Revlon • New Complexion Oil Control Makeup • Liquid

rated 3.6(17 reviews)

Average Rating.3.6
Would buy this product again.58%
Ingredients

Read Reviews


rated 4 of 5 gracinthia on 3/10/2014 7:31:00 AM more reviews by gracinthia

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

this product have sheer coverage, so light and easy to find and make my face look glowing not greassy

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 vandenbergnikita on 5/19/2013 8:11:00 PM more reviews by vandenbergnikita

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Blond, Curly, Coarse   Eyes: Blue    

I really love this foundation! It goes on smoothly, doesn't oxidise to a yellow colour as some foundations tend to do, it blends in with the skin really well, and it does not have a "cloying" feeling on my face as some foundations do.
As for the "oil control" claim, I don't really think it does any oil control, as I have a very slightly oily t-zone (not enough to be an issue for me) and this does not make a difference to it.
It is coverage that you can build up as you need, which is really nice, as I don't always feel that I need heavy coverage and just want a more even skintone.
As this is not a heavy foundation, it does not clog up my pores or break me out, an issue I have with a lot of foundations, so its scores huge points by me for that!
The only thing I would like to see changed with this is the bottle - I would much prefer a pump bottle.
Overall though, I think it is a great product, and I would definitely repurchase when I run out.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 emarshall on 1/3/2013 11:21:00 PM more reviews by emarshall

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Oily, Fair   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Blue    

I was originally going into the store today to buy the Revlon Colorstay for combination oily skin (I have very oily skin) but after a little bit of chat with the make-up lady she told me to try the Revlon New Complexion because it might be more suited to my skin.
So I agreed because the shade was PERFECT for my skin (its Buff) and it was on sale.
I applied it with a foundation brush and blended it out with a flat top blending brush. And I have to say I was a little let down. It has an okay coverage, but it doesn't hide my red blemished very well, and especially on my nose and around my skin it didn't cover very well and left it looking a little flaky.
I am new to liquid foundation, so it could just be the way I applied it, but next time I am definitely going to buy the Revlon Colorstay!


UPDATE!
Since using this foundation more and more, I found that I am falling in love with it a bit more. Have to say though, you really need to have cleansed your skin and applied moisturizer and a good primer to get a nice smooth coat! I've found that it just looks a lot more natural and flawless if you take your time to apply it.
However, I would not recommend this product if you had bad acne, or sort of weird combination skin. Even though it claims to be for oily/combination skin, I've found that if I applied it when my skin was breaking out or had small dry patches it would really emphasize them and it just didn't look good! Since my skin has cleared up though, I've found that it does now give a really nice coverage and natural matte look!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 chooky12 on 10/1/2012 1:17:00 AM more reviews by chooky12

Age: 30-35   Skin: Other   Hair: Other   Eyes: Other    

I'm a few days into using this product and so far I'm very impressed.
I'm using 03 Sand Beige.
I love the runny texture of the foundation - makes it easy to apply and blend.
Because of the texture of the liquid it gives you flexibility on what kind of coverage you get. I was wanting something sheer and light to give a very natural look and this fits the bill perfectly.
I have combination skin (not what I would class as oily) but so far I haven't had any problems using this foundation even though it is an oil control product.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Shanplum on 9/3/2012 12:29:00 AM more reviews by Shanplum

Age: 25-29   Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Hazel    

I love the shade of this makeup (02 buff) compared to Colorstay in (02 buff) this formula is slightly paler and less yellow (though I do like yellow undertones in my makeup) and with colorstay buff i was having to purchase Ivory as well and mix the two. I was excited when I found this one day by accident and am on my second bottle. Previously the older formula of New complexion never came in buff in this country and I could never find a shade to suit. I also use Buff in Almay (also a Revlon company) but I have found they have discontinued both of the foundations of theirs that I was using which led me onto colorstay then this. Both formulas have sunscreen, The only downfall is this is an oil control formula (I am better suited to the dry skin formula of colorstay) and this can be a tad drying and enhance lines/pores more than the colorstay did. I will use up what I have left and switch back to the dry skin formula of colorstay buff and mix it with some white goth makeup which I have recently purchased which will make it wearable for me. I would give it a 5 out of 5 if I had oily skin as it is a beautiful makeup gives a nice sheen without sparkles (like photoready yuck) and gives a flawless finish.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 ilovemakeup25 on 7/23/2012 3:03:00 AM more reviews by ilovemakeup25

Age: 19-24   Skin: Oily, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Hazel    

this is my honest opinion and i absolutely hate this product. i saw it in the shops one day and thought id try it but i think its awful. didnt control oil and broke me out. it does glide over the skin nicely but feels like your rubbing oil on your face. it doesnt dry to a matte finish it stays kind of oily. and it doesnt cover. i now just use tinted moisturizers because they provide me with enough coverage and theyre very light. this foundation supposedly offers light to medium coverage. when i put it on it didnt cover anything and makes my skin look worse. if it works for you then great but there are much better foundations out there. photo ready is a great one by revlon but they really made a mistake with this one. oh and packaging is unhygienic and too much always spills out.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 lozzie88 on 7/13/2012 9:35:00 PM more reviews by lozzie88

Age: 19-24   Skin: Very Oily, Fair   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

This is a very runny foundation and doesn't have a pump, which would be handy. The thin formula does give good coverage though, and it's very easy to blend. I found it has very good oil control with my very oily skin and large pores. It has broken me out though. I have used it for 3 days now and all of a sudden have a mass of new pimples. Although I like the staying power of this and it's natural finish, wouldn't repurchase because it broke me out.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 kpixel on 4/20/2012 8:26:00 AM more reviews by kpixel

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

This foundation is above average, but it doesn't beat Colorstay, either at oil control or staying powder.

