L'Oreal • Mythic Oil • Styling Products

rated 4.0(43 reviews)

Average Rating.4.0
Would buy this product again.60%
Ingredients


rated 4 of 5 sarahlecuyer on 7/22/2014 10:10:00 PM more reviews by sarahlecuyer

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Acne-prone, Tan, Warm   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Hazel    

Just so that you understand my point of view on this product I have:

Color: Dark brown (naturally darker on top and gets lighter)
Length: almost at my waist
Texture: very thin, but I have A LOT of hair
Type: normal on top, but gets dry at the bottom
Others: I don't use heat on it very much since my hair is very straight and easy to style.

This hair oil from L'Oréal, is amazing! I got a sample after buying a shampoo and it was great. The sample has 1.5 fl.oz (45ml), which I consider a generous amount to get for free. It has the same pump most oils have, like the Garnier Fructis Marvelous Oils. A tiny bit goes a long way for me.

I pump one pump on my palms, rub my palms together and apply it at my very end, really just the tip. Since I have really long hair, it wasn't very healthy at the end and I didn't use very much product on it. After using it only a few times it made a big difference. My ends weren't as split as before and were beginning to be almost as healthy as the top of my head. I use it before blow drying my hair and on my dry hair in the mornings.

I used it everyday for three weeks and it barely made a difference in the bottle. I still have a lot of product left. Make sure not to use it on the top of your head since it isn't necessary and because it isn't a light weight oil. If you do, you're hair will most likely look greasy and it will weight down.

As I mentioned in another review this is why I don't use oil on the top of my head and why the ends are so dry, even without the use of heat: Many people wonder why their ends are dry and less healthy than the top of their head. The answer to that is that the hair gets it's nutriment and all the good stuff from the blood. When you have longer hair, all those oils and nutriment don't get to the end of your hair. That is why we do not need to put oils on the top of our head and why are ends are usually less healthy than the top.


As always, message me if you have any beauty related questions, especially makeup and hair questions.



1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 TickTockAlice on 4/23/2014 5:42:00 PM more reviews by TickTockAlice

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Cool   Hair: Red, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Green    

This stuff is absolutely incredible. I bought the Colour Glow version since I dye my hair every few months and the dryness/split ends I've been battling haven't seen much improvement with other products until this....this glorious miracle worker.

I bought this on Amazon for about $24. Yes, totally expensive, but totally worth it IMO. Granted, I took a chance based in the positive reviews I've read on so many blogs, and I'm glad I did since, for me, it lives up to the hype.

The bottle is just over 4 oz. Considering how little you need the bottle should last quite awhile, further justifying the cost.

I like the fact the bottle is clear so you can actually see the oil. The bottle is a gold color with a really nice capped pump. I wish the pump locked off and on in case the cap goes missing and I want to take it with me somewhere.

Based on other reviews, I used 2 pumps for my medium length A-line that hits my shoulders in the back and hits an inch below my collar bone in the front. The oil looks clear when you pump it into your hand. The consistency isn't as thick as, say, Agadir. It's a little thinner but not so much that it's super runny or anything. It actually is a really nice consistency and applies very easily without leaving your hands tacky or greasy.

It smells amazing....like roses mixed with jasmine or lavender. I'm usually not a fan of florals, but this doesn't smell overwhelmingly or sickeningly floral. It's just a really nice scent that makes your hair smell fantastic. My boyfriend even said I smelled really good when he got a whiff hours after my hair was dried and styled. He doesn't like florals either, so that was definitely a pro.

I applied the two pumps into the palm of my hand, rubbed together to emulsify and started applying to the lengths of damp, just washed and conditioned hair, steering clear of my roots. Two pumps seemed like such a small amount, but I resisted the urge to use more. My hair felt less tangly, a little softer with more sheen but didn't feel weighed down or oily. I let my hair air dry for about 20 mins so it's not soaking wet when I blow dry. As soon as I started blow drying I could see a huge difference in the smoothness, the shine, and softness of my hair. It made my hair ridiculously soft and shiny, but incredibly light with body. My ends felt completely nourished and smooth. I haven't been able to stop running my fingers through my hair lol.

Even after sleeping, my hair is still shiny, smooth, and smells fresh. I've noticed that a lot of other oils I've tried tend to make my hair kinda stringy or lank after sleeping and my ends don't retain any smoothness...they go back to feeling kinky and dry while the length feels a bit heavy.

I highly recommend trying Mythic Oil out. Again, the one I bought was the Colour Glow, so I don't know about the two other versions but I think the Colour Glow is an amazing product and worth every cent I paid.

