Boscia Revitalizing Black Hydration Gel

3.9

33 reviews

57% would repurchase

Package Quality: 3.5

Price: $$$

Package Quality: 3.5

Price: $$$

INGREDIENTS

Water/Aqua/Eau, Glycerin, Dimethicone, Butylene Glycol, Glycereth-26,Isononyl Isononanoate, Lactobacillus/Punica Granatum Fruit Ferment Extract, Ascorbyl Glucoside, Glycolic Acid, Menthyl Lactate, Cyclopentasiloxane, Dimethiconol, PEG-10 Dimethicone, Sodium Hyaluronate, Epilobium Angustifolium Flower/Leaf/Stem Extract, Glycyrrhiza Glabra (Licorice) Root Extract, Cynara Scolymus (Artichoke) Leaf Extract, Simmondsia Chinensis (Jojoba) Leaf Extract, Citrus Paradisi Seed Extract, Dipotassium Glycyrrhizate, Tocopheryl Acetate, Caprylyl Glycol, Ammonium Acryloyldimethyltaurate/VP Copolymer, Carbomer, Sodium Polyacrylate, Xanthan Gum, Mica, Titanium Dioxide, Silica, Ceteth-25, Oleth-10, Charcoal Powder, Pelargonium Graveolens Flower Oil, 1,2-Hexanediol, Tropolone, Potassium Hydroxide.


on 5/22/2015 11:35:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Acne-prone, Medium Brown, Warm

Hair: Black, Kinky, Coarse

Eyes: Brown

This moisturizer is more of a treatment in my opinion, and not necessarily a hydrator but does provide some light moisture. It calms my skin down resulting in less acne and it helps to brighten my acne scars. It's not an overnight miracle but it helps a lot. Finding a moisturizer is one of the biggest hurdles for acne-prone skin and I'm happy to say I finally found my moisturizer.



on 4/18/2015 8:40:00 AM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Dry, Medium, Warm

Hair: Black, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Brown

As far as I know, this is probably geared towards oily, acne prone skin types. This is terrible if you have dry skin or if you live in cold weather climates. It does have a herbal type of smell which I don't mind. Also, the packaging sucks so much. Overpriced as well. How can a person get the entire product if we can't even scoop it out. Fail on you boscia.


on 3/15/2015 4:43:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Warm

Hair: Brunette, Curly, Fine

Eyes: Brown

I'm always on the look out for a new moisturizer so I thought I'd try it out since I like other boscia products. Well, I don't like this at all. To me there is little to no hydration at all and I feel like my face gets drier when I use this. It has a black/grey color but it doesn't show up on the skin (thank goodness). It says that it has a cooling sensation but I rarely feel it and if I do feel it, it is so minor that I have to pay attention to notice it.
I can't tell if it has caused any breakouts since I can't stand to use this more than every once in a while. I personally have no idea who this would be ideal for because I have acne prone skin that can be dry or oily and I didn't like it at all. Don't spend the money on it right away. If you really want to try it either get a sample or make sure the store you buy it at will let you return products that don't work.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I really wasn't too happy with this moisturizer, I have acne prone skin that's usually dry but recently I've become so oily my makeup slides off! I've been having this for months now and recently decided I want to try boscia as my caudalie products ran out, so I started using the tsubaki gel oil and the Konjac sponge and I like the sponge but the gel cleanser sucks! Anyway the black gel moisturizer has active charcoal in it which gives the grayish cast and it also contains glycolic acid which I love to death. For some reason this moisturizer felt bad it has a cooling sensation which is fine but all of a sudden it stung really bad around my mouth area especially and my cheeks felt like they were on fire I used it maybe twice and gave up on it. I ended up giving this away it was rediculous because this is for sensitive skin and not all sensitive but this hurt.


on 9/26/2014 3:55:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Very Dry, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

I would have given this a solid 4/5 for the following reasons:
- Nice consistency, feels cool on my skin, and dries quickly
- Goes underneath my sunscreen very well
- I really didn't notice a grey tint to my face, but I have super-pale skin and maybe it only improved the paleness
- Didn't cause any breakouts and worked well to combat the drying quality of my sunscreen

BUT, I swear I used this for less than two months, MAYBE three times a week and not even using a full pump's worth, and it stopped coming out of the pump. I literally had to throw it onto my floor to break it apart, and even then, I could only get to the center where some of the product was trapped. It's the dumbest packaging I've ever encountered, and that's saying a lot, and if it weren't a safety hazard, I would take a hammer to this to get the rest out. And no, I can't twist it off, and I've had multiple people try.

