Boscia • Revitalizing Black Hydration Gel • Moisturizers

rated 4.2(30 reviews)

Average Rating.4.2
Would buy this product again.63%
Ingredients


rated 1 of 5 StupidUserNames on 10/6/2014 12:09:00 AM more reviews by StupidUserNames

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

I really wasn't too happy with this moisturizer, I have acne prone skin that's usually dry but recently I've become so oily my makeup slides off! I've been having this for months now and recently decided I want to try boscia as my caudalie products ran out, so I started using the tsubaki gel oil and the Konjac sponge and I like the sponge but the gel cleanser sucks! Anyway the black gel moisturizer has active charcoal in it which gives the grayish cast and it also contains glycolic acid which I love to death. For some reason this moisturizer felt bad it has a cooling sensation which is fine but all of a sudden it stung really bad around my mouth area especially and my cheeks felt like they were on fire I used it maybe twice and gave up on it. I ended up giving this away it was rediculous because this is for sensitive skin and not all sensitive but this hurt.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 genevieve9 on 9/26/2014 3:55:00 PM more reviews by genevieve9

Age: 25-29   Skin: Very Dry, Fair   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

I would have given this a solid 4/5 for the following reasons:
- Nice consistency, feels cool on my skin, and dries quickly
- Goes underneath my sunscreen very well
- I really didn't notice a grey tint to my face, but I have super-pale skin and maybe it only improved the paleness
- Didn't cause any breakouts and worked well to combat the drying quality of my sunscreen

BUT, I swear I used this for less than two months, MAYBE three times a week and not even using a full pump's worth, and it stopped coming out of the pump. I literally had to throw it onto my floor to break it apart, and even then, I could only get to the center where some of the product was trapped. It's the dumbest packaging I've ever encountered, and that's saying a lot, and if it weren't a safety hazard, I would take a hammer to this to get the rest out. And no, I can't twist it off, and I've had multiple people try.

For such little product and the worst packaging ever, it's not worth the money.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* mousquerader on 5/11/2014 1:08:00 AM more reviews by mousquerader

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Olive, Warm   Hair: Brown, Straight, Coarse   Eyes: Brown    

I'm not a fan of this product. In theory, it seems great because of the glycolic acid and the charcoal, which are both great ingredients for acne-prone or oily skin. However, the actual product is kind of lame. It has the consistency of aloe vera gel and dries like that, too, with a slight film over the face. The only difference between this and aloe vera gel is that the aloe vera gel doesn't ball up or get nasty black-grey mush under your fingernails if you scratch your face... meaning it just sits on your face and doesn't get absorbed much while also dulling the complexion ever so slightly because of the subtle grey tint it leaves I feel like this dried out my skin a little bit, too. If you're looking for a light gel moisturizer like this, you could just use aloe vera gel. If you're looking for a moisturizer that actually moisturizes more, get something else. I saw no difference in skin clarity.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 MYarr on 3/12/2014 9:56:00 PM more reviews by MYarr

Age: 25-29   Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Brown    

BEST moisturizer I have ever used! Wow, my face cleared up right away and stayed that way while using this moisturizer along with the black cleanser (also Bosica). Wonderful results! I have two issues with this moisturizer: 1) The price is rather steep for 1oz of product 2) The dispenser it comes in is neat, but it doesn't let you get every bit of the product out before it stops pumping. Trying to open it up is a pain and then it's still hard to get the remaining product out. I understand the reasoning for the dispenser design (keep bacteria out and the moisturizer from being contaminated), but it would be better for Boscia to put this product in a squeeze tube at least. Just my two cents.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 MariahB on 9/27/2013 7:15:00 AM more reviews by MariahB

Age: 19-24   Skin: Normal, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Coarse   Eyes: Green    

This is my ALL TIME FAVOURITE moisturizer in the whole entire world. I used to be a die hard Clinique girl but I've discovered a better, greener, safer, more natural brand...Boscia!

This moisturizer is a gel. Once applied, it instantly cools your skin (think of a nice tingling sensation...from peppermint). This is a great refreshing addition to my morning routine.

I've noticed that since I've paired this moisturizer with the Clear Complexion kit from Boscia, my skin had dramatically improved.

The packaging is kind of stupid. It is in a little plastic "jar", There is a pump, so it dispenses a set amount. I think that it over dispenses (note: I don't mind dishing out tons of money on products, but I like to get my money's worth). I usually will dispense the full amount, and only take half (I leave the rest on the pump for the evening....Don't worry, there's a lid). It's kind of hard to explain unless you've seen how it actually dispenses.

*Handy tip: The stupid dispenser actually comes off, so you can dip your finger in the jar (make sure fingers are clean...Don't want to contaminate!). In order to put the lid back on, the pump has to go back on...

I would recommend this moisturizer! It's great!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 kzgraham07 on 6/28/2013 9:15:00 AM more reviews by kzgraham07

Age: 25-29   Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Black, Straight   Eyes: Hazel    

I got this as a sample, so I cannot accurately review for packaging or long-term use! I LOVED this hydrating gel! It absorbed quickly, it didn't have any kind of chemical scent & it left my skin feeling amazing.

I doubt I will ever purchase the full size because: 1 - it is a little pricey for me, 2 - the ingredients list has a LOT of dimithecone (silicones) in it, and I try to avoid using dimithicones in my skin care....and 3 - I already LOOOVVEE my herbal ItWorks skincare products.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 intelsana on 3/31/2013 2:27:00 PM more reviews by intelsana

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

This moisturizer had an odd texture and just sat on my skin. Didn't absorb and left a weird grey tint.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 sherloki on 2/13/2013 3:02:00 PM more reviews by sherloki

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

This is by far the best moisturizer I've ever used. I tried switching to Clinique's Dramatically Different for a little bit, and it made my skin act up. I have combination skin (with some veeery oily patches) and the gel texture of this is just fantastic. It sinks in quickly and your skin feels the benefits immediately. The only downside is the (very hygienic) packaging -- the opaque black doesn't allow you to see how much is left. However that's very minor, and I'd recommend this product to anybody.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 humps on 1/6/2013 12:49:00 PM more reviews by humps

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination   Hair: Black   Eyes: Black    

This is the only morning moisturiser that I can use it under my sunscreen without feeling greasy. Easily absorbed and have a nice cooling feel if you apply enough of it. Sometimes when my skin feels oily , I will use this at night instead of my Duchess Marden. On normal nights, is definitely not hydrating enough. One of the nicest gel moisturisers I ever used.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 shinyhairstare on 1/1/2013 11:16:00 PM more reviews by shinyhairstare

Age: 30-35   Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Blue    

I LOVE this stuff. It gives a nice tingly sensation but at the same time it seems to calm my sensitive skin down.

It's a little different than most moisturizers, It is not greasy at all, not even creamy. Once you put it on it basically disappears but you are left with this refreshing, energizing tingly feeling. I've never used this when on a day when my skin was super dry. I'm not sure it would do the job it I had flakes going on.

I really like how it makes my skin look. I don't wear it everyday, maybe just every 2-3 days or whenever I want to look/feel a little extra good.

It is super expensive and the packaging SUCKS!. It's this weird jar/pump. Once it's gone, I'm going to have a hell of a time cracking this thing open to salvage that last tiny bit of this awesome stuff.

I've been using this stuff in conjunction with Bioelements' Calming Hydration Fluid, another expensive item, but it's been working for me.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Boscia products

More Moisturizers products