L.A. Colors • JUMBO EYE PENCIL • Eyes

rated 4.1(28 reviews)

Average Rating.4.1
Would buy this product again.78%
Ingredients


rated 4 of 5 blair_77_1999 on 10/18/2014 8:45:00 PM more reviews by blair_77_1999

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Medium Brown, Warm   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Green    

I have both this & NYX Milk. LAC is on par with NYX so no need to spend the extra $3-$4. If you find the pencil too soft place in the freezer for a short period or the fridge.Works like a charm to harden.They sale them at Dollar General & Family Dollar.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 angelajj74 on 8/12/2014 12:36:00 AM more reviews by angelajj74

Age: 36-43   Skin: Normal, Medium   Hair: Black, Curly, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

These pencils are amazing! Nice pigment and smooth as silk. I wore pool party the other day over my entire lid (like a shadow) and I never had a hint in creasing.The color stayed put all day until night when I took it off with makeup remover! Bought these at Dollar General for 1.50 each. My only gripe is they keep running out of the colors that I want to add to my collection! :)

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 akPhilly on 8/4/2014 2:07:00 PM more reviews by akPhilly

Age: 30-35   Skin: Dry, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

I have several of these, they come in a ton of pretty colors, & I have Sea Shells (white), Cherry Blossom (metallic light neutral pink), Waves (metallic greyish blue), Tropical Bliss (metallic deep purple), & Bikini Time (duochrome metallic medium purple with blue shift). They're a great dupe for the NYX Jumbo pencils, however there are some differences. The one downside for me is that they have a scent to them, which I really don't understand why they would. I'm not a fan of smells, but since I usually use them on my eye area I'm not going to smell it so it doesn't really bother me. It's just that every once in awhile, I've actually used jumbo pencils on my lips-they can be used to change the hue of a lipcolor by making it more pastel or darker, or you can combine them with pigments or eyeshadows to make your own color. So unfortunately I can't really use them for that purpose. They have a softer, creamier texture than the jumbo pencils do, so that may be a good or bad thing depending on what your needs & wants are. I personally have never used these as actual eyeliners, so I can't really say how they work in that regard, I use them as eyeshadow bases most of the time, but I also use them by themselves. I don't think they would have very good staying power used on their own on bare skin, & I think they would definitely crease, but then so do the NYX jumbo pencils when used w/out any primers or by themselves. But I use a really great eye primer underneath, so they stay on & won't crease either by themselves or used as bases. I pay $2 each for them at a local Beauty Supply, & that seems to be about average, so they're definitely a cheaper alternative to the NYX ones. I'm going to assume that Sea Shells is probably the one most would likely to wonder about the most, as it's a non-metallic white like NYX's Milk is. And compared to Milk, I would say that Sea Shells is even a little more pigmented than Milk is.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 sage4dylan on 8/2/2014 1:57:00 PM more reviews by sage4dylan

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I bought this in the color pool party which is like a teal color. I am shocked at how pretty it was lined on my eye. It is very pigmented. Upper and lower lash. I applied a tiny bit of powder in the same color range over the top line and it didnt transfer to my lid. Amazed. I bought this yesterday and bought wet n wild one in a purple color today. this one needs no help where the other one will have to be worn with another liner to show up properly. I paid 1.50$ for it. I will be getting all the colors i can find next time. Well worth the money.

Edit: ok, so after using these twice all day at work, I have to change my review. When lined on the bottom lid, I had it smudged all under within 2 hours. It looked awful. The top line really did ok both times so maybe I just wont line the bottom anymore with it. I wont buy anymore but will try to use these up, they are very pretty colors.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* hayleyelwick on 7/16/2014 10:41:00 PM more reviews by hayleyelwick

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Warm   Hair: Blond, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Green    

I'm seriously shocked at how much L.A. Colors has been stepping it up lately. They could be the next Wet 'n' Wild!!!

I have one shade- Seashells. And ladies and gentlemen, this is really the only shade you could ever need. I saw this shade and my mind just went directly to N.Y.X's Milk. Now Milk is definitely not expensive, but literally everyone and their mother is out to buy that shade because of its crazy cult following. So this is an even more inexpensive alternative if you can't find that dumb pencil.

I was excited to find this, and it was so cheap I wouldn't have cared if it wasn't that great, but I was really hoping I'd fall in love with it. Let's just say I was NOT disappointed. This is SO opaque. I mean this looks like you painted your eyes with whiteout, it's that bold of a white.

