L'Oreal Mythic Oil

4.1

52 reviews

65% would repurchase

Package Quality: 4.4

Price: $$$

Package Quality: 4.4

Price: $$$

INGREDIENTS

CYCLOPENTASILOXANE, DIMETHICONOL, C12-15 ALKYL BENZOATE, PERSEA GRATISSIMA OIL (AVOCADO OIL), VITIS VINIFERA SEED OIL (GRAPESEED OIL), LIMONENE, HEXYL CINNAMAL, COURMARIN, LINALOOL, BUTYLPHENIL METHYLPROPIONAL, BENZYL ALCOHOL, HYDROXYCITRONELLAL, AMYL CINNAMAL, GERANIOL, ALPHA-ISOMETHYL IONONE, ISOEUGENOL, BENZYL BENZOATE, CINAMMYL ALCOHOL, CITRONELLOL, PARFUM/FRAGRANCE


on 8/31/2015 3:24:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral

Hair: Black, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Green

My hair - fine (but lots of it!), coloured (natural dark blonde, dyed nearly black), and wavy, with a tendancy to go flat on top with a frizz halo (my nickname in highschool was "christmas tree hair"). I have a few long layers but anything other than that and my hair looks stringy. Anyways, I've tried so many different shampoos/conditioners and never really found anything I was happy with. I have access to a Cosmoprof so I mix between drugstore and salon brands. My most recent failure was Redken Frizz Dismiss line paired with Bumble and Bumble Hairdresser's Invisible Oil.

A few weeks ago, I had an Olaplex treatment done, and the stylist used Pureology Volume shampoo and conditioner, followed by L'Oreal Mythic Oil. I let my hair air dry while driving home and OMG the waves...the softness...amazing. I bought all 3 products last week and I'm really happy with them - a coworker commented that my hair looks fuller, so something must be working! I paid $22 CAD for a bottle at Cosmoprof (stylist price), but I would definitely pay retail.



on 8/19/2015 8:30:00 PM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Coarse

Eyes: Green

When I first used Mythic Oil, I loved how soft and detangled it made my wet hair. It smells good like gardenias too!

Alas! :( When my hair is dried and flat ironed, it leaves my hair in no better manageable condition than before. If anything, my ends feel crunchier and my hair dryer and much coarser than before. I mean, I have some serious breakage after switching to this oil for just two weeks.

I previously used Bumble and Bumble Hairdresser's Invisible Oil mixed with a dab of Garnier Fructis' Moroccan Oil. The Invisible Oil alone isn't siliconey enough to tame my crazy hair. The two products seem to be a magic combination for my super thick and frizzy hair. I was hoping to find one product that achieves the same results.

The search continues! :/

**edit...I meant Mythic Oil


on 8/14/2015 11:10:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Oily, Medium, Cool

Hair: Brunette, Curly, Medium

Eyes: Brown

I ended up buying this from SleekHair since I couldn't find it at my local beauty supply. It smells very good to my nose and softens without making my hair lose any volume. It tames flyaways and adds great shine. I only need two pumps for my medium textured hair which is bra strap length now. My hair doesn't feel greasy at all. It is pricey but worth it. I hope to try the matching shampoo and conditioner soon to see how well they work on my hair; just a bit hard for me to find locally.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 5/28/2015 4:45:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool

Hair: Blond, Wavy, Coarse

Eyes: Blue

Amazing product! I have medium length, wavy hair that is hard to control. My ends tend to split and die soon after trimming. that's why I always use product for damaged/dry hair and this oil really improved my hair condition! 2 pumps are enough for me, so I'll probably use one bottle forever (which makes up for the price). Overall it just gives a very natural healthy look (and shine) to my hair. The key is to find a correct amount of product you need to use. If you add too much it makes hair oily and flat (because of course it's an oil). Also this product smells amazing, which is always a big plus for me. Recommend it!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 4/16/2015 7:36:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Oily, Fair, Neutral

