Revlon Colorburst Lip Butter in Red Velvet

4.3

97 reviews

77% would repurchase

Package Quality: 3.9

Price: $$

Package Quality: 3.9

Price: $$

INGREDIENTS



on 6/20/2015 11:11:00 PM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Very Dry, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Hazel

Nice color and good quality.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.



Age: 44-55

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Hazel

I finally found the perfect shade for me and now that I need to buy more of it (I bought 3 tubes last time I bought any to make sure I had some) I found out it has been discontinued. I have looked everywhere for some and finally found it on ebay. I bought the last 4 tubes they had. I know there is more on Amazon but they want upwards of $18.00 a tube. I can only Pray that when fall comes the company reconsiders. I never wore much makeup for years because I couldn't find something I liked to wear. I have been told several times how good this shade looks on me and I love it. When my next 4 tubes run out, I will need to find something close. I did find a color that is close, however it isn't from Revlon.


on 12/22/2014 8:12:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Curly, Medium

Eyes: Blue

Why do I never hear anyone else talk about this shade?! Sure, people love on the Revlon Lip Butters all day long, but I never hear Red Velvet mentioned - and they're missing out! This is a beautiful deep, almost plummy burgundy red. It looks more red when worn as a sheer coat, and much more dark and opaque when layered. I always get compliments when I wear it. I find it to be a perfect fall/winter color - richly pigmented, slightly vampy, and moisturizing. And there's no tacky glitter! I've already re-purchased it twice, and will continue to do so.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


on 7/24/2014 12:34:00 PM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Cool

Hair: Brown, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Blue

Gorgeous old school pinup red without that matte dryed out look. I love dark red lipstick but so many of the best colors are just too matte and they make your lips look dead. This looks a lot like NYX Snow White but is much more hydrating.

- True blue based deep red
- Opaque coverage
- Non drying
- Use with a waterproof lip liner and you are set Perfect Pinup lips!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 6/26/2014 1:44:00 PM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

Revlon Colorburst Lip Butter in Red Velvet is the second lip butter that I purchased from the collection. I really love this colour, it comes on strong enough after one swipe and it's still build-able. It leaves your lips feelings moisturized and you know your lips are pigmented. This colour is bright and does look vampire-y but I still have the confidence to wear this colour just on its own. The packaging is nice and cute and I have no problems with it at all but when you use enough of the tube and you're twisting it down/up, sometimes it leaves a bit of the lip butter on top of the tube.


on 6/13/2014 1:18:00 PM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Combination, Fair, Warm

Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Brown

Red Velvet is more opaque than the other Revlon lip butters. More color dense, but it still has that great lip butter moisture. More like a sheer lipstick. I thought it would be similar to Fig Jam (which I adore!) only more red, but it's not. Fig Jam is sheerer and easier to apply straight from the tube. That being said, Red Velvet is super easy to apply as far as red lipsticks go. You don't need lipliner with this, but you will need a mirror. Although it's sheer, it's still quite pigmented. And deep blood red. Like a maroon color. Gorgeous and ultra sexy! Very vampy. But it still manages to look nice and soft .... it does in fact look 'velvety' on lips. I typically cannot do "vampy" because it looks way too harsh on my fair skin (and I'm not into looking 'goth'). But I can wear Red Velvet and it looks beautiful!


on 6/7/2014 1:22:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Very Oily, Fair-Medium, Warm

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Green

I love the lip colors, but in this bold of a color it is just too smudgy, and it doesn't last at all. I wear Pink Truffle and Sugar Plum all the time, and it's great for more neutral colors like that. I'm going to return this.


on 4/28/2014 11:52:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Warm

Hair: Blond, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Hazel

This is a nice dark red shade, it's sheer as far as lipstick goes, but it's more opaque if we are comparing it to other color butters. I admit I rarely wear this one, it's a bit uncomfortable for me. It goes well with my all black kind of outfits though, like the more goth looks. I have to dress to wear this one out it seems. I like the stain it leaves on the lips after it's worn off. Moisturizing and a bit smudgy, overall nice.


on 1/31/2014 2:03:00 AM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium, Warm

Hair: Black, Straight, Coarse

Eyes: Brown

This is hands down my favorite "vampy" red lip product. Prior to purchasing this lip butter, all my red lip products were more on the bright, coral-y side. I wanted to try out a darker red, so I went with Red Velvet by Revlon because I loved the lip butter in Juicy Papaya. As always, the lip butters are so smooth and not drying on the lips at all. They don't last very long, and the color doesn't look as opaque on the lips as it seems in the tube, but after all, this is not exactly a typical lipstick.

I would highly recommend this particular red lip product if you want to experiment with deeper shades. It is a dark shade, but doesn't look as dark as it does in the tube. It feels and looks wonderful on the lips~

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


on 12/7/2013 11:35:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Other, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Other

Beautiful fall/winter Red. It can be worn as a gorgeous lipstick or just as a stain. It can bleed a bit, so best to wear with a lip liner .


Back to Top