Maybelline Eye Studio Color Explosion in Caffeine Rush

4.5

10 reviews

90% would repurchase

Package Quality: 4.3

Price: $$

Package Quality: 4.3

Price: $$

INGREDIENTS



on 7/30/2013 6:44:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

Great mini version of a naked palette! You have the 2 bright colors for a highlight on the brow or even try it in the tear duct, a pigmented taupe color, a pigmented camel color and a semi matte dark brown color to get a smokey look. All of these colors can be blended well for a really nice neutral look. This very little palette does it all in one!! I also have the one in green and I love that one also.



on 12/31/2012 6:58:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Hazel

Pretty colors!
Not too dark, not too light, colors go great together. I lovelove the shimmery accent shade, I wish there was just a little bit more of this one in the quad. I always run out of this one first!


on 12/18/2012 8:46:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Very Dry, Fair, Cool

Hair: Blond, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Grey

I must be the only one that doesn't care for this palette. The colors are gorgeous but just like every other palette from this line, it does not stay on for me. (used TFSI, UDPP, NYX Jumbo pencils, NYX base)


on 8/18/2012 8:02:00 AM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Dry, Fair, Cool

Hair: Brown, Wavy, Coarse

Eyes: Brown

***I've already reviewed this little palette but see it has 2 listings so I figured I'd copy my review over here....

It's amazing to me that a palette this small can be so complete! I got this a few days ago and I've used it every day since. I'm not terribly creative so I use the light peachy "triangle" on the inner 1/3 of my lid, the taupe one on the outer 2/3's and the darkest colour (the narrow strip) in the crease and the very outer corner area. The finished look is easy, flattering, neutral and just all around perfect. I've not use the very glittery shade - it looks like it would have fallout and just looks to glittery for the rest of the look but one of these days, I'll give it a try. For now, though, if I want a brow highlight, I use the peachy shade or I'll use one of my other matte light beige shadows.
I've got a lot of neutral eye shadow palettes (Naked1 and 2, TheBalm Nude 'tude, TF Natural Eye, WnW Vanity and Comfort Zone) as well as a big collection of neutral shadows generally, from drugstore to high end but I have to say, this little palette is just so practical in such a small package. I find the case a bit fiddly to open and I could wish that the darkest shade was a larger wedge and the glittery one smaller but still, for 8 or 9 dollars (CDN - it was on sale), this is hard to beat. I would certainly repurchase. If you like neutral, workplace appropriate looks that are by no means boring, check out this palette.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 6/14/2012 5:08:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Dry, Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I bought this at a local shoppers drugmart while it was on sale. I don't usually wear eyeshadow, so I wanted to go for a more neutral palette which also had a shade or two I could use on a night out. This definitely does the job. In the daytime, I use the lighter shades for a natural shimmery look, and at night I use the darker shades. I also dab this on for a smudged effect with my eyeliner. It's easy to blend, and it lasts a long time, even without a primer! I would definitely buy this again.


on 3/15/2012 2:52:00 PM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Very Oily, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

Love this! These are very shimmery, long wearing taupes that can be used for day looks or evening. The texture is very smooth, and they hold up through a full day at the office and then a workout at the gym afterwards!
Highly recommended!


on 2/11/2012 11:14:00 PM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

Color: Very shimmery

Packaging: Works great. Nothing special

Lasts: Lasts very long. I have gym in the morning and I don't have to reapply it.

Review: This is my favorite eyeshadow! The colors are very shimmery so I would only recommend it for people in their twenties. When I feel dramatic I use all of the shades. But sometimes I use just a few colors for a more natural look. I use the two dark brown shades for an eyeliner.
Yes, I would buy this product again!


on 12/8/2011 10:31:00 AM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Dry, Medium, Warm

Hair: Blond, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Hazel

Wow! Very reasonably priced for beautiful results. The colors are shimmery, blendable, buildable, wear smoothly, and are lasting! In my opinion, Maybelline now has some of the most beautiful eyeshadow colors on the market that wear as good as they look!


Age: 30-35

Skin: Very Oily, Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Black

Purchased at CVS for $11 but so worth the price! Pigmentation on the two taupe colors are incredible, can't get enough! Texture is so so smooth and really last a longtime w/out creasing. You can definitely use this palette from day to night. If you really like taupe colors, must purchase!


Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

Incredible little compact of shadows! The shadows all apply smoothly, and are all pearly on their own. The gold mica illuminator powder does cause lots of fallout, but the solution is to do your eyes before your foundation. The fallout issue really is lessened with the use of the sponge applicator though. The applicator is miniature and I use brushes anyway, but I think that the applicator is useful for blending the shadows softly together. You can get high contrast, and lower contrast day or night looks from these colors.

I think I've purchased the 28 color neutral palette, three of the 88 neutral-range palettes, and the 120 neutral palette in the quest for the daytime look I get from this set of shadows. (That's exaggerating, as I'm a fan of the 88 palettes and I'd have bought them anyway!) The neutral/brown look that this gives can be striking, and the mica/illuminator is beautiful. The illuminator reminds me of larger particles of MAC Vanilla pigment. Adding it on top of your finished eye look is like adding twinkling Christmas lights!

If you have $10, then you should buy this. I think I'll be buying the purple set next. Purples look great with my brown eyes. The final results look like they are from much more expensive products.




Back to Top