Essence • Gel Eyeliner • Eyeliner

rated 4.6(255 reviews)

Average Rating.4.6
Would buy this product again.92%
Ingredients


rated 5 of 5 kileylovescake on 10/2/2014 12:52:00 PM more reviews by kileylovescake

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

I was always scared of gel eyeliner because I didn't understand how the heck I could just paint it on my eyes gingerly (note: I have very shaky hands sometimes and eyeliner has always been an issue).

However, I have found that this stuff is pretty easy to apply with an angled, flat eyeliner brush! The consistency is great, pigmentation is out of this world, and you get a large amount of product for 3 dollars.

Also- it lasts SO well, even though I don't think it's marketed as waterproof.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* upinspace on 9/20/2014 2:24:00 PM more reviews by upinspace

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Dry, Fair   Hair: Other, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

Sososo amazing for the price. I actually prefer it wat over my mac fluidline and smashbox.

Its quite a thick creamy consistency, I really find it similar to the Bobbi brown gel eyeliner. (I prefer the bb one a touch more because it has a nice finish) Its matte and black and just so good. Its pretty water resistent and will not budge on me. Lasts all day, nothing is faulting really. Easy to work with and doesn't flake and all that.

100% reccomend!!!! I got it at Ulta for ~ $4.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 brigwij on 9/12/2014 4:34:00 PM more reviews by brigwij

Age: 19-24   Skin: Oily, Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

This is my first review on makeupalley bc I'm usually too lazy to rate products, but I can honestly say this is one of my fav products by far!! I used to use ELF's cream eyeliner but that would ALWAYS SMUDGE and get all over my eyelids. Unlike this eyeliner! This essence eyeliner is a miracle---I have super oily eyelids and it does not even transfer after 8 hours. It's worth it to buy the eyeliner brush too. The total comes out to 6 bucks. Just buy it!

P.s- when I went to buy it at ULTA most of the ones in stock were dried out, so make sure you inspect them before you choose the one you wanna buy!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 cheesedippable on 9/5/2014 9:12:00 PM more reviews by cheesedippable

Age: 25-29   Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Black, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

I find that it applies best with a small angle eyeliner brush, like the sigma e65. The brush tip kind usually causes the gel liner to streak on me, resulting in having to go back again and again to build up the opacity. Otherwise, I feel like I've had this forever and I'm still less than halfway through the product and I use it almost everyday. It does not budge, although recently, I've looked in the mirror at the end of the day and noticed small flakes. I think it's the result of the liner being on its way to drying out. But I've had it for so long and I know that gel liner tends to do that after a while. This one just seems to last longer than the others in terms of not drying out. I would definitely recommend getting it!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 xoJemz on 9/3/2014 8:35:00 PM more reviews by xoJemz

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Oily, Tan, Warm   Hair: Black, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Black    

Did I get a messed up jar? I had high hopes for this Essence gel eyeliner and omg it was a HUGE disappointment. It was dry the very first time I used it and so it did not come out opaque at all! I tried to work with it by wetting my eyeliner brush then just going over a line 2-3 times to make it blaaack because hey, it's like $3 so why not try to work with it. I was going to deal with that since my fave eyeliner got discontinued (Physician's Formula Shimmer Strips, Custom Eye Enhancing Gel Creamliner for brown eyes [$10-ish]) BUT the Essence eyeliner would flake off my eyelid! Wtf!? PF (Physician's Formula) was the first gel/cream eyeliner I've ever tried and I fell in love with it (just the black one - not so much the other colors) and it never flaked and it was creamy in the jar... so Essence was the COMPLETE opposite.

I tried the Rimmel one and thank god I found it. It surpasses my great experience with Physician's Formula. The Rimmel one is around $5, so $2 more than a crappy Essence eye liner? So worth it and still very cheap for a gel/cream eyeliner that WORKS!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 lenazheng on 8/21/2014 6:23:00 PM more reviews by lenazheng

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

Delivers a solid, clean line. The color is extremely opaque. After it quickly dries over 30 seconds, the eyeliner does not smudge! Only bad thing is that with time, the product can dry out. Great eyeliner for its price

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 laurenheartsmakeup on 7/15/2014 10:02:00 PM more reviews by laurenheartsmakeup

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

This product is so underrated! It's sitting in the corner of Ulta waiting to be noticed. Try it out. Way better than Bobbi Brown or Maybelline. It's only two bucks.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 chloemorris on 7/14/2014 8:25:00 PM more reviews by chloemorris

Age: 19-24   Skin: Normal, Fair   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Brown    

Brilliant eyeliner! It has permanently replaced my MAC fluidline. It holds up well, doesn't smudge or transfer to my bottom waterline and is a black as it gets. I feel stupid for having wasted so much money of MAC's product when this was sitting in my local pharmacy for a fraction of the price. I think word has gotten out about how amazing this eyeliner gel is, because I haven't seen it in stock recently. I also purchased a their eyeliner brush and it has been equally as wonderful. The pair help achieve the perfect thin winged eyeliner.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 lcagcaoili on 7/10/2014 4:37:00 AM more reviews by lcagcaoili

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

I love this product! Itís creamy, smooth, lasts the whole day, smudgable but it sets and itís just a beautiful beautiful true black. Itís not streaky or anything and you can use an angled or a fine tip brush. For the price, thereís really nothing more I can say. This is so worth the money, guys. Try it!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Xxcassx on 6/30/2014 5:14:00 PM more reviews by Xxcassx

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

Absolutely love this. It goes on smoothly, doesn't run when sweating / in water. Very easy to get off. I compared this to the maybelline gel liner and they're pretty similar. Just the maybelline one is slightly creamier. But id definitely buy this one over the maybelline one any day.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Essence products

More Eyeliner products