OPI • Gettin' Miss Piggy With It • Polishes

rated 3.6(12 reviews)

Average Rating.3.6
Would buy this product again.50%
Ingredients

Read Reviews


rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* bonniherself on 9/25/2013 1:15:00 AM more reviews by bonniherself

Age: 44-55   Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brown, Medium   Eyes: Hazel    

In the story of my life, I want to be played by Miss Piggy. I'm also a fan of red and of glitter, so I was keen to find a bottle of this, and when I did, I grabbed it.

This is a layering polish, a glitter top coat. It's red glitter, micro and standard, plus some bigger silver bits, suspended in a clear base. The glitter is not very dense at all. If you want to wear this on its own, you can, but it's quite subtle unless you really use multiple coats (I haven't tried wearing it alone, but I'd say you need a minimum of four coats to get anything like visible coverage, and even then it will not be opaque no matter what you do).

I do like this polish worn over a base of red. The base makes the glitter really pop. I think it would also work over other base colours, but I haven't tried it to see which work best.

The dry surface when using this polish can be gritty. I deal with that by adding a basic clear coat on top, then a quick dry top coat. The combination works well to make the surface smooth (or at least smoother).

Like a lot of glitter polishes, this is devilishly difficult to remove. Be careful, or you can damage the surface of your nails. I recommend using the foil-and-cotton method (soak cotton pads or balls with remover, place on nail, wrap nail with a small piece of foil to hold the remover in place and promote warmth, leave in place for several minutes).

I gave this polish only three lippies because, despite my love of red and of glitter, I really think this could have been better. For one thing, the glitter could be more dense, as I find it just too sparse and spread out. It might also have been improved by just using a red base rather than a clear one, because while the clear base does make the polish somewhat more versatile (you can put it over anything), if you want red glittery nails, you want actually RED glittery nails. Miss Piggy deserves better.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* cleo777 on 2/6/2013 2:32:00 PM more reviews by cleo777

Age: 44-55   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

Another Muppet lover here so was all over these. I also purchased The Rainbow Connection (a multi-colored glitter) and Warm and Fozzy (a shimmery copper beige). I find that just about any glitter polish with a clear base looks strange on its own, and really should be worn as a topcoat. Pure acetone will remove it, but boy is it ever damaging to the nail. In fact over the holidays I wore several kinds of glitter polish and now I have four nails that won't stop peeling no matter what I do. So anxiously awaiting my appointment to get gel nails :) But I digress. This is a pretty red glitter for sure, and looks really nice over Animalistic too.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 Kimmeh5 on 2/6/2013 1:11:00 PM more reviews by Kimmeh5

Age: 19-24   Skin: Very Dry, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

I bought this on a whim near the holidays. Ulta had this and the green one on sale 2/$12. Not what I expected at all. Not worth wearing by itself, it's glitter in a clear base. I just wore it over Essie's Little Brown Dress for a Valentines Mani and it looked nice, kinda like chocolate covered glitter cherries, haha, but I wouldn't go out of my way to purchase this knowing its in a clear base. Has good wear, as do most OPI's, but I can't see myself wearing this too often.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 HOPI87 on 11/22/2012 2:32:00 AM more reviews by HOPI87

Age: 25-29   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Blue    

I wanted to love this polish, but unfortunately it looks better in the bottle than on your nails. It;s a clear base glitter polish with little specks of red, and chunky silver glitters.. I found that I had to apply 3 or 4 coats just to make it remotely appealing, even so it was a mess on my nails...looked horrible :(

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 FloozieKitten on 8/14/2012 2:58:00 PM more reviews by FloozieKitten

Age: 25-29   Skin: Normal, Tan, Warm   Hair: Blond, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

This is from the 2011 Muppets collection which was released for the Christmas Holidays. The collection has plenty of bling for party nails and I adore it! I have most of the polishes from this collection.

The main colour of "Getting Miss Piggy with it" is a bright ruby red. It is fantastic and looks like Dorothy's ruby slippers! Although this was released for a Christmas collection (and it does look very Christmassy) I have worn it in the Summer with red cropped jeans and strappy shoes - it looks amazing with a tan.

4 polishes from this collection follow the same formula but with different main colours
Getting Miss Piggy with it - Red
Gone Gonzo - Light Blue
The Fresh Frog of Bel Air - Green
Divine Swine - Purple
They all have a clear base coat and 2 colours of Glitter (their main colour and silver) The silver particles are larger chunks of foil that really catch the light. GMPWI is a little different as there seems to be magenta flashes in certain lighting. It's lovely!

Due to the clear base coat - to get full coverage from the polish you really do need 3-4 coats. An alternative method of application is to paint your nails in a polish of the main colour first (in this case red) and then apply maybe 2 coats of the glitter. This helps the glitter pop and also saves you using so much.