Works great as a base for eyeshadow, but I strongly suggest using a primer, and maybe even a translucent powder before putting on eyeshadow over it. This may be too many steps for some people, but it is definitely not a deal breaker for me. I use so many different shadows, brushes, and techniques when applying my eye makeup, it's really no big deal to add this extra little step, especially since it really makes all the difference. Sometimes without the translucent powder it can start to crease after a few hours. Like I said, if adding another layer seems too tedious for you, go for another white base, but it isn't a big deal for me. Especially since this shadow stick is so inexpensive and pigmented!

I would recommend this to everyone! I hope this is just the beginning of L.A. Colors venturing out and becoming a bigger, better brand. If the rest of their products to come are this good, I see bright things in their future!!!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* valmont32677 on 3/11/2014 7:04:00 PM more reviews by valmont32677

Age: 36-43   Skin: Very Oily, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Brown, Curly, Fine   Eyes: Grey    

I have seashell in my constant rotation. I like to sharpen pencils like these (also NYX JEPs) w a bigger oversized Rimmel pencil sharpener. It wastes less product. That's how I sharpen my Nars matte lip crayons, just any pencil of that size works better in the bigger sharpener than the sharpeners that have the standard & slightly-bigger-than-standard-pencil hole. Seashell is a basic matte white dupe for NYX JEP Milk; it does tend to melt after a few hours on my extremely oily lids. Cannot beat the price! I picked up a couple other colors (names are escaping me at the moment but Pool Party which is a turquoise is one, but I haven't seriously played w them much!). As somebody whom is a serious white eye shadow collector, this is most def something worth buying. LA Colors is stepping up their game. Their eyeliner pencils are pretty good, their blushes/bronzer, nailpolish, lipstick, & ESP these JEPs are all great esp for the price. I've been budgeting myself more so I am glad that more brands are making affordable ("cheaper") makeup choices so all can afford to get some plus this is a cruelty free company. Yaay!! :)

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* katautumn on 3/3/2014 11:29:00 PM more reviews by katautumn

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

Holy cow, I found these at my new Family Dollar for $1.83 each! Every so often you come across a dud that's been opened and broken, but when intact these are amazing. Compare the price to the NYX jumbo eye pencils which retail for $5 at my local CVS. Both are the exact same size, although I feel like the L.A. Colors pencil feels a bit heftier. I have the black shade which is called "Sunglasses" and use it on my lower waterline. I find that it doesn't really have a ton of staying power (but I have allergies, so I'm prone to really wet eyeballs), but neither does my NYX pencil in "Milk". I found that this goes on very smooth, very creamy. It doesn't make my eyes burn. I can build it up if the first pass isn't quite intense enough (here again, juicy eyeballs make it difficult). It lasts on my waterline for a couple of hours before fading, but it's a nice intense black.

I say if you've never used one, give it a try, especially get "Sea Shells" if you're having trouble getting your hands on NYX "Milk". They're cheap, so if you hate it, you aren't out much money.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 EmBD on 2/7/2014 5:27:00 AM more reviews by EmBD

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Cool   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Coarse   Eyes: Blue    

I purchased this in seashells( white ) instead of the NYX jumbo pencils and was not disappointed!

PROS-
Creamy, Smooth
Opaque
Easy to apply (twist to sharpen)
Good highlighter/eye shadow base to make colours pop

CONS-
Packaging is cheap looking
Moves around easily because so creamy
Doesn't last all day but fairly well.

I would recommend as an alternative to NYX jumbo pencils if you are trying to save moola :)

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 LokaLopez13 on 1/2/2014 11:34:00 PM more reviews by LokaLopez13

Age: 19-24   Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

I have only Tryed the white on and I am impressed! Love the way it applys easily very well pigmented and cheap I yet need to try the other colors and it last all day long!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 Ryluv on 10/22/2013 2:52:00 PM more reviews by Ryluv

Age: 30-35   Skin: Oily, Medium, Neutral   Hair: Other   Eyes: Hazel    

I seriously don't see how anyone uses these as pencils. I have 3 of them, and on every single one, the tip will break with even the slightest pressure! I thought maybe I was just using too much pressure, but I have tried over and over again, and no matter what, they are so creamy that they break. I have NYX pencils and they do NOT do this! So it will be worth the little extra for me to get the NYX from now on. I did depot one of them, but that's so tedious to me, and I would really just prefer to use them as pencils.

I still rated it 2 stars because the price is amazing, and I love the 2 colors I got. I got 2 in the Sea Shells and one in a blue color. I don't see the name of the blue on my pencil, maybe I sharpened it off-but I think it may be Pool Party. It's a beautiful blue with glitter. It is perfect for my eyebrows for my Jem costume for Halloween. But unfortunately, I probably won't be purchasing these again.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More L.A. Colors products

More Eyes products