It is very bendable with a thin, watery texture that is nicely pigmented so does a decent job at covering skin discolouration and acne; because of the texture, it is layerable and medium coverage at best.

For me, the product left a dewy natural finish after application (I use no primer, just Cetaphil moisturising lotion.) I found the 'Buff' shade to be about 1 shade lighter than the Colorstay variety, which is slightly frustrating since the latter is my perfect shade!

Regardless, I will continue to use this as my go-to daytime light foundation for good skin days. My t-zone is prone to oiliness and I find this keeps it at bay for about 4-5 hours max. Decent coverage lasts 7 hours max.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 DrZoidberg on 4/9/2012 10:46:00 PM more reviews by DrZoidberg

Age: 30-35   Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Warm   Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

I have combination skin in the truest sense of the word. I have an oily t-zone, mild rosacea, acne on my chin (which is well controlled with products) and I can get Seborrheic Dermatitis also. Having said all that, a foundation must be fairly evil to cause me an acne breakout, but that is exactly what has happened with this foundation. It is also very disappointing in terms of oil control. I simply cannot believe how much of a failure this foundation is and I can't use it, hence the 1 lippie rating. It could not be more unsuitable for my skin! But in spite of all that, there were a couple of good things.


PROS:
--great shade match. In spite of there being only 5 shades released here in Australia (apparently we are a test market for this), I found a terrific match in Buff. It is a dead ringer for ColorStay Buff which I also own.
--nice smooth application. Glides on beautifully, no doubt due to the number of silicones in this.
--natural finish. Not as masky as ColorStay, but this still offers buildable coverage. Depending on your application, you can go for light or full coverage. I worried this might have a flat, matte finish (being an oil control product) but I was wrong. It's a lovely satin finish.

CONS:
--lack of oil control. Revlon promise "oil absorbing spheres" to "eliminate shine." Well um, sorry Revlon, but they don't work. I was shiny in 3 hours and this was with or without my trusty Fyrinnae primer. Yes, I did set with powder.
--not long wearing. As my skin's natural oils came through, the foundation began to degrade into patches. No way am I going to make it through a full day at work with this on.
--something in this clogs me and causes breakouts. I can't figure out what it is. It could be all the silicones.
--requires very thorough cleansing. Revlon say this is oil free. Well this might be so but it really clings to skin, behaving like an oil-based foundation. I had some on the back of my hand, and it requires more than a little hand soap to remove. So I would recommend oil cleanser for this.
--the darn bottle. Revlon CS fans are familiar with this complaint! Basically Revlon have used a CS bottle with a white lid to package this. No pump.



I cannot really recommend this foundation to anyone with oily, acne-prone skin. Even ColorStay is better than this at oil control. If your skin is somewhat normal and you don't experience acne, you might enjoy this. This retails at AUD$24.95.



Ingredients (this is hand typed, I hope there are no errors):
AQUA (WATER), DIMETHICONE, BUTYLENE GLYCOL, ISODODECANE, PEG/PPG-18/18 DIMETHICONE, BIS-PEG/PPG-14/14 DIMETHICONE, TRISILOXANE, SODIUM CHLORIDE, SODIUM HYALURONATE, HYDROLYZED GLYCOSAMINOGLYCANS, FOMES OFFICINALIS (MUSHROOM) EXTRACT, METHOXY AMODIMETHICONE/SILSESQUIOXANE COPOLYMER, HYDROGENATED LECITHIN, SACCHAROMYCES/SILICONE FERMENT, SACCHAROMYCES/POTASSIUM FERMENT, SACCHAROMYCES/IRON FERMENT, SACCHAROMYCES/COPPER FERMENT, SACCHAROMYCES/ZINC FERMENT, CAMELLIA SINENSIS LEAF (GREEN TEA) EXTRACT, ASPALATHUS LINEARIS LEAF EXTRACT, PALMITOYL HYDROXYPROPYLTRIMONIUM, AMYLOPECTIN/GLYCERIN CROSSPOLYMER, ISODECYL NEOPENTANOATE, SORBITOL, TRIBEHENIN, ALUMINA, METHICONE, TRIETHOXYCAPRYLYLSILANE, SILICA SILYATE, DIMETHICONE/BIS-ISOBUTYL PPG-20 CROSSPOLYMER, ETHYLENEBRASSYLATE, SILICA, PROPYLENE GLYCOL, TETRASODIUM EDTA, PHENOXYETHANOL, CAPRYLYL GLYCOL, 1, 2-HEXANEDIOL.
May Contain: MICA, TITANIUM DIOXIDE (CI 77981), IRON OXIDES (CI 77491, 77492, 77499), ZINC OXIDE (CI 77947) 22397.

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 ilessthan3u on 3/17/2012 1:09:00 AM more reviews by ilessthan3u

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Medium   Hair: Black, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I needed a new foundation that would help my oil-prone skin and came across this product when I was researching foundations suitable for oily skin. I use 06 Medium Beige and I love the natural feel and shade. The foundation feels light on the skin and does not cake up on me. It also doesn't have an annoying orange tone which is great but I find that it fades after 5 hours with primer and my t-zone starts to shine a little bit. It blends beautifully into the skin but I still need some translucent powder to set it. Just need to carry blotting paper and some powder on long days to touch up where I need to. The overall coverage is average - it did not cover my light acne scars very well and when I tried layering the product on certain areas so did not make a difference. It did however cover the redness around my nose. I wear this with some Skin79 BB VIP Gold BB cream underneath areas for more coverage if I need it. I wouldn't recommend this for those with dry skin patches as it enhances them and makes it look worse. I tend to have dryness around my nose in the winter and using this without my Advantan cream applied beforehand accentuates the dryness which frustrates me. Still hunting for the perfect foundation...

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Revlon products

More Liquid products