this deodorant cream doesn't work for you right after you have switched to this from your usual, chemical-loaded products, try using coconut oil for a while and then come back to this. It lets your body detox from having used all those chemical loaded products. I have found that it works much, much better to control the odour.

Also, sweating is a natural process, so keep that in mind and skip deodorants if you can on days you know you're not going to need it. That allows the skin to breathe and regenerate. As a habit, I always carry a pack of wet wipes in my bag and wipe my underarms down midway through the day. Keeps you feeling and smelling fresher for longer.


EDIT
I've been using this for 2 whole months now and I didn't want to believe it, but yes, this gave me UNBEARABLE rashes. I'm probably really sensitive to the drying effect that the baking soda is causing. A lot of users have reported breaking out a rash because of the baking soda. Please do a spot test before you slather this product on liberally. I'm battling burns, discoloration and extremely dry skin right now.

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 Sjez on 8/10/2013 4:07:00 PM more reviews by Sjez

Age: 25-29   Skin: Normal, Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

I really wanted this to work. I bought this based on a review by Jen Sinkler, an online fitness personality. I wanted to try an aluminum-free deodorant, and figured if it held up during her workouts, then it should work for me. The product itself is pretty cool. It smells phenomenal (if you like herbal scents) and is slightly gritty in texture but easy enough to apply. I tried it for just over a week. The first two days it barely lasted till lunch. After that, I began to sweat a lot less and it kept away odor for the entire work day, but I still felt a constant dampness under my armpits. I also developed a little sensitivity and slight redness. Nothing horrible, but it went away as soon as I stopped the product. I have since switched back to Dove, which I've used for years, and my armpits are nice and dry again. I might finish my little tub of deodorant cream when its no longer the height of summer here in Texas, but right now I need a more powerful product for these 100+ degree days.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Unlisted Brand products

More Deodorants products