As with all glitters it is brittle and therefore prone to chipping, but this is not a problem for me as it is easy to patch up. I just carry the bottle in my hand bag just in case. If you like to wear polish for a few days and can not be bothered to do this then this may not be for you.

And when you actually want to remove it - it take ages! Glitters!!!

I have scored this one a 5 because it is AMAZING and the best sparkly red I have seen.
If I run out I will want to buy another bottle but I think these glitters are increasingly hard to find now. I was quite late buying this one (They launched in October 2011 and I got this June 2012) It took a little while to get it for a decent price - I found one for 10 on ebay. But have seen them sell for 15 plus.

So if you see one - grab it!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* gabriellavascocastro on 2/25/2012 2:26:00 PM more reviews by gabriellavascocastro

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Hazel    

First of all, if your flag has red in it or your "Team" you might follow... this is GREAT for game days or in my case, canada day!!!!!
It is bright red with silver giant glitter. I actually wish there was no silver in it, but regardless, I recommend this. It IS HARD TO REMOVE on the other hand.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* loriann52 on 1/21/2012 12:48:00 PM more reviews by loriann52

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Cool   Hair: Blond, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

So there are definite ups and downs of this polish.
Cons: It takes a while to build up. Like five or so coats. It doesn't take that long to dry between coats but it's still a bit of a pain.
Pros: It looks absolutely gorgeous when on. The sparkle is ridiculous, and I love the random hunks of silver glitter amoungst the red. Also, if it is anything like Divine Swine, then it will last surprisingly long for a glitter polish.

So, I probably would not buy this one again but I am definitely glad that I bought it. It's a gorgeous red glitter, I just wish the actual liquid in it was red instead of clear because it would have made it easier to make the polish opaque. I've heard a lot of people say this polish doesn't build up, but it's not true, it just takes four or so coats. I am probably just going to put it over red polish next time because I think it'll achieve the same look without having to do four or five layers.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 SareenaS on 1/5/2012 12:31:00 PM more reviews by SareenaS

Age: 25-29   Skin: Normal, Olive   Hair: Black   Eyes: Black    

This red sparkly nail polish is so much fun! It is more of a topcoat and goes on sheer with beautiful red sparkles and large silver sparkles. 3-4 coats and it is opaque but I prefer to wear it over Thrill of Brazil. This is a gorgeous combination and I got some many compliments over the holiday season! A nice tip for better coverage is instead of using a stroking motion when applying, put it on in blobs and then smooth out to even. You get more of the larger silver sparkles this way and dont need as many coats. I used a topcoat and had no issues with chipping.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* murflegirl on 12/31/2011 9:59:00 AM more reviews by murflegirl

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

Okay, I am a sucker for anything red and sparkly. When I saw this, I knew it was love. It's red glitter in a clear base, but it also includes larger red and silver hex glitter. Goes on sheer for the first coat, but dries very quickly. If you want this to look as opaque and wonderful as in the bottle, be prepared to apply at least three coats. That isn't a problem for me, and it's a gorgeous color. Very festive, very blingy, and everyone wants to know what it is. I haven't experienced any chipping or other issues with this polish. I'm a sucker for red sparkles and the muppets. Perfect for me!! This has been a really fun one to experiment with :-)

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* LookingGood85 on 11/21/2011 3:00:00 PM more reviews by LookingGood85

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Black, Kinky, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

I received the mini version of this of my best friend, Sambalina82, today. I have just put 2 coats on and a topcoat and it looks DIVINE! I love how there are different sized glitter particles, gives nails a funked up, mega glitzy look! Its very girly, very fun, as someone else said, its somewhat silly too lol! Its amazing, and Ill be purchasing the normal sized one very soon!!

What i adore about this is that if you dont want full on glitter, just one coat of this will give your nails a lovely slight glitter and hint of colour. A second coat really brings out the glitter, so you have 2 looks to choose from :)

Thanks Sam!

EDIT 1 : Well, not even 24 hours after applying this, Ive noticed my thumb and forefinger nails both are missing their nail polish!!!!! It has completely chipped off! I dont know if this is because of the glitter "catching" or what but i feel so disappointed with this :( Ill give it one more shot at the weekend, and if not ill leave this for special occasions.,

EDIT 2: Wouldnt even bother buying this. Seriously! I tried another coat of this last night WITHOUT a topcoat, and i think it lasted an extra 2 hours! I bathed my daughter, checked my nails and EVERY SINGLE NAIL had lost some nail polish to the extent it looked scraggy and cr@p!!! How can OPI sell a polish that doesnt last even 24 hours? I know its pretty, but it doesnt last, so whats the point?! Eugh! Would give it a 0 but the colour/glitter is pretty.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More OPI products

More Polishes products