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

HG leave in oil. It's a perfect product. I'm serious. This oil leaves my hair insanely soft and sleek. I cannot stop touching it! Plus I put quite a bit in and it never makes my hair greasy, which is a problem I have quite a bit with hair oils. The smell makes me die of happiness...reminds me a bit of biolage. I cannot stop raving about this. I will absolutely buy it again, probably will have to stock up even before it's gone so I don't run out!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 3/18/2015 11:46:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Cool

Hair: Brown, Relaxed, Medium

Eyes: Blue

This product is amazing. My hair has never been so soft, I can't believe the difference in the feel before and after application of it. I would recommend this to anyone.


on 1/29/2015 7:30:00 AM

Age: 56 & Over

Skin: Normal, Fair, Neutral

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Coarse

Eyes: Brown

I agree with the other posters - this oil is wonderful. I have very thick wavy to curly hair. I've tried a lot of oils and I can tell the difference when I use Mythic Oil. It truly helps tame my unruly waves - they look smoother and my hair finally looks shiny instead of dry.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


Age: 36-43

Skin: Dry, Olive, Warm

Hair: Brown, Curly, Coarse

Eyes: Brown

I'll just add myself to the list of people who love this product! I love the smell (for some reason it kind of reminds me of Bain de Soleil sun products...in a good way), but it's not too strong or overpowering. I apply a small amount to my hair when it's damp and wow - it really does make my hair soft, and my ends look amazing. I actually like combining it with the conditioner (not the mask) as a leave-in oil/conditioner combo. I have thick curly/coils, so wouldn't recommend trying that for all hair types! But in winter, when I'm paranoid about breakage and dryness, it works really well. It's just a lovely, luxurious product. I agree the price could be better, but I find a little goes a long way and the results are excellent.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


on 11/24/2014 4:33:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

This product is absolutely amazing. Ive been using it for couple of weeks and I cant be more satisfied. It makes your hair look healthy and shiny. I think that this is really worth the money and the bottle (125ml) can last for couple of months.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 7/22/2014 10:10:00 PM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Acne-prone, Tan, Warm

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Hazel

Just so that you understand my point of view on this product I have:

Color: Dark brown (naturally darker on top and gets lighter)
Length: almost at my waist
Texture: very thin, but I have A LOT of hair
Type: normal on top, but gets dry at the bottom
Others: I don't use heat on it very much since my hair is very straight and easy to style.

This hair oil from L'Oréal, is amazing! I got a sample after buying a shampoo and it was great. The sample has 1.5 fl.oz (45ml), which I consider a generous amount to get for free. It has the same pump most oils have, like the Garnier Fructis Marvelous Oils. A tiny bit goes a long way for me.

I pump one pump on my palms, rub my palms together and apply it at my very end, really just the tip. Since I have really long hair, it wasn't very healthy at the end and I didn't use very much product on it. After using it only a few times it made a big difference. My ends weren't as split as before and were beginning to be almost as healthy as the top of my head. I use it before blow drying my hair and on my dry hair in the mornings.

I used it everyday for three weeks and it barely made a difference in the bottle. I still have a lot of product left. Make sure not to use it on the top of your head since it isn't necessary and because it isn't a light weight oil. If you do, you're hair will most likely look greasy and it will weight down.

As I mentioned in another review this is why I don't use oil on the top of my head and why the ends are so dry, even without the use of heat: Many people wonder why their ends are dry and less healthy than the top of their head. The answer to that is that the hair gets it's nutriment and all the good stuff from the blood. When you have longer hair, all those oils and nutriment don't get to the end of your hair. That is why we do not need to put oils on the top of our head and why are ends are usually less healthy than the top.


As always, message me if you have any beauty related questions, especially makeup and hair questions.



6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.


Popular Styling Products


Mythic Oil
Mythic Oil
52 Reviews
Potion 9
Potion 9
440 Reviews
Back to Top