Joico K-Pak RevitaLuxe

4.4

42 reviews

83% would repurchase

Package Quality: 4.1

Price: $$$

Package Quality: 4.1

Price: $$$

INGREDIENTS

Water, Glycerin, Behentrimonium Chloride, Amodimethicone, Propylene Glycol, Jojoba Seed Oil, Stearamidopropyl Dimethylamine, Peg-8 Distearate, Sorbitol, Sodium Chloride, Glycol Stearate, Ceteth-2, Tetrapeptide-28 Argininamide, Tetrapeptide-29 Argininamide, Pentapeptide-28 Cysteinamide, Pentapeptide-30 Cysteinamide, Keratin Amino Acids, Hydrolyzed Keratin, Cocodimonium Hydroxypropyl Hydrolyzed Keratin, Hydrolyzed Keratin Pg-Propyl Methylsilanediol, Aleurites Moluccana Seed Oil, Oenothera Biennis Oil, Aloe Barbadensis Leaf Juice, Tocopheryl Acetate, Psidium Guajava Fruit Extract, Allantoin, Myristyl Myristate, Glycolipids, Bis-Isobutyl Peg/Ppg-20/35 Amino Dimethicone Copolymer Butyl Methoxydibenzoylmethane, Thioctic Acid, Hyaluronic Acid, Cetyl Ethylhexanoate, Stearyl Alcohol, Sorbic Acid, Cetyl Alcohol, Citric Acid, Polyquaternium-10, Cetrimonium Chloride, Butylene Glycol, Polysorbate 80, Sodium Ascorbyl Phosphate, Trideceth-12, Isopropyl Alcohol, Sodium Hydroxide, Iodopropynyl Butylcarbamate, Diazolidinyl Urea, Alpha-Isomethyl Ionone, Butylphenyl Methylpropional, Geraniol, Limonene, Fragrance, Yellow 5, Red 4.


on 6/22/2015 4:33:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Oily, Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

This was recommended by my hair colorist and I'm not usually one for fancy restorative hair masks, but this is one that has changed my mind!

I usually feel that those OTC 3-minute hair masks from neutrogena and etc, are fine enough for my hair. However, in comparison, this mask does not just restore moisture, but it definitely does restore protein! I color my hair every 3-4 months and I curl it pretty often on super high heat, (which I know isn't the smartest..) so my hair definitely suffers from breakage and weakness, especially at the ends.

After using this product around 1-2x a week (every other time I wash my hair), you see the difference! It's softer, shinier, and my ends aren't of course fully repaired, but they do seem stronger. I've used this product over 6 months now and I will be repurchasing. The scent of the product that some reviews talk about... well, I don't believe that it actually lingers, and it is not strong at all. So don't hesistate if you are in between buying this K-pak versus an OTC one.



on 4/14/2015 12:26:00 AM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Cool

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Hazel

Few years ago I tried the K-Pak Deep Penetrating Reconstructor but I wasnít impressed because it didnít do anything really special with my hair, I had even the impression that it made it stiffer somehow. I came to the conclusion that my hair doesnít like proteins, or at least the big sized proteins that only stick on your hair and make it hard, but only the small sized ones that are able to penetrate the cuticle. I have wavy, medium density hair. I did the porosity test and although my hair didnít sink, Iím sure that I have high porosity hair, because it needs a bit of humidity to frizz like crazy - and this is the big indicator for high porosity, so I think that the test is not reliable at all. I also have lots of grey hair that I dye, mostly with natural colour, and its structure is coarse, dry and kinky. They are pretty much unmanageable. I have learned that the core of grey hair is empty so I thought that I may need a treatment with proteins that can penetrate the cuticula and go to fill the gaps inside to add substance and moisture.

Revitaluxe is a good mix of very small sized proteins and lots of peptides and amino acids which can penetrate the hair shaft very well and also have moisturizing properties. I have also seen what a peptide face cream has done with my eye brows: after only two weeks of use many hair started to re-grow where there were gaps, so that I no longer need a pencil to fill the gaps.

So far Iím quite happy with RevitaLuxe. The scent is very strong and it linger for a while during the day. I donít like it much but I can bear it. The consistency is very thick, it doesn't have much slip, it doesnít detangle well so sometime I follow up with a basic but good detangling moisturizing conditioner. After towel drying my hair I didn't notice any difference but once they were completely dry I could see and feel the difference.
It doesnít make my hair overly soft but undeniably stronger and very smooth even without blow drying or straightening. My feeling was that my hair was heavier, maybe weight down a bit but a short look in the mirror showed me that I had healthy volume and a nice bounce, exactly like my ďvirgin hairĒ would Ė as far as I can remember.

The price for 150 ml is high compared to drugstore products but it is still in the range of other professional brands. BTW the newly reformulated Conditioner of the K-PAK line, the REVITALISANT conditioner (see my review), is the same but lighter version for a lower price and more product, it could be an alternative if your hair is not in really bad conditions or for daily usage.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 3/9/2015 8:53:00 PM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Sensitive, Tan, Warm

Hair: Brown, Curly, Fine

Eyes: Brown

Ok, after reading some reviews I just had to comment. First of all let me say that this is a great product and it does exactly what it is designed to do. However, lack of knowledge about it may cause trouble for some. Please take into consideration that this is A PROTEIN TREATMENT. What does that mean? It means that if your hair needs protein, this product will give you amazing results. If your hair does not need protein, this product, or any other protein treatment for that matter, will cause it to break and fall off. The beauty about this product is that is both a protein treatment and a moisturizing treatment in one. It is designed so that you don't have to do the dreaded two step process, of doing the protein treatment and then the deep conditioning treatment. That being said, if you don't need protein, don't use it for moisturizing, because ironically, too much protein will have the same effect on hair, as too little protein, which is hair breakage. Now, protein does build up on hair. That means that you can not use this treatment as a regular conditioner, meaning, you can not use this all the time. If your hair is damaged, you can start y using this once a week for 4 weeks, and then, once a month after that, if you heat style or chemically process your hair, so you can maintain the health of if.