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Hollyberry8909 on 3/4/2014 4:03:00 AM more reviews by Hollyberry8909

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Red   Eyes: Green    

absolutely love this! makes my hair super soft!! and i mean super soft! put it in towel dry hair, blow dry.. amazing results. will def buy again. and lasts forever.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* elusivelotus on 2/24/2014 6:25:00 AM more reviews by elusivelotus

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

I have the Rich version of this. I love it! I normally use Paul Mitchell Skinny serum but it's so expensive where I am. I use this when I use my curling iron as a heat protectant and it gives a beautiful shine to my hair. It smells great as well. I like the plastic pump bottle and the secure cap - perfect for travelling. I bought this for SGD20 which is affordable IMO.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* lollsazz on 2/15/2014 2:29:00 PM more reviews by lollsazz

Age: 19-24   Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

There are two versions of this one: I have the newest one, which I believe is richer than the original

I like this :) It has a flowery smell - it smells a little like lilac and jasmine to me - flower bushes. At first, I didn't like this oil much - it made my hair heavier, coarse and oily. That was because I used it on dry hair. When this is used on dry hair, it doesn't absorb well, but if you put it in moist/damp/towel-dry hair, the result is much better. My hair is straight, medium thickness, a little damaged (coloured many, many times, but it's doing well, with no split ends), about waist-length. This oil doesn't weigh my hair down - it actually makes it bouncy! My hair becomes more manageable, softer and slightly more shiny :) I use about 2 pumps each time and use, it from neck and down, focusing on the ends.

Hair oils I have tried that are equally good or better are: Agadir Hair Oil (many might not like the smell - it's kinda insence-y) and Define Oil Treatment. One more that I have tried is the Aquage Silkening Hair Oil - a lot of people love it, but it didn't do anything for me besides making my hair more static.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 mininana on 1/26/2014 5:55:00 PM more reviews by mininana

Age: 30-35   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

I love this oil! The only reason why I won't purchase again is that I feel coconut oil is BETTER. Yes extra virgin coconut oil.

I use two/three pumps of this mythic oil to my damp hair and finish off with coconut oil. I do like how soft my hair feels after this, but I don't feel the hair is getting nourishes INSIDE OUT, unlike with coconut oil.

Anyway, I do like it but I do not plan to purchasing again because of the price. I'd much rather get more jars of coconut oil!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 laursawy on 1/18/2014 10:15:00 AM more reviews by laursawy

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool   Hair: Black, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Hazel    

This oil is literally mythic. I love this stuff. I got it at Christmas in a set with L'Oreal vitamino conditioner and shampoo. I never saw the use in hair oils. I have really dry ends and oily roots, and had tried the garnier dry oil previously to help the ends of my hair. It weighed it down and made it really heavy and greasy. So I kinda felt burned by the hair oil industry and kinda stayed away. Until I got this oil at Christmas. The packaging immediately caught my eye (I looooove gold). The pump is incredible, really easy to dispense how much I need. And the smell! Jesus the smell, like roses and other pretty flowers. Everyone always comments on how pretty my hair smells when I have this in. What it does to my hair is even more awesome! I like to put this in my damp hair, just at the ends! (I'm terrified to put it on my roots, oil paranoia). And as I style my hair I get light, bouncy, shiny soft waves! Or stick straight soft hair. The avocado and grapeseed oil in this soften and add shine without weight. Love this stuff. Dunno if I would buy again, cus I got it as a gift and I'm not really a big spender :-x. But I will use it til the last drop is gone

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Nosage on 11/2/2013 4:37:00 PM more reviews by Nosage

Age: 44-55   Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

Not wowed by this, but then I have tried the Keratese Elixir and Shu Umeura Oil as well with the same results. I just don't like the feel of them on my hair. It leaves my hair a bit lank and not particularly well conditioned. I think the main problem is that I have natural blonde hair and these oils make my hair look dull and darker. Give me a lightweight mask any day.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 FelisCatus on 8/20/2013 5:03:00 PM more reviews by FelisCatus

Age: 19-24   Skin: Oily, Olive   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Black    

It nourishes the hair but it doesn't make it look good.It makes the hair too shiny so on a daylight it looks greasy.I use it as an overnight treatment and after washing in the morning hair it's soft and curls look a bit more defined.Not the best oil on the market,I wouldn't buy it again.

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* laureg on 8/12/2013 2:18:00 PM more reviews by laureg

Age: Unknown   Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

I liked this product. It has a great smell, and makes my hair soft and shiny. I have to say, though, after trying many different hair oils, I keep going back to the Kerastase Elixir Ultime as the gold standard. The Mythic Oil is comparable in price to the Kerastase (and they're both made by the same parent company L'Oreal), but seems to be a tad more (dare I say) silicone-y? On my hair, the Kerastase is more hydrating and gives my hair more shine. All in all, the Mythic Oil's a decent product, but if you're spending the money anyways- I'd recommend the Kerastase instead.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More L'Oreal products

More Styling Products products