New York Color • Instant Lash Mascara • Mascara

rated 4.3(42 reviews)

Average Rating.4.3
Would buy this product again.73%
Ingredients

Read Reviews


rated 3 of 5 beautyflower on 1/11/2014 11:31:00 PM more reviews by beautyflower

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Normal, Fair   Hair: Black   Eyes: Blue    

I won't say it's bad, but it's not my holy grail. It does lenghten and volumizes, but does not the best job at seperating (in my opinion) and I believe it's because of the spiraled around brush. If you just need an inexpensive mascara (1,50$ at Walmart, more or less), this is for you! I wouldn't repurchase, but it's nice! :)

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 RachRachRevolution on 11/6/2013 1:40:00 AM more reviews by RachRachRevolution

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Black, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Green    

I have naturally very long, grazing my eyebrows type of lashes, and am in need of volume more than anything else. I usually swipe this over a coat of volumizing mascara, and get crazy-defined, even longer lashes. It's great combined with another mascara, but on its own, it does its job but isn't amazing.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 noemielizabethh on 9/21/2013 4:52:00 PM more reviews by noemielizabethh

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Dry, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Hazel    

This mascara is my everyday mascara and for only a dollar, it makes it my favorite mascara haha. When used by itself, it gives natural, full looking lashes; nothing dramatic. When paired with another mascara, BAM! The lashes look full and beautiful.

One of the only bad things I have to say about this product is that it dries out fairly quickly BUT since it's only $1, I stock up and buy like 4 at a time which is less that the price of most mascara's out there. There's not harm in trying it out since it is only a dollar.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 Holagirl on 9/9/2013 12:45:00 PM more reviews by Holagirl

Age: 19-24   Skin: Oily, Medium   Hair: Brown, Wavy   Eyes: Brown    

What i like about this product is that it makes my eyelashes look a lil bit more visible and a little bit longer(i have short eyelashes) i also like how creamy it is but i dont like how Sometimes i keep coating up this product and it won't add volume or lenght to my eyelashes what so ever i guess it depends how you put this product and how much time you put in it.Most of all this is a great product and its affortable for anyone.:)

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* ocelot1 on 7/28/2013 8:43:00 PM more reviews by ocelot1

Age: 30-35   Skin: Acne-prone, Olive   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

Epic fail for me. I have straight stubborn lashes. This didn't hold a curl, didn't seem to do anything to my lashes in terms of length or or thickness and it appeared to have very little pigment. Don't understand what the hype is about this mascara.

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 KBistheplace2B on 7/27/2013 6:07:00 PM more reviews by KBistheplace2B

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Tan   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

This product was my HG for a long time. It is not much of thickening mascara but it allows length for days lol. Its long non synthetic brush allows for each eyelash to be coated evenly with the right amount of product to precisely elongate the lashes to your exact liking. You also have the option to layer the mascara to create even more drama. This mascara is a steal for short lashes and longer hairs alike. The drawback for me was the that is was not waterproof, but if that does not bother you, I would say gamble 98 cents at you local wal-mart and give this baby a try!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 cherryblossom14 on 7/25/2013 4:03:00 PM more reviews by cherryblossom14

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium   Hair: Black, Kinky, Coarse   Eyes: Brown    

I bought this mascara for $1.47 at Walmart. It was really inexpensive and I'm just starting out with makeup so I was like "Why not just try this out?" and I was really impressed. The wand works great, the formula isn't too thick, and the packaging it well made. It doesn't clump easily and I like the way it makes my eyes look. :) Great mascara for any makeup beginners out there!

4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 lrachel on 7/14/2013 3:25:00 PM more reviews by lrachel

Age: 36-43   Skin: Normal   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

I'm going through a bit of a mascara-buying phase right now and am currently trying out several. Instant Lash was my most recent purchase.

This is a great mascara if you are looking for something that gives a YLBB (Your Lashes but Better) look. Very natural. I found the color to be not as intense as other black mascaras. I would call it a soft black.

Pros: It separates and defines well. Lashes look soft. Removed easily. Did not transfer and dries fast. No smudgies. Perfect amount of product on brush (that's a pet-peeve of mine........too much product that I end up wasting because I wipe it on a tissue).

Cons: I am a volume-girl and still did not get anywhere close to the volume I wanted, even after four coats. Since there are other mascaras that volumize AND define better, this is not one I will reach for to accomplish that goal.

Overall, I found this to be a very similar look to Maybeline's Full & Soft. If I was in the market for a natural, softer look without worrying about volume, I would purchase this over the F&S, simply because it performs as well and is quite a lot cheaper.

I'm going to try this again with my Cils primer to see if the combo will work (I figure the cost of Cils is cancelled out by the inexpensiveness of NYC).

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 FoxTanFauxPas on 7/3/2013 11:32:00 PM more reviews by FoxTanFauxPas

Age: Unknown   Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Green    

Awesome stuff! Was looking at other mascara reviews and happened to see this at the top of the list for top-rated mascaras on the right side of the page. Curious, I clicked, and saw that it was only $1 and a dupe for Defincils. I had to try it! I searched at Target, and they don't seem to carry it in the NYC display in my area. Checked at Walmart, and found it for only $1. The other NYC mascaras are $1.77 or more, but this one was only a single buck. Score!

This mascara doesn't clump. You can put on one or two layers for a natural look, or do 4 layers for a night out. It's not the most dramatic mascara, but it is nice to be able to tailor it to your needs for the day. It doesn't flake or smudge, even after wearing it for 12+ hours in the summer heat. The thin wand makes it easy to apply to bottom lashes. I can't think of a single bad thing to say about this mascara. Try it out! It's great for those who are new to makeup, people who don't use it very often, drugstore divas, and high-end junkies alike.

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 beautyloverxo on 6/9/2013 2:04:00 PM more reviews by beautyloverxo

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Normal, Olive   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

This Mascara is OK. On my Lashes it clumps toward the outer Corner

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More New York Color products

More Mascara products