If you, as the reviewer below me, use this constantly for a year, as a regular conditioner, your hair will start falling out as well. I'm surprised it took it that long. It should have been breaking a lot sooner. It is not the product's fault, but the misuse of the product. Instead, alternate the use of this product with a regular, no protein conditioner (Alter ego has amazing conditioners) and use this only as needed. Again, if your hair is chemically treated or heat styled often, Once a month should do it. The product is great and it delivers amazing results. Joico is a great product and makes the best protein treatments out there. The have the right molecular weight to penetrate the hair, which is very important, and it is a favorite among professional stylists. I have searched the internet and can not find any lawsuit information on this product. If there is, I at least, could not find it. So give this a try if you have damaged hair, or hair that is in need of protein for any reason. Just make sure you use it right.

By the way, I've been using it for two years and never had a problem. When I first started, my hair was in bad need of protein. So I used it once a week. Now only once a month. So figure out what works for you.

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.


Age: 25-29

Skin: Other, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Other, Other, Other

Eyes: Other

I have been using this product for over a year now and I loved it at first. It does make the hair smoother and softer. Then I started noticing my hair was thinning. Then it started to come out in handfuls in the shower. Then I noticed the rug where I blow dry was becoming covered in hair, not to mention the rug outside the shower where I towel dry my hair. And I started to feel my hair breaking when I comb it. After reading other reviews that sounded EXACTLY like my situation, I am convinced RevitaLuxe is the culprit. According to the Internet, there is a class action lawsuit going on regarding it. DO NOT USE THIS PRODUCT! Your hair will fall out. I'm not kidding. Search google: this company is being sued for completely ruining people's hair.


on 9/21/2014 8:55:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Dry, Fair, Cool

Hair: Brown, Curly, Coarse

Eyes: Brown

I'm in the minority here, but I did not like this conditioner at all. I have very dry, coarse hair and it became more brittle feeling when I used this conditioner. I don't typically use keratin products, so that may be the issue here. If you like keratin this may be a good product for you to try!


on 9/21/2014 12:25:00 PM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Brown

My thin hair looks fantastic after Joico Revtalux. I am very happy! Two months ago I ordered Alterna products, but can not be compared with Joico. Today is the second time I put RevitaLux, and my hair was reborn. It looks very healthy and I really commend Revitalux Joico. 😀


on 9/13/2014 10:23:00 AM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Green

Joico K-Pak is originally a protein treatment. There are several products in the line. After the K-Pak shampoo you can use the Deep Penetrating Reconstructor, which is really heavy on protein, followed by the Intense Hydrator, which gives a lot of moisture to your hair (but also contains a dash of protein). The Revitalux mask is supposed to work as both a protein treatment and a moisturizer, so you can use it in itself after the shampoo, without any additional products.
It depends on your hair type and condition which K-Pak product works the best for you, but I highly recommend trying them.
My hair likes light protein treatments, but needs some protein quite frequently, and responds well if the protein amount is not too much. The Intense Hydrator (with the least amount of protein) is the product, which is the most suitable for me, but every now and then I like to use the Revitalux mask as well. It gives more strength and less moisture than the Intense Hydrator, but my hair is happy with it 2-3 times a month. I don't use them with the K-Pak shampoo, but the Moisture Recovery.
You need to test for yourself which combination you like the best. The other protein product I found to be really beneficial is the Redken Extreme line, which either is a light protein treatment or contains a lot of moisturizing agents if my logic is right.
Revitalux is a really high quality mask, which gives you excellent results if it matches your hair type. It makes your hair strong and silky at the same time.

7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.


on 6/18/2014 8:20:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

While this isn't expensive for me (I am a stylist and get a discount) I understand it is expensive but even if I paid full price I would think it was still worth every single penny. As a life long blonde (natural when I was young, now? Not so much) I have tried pretty much every treatment out there but I always come crawling back to kpak.... Just instant gratification. Amazing results, and easy to use!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 6/14/2014 11:03:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Normal, Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown






on 5/3/2014 11:48:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Oily, Olive, Warm

Hair: Other, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Grey

This is a really good hair product overall. It has a light pleasant scent and works effectively. I already have naturally dry hair and my hair's natural dryness only gets worse when I color every 6-8 weeks and use heat tools almost every day. This product claims after just one use to repair years of damage, make hair 2X stronger and more resistant to breakage and damage, and protect color fade up to 94%. I'm not necessarily sure I would totally stand by these instant repair claims because I've noticed a gradual change in my hair the more I have used this, but the Revitaluxe does make hair softer and more manageable, reduces split ends, and my hair feels healthier. As for the color protecting properties, I can't really make a clear judgement because pretty much all of my hair products are safe for color treated hair, so I don't notice a difference when using the Revitaluxe. I was unsure at first if my fine hair would be weighed down by such a rich formula, but this product is excellent at providing repair without being too heavy. I use this 2-3 times per month, and it is one of the better hair repair treatments I have used. I would recommend this to others.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


Video Reviews & Tutorials

My Favorite Deep Hair Conditioner!!~Joico K-Pak revitaluxe hair mask by Lextaylor7

Joico K-Pak Revitaluxe Review by starlitmakeupchick



Back to Top