For such little product and the worst packaging ever, it's not worth the money.

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.


on 5/11/2014 1:08:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Acne-prone, Olive, Warm

Hair: Brown, Straight, Coarse

Eyes: Brown

I'm not a fan of this product. In theory, it seems great because of the glycolic acid and the charcoal, which are both great ingredients for acne-prone or oily skin. However, the actual product is kind of lame. It has the consistency of aloe vera gel and dries like that, too, with a slight film over the face. The only difference between this and aloe vera gel is that the aloe vera gel doesn't ball up or get nasty black-grey mush under your fingernails if you scratch your face... meaning it just sits on your face and doesn't get absorbed much while also dulling the complexion ever so slightly because of the subtle grey tint it leaves I feel like this dried out my skin a little bit, too. If you're looking for a light gel moisturizer like this, you could just use aloe vera gel. If you're looking for a moisturizer that actually moisturizes more, get something else. I saw no difference in skin clarity.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


on 3/12/2014 9:56:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

BEST moisturizer I have ever used! Wow, my face cleared up right away and stayed that way while using this moisturizer along with the black cleanser (also Bosica). Wonderful results! I have two issues with this moisturizer: 1) The price is rather steep for 1oz of product 2) The dispenser it comes in is neat, but it doesn't let you get every bit of the product out before it stops pumping. Trying to open it up is a pain and then it's still hard to get the remaining product out. I understand the reasoning for the dispenser design (keep bacteria out and the moisturizer from being contaminated), but it would be better for Boscia to put this product in a squeeze tube at least. Just my two cents.

3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.


on 9/27/2013 7:15:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Normal, Fair, Neutral

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Coarse

Eyes: Green

This is my ALL TIME FAVOURITE moisturizer in the whole entire world. I used to be a die hard Clinique girl but I've discovered a better, greener, safer, more natural brand...Boscia!

This moisturizer is a gel. Once applied, it instantly cools your skin (think of a nice tingling sensation...from peppermint). This is a great refreshing addition to my morning routine.

I've noticed that since I've paired this moisturizer with the Clear Complexion kit from Boscia, my skin had dramatically improved.

The packaging is kind of stupid. It is in a little plastic "jar", There is a pump, so it dispenses a set amount. I think that it over dispenses (note: I don't mind dishing out tons of money on products, but I like to get my money's worth). I usually will dispense the full amount, and only take half (I leave the rest on the pump for the evening....Don't worry, there's a lid). It's kind of hard to explain unless you've seen how it actually dispenses.

*Handy tip: The stupid dispenser actually comes off, so you can dip your finger in the jar (make sure fingers are clean...Don't want to contaminate!). In order to put the lid back on, the pump has to go back on...

I would recommend this moisturizer! It's great!

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.


on 6/28/2013 9:15:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium, Warm

Hair: Black, Straight, Other

Eyes: Hazel

I got this as a sample, so I cannot accurately review for packaging or long-term use! I LOVED this hydrating gel! It absorbed quickly, it didn't have any kind of chemical scent & it left my skin feeling amazing.

I doubt I will ever purchase the full size because: 1 - it is a little pricey for me, 2 - the ingredients list has a LOT of dimithecone (silicones) in it, and I try to avoid using dimithicones in my skin care....and 3 - I already LOOOVVEE my herbal ItWorks skincare products.


on 3/31/2013 2:27:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Acne-prone, Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

This moisturizer had an odd texture and just sat on my skin. Didn't absorb and left a weird grey tint.


Back to Top